LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Ubuntu Feisty Fawn 7.04
Reviews Views Date of last review
37 134400 04-16-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
92% of reviewers None indicated 8.3



Description: Ubuntu is a community developed, linux-based operating system that is perfect for laptops, desktops and servers. It contains all the applications you need - a web browser, presentation, document and spreadsheet software, instant messaging and much more.
Keywords: feisty fawn 7.04 ubuntu kubuntu


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 08-16-2007, 03:45 PM   #1
masinick
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Distribution: Debian, sidux, antiX, SimplyMEPIS, Kubuntu, Mandriva, Fedora, Xandros, Arch, and many others
Posts: 560

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to install, easy to update and modify
Cons: Could be better organized



Ubuntu Feisty Fawn (Version 7.04) is the most interesting release yet seen from the Ubuntu project, though not necessarily the best in every respect.

I found the installation program to be easy to use but slow and somewhat repetitive on my rather old Dell Dimension 4100 desktop system, which is several years old. I had better results on a newer Hewlett Packard D5305 desktop system. Once installed, both desktop systems ran well.

The partition management program used during installation recalculates the partition geometry if you enter intermediate information, especially if you change which disk or which partitions you want to use. Not a problem on fast systems, but it was quite noticeable and annoying on the Dell during installation.

The menus could be somewhat cleaner and better organized, but the overall appearance of the system is very good and the appearance really distinguishes Ubuntu when comparing to other desktop alternatives.

Updating the software once initially installed is very easily accomplished, and an icon on the task bar will let you know when updates are available.

Overall, a very good distribution, well worth trying out.

You can try Ubuntu simply by either ordering or creating a CD, then loading the software. When the system starts, it runs "Live" from the CD. This allows you to evaluate the software and decide whether or not you want to install it. I did install it, and the preceding notes described that installation. Being able to evaluate the software directly from the CD makes this system very easy to install - all you have to do is click on the desktop installation icon. I recommend trying it out.
 
Old 08-27-2007, 03:30 PM   #2
raypsi
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Distribution: ubuntu
Posts: 49

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: first distro to see my SATA drive on install
Cons: hard to add sofware it's still trying to install java.doc everytime I do an add program or update


First linux distro that works java applets on firefox and kon browsers. I even went with 64 bit cpu and still only distro that worked well on java. Whatever install I had, it didn't install device manager no sound and DVD forget it. Had to go to command line to clear the conflict with add/remove software gui, when trying to install audio volume control/mixer. And restricted software for DVD was a real pain, finding that libdvdcss file drove me crazy. But all in all firefox 64 bit java works good except on yahoo. Konqueror picks up the slack.
I don't update because of that java.doc tries to install.
 
Old 09-17-2007, 09:04 PM   #3
chisoxhowe
 
Registered: Sep 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros:
Cons:


I recently made the decision to take on Linux as I have only worked with Windows in the past and wanted a change. I have been trying out Ubuntu for a week and have no complaints what so ever. I did a lot of reading/research on all distributions on linuxquestions.org and distrowatch.com. The amount of information and comments are almost overwhelming but very informative and helped make my decision on what distro to use. I tired Ubuntu out first by burning the iso image on a CD and using VMWare set up a virtual machine to boot off the CD. Did not have one issue with setting up either. After trying it out I have purchased a hard drive and more memory. I am now running Ubuntu on my new hard drive and can easily switch between it and my Window XP box. I do however see myself using the Ubuntu while my wife continues to use XP. Thanks for all the resourceful comments, tip and suggestions.
 
Old 09-24-2007, 08:39 PM   #4
chaoticanarchyX
 
Registered: Sep 2007
Distribution: UBUNTU
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: perfect for Windows converters (such as myself) XD
Cons: none


I had to learn how to go about doing commands but other then that I would say this system work very well. No driver problems, it runs WAY cleaner then windows does without hogging the system resources, and is in my opinion the reason to switch to a linux system in general.
 
Old 10-04-2007, 12:13 AM   #5
eridanaeon
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Distribution: ubuntu fiesty fawn
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: easy and quick installation
Cons: right now thier ome page is down :-


1. Live CD is a working OS
2. Install process took only 30 min on my Presario v2000 (AMD Athlon)
3. Really cool UI
 
Old 04-08-2008, 04:41 AM   #6
treetop
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy of installation
Cons: Install time


Installed from "Ubuntu for Non-Geeks 2ed" which I checked out from the local library. Install it on an old 900mhz Gateway with 256m mob, 8gig hd (originally 20gig), Nec A500+ monitor, and single speed cd-rom. Worked from the start. Same machine with an earlier WinXP installation caused undo grief. This install worked even though the hdd was unpartitioned or formatted. Booting from a cd only bootup to an installed system with little intervention from me was surprising. Since I was using a cdrom (no RW) the installation took about 3+ hours. For a while there I wasn't sure that anything was happening. I had a hard time figuring out if anything was working as the install bar didn't seem to move much or all that often, but I just watched the light on the cdrom and it seemed to be read so I left everything alone and viola a system which worked from the start. Sure beats working with m$.
 
Old 04-16-2008, 02:09 PM   #7
redjokerx
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 303

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to set up, install software, support since many people use it
Cons: Still have to use command line and edit text files, Release cycle may be a bit too frequent


Ubuntu's easy to install, configure, and update. It has a good repository of easily installable software and a large community you can go to for support.

However, for being "Linux for People", I expected a lot and was disappointed when I still had to use the command line and edit text files. At that point, I was getting the Slackware experience and decided to switch back.

Being dumped to command line from easy GUI configuration tools leaves users relying on GUI tools hanging. There's nothing in between to ease you into more detailed configuration.

Ubuntu's slick, reasonably polished, and getting better, but the occasional command line configuring means it's close, but not quite there yet.
 
Page:  1 · 2 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration