LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Kubuntu 7.04
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 63965 11-13-2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
80% of reviewers None indicated 8.0



Description: After years of using Red Hat and it's clones' Centos and Fedora, I discovered Ubuntu. I downloaded it from their website http://www.ubuntu.com/. It installed as expected and I found that it is a very usable and stable product.
Ubuntu is a branch of Debian and uses apt-get to install packages, but like Yum you need to know what you are looking for. I perfer the KDE desktop, and found that Ubuntu has a version that uses KDE desktop, Kubuntu. I tried to install kde using apt-get and had very limited success. I haven't used Debian before or apt-get but it is similar enough to Yum that I learned to use it quickly and prefer it to the package manager that ships with Ubuntu.
I wasn't completely happy with the ubuntu with KDE installed, gnome kept creeping into the picture and even after I un-installed it with apt-get. There were several dependencies that never were installed and would cause problems and lock ups. So I burned a CD of kubuntu 7.04, loaded it into the CD-ROM and hit the reset button. I have not looked back. I've read many good things about Kubuntu and Ubuntu. I've heard that Dell will ship with one of these OS's in the future.
Kubuntu is stable and user friendly, I believe it will give Microsoft a run for the money among
knowledgeable computer users. There will be a larger learning curve for Window users verses Linux users (Debian users will feel right at home). With a few changes, newbie computer users won't know the difference, add firefox, thunderbird and mozilla mplayer plug-in, you would be hard pressed to find a better Internet surf machine at any price. Free is better!
For me, the Adept Package manager is more than enough reason to switch to Kubuntu. Adept Package manager is a fantastic program, it will list MOST of the programs available in the entire Linux world, or the most popular ones anywho. If Microsoft had a similar program in Windows, you would have to up the limit on your credit card, while Adept loads them at no cost.
Adept is the reason I dropped Red Hat and Centos it is a multi stepped process to load packages with Red Hat. First you have to find it, then install it and hope for the best. Wit Adept the is a searchable list of all the resource that are currently available which you can search by name, function or key word.
I really like the OS installer as is very straight forward and useable. It takes the Mystery out of setting up and formatting multiple hard drives.
I am currently using and recommending only kubuntu for the reasons stated above.
I've found Kubuntu to be very useful and user friendly.
Keywords: Kubuntu, 7.04, Feisty Fawn


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 09-05-2007, 12:05 AM   #1
bdsatish
 
Registered: Sep 2007
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Noob-friendly; Excellent hardware detection; stable & usable;
Cons: No default games ; somewat slow boot-up



Hi all,

As mentioned above, kubuntu 7.04 is excellent... I installed it in half-an-hour flat... Installation is COMPLETELY EASY...It detected my sound card, video card, printer, network card, etc.

It is completely friendly for all users -- both noobs and professionals. I definitely recommend it to all..

The only thing that bothered me was that there were no games installed by default.. BUT, it's jst a few clicks away with Adept Packager... It has every game u can ask for...

Sometimes the boot-up was slow on my comp... dont know why...

Anyways, its a great distro...
 
Old 09-21-2007, 06:08 PM   #2
wanderingmind
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04 LTS
Posts: 76

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: debian based, simple, popular
Cons: hard to say


Ubuntu is popular for a reason, and Kubuntu is the quickest way to have a KDE-based Ubuntu. Simple as that - It's a great base for the KDE.
 
Old 09-22-2007, 11:42 PM   #3
SLIM_SuSse_UsEr
 
Registered: May 2007
Distribution: SUSE
Posts: 33

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Very easy sytem to learn, KDE looks Great on this Distro, updates are easy, extra software is easy to find
Cons: hard to use the live cd to install on my laptop, Harder to compile source codes than other distro's that i have used


KUBUNTU
I give Kubuntu an overall rating of 9.8, because it is an over all easy to use operating system. I am relatively new Linux user. I have tried using Linux systems in the past only to find them very difficult to use and hard to comprehend. I have been looking for an alternative to MS Windows for a very long time. I, like lots of other Linux users, have become sick of the way windows works, and have become disgusted with what Microsoft stands for.
About a year ago my laptop crashed and I lost all of the data it contained. I tried many ways to recover windows with no avail. I bought a new copy of windows xp, but the cd key didn't work. When i called Microsoft about this issue they told me that i had to buy a new cd key, which i felt to be unsatisfactory.
I then started looking for a free operating system that would work well with my laptop. I had used a live version of SuSe 9.? in the past on my desktop, so was familure with most of the applications in Suse. I had been using SuSe for most of the time in both KDE and Gnome desktop environments with a satisfactory rating of the os. But i didn't feel 100% satisfied, I lived with SuSe for such a long time because “Windows” taught me to deal with what you have. I longed for an operating system that like windows was easy to add programs to without the need to go here type this, go there configure that, then....bla bla bla...
I decided to try a Debian based approach to an operating system. I first looked into Ubuntu because of all the good things I had heard about it from people at work, on the internet, and my daughter. I didn't realize that it was based on Gnome's window manger. so after running UBUNTU for only a day and loving every second of it I downloaded KUBUNTU.
KUBUNTU is an excelent operating system so far. The only thing I Don't like about it is the fact of how hard it was for me to install on my lap top. My laptop is an IBM ThinkPad R51, running an Intel Celeron M processor. KUBUNTU detected my laptop to be a Sony Vaio with an AMD 64 Processor. And to make things worse when i would run the live cd, it wouldn't unmount my hard drive, or switch to super user mode to do so. After lots of tries to come up with a partition set up I was able to trick the system into installing itself. And with a little bit of tweaking after the install I was able to make KUBUNTU recognize my hardware as it is supposed to.

So if you are a new LINUX user, or an old Linux user looking for a new distribution to use, the try UBUNTU or KUBUNTU. just remember the difference between the two of them is only the Windows manager.
 
Old 11-10-2007, 12:23 AM   #4
mrbones
 
Registered: Nov 2007
Distribution: Kubuntu 7.10
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Over all great Linux system
Cons: as with linux distros in general, your always goign to find little snags, but nothing I could ever say that would be enough to stop using Linux systems


A decent time ago, I royally chewed my M$ system to pieces... needless to say my Girlfriend was a bit disgruntled. I first attempted Fedora 6, then on to SUSE, and even PC-BSD, And last but certainly not least, Ubuntu and the reason was not due to any of the previous systems just not working, for me it was all fine. It was all about finding an easy to manage system even my GF could use with little to no issue.

Within the last two editions I switched to Kubuntu completely, The K-Desktop just fits better for us.

I am so pleased with my Kubuntu system so much I am trying to help raise awareness about Linux in my own community, using Kubuntu as the distro of choice.
 
Old 11-13-2007, 09:52 PM   #5
winsnomore
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: #1 PCLinuxOS -- for laughs -> Ubuntu, Suse, Mepis
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2

Pros: good package selection
Cons: Very poor hardware detection and software support


I have banged my head against the Ubuntu/Kbuntu and am at a loss to explain my experience and it's popularity.

I could install Ubuntu and make it work, but getting Kubuntu on the same hardware was almost impossible. This really doesn't make sense except that I tried 64bit version of Kubuntu and 32 bit version of Ubuntu.

Hardware Detection is just plain awfull, particularly with ATI cards .. I have tried the support forum on Ubuntu site and it's littered with bug reports of all kinds of ATI driver issues.

In short .. good package selection ... horrible hardware detection and the software is jut plain awful .. the database for monitor and card selection is WRONG for many monitors/manufactures and you can't hand edit it.

The software to test monitor/video card combinations can't be tested ... diagnostic provided is >> Fatal Error by X Server << a lot of help that provides.

In short this one is not WORTH banging your head against the wall with 64bit/ATI and older monitor (< 100 Hz Vertical) ..that I can't recommend it to anyone.


Other distros provide much better hardware/software to configure hardware.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration