LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > KNOPPIX
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

KNOPPIX 5.1.1
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 77295 04-11-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
88% of reviewers $2.00 8.8



Description: I downloaded Knoppix 5.1.1 CD iso edition from one of their mirrors at knoppix.net to test it by booting from my USB flash drive. Since I own a Inspiron B130 Dell laptop, it came preloaded with Win XP so I had to follow an old tutorial from www.pendrivelinux.com in order to make my USB flash drive bootable.

Performing the instructions from that old tutorial proved easy and I was running Knoppix in no time. The OS detected most of my hardware easily and I didn't have to fiddle with configuration files (I haven't tested Knoppix's wireless support on my laptop yet.)

Nonetheless, I was not able to load a permanent home directory and configuartion files on the very same USB key that I was using... Until, I read the instructions from the following wiki:

http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/Bootable_USB_Key

Such a priceless piece of information allowed me to do anything I want with my USB key! I have all applications that I want and more:

Openoffice.org
The Gimp
K3b
Kaffeine

etc.

Apt-getting the remaining favorites was easy as well and installing Gnumeric, Abiword and Inkscape was a breeze. I am learning how to fix some of the fonts that I don't particularly like but now that I know how to save all my things this will prove easy.

Things that I don't like:

KDE -- This is just too heavy and I would rather use another WM for my USB stick [There's a cheat-code that I could use but I am still learning...]

Too many applications -- If I could, I would remaster the whole distro to diminish its MB requirements and make it run faster. I believe I can do that in order to make another Knoppix-based distro :) Just kidding... But I do want to remaster Knoppix into something lighter...

I believe that Knoppix is an excellent tool for both the advanced linux user and the newbie. It has all you need to become productive instantly, excellent hardware detection and loads of fun things to play with.

Ah! I am able to play mp3s from my hard-drive without troubles and read files from my hard-drive... Can I ask for more?
Keywords: USB flash drive boot permanent home


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 05-15-2007, 04:06 AM   #1
Atwin
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: FreeBSD 8.0 & Fedora 12
Posts: 50

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Sleek Interface, nice design, packed with options
Cons: none yet



Knoppix still remains one the best distros, if not the best, in the live cd market. Definitely a must-have.
 
Old 05-26-2007, 06:37 PM   #2
linuxyeung
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: Good software when it boots up
Cons: Not always booting


I used previous editions of knoppix for quick checking before installing the "real" distributions like RHEL, fedora or debian. 5.1.1 is comparable with the others in design and interface. However it has a serious drawback of not booting in some PC's. I have three PCs that fail to boot with 5.1.1 but have no problem with the eariler editions (3.7, 4.0 ...). My recommendation for all is to keep the eariler editions handy while trying the latest.
 
Old 08-27-2007, 05:53 PM   #3
azgs
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Just liked everything
Cons: Only it asks for WPA-supplicant and wont connect wireless


I got Knoppix image and installed it on my 1GB USB stick. It works just fine on one machine but on the other it stucks at 'udev' or while detecting hardware. I still have to analyze the problem. The other machine where it simply boots up nicely I get only one problem as yet. It wont connect the wireless at once, I didnt try much troubleshooting but the problem is it asks for WPA_supplicant which I am unable to provide or better say have no idea what to do, where to get it from. My other installation is a Mandriva. I wanted to get the WPA_supplicant from it but couldn't.
Any ideas how to make it work??
 
Old 08-29-2007, 12:48 PM   #4
Traian
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Live, good
Cons: dual Processor Support to be improved


I "meet" Linux 4 years ago, with KNOPPIX 3.3, on a new (then)laptop. I was impressed. But, on that laptop is still XP, in dual boot with a SuSE. The others users of that laptop run XP.
Since then I've tried more distros, particularly Live stile and not only on that laptop.
KNOPPIX 5.0 and 5.1.1 are great. Now I am waiting for 5.2 (announced already). I hope that the announce was not 1-st April joke!
There is still a problem: trying to run 3.3, 5.0, 5.1.1 form CD on an Acer Aspire 5610, it crashed. But also crashed other distros, so I think the problem is the computer not the software, because the same CD was OK on others computers with P4, P3, P1.
On the other side, PCLinux2007 and Underground worked, so I think the problem is either in the init either the kernel used (but I am newbie, so excuse me if I am wrong!)
I liked also a variant, based on 3.3, from a Japanese University.
I agree, is one of the best, if not the best Live distribution. So my personal wish is to run KNOPPIX 10.10.10
 
Old 12-03-2007, 03:53 PM   #5
reverendhamer
 
Registered: Nov 2007
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: A)...from a floppy (persistent), from a usb or hard drive it
Cons: B1,2)... installation to the hard drive - this is not been fun


A)...is a wonder. Since I own a laptop and it worked great even without the hard drive installed. I could still reach the internet and do lots of things with a micro 2 gigbyte (scandisk) - "cruzer". I also partitioned the disk/w two five gigbyte sections one (copy of dvd) and one (for home). That will free the cd for other stuff. So, you enter:
knoppix fromhd=/dev/hdaX home=scan

B1)...and I have searched the forms, the "Su returned with an error" was ruff.

1st) - Konqueror/View/Show (hidden files) X

2nd) - Konqueor>HomeFolder>.kde>share>config>kdesurc - and change
super-user-command=sudo
to
super-user-command=su

Fix worked - finding where kdesurc was hidden - A a r g!

B2)...Then I lost all ability to read, write and mount drives, say good bye to the floppys and cd burner.


# /etc/fstab: filesystem table.
#
# filesystem mountpoint type options dump pass
/dev/hda2 / reiserfs defaults 0 1

proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/fd0 /floppy vfat defaults,user,noauto,showexec,umask=022 0 0
usbfs /proc/bus/usb usbfs devmode=0666 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
/dev/cdrom /media/cdrom iso9660 defaults,ro,users,noexec,noauto 0 0
/dev/cdrom1 /media/cdrom1 iso9660 defaults,ro,users,noexec,noauto 0 0
/dev/dvd /media/dvd iso9660 defaults,ro,users,noexec,noauto 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/hda1 /media/hda1 ntfs noauto,users,exec,umask=000,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppix 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/hdc /media/hdc auto ro,noauto,users,exec 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/sda /media/sda vfat noauto,users,exec,umask=000,shortname=winnt,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppix 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/sdb1 /media/sdb1 vfat noauto,users,exec,umask=000,shortname=winnt,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppix 0 0


/etc/mtab
/dev/hda2 / reiserfs rw 0 0
/proc/bus/usb /proc/bus/usb usbfs rw,devmode=0666 0 0
/dev/pts /dev/pts devpts rw 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs rw 0 0
tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,size=10M,mode=0755 0 0

I had total access and full functionality, still do with the A) list - I'm open to any suggestions that will put me back on track with the KDE version of Knoppix. The B) list is a boo and it's probably my fault. newBe me...

Best wishes to all and Happy Hol(y-i)days!

email@reverendhamer.org
 
Old 01-25-2008, 10:46 AM   #6
Alex2008
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Installation to the hard disk is not difficult
Cons:


Knoppix is a stunning distro - just watching it boot gets people hopping like a kangaroo on steroids. I can think of no better way to tempt your Windows-addicted friends to try Linux than to hand them a Knoppix disk. The way Knoppix auto-configures all your hardware without intervention is awesome. The fact that this distro is as free as air is another strong selling point.


------------------------------
Family Relationships
 
Old 03-22-2008, 02:21 PM   #7
cmnorton
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu, CentOS
Posts: 585

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $2.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: wide platform boot ability
Cons: latest updates are a must


The latest Knoppix version is a must for anyone's toolkit who must access a system that otherwise will not boot. Until I needed to find out why installing Ubuntu 7.10 on a new Thinkpad T61p would not work even in safe mode install, I would have told anyone Knoppix will boot just about any system as long as you had close to an up-to-date version, or it cannot be booted at all.

Knoppix 5.1 got hung up on detecting the new networking chip logic in the T61p, but as soon as I blasted a 5.1.1 CD and tried that, I was able to boot completely. This included several tries to get the nvidia graphics hardware initialized.

I am a fan of Ubuntu -- it runs my development workstation -- and we use RH 9, RH 7, Fedora, and RH EL 4 in our data center. I wish these distros would just work like Knoppix. I have less of a technical reason for this than Knoppix's overall "feel" and boot reliability. Knoppix virtually never fails to boot for me; and the menus and tools are laid out well for doing serious work.

If I had more time, I would certainly look into re-packaging Knoppix with some of my other tools, some of which -- PowerTerm Interconnect For Linux for example -- could probably be well integrated into a read-only CD. A combination like that would make a good traveling workstation CD.
 
Old 04-11-2008, 09:26 PM   #8
Doctorzongo
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Distribution: Fedora 11
Posts: 72

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to use, sci-fi voice when you boot up (HUGE pro for me :-D), tons of applications, fast, only requires a live cd
Cons: When I tried installing it to HD it got corrupted


Awesome!
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration