LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Fedora Project
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Fedora Core 5
Reviews Views Date of last review
46 214429 03-15-2010
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
76% of reviewers None indicated 7.3



Description: The bleeding edge of devel, but nearly useless on the Hobbyist desktop. Not for production!!!
A 5 disk monster of bloat that is not for those that desire a nimble and stable OS. Do NOT attempt to load this with a non-Ext2 or 3 version linux or bsd dual booted, or even with dual harddrives. Will not upgrade from FC4, nor from RHEL4.2.
Extreme difficulty or impossible to shoehorn in rpms that are not directly FC origin, seg faults or just outright freeze of the PUP (updater) is chronic.
Strictly a bleeding-edge hacker's toy, not for the faint of heart or those that desire reliability or smoothness of packaging. It's like FC1 all over again. Only bigger.
My shot: wait and see, for now. FC6 could be awsome!
Keywords: fedora core 5 redhat bordeaux


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 07-01-2006, 08:51 PM   #1
cyberguy03
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Distribution: Fedora Core, Ubuntu, Mint
Posts: 25

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast, easy to manage, better hardware-compat. than previous versions, cutting edge
Cons: Cutting edge? Not for the meek



Many on here have said it's resource hungry, etc, which it is, but my machine (see sig) handles it perfectly. 18s boot time (from GRUB to desktop).
 
Old 07-09-2006, 09:43 AM   #2
schaiba
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Lots of packages,ease of use,stability,nice looks
Cons: None


I've been using Redhat since my first time with Linux,used it at work,at home,and I haven't found anything (from what I need) that it cannot do.My system is not a very spedy one,yet it works just great.
 
Old 07-22-2006, 02:30 PM   #3
hunter_the
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: OpenSuse 10.2 X86
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Stable, fast, a pleasure to work with as always
Cons: 64 bit Java / Flash not yet ready


I have loaded the 32-bit and 64 bit versions.

Great selection of software is available for 32 bit which also works to a very large extent in the 64 bit version. Some apps need to be supported specifically like Java / Flash before they can ne downloaded.

There is a bunch of very good notes available at this site:

http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_core_5_installation_notes.html

Note :
The same notes work for 64 bit also except for Flash / Java.
Nvidia chipset drivers work like a charm.
Amarok 1.4 is Fantastic.................load linux for this alone and you wont be sorry.


Bad News

The java / flash plugin dont work in native 64-bit

:cool:

Anyway one can always be sure the sure the problem will be solved soon.


The power of open source is with the people.
 
Old 08-12-2006, 04:30 AM   #4
jpence
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Fedora Core 5
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Fast boot, nice graphic layouts
Cons: Installation glitches


I've installed an old SuSE and a couple previous versions of Fedora. This one went reasonably well once I figured out that the graphics card detection had failed. I used the text installer, but then had to spend time figuring out how to reconfigure the system for a generic VESA graphics driver. I probably spent too much time on it, but eventually it worked OK. I wouldn't recommend it for new users, but then this is intended as a distro for folks with experience.
 
Old 09-10-2006, 04:54 AM   #5
dellmill
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: Redhat 9.0
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Only took 20 min's
Cons: file manager to buggy, installer doesn't work,


I attempted to upgrade from rdh9 to fedora 5 surprisingly it only ended up crashing once while running disk druid. The os does a lot better if you don't try and upgrade from anything below it. After the install I couldn't add any more rpm's that really blows, because you can't install the ntfs rpm so you it can mount windows. I thought this was pretty odd considering I was able to make rdh9 configure very easily. Before I just downloaded the rpm for my i386 motherboard, but it doesnt't exist for fedora 5-i386. I'm not impressed at all.
 
Old 09-20-2006, 06:15 AM   #6
samnjugu
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Centos, knoppix, Fedora, Mepis, Zenwalk, Mint
Posts: 142

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: very user friendly
Cons:


I would recomend it to anyone starting to use linux got an easy to use GUI and very stable.
 
Old 10-01-2006, 12:53 AM   #7
donbcivil
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons:


I'm quite happy with FC5 so far, it's worked well on my AMD64 desktop and I'm contemplating replacing ububtu with it on my laptop.
 
Old 10-02-2006, 09:01 AM   #8
batty505
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: front end feel, very polished
Cons: installing apps and updates


Hey folks,
dont know what the all trash talk is about.. I like it!
sure I know I'm noob, trying to migrate a little bit at a time from M$ but hey anything that dosent hit me for more cash everytime i have to install something is ok, especially with little or no effort.

I like the gnome front end tried it with kde and wasnt impressed, i think its just the desktop manager.

installing was very easy. found everything just fine, configured video, and nics quickly.

my only gripe about it is that software installer doesnt use automatix? and I cant get some of the screensavers to work like in ubuntu but thats bling stuff, I can always cmdline to install apps.

anyway, I like it.. Ive brought fc5 as a firewall and server. have to figure out how to install a 2nd nic and configure the ports for my servers.

just my 02.cents
 
Old 10-02-2006, 08:01 PM   #9
Lsatenstein
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Distribution: Fedora Core 6 XEN
Posts: 202

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Installs better than SUSE10.1 Runs faster, and is robust
Cons: Need to visit easylinux.info site for fedora.frog.sh


A shortcoming of all linux's for North America is the absence of good multimedia plugins and third party non foss (free open source software). Hoever, given a reference to Stanton Finley's web site and the easylinux.info websites. I complemented the Fedora install with these extra features.
As far as the install is concerned, I experienced no trouble, every piece of hardware was recognized.
In the install process there is an opportunity to choose the options desired, or to wait for internet access and do them later. This list of install software is not advertised or indicated well, and thus, the user will feel that it does not come with enough. To the contrary, it comes with just the right amount or excessive amounts of software.

I did most of my install from the dvd, and then used the yum facility to get the upgrades. When SUSE10 destroyed my installation, I found the Fedora RESPIN UNITY DVD's (a dvd with 6 months of updates merged to the release DVDs) and used it to rebuild my system. Time spent by yum after the RESPIN dvd was about 1 hour.

Once set up, there is no incentive to change. Changing to another distribution, or from another distribution is like changing 4 quarters for a dollar.
 
Old 10-03-2006, 02:05 AM   #10
cirman
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Fedora 9, 10 live CD
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Logical stages to install a desktop system GUI interface. Updates well with Pup
Cons: Loads slowly, but tinkering can fix this..... Edit services file.


On a Dell 2400 with 1GB RAM and a PTSO76d Intel 845 19" screen 160GB drive it runs like a rocket, and is a 20 minute install before a bit of tinkering to harden the system. My favourite distribution. If a 76 year old can install Fedora 5 it can only be described as user friendly! I am a long way from competent with Unix or Linux, and I love it. It seems to be secure too, and I know next to nothing about IP Tables.
Get going on linux Fedora 5 with a dual boot behind XP to start. It just works!
 
Old 10-12-2006, 08:46 AM   #11
m_w_green
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Looks great, great install, most hardware is detected,
Cons: 3d card setup a bit of a nightmare,


I think that this is a great distro. I have been using it since FC4 and I have stuck with it till now. I gave UBUNTU a go but it did not have the same feel and it did not like a lot of my PC hardware. FC5 was ok, a bit unstable but still cool. Looking forward to FC6 coming out on the 14 of Oct
 
Old 10-24-2006, 09:20 PM   #12
WhiskeyP
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Distribution: Fedora Core 5
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: stable, user friendly, cutting edge, reliable, fast boot
Cons: slow install


This is the OS that the average user would probably want. If you knew your way around DOS youll figure it out quickly.
 
Old 11-10-2006, 11:25 PM   #13
vhasun
 
Registered: May 2006
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Nice interface, easy to install
Cons: Not good for offline work, unless worked around. Cant get some devices to actually WORK


I've installed FC5 and found it quite appealing. Initial install caused some problems, like 'pup' and 'pirate' always try to go online (well I have no net connection yet) - worked around by pointing to the install DVD image.
I still cannot get my smartlink SL1900 modem to work. Well I'm just a NEWbeeeee after all.
 
Old 11-12-2006, 11:21 AM   #14
ashwin_cse
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: arch, rhel
Posts: 133

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: large no. of software are available for this distro
Cons: Bloatware


FC5 defaults to GNOME & force user to install a lot of software. Look & feel of KDE & GNOME look almost similar in this disto. It forces users to use the online repositories to install softwares though the same package may be available in the CDs you downloaded. Hence the time & bandwidth spent on downloading for the CDs goes near waste. fc5 supports only ext3 filesystem. Pirut doesnt work thats default GUI for add/remove programs (though updating the system might help).
 
Old 09-22-2007, 11:54 AM   #15
methecooldude
 
Registered: Sep 2007
Distribution: Fedora Core 5
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Great for serving
Cons: Not for Linux Desktops (non server uses)


I use FC5 for my server and it works great but as per the other reviews here I would not have it as my Desktop distro.
 
Old 03-15-2010, 12:30 AM   #16
llh1027
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:



http://www.sellshoe.com/images/20091...5772158124.jpg
 
Page:  1 · 2 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration