LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > openSUSE
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Novell openSUSE 10.2
Reviews Views Date of last review
43 98520 10-17-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
95% of reviewers $64.33 8.0



Description: Latest release of Novell's sponsored openSUSE 10.2
Keywords: linux, novell, opensuse, suse


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 08-29-2007, 03:44 AM   #1
tompickles
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Distribution: Vista, Gentoo
Posts: 61

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: openSUSE, KDE interface, YaST
Cons: Buggy GNOME release, updates(zmd)



Overall a fantastic and polished distro. YaST for configuing is just fantastic as usual, and the KDE menu is really intuitive to work with. Better than the GNOME version in this distro in my opinion, where you have to load a seperate window to load aditional apps. The default GNOME install was really Buggy on my machine, but fixed after update. And updates, and installing software in YaST is a bit rubbish, due to the marriage it has with zmd, but from 10.3 this will have totally changed, and got a LOT faster!

Definatly worth a try for a real alternive to windows.
 
Old 09-14-2007, 10:32 PM   #2
winsnomore
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: #1 PCLinuxOS -- for laughs -> Ubuntu, Suse, Mepis
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: None
Cons: Bad Install, awfull boot nothing outstanding


No point installing it.
After downloading 4GB worth of crap it still wants to download the packages one day after release!!!
There are real boobs working on Suse now, once a great distro is now just a piece of total junk.

There are many other better distro to use .. not this one for me anymore.
 
Old 09-14-2007, 10:54 PM   #3
winsnomore
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: #1 PCLinuxOS -- for laughs -> Ubuntu, Suse, Mepis
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: None
Cons: Bad install, poor boot ........no distinguishing features


I have tried them all.. this distro is going down faster than any I have seen.
After 4GB of download it still wants to download packages "BEFORE" the install.

Really this one used to be a great package but I guess Novell finally did them in.

It's no wonder small teams like Mepis and PCLinuxOS are doing a much better job.

My suggestion .. stay away from this one till they improve ...
 
Old 10-02-2007, 02:26 AM   #4
Alessandro
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Debian, Slackware
Posts: 116

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Almost everything
Cons: Package management, speed and fonts have been improved in 10.3


Happy SUSE user since the 8xx releases. I have always found SUSE/openSUSE one of the best operating systems, not just one of the best Linux distros. Do you all know the great repair feature? (boot from CD1/DVD). No other OS has something quite the same.

Hardware: Intel Bad Axe 2
Intel Q6600
4GB RAM, Crucial Ballistix
XFX GeForce 7900GT
3 Seagate Barracuda HDs
 
Old 10-03-2007, 04:52 PM   #5
thewhitelion
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Distribution: Ubuntu 7.10 for desktop, CentOS+openSUSE for servers.
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Greate desktop OS, very friendly, easy to use.
Cons: minor issues


I have been using suse on my laptop as a desktop OS for about one year, it was my migration factor from win to linux for the desktop.

I love it, it is easy and smooth, but some small problems appear from time to time, yet still better than win, for one year, I used it and counted the times it crashed, amazing for one year as a desktop it crashed 3 times only!! I experienced 3 crashes a day when I was suffering with windows.

thanks LINUX alot!
 
Old 10-18-2007, 02:34 PM   #6
Tomermory
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: Debian Etch,
Posts: 181

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3

Pros: Pretty; good hardware detection
Cons: Too long to list


I've tried and used lots of Linux distributions, but Suse is the only one I could never recommend to anyone. It's very pretty, with lots of lovely animations and nice themes, but all of this prettiness makes for a slow, heavy system. I don't want my distribution to be beautiful - I want it to to be flawless, and for me Suse just simply doesn't work. Unpredictable things happen frequently, crashes are common place, downloads and updates are painfully slow and, what's more, Novell signed a pact with the Devil. For me, Suse is hardly better than Windows: it has the same 'eye candy' philosophy and is no more reliable. In fact, I think this is the only Linux distribution that is less reliable than Windows. OK, you don't get the viruses, but you sure get a load of system break-downs. It's true that Suse has a great repair feature, and it's a good job really because it's needed. In Debian there is no repair feature because once Debian is up and running it never goes wrong. I much prefer Debian dullness and reliability to Suse prettiness and unpredictability.
 
Old 01-29-2008, 01:41 AM   #7
Alex2008
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros:
Cons:


So Novell fixed the damage done by 10.1., but still has not addressed many of the lingering problems with installation and configuration that have plagued SUSE variants for the operating system's entire history. It's still a decent desktop operating system, and has one of the industry's best configuration frameworks (YaST), but it just doesn't compete with commercial GNU/Linux distros like Xandros or Mandriva. It has a hard time competing even with the free-of-charge Ubuntu Linux. Indeed, openSUSE is in danger of losing relevance in a rapidly evolving market. You can't have poor quality releases anymore -- those days of leniency are over. Desktop GNU/Linux is now a mature market, and companies like Novell need to start treating it like such.

------------------------------
Fashion
 
Old 04-16-2008, 04:44 AM   #8
hans51
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Distribution: suse
Posts: 36

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $69.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: all worked out of the box smooth !
Cons: none


Since 1998 I use SuSE Linux now on 8 different laptops ( incl 1 PC ) for my full time web publisher work - the 10.2 install from original DVD on my

Acer Ferrari 5000 was smooth from A-Z with zero problems. All features I needed worked perfectly from beginning and ever there after. While I also have 10.3 for another laptop, I saw no reasons to upgrade my current 10.2 as all runs smooth and no wishes open so far.

I also run SuSE on my dedicated server with same satisfaction. Thus I definitely can recommend this fine Linux OS.
 
Old 05-11-2008, 07:34 AM   #9
chickenlinux
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Distribution: Fedora 12, Arch Linux (updated daily =D)
Posts: 270

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: zen-installer, YAst2, snazzy feel, good gfx acceleration
Cons: Hard to update, a trifle slow, wireless hardware


pretty dang good!

Another problem is that you can't update online to 10.3 if you've installed 3rd party softwares, and it's nearly manditory since zen-installer doesn't have quite enough...

What was REALLY annoying was that I had to manually modify a bunch of stuff to made ndiswrapper work with my card. I even had to manually write the device config. It took forever.
 
Old 05-11-2008, 07:38 AM   #10
chickenlinux
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Distribution: Fedora 12, Arch Linux (updated daily =D)
Posts: 270

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: zen-installer, YAst2, snazzy feel
Cons: Hard to update from teh interwebs, a tad slow


pretty dang good!

Another problem is that you can't update online to 10.3 if you've installed 3rd party softwares, and it's nearly manditory since zen-installer doesn't have quite enough...
 
Old 10-29-2008, 01:10 PM   #11
Sargek
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Debian testing
Posts: 416

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Very polished distro, ease of use/administration
Cons: Slow, looooooong install, way too much package bloat, inconsistent install results


I have used Suse on and off for several years, from version 6 or 7 I think. It always impresses me in that it seems very polished, in both the installer and in adminstration. What bothers me is the inconsistency of the "one click" installs, which I think are a great idea. Sometimes they work, sometimes they don't. Also, it seems to be one of the slowest distros I have ever used, both in boot time and application launch, even when I have gone in and killed about 60% of the unneeded startup services.

That aside, I would easily recommend it for a new user because it is feature packed and seems to be quite stable and easy to update.
 
Old 12-23-2008, 10:21 PM   #12
curtjr4
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Sleek Look, fun to play around with
Cons: Yast is very slow, mouse moves around very quickly, slow in general


it is good overall except the performance. the mouse seems to move around very fast...
 
Old 10-17-2009, 10:48 AM   #13
MaartenM
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Distribution: Fedora, Suse, Android
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy installation, very stable
Cons: Zmd and repository slow


Good performances on a AMD 800 Mhz 282Mb machine
 
Page:  1 · 2 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration