LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > PCLinuxOS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

PCLinuxOS 2007
Reviews Views Date of last review
42 500172 05-26-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
90% of reviewers $16.99 8.6



Description: PCLinuxOS is an English only live CD initially based on Mandrake Linux that runs entirely from a bootable CD. Data on the CD is uncompressed on the fly, allowing up to 2GB of programs on one CD including a complete X server, KDE desktop, OpenOffice.org and many more applications all ready to use. In addition to the live CD, you can also install PCLinuxOS to your hard drive with an easy-to-use livecd-installer. Additional applications can be added or removed from your hard drive using a friendly apt-get front end via Synaptic.

Texstar and the Ripper Gang are pleased to announce the final release of PCLinuxOS 2007. Featuring kernel 2.6.18.8, KDE 3.5.6, OpenOffice.org 2.2.0, Firefox 2.0.0.3, Thunderbird 2.0, FrostWire, KTorrent, Amarok, Flash, Java JRE, Beryl 3D and much more. Almost 2 GB of software compressed on a single bootable live CD that can be installed to a hard drive provided it is compatible with your system and you like the distribution. Over 5000+ additional packages available through our Synaptic Software Manager. Please note: PCLinuxOS does not ship with Win32 codecs or DVD decryption software. Proprietary NVIDIA and ATI drivers available after hard drive install
Keywords: LiveCD PCLOS KDE Texstar user-friendly linux


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 01-01-2008, 01:21 PM   #1
caulfiek
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: PCLinuxOS
Posts: 110

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy install, sharp crisp KDE, web out of the box, multimedia
Cons: None yet



Like alot of the people above,I've tried a load of distros (Suse, Mandrive, RH, Ubuntu [whats the big deal with Ubuntu?].
Never, ever, ever have I seen a distro do so much out of the box as PCLinuxOS.

Heres a set of Suse killer tasks that I ran with no problems:
1. Pop up firefox,go to bbc.co.uk and try to watch a news item. Select windows media, MPlayer plugin kicks in and plays the item (thats just brilliant).
2. Pop in a USB key with some media on it. Voila, there it is!
3. Click on some MP3's, Amarok pops up and does it's thing, no probs. [what a nice piece of software]
4. OK, lets throw a curve ball and click some DivX avis that I've got on the USB stick. Wham, they play straightaway.

I'm still rubbing my eyes in amazement.

Easily the best Linux I've used to date. Geeks, be afraid, be very afraid!
 
Old 01-12-2008, 10:52 AM   #2
al688
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Distribution: slackware 12.1, sabayon 3.5
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to install, configure for total linux novice
Cons: None yet...


As a complete novice with linux I was impressed with how easy this was to install. Its made my other (vista equipped) pc virtually redundant.
 
Old 01-14-2008, 02:27 AM   #3
drspock
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: slackware,pclinuxos,sabayon
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy install great hardware detection
Cons: none


I have tried just about every distro out there at one time or another, And pclinuxos is just about idiot proof.
It's the one cd I would give to someone tired of windows
 
Old 02-22-2008, 05:33 PM   #4
agelsc
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $16.99 | Rating: 10

Pros: Easiest install in 6 years
Cons: none


bought the linuxformat mag for fedora 9 and was installing it on my laptop and decided to try pclos and installed it instead.Most impressive was that in 5 minutes i was wireless with my laptop ,emailed myself from my wifes laptop the bcm inf. file and that was it saved to my desktop the utility found the file and we were working,also the 3dcube has not been possible till this distro on a geforce 6150 video card ,GREAT LITTLE DISTRO
 
Old 04-07-2008, 11:32 PM   #5
tcamp17
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Ease of Installation, Easy to use
Cons: None


I believe this is the only Linux distro that comfortably numb
Windows users would switch to Linux for!! 5***** Thanks Tex and the ripper gang!!
 
Old 05-02-2008, 08:18 AM   #6
BlueRidgeMark
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: Excellent software! Most things Just Work!
Cons: Extremely poor support forums, some confusing redundancies in Control items


Whether I would recommend this distro or not depends on who the user will be. For someone switching from Windoze, who has NO desire to do any configuring, and has a friend who is a Linux guru to do all the heavy problem solving, this is great. MOST things Just Work. Hardware recognition is great, and stability is very good. I'm currently running it on 3 servers (a gateway/Internet filter and 2 NAS boxes) and 2 user machines. Other than a few minor self-inflicted wounds, and one sound problem, everything is great.

However, if you ever DO have anything other than a very minor problem, and expect to learn how to solve it yourself, you'll not fare well at the support forums. As texHarley mentioned, some of the mods are rude, but more than that, there's an overall attitude that says, 'If you don't think this is PERFECT, go away, we don't want you.' Fanboyism is encouraged, honest criticism is not. That attitude does not bode well for the future of PCLOS. I hope it's not shared by the developers, but it rules the forums.

Also, most (not all) of the contributors seem to be 'Script Kiddies'. They've been around Linux a while, and they've learned a lot of THINGS, but have no fundamental understanding of what's going on under the hood. They have a few stock solutions they can throw at a problem, but if it really requires in-depth understanding, forget it. To make matters worse, there's that attitude problem again. One complete newbie posted that he had a complicated video problem, and asked for step-by-step instructions, as he was completely new to Linux. One of the first 'answers' he got was this: 'edit your video.conf file'. That's it. No clue about what edits to make, where to find the file, or how to edit it. For a complete newbie.

Sadly, this is NOT unusual on the PCLOS forums, and any attempt to point out the problem with this kind of answer is met with hostility.

I had a thread locked and was threatened with banning after pointing out that most of the anwers in one thread were completely useless - they didn't address the OP's question at all. Even after I clarified what he wanted, and one person DID post a correct solution, the idiotic non-solutions continued.

It seems people there are more interested in showing off their 'knowledge' than in actually helping. One such poster PMd me to complain, saying, 'I was just trying to help with my limited knowledge.' Apparently it never occured to him that those with 'limited knowledge' shouldn't be answering a lot of questions! Yet he's one of the most prolific posters. There is a lot of, 'I don't know why, just shut up and do it this way!' in the 'awnsers'.

If you have a well-known, simple problem, life will be good. The posters are very helpful with stock solutions to stock problems. Anything else? The BEST you can hope is that nobody will answer, because any answers are more likely to be confusing than anything else. You're pretty much on your own.

This is very sad, because the developers have done a VERY good job with PCLOS. But because of the poor support forums, I can't recommend this to Linux newbies.
 
Old 05-03-2008, 07:38 PM   #7
SA_Ron
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Multiple. Depends on my mood.
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stability, easy to find config tools
Cons: Not for me


Okay, I'm a little late to the bandwagon here. I thought I had reviewed this long ago, but I hadn't.
Been using 2007 edition since it came out. I like to play with linux versions and I've messed with alot of them. PCLinuxOS, however, is my stable OS. When I install other OS's, I do it on other partitions. When I eventually blow up my new OS, I come back to PCLinuxOS.

That's not exactly right, either. Whenever I'm not playing with another OS (which is most of the time), I do my work/play on PCLinuxOS.

Can't tell you anything that hasn't been said. I'll just add that this isn't the fastest OS (not slow, by any means), nor is it "cutting edge". What it is is dependable.

The best thing for me is the configuration tools. I've played with too many linux versions that try to be cute with how you configure things like network connections, partitions, which daemons to run at startup, etc. You have to hunt for the right tools. It's a real pain in the butt and it's frustrating. PCLinuxOS, on the other hand has all the tools in their proper places. Anyone who messes with lots of linuxes (linuces?) will know what I'm talking about.

Is this for newbies? You betcha it is. Easy installation, minimal screwing around once it's installed (unless you want to, of course). A newbie can do pretty much what he needs to with minimum fuss.

Is it for experienced linux users? Yep. Hey, it ain't Slackware or Gentoo where you more or less build it yourself, but you can configure it to your heart's content. (I'm not dissing Slackware or Gentoo. You can learn alot by messing with them, but nobody can seriously consider them for newbies). Well, if you're a masochist you could. :-)

Can't wait for 2008 version! (the mini-me hosed my mbr, so I'm hoping for better from the new version)
 
Old 06-16-2008, 09:32 AM   #8
decodedthought
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Distribution: Archlinux
Posts: 195

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Everything self sufficient....
Cons: none


well this distro is a must for all those who want to make transition from windows to Linux...
after using this you will start loving the very concept of linux... and you love this distro
 
Old 07-29-2008, 08:16 AM   #9
momotaro
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: intoxicating
Cons: useless for server scripts


I have reinstalled PCLinuxOS half a dozen times this past six months hoping it would improve, I like it that much! But, for developing locally it is not much good as PHP, MYSQL, and a bunch of apache mods in the repos are corrupt and will remove unrelated dependencies, heck even the Kernel! Great for Desktop only users if the no update is done (The download ISO is fine).
 
Old 09-02-2008, 12:07 PM   #10
tb01
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Distribution: -changes frequently, current: Slax 6.0.9
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Mostly works well...
Cons: see review by BlueRidgeMark!


I second an earlier comment that I would recommend according to 'whom' I was making a recommendation to... I would definitely offer PCLOS as an appropriate choice for most folk I know.

Being a total newbie to Lx, but with an extensive tech background in M$ crapware, I completely agree with BlueRidgeMark's comments in his review, except as follows:

- While I have not asked for help from developers (and received rude replies), I have certainly scanned forums and noticed responses to others questions (particularly those new to Lx) being completely inappropriate (entirely too low-level for someone new to Lx). I've had no idea -who- is responding this way, whether developers or other users.

- While most aspects do work amazingly well, and PCLinuxOS has successfully recognized hardware in two machines, in trying to learn Linux via this distro, I have encountered the following major issues:

1. Starting at the PCLinuxOS homepage [http://www.pclinuxos.com/], I find a link for Support - Documentation [http://docs.pclinuxos.com/]. I click on it. This brings me to a page with an index, containing a link how-to [http://docs.pclinuxos.com/doku.php/start?idx=how-to]. I think I'm really onto the lion's share of learning, when I click and find that category contains one document, 'keep-your-system-in-good-order' - about updating the OS. This is certainly important to know and do, so I overlook the feeling of being 'misled' on my way to learning (I had already found Synaptic on my own - VERY easy to figure out w/o docs!).

2. Still trying to learn something useful, I reexamine the index and decide the support link [http://docs.pclinuxos.com/doku.php/support:irc?idx=support] might be my ticket to useful info... but instead I find notes on and links to IRC (chat), which was directly responsible for many of the malware infections I experienced in 'LoseXP' prior to deciding the 'better idea' was to get completely away from M$ crapware. So, until I know what I'm doing, have installed and properly configured a software firewall in Lx, I'm really not thrilled at the prospect of IRC. Don't know if it's an issue in Lx as in M$, but -really- don't care to find out the hard way.

3. Pressing on, I then decide the faq link [http://docs.pclinuxos.com/doku.php/faq] ought to tell me -something- useful, but instead I get a msg that 'this section is under development' (or similar - seems there are a couple of entries in there now!!! Way to go!). Well, so I'm not finding -any- useful documentation under the 'documentation' link... and I'm wondering why.

I'm really puzzed at this point, why the PCLOS main page would point toward documentation links that go nowhere? Why not point toward existing useful information, if only temporarily? Or, better yet, keep the 'this area under development' banner, but INCLUDE a link 'in the meantime, you might find some answers [here]' and point toward existing forums... Just a thought.

4. Not to be deterred from my purpose, I pull up Google. I find a bunch of links to information scattered all over the web across many different forums. My head is swimming. Most of the information contained in the individual posts is WAY over my head. I have no idea what these folks are talking about.

5. I realize I've now spent four hours learning there's nothing useful to learn from. At first I think maybe PCLinuxOS is too new for docs, but then remember I've seen history indicating otherwise. I'm confused, frustrated, and beginning to wonder if PCLinuxOS was such a good idea after all - as a Lx learning environment.

6. I restart my dual-boot computer, and choose XP to check email, and to settle back into 'the devil that I know...' and try to rebound from dissapointing lack of docs and doubt regarding my choice of distro.

7. Later on, with renewed vigor, I decide to try again. I go straight to Google to lookup basic info, and find a great deal of knowledge about Lx in general...

8. I boot back into PCLinuxOS, invoke a terminal session, and find nothing in Google applies here... (WTF?) I can get 'ls' to show a file listing, 'cd' will change directories, and anything else reveals how bewilderingly lost I am. I shut the computer down, even more frustrated than before.

9. Several more episodes like this before I begin to surmise there are layers of software within PCLinuxOS, which each use commands and syntax incompatible with the other layers. But where the hell do I find the information about which layer I'm using? What do these layers do? Why are they there? Why are they different? How will I ever learn about this?

10. In perusing Synaptic for some clue how to proceed, I performed a search on '*doc*' and installed every package that came up. I looked through what I could figure out how to access, only to find the docs I scavenged are written with an end-user focus and still do not help me learn and understand anything technical about Lx.

11. Making sure I still have my LiveCD intact, I decide to start beating up on it, thinking however it responds will surely tell me -something- I didn't know... I chuckle to myself as I remember trying Lx about ten years ago and having the exact same frustrating outcome.

Had I become fooled by the GUI? I started with CP/M and hate the mouse - always have. I much prefer compact commands and keyboard shortcuts. There's just SOOOOOOooooo much to know in Lx! I had CP/M figured out in a couple of weeks, having never touched a computer before. But, it had clear technical documentation, and a LOT fewer commands.

I've now hosed my installation, and have no clue how to fix it, other than format/reinstall. Since all the above, I have managed to find a few decent sources of information, but I'll be damned if I know where they are. I've bookmarked everything I found online and now have a mess there, too. Someday soon maybe I'll sit down and review all those bookmarks and weed through the useless ones, keeping the few good ones. Maybe -then- I can start trying to learn Lx w/PCLOS...

Or maybe I'll just find another distro which is far less 'TECHNICAL-newbie-hostile'.

It seems a great distro for users who want nothing technical, or have no desire to learn the inner workings of Lx. It's probably also great for Lx veterans who already know how to navigate config files, the file system, and which packages to grab in Synaptic. It's clearly not appropriate for my needs. I need a distro to help me learn Lx, it's filesystem, bootloading process, how the OS is organized - all the technical ins and outs. Maybe someday PCLOS will 'get there'.

It's certainly attractive and (mostly) functional. However, thus far this has proven to be an exasperating and frustrating choice for my learning Lx. There -must- be something more appropriate - a more mature distro with existing technical documentation. While I immensely dislike the idea of having to start over with a different distribution, I'm certainly getting nowhere with PCLinuxOS, except increasingly frustrated, confused and altogether disinterested.

The one really positive gain from this experience is now knowing what I need from a distribution.

--tb01

.
 
Old 05-26-2009, 08:59 AM   #11
XenaneX
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Distribution: PClinuxOS
Posts: 113

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Made the transition from Windows somewhat easy.
Cons: The personalities


I tried a few distros and settled on PCLOS07. It does pretty much what I want an OS to do. I never got a printer to work very well, but I was unable to upgrade which may have been a factor.

The forums...I got the impression staffing was too limited to give everyone the help they needed. Too many posts were answered by "go read this rule" or "read the manual". I expected to see "shut up and just go away". Well, many of the devs did just that which tells you something is broken with the way things are being done.

When texstar left for months on end, it was like shooting the OS in the foot.

When PCLinuxOS recovers from all the troubles, things should improve.
 
Old 05-26-2009, 02:33 PM   #12
opaArt@70
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2

Pros: None compared to Mint 6 Felicia
Cons: Have to pay for new updates


After running PCLinuxOS until an update required payment came up. I decided some other open source programs as Ubuntu, and Mint5, later Mint6, and soon Mint7.
Mint is my platform, that I am willing to support without asking for money!! Sorry Tex, but I am ticked off with PCLinuX.
 
Page:  1 · 2 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration