LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Puppy
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Puppy Linux 1.0.5
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 37144 10-24-2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
75% of reviewers None indicated 7.0



Description: From http://www.goosee.com/puppy/

Mission Statement

* Puppy will easily install to USB, Zip or hard drive media.
* Booting from CD, Puppy will load totally into RAM so that the CD drive is then free for other purposes.
* Booting from CD, Puppy can save everything back to the CD, no need for a hard drive.
* Booting from USB, Puppy will greatly minimise writes, to extend the life of Flash devices indefinitely.
* Puppy will be extremely friendly for Linux newbies.
* Puppy will boot up and run extraordinarily fast.
* Puppy will have all the applications needed for daily use.
* Puppy will just work, no hassles.
* Puppy will breathe new life into old PCs
Keywords: LiveCD Utilities Fast Restoreable


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 10-05-2005, 03:13 AM   #1
NoobieDoobieDo
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Debian 4.0
Posts: 65

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast, LiveCD, saves session to LiveCD
Cons: None yet



Short story : Puppy saves your session info to the LiveCD you boot from (even plain CDRs) - this rocks.

For such a small distro it has a lot of stuff and includes easy to use configuration utilities. Previously I used damnsmalllinux (also good) but I must say, on my systems given my experience I like this better.

Also just came from Ubuntu/Suse/Mandrake so the non-bloated fast booting feel is very nice.

It's only 60 some-odd MB, give it a try.


Edit to add torrent link :

http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/PuppyP2PDistribution
 
Old 01-19-2006, 07:43 PM   #2
italiano40
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: CentOS 5.3, Mac OSX 10.6.8
Posts: 70

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2

Pros: not fast
Cons: it was not a good linux free cd


it wasn't like a real Linux
if you want to program in Linux go with Linspire it is better i can do c++ and Java in this Linspire
 
Old 10-05-2006, 08:56 AM   #3
eagles-lair
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: Lindows/Linspire, SuSE, PC-BSD, ubuntu, puppy
Posts: 239

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: Fast. Versatile. Works on antique machines, giving them a new lease of life.
Cons: I don't think there really are any real cons except perhaps documentation on newer stuff.


My introduction to Puppy was Version 2.02, which I'm still using - although I downloaded 70megs or so ISO of 2.10 recently.

Unbelievably fast, because it loads everything it can into RAM, and what's left over it uses a swap file for. If it can't find one on anything that remotely looks like a drive, it creates one :D

Tried it on a couple of old Aptivas with AMD K6-2 450 and 500 meg processors and 128megs of RAM.

Even ran on a Pentium 100 with 64Mb of not exactly fast RAM :) And an old Twinhead P-266MMX with 64Mb of RAM. Both of those were surprisingly fast, certainly faster than their native Windows - and every other Linux distro I've tried.

With the ability to create a persistent file to save not just personal stuff but also downloads, it makes a great portable OS which you can put on one of those floppy sized CDs and run on any machine without wrecking it. You can even create your own custom CD if you want, though I haven't bothered, I'm having too much fun :)

This personal "save" file can be enlarged in size as and when necessary, and it can be written to IDE or USB hard drives (and USB pen drives), but not to the network.

They can be backed up across a network though, burned to CDs or DVDs for portability and archiving, and multiple saved files can be stored in the one location for selection on start-up for different customisations, although the how to do that is discovered by trial and error - in my case anyway :)

The save file is actually an ext3 file system in a container.

It is possible to install the OS to an HDD, although strictly speaking it isn't necessary to do so. I found that it was actually faster as a lean, mean 70 Mb live distro loaded into RAM. You would expect that, anyway.

You can install Grub if you wish to boot an installed version co-existing with another OS, and to prove that, I have four slightly different Puppies as well as Windows2000 on one HDD rack :)

Provided with the basic OS is the excellent Gparted Partition Manager, and a wealth of tools, some specially written for the OS, which was originally developed in Australia by university lecturer Barry Kauler. On start-up the hardware detection is quite brilliant, with a number of GUI setup wizards.

There is also a user based community at work developing various "office" versions with simplified menuing more familiar to that "other" operating system; I wish them well in their endeavours.

With the work going on in a number of Linux communities, and also with PC-BSD, surely something will click sooner or later with the commercial office world?

Good stuff folks, keep it up. :) :D

And you dear reader, go check it out. I think you'll be amazed :)
 
Old 10-24-2006, 06:52 PM   #4
chuckt
 
Registered: Sep 2006
Distribution: ubunto 6.06
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Does exactly as advertised!
Cons: Haven't found any.


Running a very old machine, PII(?) type processor with 192 Mb of ram, loads into ram and runs smoothly and very fast. Much better than DamnSmallLinux. Running PuppyLinux 2.10. Just follow the simple directions as described on Puppy website. So if you have an old machine with a crashed HD, no problem, it will work.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration