LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Slackware 10.2
Reviews Views Date of last review
45 223014 01-12-2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
98% of reviewers $24.95 9.5
159795slackware-10_2.png


supersize

supersize

supersize

Description: Slackware 10.2 includes the Linux 2.4.31 kernel, with Linux 2.6.13 available in the /testing directory. For the first time, a 2.6 kernel with support for SCSI, RAID, and SATA is offered as a boot option in the installer (called "test26.s"). Slackware 10.2 also sports a new revision of glibc (2.3.5) with NPTL support for improved thread performance when using a kernel with NPTL support, the latest KDE 3.4.2 and XFce 4.2.2 desktop environments, updated development tools, and new additions like SASL support in sendmail, the Subversion version control system, the Firefox browser, and the Thunderbird email and news client.
Keywords: Slackware Slack Linux Best Distro 10.2 New Frugalware Rubix Ware


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 09-19-2005, 12:42 PM   #1
Anonymo
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Distribution: Slackware, Archlinux, CentOS
Posts: 183

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, Fast, Clean, Nice Looking [after tweaks]
Cons: KDE fonts looked bad [before tweaks], had to fix screen resolution, long boot time ???



Hardware:
Compaq Evo n800v [Notebook]
1.8 Ghz, 512 mb of RAM, 30GB HDD, 15 inch SVGA 1400x1050

I am not using Windows XP on the machine anymore.

The install went great. I went for a full install on Reiser FS with 3 partitions; swap, /, /home and running the 2.4 kernel and run KDE GUI.

The system works really well. All the programs open fast and nothing has crashed so far. The biggest thing that bothered me were the fonts. They looked hideous on LCD. I think this is a KDE problem. So I went on the forums to see how to resolve it and found this:

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/answers.php?action=viewarticle&artid=397

I followed all the instructions and this fixed the problem. I was so happy with the results.

Another thing wrong is that my Intellimouse optical mouse doesn't work when plugged in. The laser turns on at boot time when linux detects it, but I can't do anything with it. The touchpad on the laptop works and I think that is what is screwing it up. I am still working on getting this to work. I guess I will have to edit my xorg.conf file again. The first time I configured it was to fix my resolution because it wouldn't go over 1024x768. I found out my H and V sync for my monitor [ HorizSync 31.5-90 VertRefresh 55-65] and then restarted X. This seemed to work well. Problem resolved.

The situation I am in now is that Slackware 10.2 works great, but I have to tweak it to make it boot faster.

Oh, I had to go back to the setup to make sure I had check the dhcp option so that it would have internet connection. Couldn't connect for a while. If you have/need dhcp, enable this module?? at install. Don't know how to do this after install yet.
 
Old 09-27-2005, 11:54 AM   #2
uopjohnson
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Slackware, Ubuntu, RHEL, OS X
Posts: 159

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Secure, fast, easy to configure
Cons: default uw-imap mail server


You can read a thousand previous posts about how great slackware is. I booked a whole afternoon to get my web/mail server up with a fresh 10.2 install (mainly for the sasl sendmail updates) and it only took me an hour or so to get everything just the way I like it.

The only con is the included UW-IMAP which seems way behind the curve. I plan to switch over to something else this weekend, however it is annoying.
 
Old 09-29-2005, 02:02 PM   #3
asciibaron
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: as pure a distro as they come
Cons: having to learn as you go


my first foray into the world of linux was back in 1999 with Mandrake 7.0. i have tried the various distros since then and always seemed to have a Mandrake version on my system. in Feb 2004 i put together a new workstation and turned the old system into a test server to hone my MS skills (gotta pay the mortgage).

last week i decided to revisit the top 5 distros as listed on Distrowatch to see how things are progessing after a long absence. the first install was Mandriva LE 2005, then Suse 9.1, ending with Slackware. Ubuntu didn't play nice with my hardware and the Fedora installer crashed 4 times before i gave up.

the Slackware install was marred by a simple error - i failed to select MBR as the location to install LILO - i quick fix and the system was booted. i like that the system doesn't start X by default. another welcome change was the lack of config wizards and survey bombs.

not having to configure my system before, i was a tad nervous poking around, but a few googles on some things got me going in the right direction. the other top distros take control of the system from the user and that is problematic for someone who is trying to learn more about linux and what makes it tick. i have never been able to get things to work in other distros after reading the man page on something - the other distros love messing with stuff.

setting up X was a no brainer and the only "hack" required was enabling the mouse wheel. i have 2 audio cards in my system (1 is a high-end digital card for music production). this caused a problem in that i had to manually set which card was the default for ALSA - card 0 is the Terratec and card 1 is the on-board Nvidia - a few minutes of looking for the right config file and it was fixed.

with 10.2, KDE 3.4 is the default system and there is no GNOME. i prefer KDE, so this was not something i am going to miss. there are several Slackware GNOME builds out there, so if you need GNOME, you can get it.

i really wish i had started with Slackware back in 1999, as this distro has allowed me to get a better handle on the operating system and how it works without added fluff that has been modified to do who knows what.

removing apps that i do not use is straight forward - simply run pkgtool and remove whatever you want. installing is as easy and not having to deal with RPM hell really makes things nice. just make sure you have a notepad handy to copy all the needed files down.

i only wish that my digital camera cf card and USB stick when inserted would auotmount and create an icon on the desktop. i'm sure i can get that working and once i do, i'll have the satisfaction of knowing i made it happen.

if you are just starting out, i can't express enough how much you will learn with this distro. if you want to install and go, Slackware is not for you, but with a little effort, you can get it configured quickly.

-da baron
 
Old 10-07-2005, 10:44 AM   #4
Erik_FL
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 793

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Reliable kernel, good documentation, user forums
Cons: KDE Desktop bugs, minor X-Windows issues


I've used a few different Unix systems, and one thing I like about Slackware is it stays very close to the way Unix works.

Slackware is good if you don't want a lot of extra baggage that tries to make the system look more Windows-like.

Slackware places very few restrictions on how you can configure your system, and you are free to customize pretty much anything. If you want a Linux distribution that installs and configures itself automatically, without you having to read the documentation, Slackware is probably not for you.

The documentation is complete, and the Slackware book provided plenty of information to get it installed and running. I had no problems installing Slackware, and had it up and running quickly.

There are lots of people using Slackware, and most of the issues I had were solved by going to the user forums. I found plenty of other Slackware users willing to help with advice, or even sometimes writing scripts.

One big benefit of Slackware is CUPS for printing. I was able to copy the ".ppd" file for my printer from the Windows driver, and get my printer working. The web browser interface for setting up and managing printers is also convenient.

If you are used to a graphical user interface, like I am, Slackware has a variety of choices. You can do everything from starting the GUI manually, to having a graphical login. You can also choose a bare-bones X-Windows environment, or do just about everything in the GUI with GNOME or KDE.

Here is where Linux has great advantages over Windows. In Windows, the GUI pretty much rules the system, and the command prompt is available as a GUI program. You can do that in Slackware, but you can also completely avoid starting the GUI and use Slackware strictly with a command-line interface.

Another very solid part of Slackware is the SAMBA software. I quickly had Slackware reading and sharing files with my Windows computers. In some respects I found it easier than setting the same thing up on Windows. Here I have to give credit to the people that spent time writing very thorough documentation.

Slackware supports a number of filesystems, which makes running multiple operating systems much easier. In addition to two Linux filesystems it supports FAT, FAT-32, and reading NTFS volumes. Some day I would like to see support for writing to NTFS. I am very thankful to all of the people who spent their time and effort to support NTFS in Linux.

My biggest problems have been with the KDE desktop. I can't tell if these problems are specific to Slackware, or just KDE in general. These are the three main problems. The KDE "Kicker" application crashes on log-out for various reasons. The "linux" font was missing, but that was easy to correct once I figured out how. The worst problem, that I still haven't solved is KDE refuses to create the help search index for KDE. I keep getting a "htdig failed" error. That is annoying, since I'm still trying to learn how to use KDE.

X-Windows has a few minor problems with the documentation about scripts that run at login. I wasted a lot of time before I found out that only ".xprofile" now runs when you use the graphical login for KDE. The X-Windows documentation still mentions "xinitrc" and "Xmodmap" which aren't always executed.

The mouse is another area where X-Windows has some problems. X-Windows refuses to recognize any mouse button codes with numbers higher than the codes in the "ZAxisMapping" option in "xorg.conf". The work around for that was kind of confusing to me, but I was able to solve the problem. From what I understand, not all Linux distributions have this problem, but I can't speak from experience.

Getting a sound card to work with Slackware was difficult for me. I think this is generally true of any Linux distribution. The ALSA drivers are very good, but the lack of industry standards for sound card hardware and features make the situation complicated. If sound card manufacturers will put more effort into supporting Linux, I think the situation will improve.

SATA disk drivers and RAID support is another area where Linux has some limitations. Again, this is due to the lack of standards for SATA, and RAID on ATA disks. There are quite a few SATA controllers, and some RAID controllers supported by Slackware, but also many that aren't.

Slackware isn't perfect, but it is an excellent choice for anyone wanting a hands-on version of Linux. Since my goal was learning more about Linux, Slackware was exactly what I needed.
 
Old 10-07-2005, 02:14 PM   #5
PastorFrederick
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Distribution: Slackware 10.2
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy Install. (Just put in the CD and follow the instructions)
Cons:


As a newbie I've been searching for a Distro that would support my hardware, be easy to install, and have a great desktop enviroment.

Slackware 10.2 is all of the above. I made a couple of stupid mistakes on the install, but once I understood what I was doing I could have had this distro installed in about 20 mins tops!
 
Old 10-08-2005, 03:33 PM   #6
Linux.tar.gz
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Slackware forever.
Posts: 2,227

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $24.95 | Rating: 10

Pros: 100% pure linux OS. Stable. Fast. Simple. No blah blah.
Cons: Well... If i'll find one, then i'll tell ya.


Here's a way to have a PC fully powered. Even an old one. No bad surprise. No bullshit. Good reactivity of updates. No 140 cd's set you'll never use. I like the poor graphisms during installation because they introduce no bug. The configuration tools (net, packages...) are quick. On the Slackware site, you have The book, from which you can learn linux really fast. The packages system is strong. No dependencies headaches. Slack leads you from newbie to expert. I've learned more slackin' 6 monthes than 10 years of others OS (including other linuxes). Well, please stop reading and just go for it.
P.S.: Thanx to people who makes Slackware.
 
Old 10-15-2005, 05:00 AM   #7
plastik
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


 
Old 10-28-2005, 06:25 PM   #8
desertViking
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Distribution: Slackware 13, Arch Linux
Posts: 85

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Stable and reliable
Cons: I prefer grub, slackware likes lilo


I'd really like to take pages to discuss what I've learned with Slackware, but in the interest of time and space, I'll just say that I've learned a lot.

Slackware has obvious merits to experienced users, and those who are comfortable cruising around a terminal window. But, contrary to popular opinion, Slackware is also for newbies. Newbies that want to learn, to be certain, but newbies nonetheless.

The installation process went well. It picked up most of my hardware, everything except my wireless card which doesn't currently have native driver support. I did use another program for partitioning my hard drive, and also short-circuited things a bit by loading grub as my boot loader. All of those were my decisions, though, and Slackware just chugged merrily along.

The first workstation I installed Slackware on surprised me a bit by cheerfully logging me to a command line prompt. I'd been distro surfing, and this was the first time I'd been dropped of at this point, and thought I'd done something wrong. However, the Slackbook on-line explained what to do next, and before I knew it, I was on the internet learning more about configuring my Xwindows configuration.

Please, if you're new to Linux, spend a some time learning what's available to you in terms of on-line documentation: http://www.slackbook.org/

Many of the distros I tried satisfactorily got me this far. From this point on was where I really developed a loyalty to Slackware.

For all that is said about binary package installation, my experience has been much better with compiling packages my self. Downloading the source, running a couple of commands to build the package and create my *own* binary package is not hard. It's not. The last step was something that I learned from linuxquestions.org's Slackware forum. Installing the package this way leaves some nice bread crumbs to remove the package at some point if you want to.

Second piece of advice, check-out http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/forumdisplay.php?forumid=14

The people here have been helpful in my experience.

Regarding my wireless cards, building ndiswrapper and loading the drivers that way was painless on Slackware. Probably not the preferred method, but that's not a problem with this distro or Linux but with my card's manufacturer.

Finally, this point. With each step forward in Slackware, my experience has been that my workstations would hold up well and be incrementally improved by the functionality of a package I installed. I really can't say this for most of the other distributions I tried. It seemed like the more I tried to configure or add to them, the less stable the systems seemed to become.

The reliability and stability of Slackware was reassuring to this new user.

So for people starting out, give it a try. For those old hats, you already know the story.
 
Old 11-13-2005, 05:41 PM   #9
salviadud
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Slackware 14.1 [3.x]
Posts: 182

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, simple, what else do ya need?
Cons: none... haven't found any


I have used slackware since 10.0 and Im not very experienced in Linux compared to some members here at the boards. Still, since I'm using slackware, Im learning fast. First time I recompiled the kernel, I got a kernel panic message, and I thought I was doomed. Now I usually take about 2 recompiles to get what I want without much hassle...

Back to slackware 10.2, the difference with 10.1 and 10.2 is a bit minimal. Kinda like, from best to better than best. Slackware is an excellent distro, I have installed SuSE, Fedora Core, Mandrake (on other machines, never mine). And it just doesn't compare to the level of configurability that I can achieve with slack. I have experienced no real crashes (just the usual mad scientist super crash). It boots up real nice, and its great if you can do your own kernel. Im the kind of guy that likes compiling from source. Slackware 10.2 has checkinstall, slacktrack. Lots of flavors for packaging.

Slackware rocks! Once you go slack, you don't come back.
 
Old 11-20-2005, 08:45 PM   #10
Atmchicago
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 216

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Maintains simplicity, standards, fast, stable
Cons: To use it best requires willingness to learn, no 64-bit version


I have used Slackware for a few years now. The 10.2 release is just another set of updates and improvements on the previous releases. As with most Slackware releases, the underlying mechanics do not change much - most updates focus on newer versions of software, such as KDE and the Linux kernel.

Slackware uses a simple ncurses installation process. If you read the directions, it goes very smoothly. Upgrading Slackware can be done using swaret or slapt-get, and allows users to keep the system up-to-date.

The package management system uses the .tgz file extension. It is a compressed folder that is extracted to where it needs to be, allows for removing, installing, and upgrading. Slackware also supports converting RPMs to .tgzs. Most popular software packages are supported, and if they are not official packages then www.linuxpackages.net will likely have them. If all else fails, checkinstall can be used to easily compile from source and create a package.

For those who want 64bit support, Slackware is not 64bit. There is a 3rd party project to port it to 64bit, but it is not official.

Using Slackware is a pleasant experience. Once you get everything set up, little needs to be changed. It is stable and runs smoothly. One of the most often mentioned benefits of slackware is that it maintains simplicity and is not prone to dependency hell.

I give slackware a 9 and heartily recommend it!
 
Old 11-21-2005, 04:07 PM   #11
alien3456
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Distribution: Slackware 10.2
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Learn as you go, gives you what you need
Cons: Not for the lazy


This is my first distrobution that I am sticking with. The first distrobution I tried was actually Slackware 10.1. I was frustrated with the install because I didn't know anything about it. Horrible to dive in and swim without learning about it a bit. Then I tried Fedora, Mandrake and Ubuntu because they gave me instant results. But then after using those, I was frustrated again because I knew nothing about the command line, and couldn't get much done besides use software. So I gave Slackware 10.2 some commitment. I read through the very friendly "SlackBook" as I was installing it. This time, the installation gave me absolutely no problems.

After I was up and running in the Fluxbox WM, (which is great for older computers; you really get the full speed) I was basically problem free. It didn't take long to learn how to make my own user-account. Then there were some things I didn't know how to change, like adding programs to the Fluxbox menu, why my scroll-wheel didn't work and why the sound was always muted by default. These, after some reading, were all easily fixed.

I think the next thing I did was install the new kernel. As a new user, I don't know the advantages of installing the latest one. But it can't hurt right? In my case, and I hope it's the same for everyone else; it was very painless. There is an article here on LQ that lead me through it. It didn't take much longer than typing a few lines and putting the 10.2-CD 2 in the tray. Very easy.

The only negative might be that sometimes people just want instant results. People coming from windows want to download things, click a few times and be up and running with them. Not always the case with Slackware. If you're installing something from source, you'll need to remember about 4 lines for the terminal. It's kind of intimidating at first, but once you have done it several times, it becomes just as easy as clicking a few times. You will eventually learn many more than just a few terminal commands, but it takes a while before you start to "get it" when you don't have a helping hand.

Overall, I think Slackware should be the only choice for a new user. I was coming into Linux with a very ignorant mindset, which gives bad expectations. I think new users need to realize that open source requires and open mind. I can guarantee you will learn something if you start with Slackware.
 
Old 11-22-2005, 01:01 AM   #12
zhizaki
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 31

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Makes me feel the same way I felt after watching "Hackers" the movie.
Cons: Nothing negative in my eyes.


I started on Slackware 7.1. Someone told me to install in a linux course I had taken, because I though I was better than everyone else at the material. While other classmates were on Redhat and Mandrake using the linuxconf, I had to learn how to edit various files and scripts by hand. For the first couple of weeks, I would stay up for 24+ hours to just exploring and hosing my system, reinstalling and reconfiguring, testing things and try new things.
 
Old 12-07-2005, 12:00 AM   #13
Lanix1
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Distribution: Slack
Posts: 19

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Nice package tool, but so do all slacks.
Cons: More than a normal amount of configuration.


I have always enjoyed using slack, this version is no different. I like that it doesn't boot directly into a splash style login prompt. However many people will disagree with me on this. There is a lot of room for configuration, and you can chose something other than KDE or Gnome. With that being said though, I need a machine that has a good IDE with Java support. I am particularly looking for one that comes standard with Kdevelop. I know I can download it and configure it with every little thing I want. However I don't have the time, to sit down and play with something until it works. But this also means that Slack is a bit more streamlined than the others, maybe not as much as Vector, but still streamlined.
I would recommend this to someone who knows Linux, and has some time to get things just right.
 
Old 01-22-2006, 03:00 AM   #14
truthfatal
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Distribution: Slackware, OS X
Posts: 443

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to install, and configure. Knowledgeable user base.
Cons: No longer packaged with GNOME.


Price you paid?: Slack Pack (Slackware Linux 10.2 & Slackware Essentials, 2nd Ed) -- $ 59.95

Hardware: ASUS K8N-E, AMD Sempron 2600+, MSI FX5200, 1024M PC3200 RAM, Sony DVD ROM, 200GB WD IDE HDD

Of all the distros I've tried, Slackware has taught me the most and been the most stable. I feel confident recomending Slackware to any curious, confident, and patient individual who wants to learn more about alternative operating systems.
 
Old 01-27-2006, 06:21 PM   #15
Automaton
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: fantastic learning tool, fast, powerful
Cons:


What can I say? I started using Linux at the beginning of the year. I tried Ubuntu, and while it's good for desktop work, I didn't really know what I was doing. Then I tried Slackware, and it's helped me in every way possible... this distro taught me how to use Linux because it didn't treat me like an idiot, and was transparent, with a bundle of software and a really easy to understand install. I'm still learnign to use Linux, but this distro ain't leaving my hard drive for some time to come!
 
Old 02-03-2006, 04:27 AM   #16
BarryM45
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: slackware, SUSE
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, Clean and refreshing distro.
Cons:



I have been pleasantly surprised with this distribution. After spending time with SUSE 9.x, i felt it was time to get under the skin of Linux and to this end i undertook an LFS project which gave me all the skills needed to work with Linux at a more satisfying level. I was going to upgrade my box from LFS 5.1 to the new 6.1 but felt that the time required to compile and build a brand new system although very satisfying was not what i wanted from a Distribution and hence i started to look for a minimal but quick to put together system with KDE as the GUI. I stumbled upon slack ware whilst monitoring the forums here and decided to give it a go. I had my box a Dell Precision 870 with an NVIDIA Quadro Pro card and the standard Intel sound card and SATA drives all working within 30 minutes on the standard 2.4.31 kernel. KDE was up after a couple of tweaks to the xorg.conf file with dual monitor support. And SAMBA configured to access the company's shared drives also Kontact was accessing my company's exchange server via IMAP. I have yet to build in support for Novell servers which i primarily support but this should be done soon. The boot time on my slack box is very acceptable and the clean build has given me few problems thus far. I use this machine as my main tool with a small windows box to cover Applications that are specifically windows based "remedy" being one. I have had no crashes yet and we are now going on 3 weeks with configuration files being changed to test things out frequently.

To sum up...
If you wish to learn Linux then this a good distribution that will get you up and running and learning and you will be required to delve into config files every now and again. Hence it is not a completely suitable distribution for a first timer, however that said if you are the type with a reasonable background in computers in general and have some patients then you should get it working. Expect the good old Linux bug to bite that ever incessant need to tweak and play until perfect or it all falls over which ever comes first and then one merely starts again but with a little more knowledge than the last attempt. All in all i am now a fan and have dropped SUSE for slack ware. My aim now is to get a complete solution on my slack box for Novell support and administration.
 
Old 02-06-2006, 01:01 PM   #17
JS_SAVES
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu, Slax, Xubuntu
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: stability
Cons: the perl version was bad, bash had no sh,default runlevel of 3,no automounting of usb devices


i have been hearing alot about slackware and alot of good things. so i decided to check it out.

my first obstacle was the runlevel on initial boot. easily changed to 4...i like a gui boot.

second was my network card rtl8180 not supported. this is something i knew and so i have a copy of ndiswrapper. when i installed i received. bad interpreter. after some googling i found it was a bad copy of perl.

third while trying to install perl the "sh" command was not found which was the fault of bash. so getting a new bash resolved.

installing then was eeeeeasy!
 
Old 02-18-2006, 09:46 PM   #18
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to configure, fast, stable
Cons: Can't get mouse wheel working


I've been using Linux off and on since 2001, my first distro being Storm Linux (built on Debian, believe it was Woody)
and I didn't understand anything.. It got better when I moved into a dorm and was on the ethernet connection, no need for a modem then, but it was still extremely confusing.. I eventually gave up on it, and tried again in 2002, with Lycoris.. That was one of the biggest mistakes I ever made. They tried to make that distro too Windows-like, and as far as binary installations, it was almost impossible to find packages for that distro. (Lycoris has since become a pay-only distro) The only good thing I got out of that one.. really had nothing at all to do with the distro, just a matter of timing, was learning to compile from source. (The LT Linmodem drivers) and get my modem working under Linux. I finally got sick of it, and went through a few short periods of using it, before going back to Windows 2000. Flash forward to 2004, when I discovered Slackware. I downloaded 9.0 on a dialup connection (10.0 was out, but it required two ISO's, whereas I only had to d/l one for 9.0, and I was on dialup) and that's where my Linux experience really began. I loved everything about it. There were times I ended up going back to Windows for various reasons (software issues, I'm a musician, and there really isn't much good music production software for Linux, at least not that I know of), got a new computer, and was running Slackware on my old box. Went to a friend's house and downloaded Slack 10.1 (shortly before 10.2 came out) and I was wowed even more. 10.1 is the one that really blew my mind and got me hooked. Despite the reputation, it's the easiest distro to configure and just use all around that I've ever been presented with.. (even moreso than Lycoris, which is supposed to be made all 'user friendly'.. Last night I got tired of running Windows only on my main box, keeps freezing, so I downloaded Slack 10.2 for everyday use, I'll boot into Windows only when I need to run a Windows app that Wine doesn't emulate well. This is even better.. I didn't think it'd get better than 10.1.. I was wrong. Install went smoothly with no problems whatsoever, downloaded the Madwifi drivers and installed them, no problem setting up my Netgear WG311T at all. The only problem I've had.. (and this is ever since I've started using Linux) was getting the mouse wheel to work.. I've never had a mouse wheel working in Linux. Don't know what to do on that one.. Only other thing, isn't a huge deal, but it'd be nice to get my dual monitors configured for Linux.. (probably not hard, i just haven't searched hard enough, I haven't even had it installed for 24 hours, been too busy playing with it and installing things I know i'll need, such as slapt-get and upgrading firefox, etc, as well as installing Opera. Contrary to what people think, and I'm speaking from experience, and the fact that I'm still relatively inexperienced with Linux, Slackware is definitely the best distro for newbies, hands down.. or for anybody else for all that matters.
 
Old 02-28-2006, 09:46 AM   #19
Patz2009
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to build on, simple, fast, stable
Cons: Confuguration problems


Slackware is a great distro, and as simple as they come. The only problems I had were: a) LILO doesn't install properly for some reason. b) Sometimes, when installing, my sound OR mouse doesn't work, and it's always one or the other. But, at the current time, I have it fixed. Other than that, Slackware is the best distro for developers, Linux addicts, or computer-illiterates alike.
 
Old 03-16-2006, 08:54 AM   #20
dunric
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 443

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: simple,stable,fast,predictable,magical
Cons: missing proxy, openldap and openvpn in the standard package base


I'm a long time Slackware user/admin and I was never disappointed with reliability of this system. I can not say the same about any other distro and I have tested lot of them ! Just open your mind and try it. You shall not be disappointed.
 
Old 03-21-2006, 02:59 AM   #21
prozac
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Distribution: slackware 12.1
Posts: 753

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: very stable, very efficient, nice desktop
Cons: makes you work hard sometimes


slackware is a tricky os. it's not for everyone and not everyone can be a slacker. i haven't used UNIX but i see my slackbox as the best in the circle. never freezes, never crashed, boots damn fast, runs every software i have ever needed, has a package manager that is second to none (the rpm can never come to this league), even installed vmware for playing with windowsxp inside my slackbox with no problem, comes with the latest in the industry (using 10.2), the multi-user desktop is damn good for home environment, the colors are so appealiing in the desktop, can even get new wallpapers from inside my slackbox (i admit wallpapers make me feel good|god), the bsd style init is real cool and classy, the encryption tool is real handy, OMG i could go on and on..
 
Old 04-04-2006, 09:00 PM   #22
alriode
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Distribution: Slackware 10.2
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Good hardware support (at least for my systems), stability, excellent for learning the inner working of Linux/UNIX by tweaking/configuring, simple but powerful
Cons: Scattered unofficial repositories need to be sought when compiling is not an option, __not__ a convenient idea to take it as first distro


I have been testing several distros (from Arch to Ubuntu, from Gentoo to Mandrake(pre 9 release)) in a standard PC system bought some years ago (not that old, but definitely not a bleeding-edge) and in a new laptop (Toshiba Satellite L25-SP139).

Some of them are heavy/bloated (Fedora), others must be tweaked throughly for using them properly in my systems (Debian).

Slackware works without problems when installing the first time, detects and writes configuration about the system automatically. The only exception is the need of recompiling the kernel, so that DMA for hard disk can be activated on the laptop (it seems to be that laptop hardware is always an odd "creature" for any Linux to handle).

Some additional knowledge/experience is needed, though, if one wants to setup peripherals (HP PSP 1210 all-in-one device) and be able to use USB flash memory (mount sda1 in a directory).

As for the additional software, there are several programs I just do not have time to compile from source. In order to avoid path problems, it is much better to download precompiled .tgz files for the Slackware version (10.2) than try to install a non-Slackware compilation stored as RPM (after converting it to tgz).

I still consider myself as someone who does not know a lot about Linux/UNIX. I've been using it, tweaking the system on basic (and not-so-basic) functions and discovering new ways of doing my job. As for complete Linux books I have merely read "Linux Installation and Getting Started" by Matt Welch et al. I have been learning about the rest in forums (LQ is a nice start)/tutorials/howtos/wikis when I need to know. Slackware documentation for specific features is outstanding (when one knows the basics).

In any case, Slackware is just a jewel that may look like any plain stone for any beginner (I thought that at the beginning). The only way to discover its power is by using other basic, nice-install-GUI distros in order to take the first steps into Linux.
 
Old 04-07-2006, 02:33 AM   #23
wirehead84
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: complex, clean, stable
Cons: KDE could be more colored :)


Hi there!

As this is my first linux distro that I try, as a newbie, it was perfect. Had to configure it as a mail retriever/forwarder, and it was a snap. Took about 45 minutes of googling around, and I had it setup the way I want.
Very many packages included, makes the perfect choice for networking/server use. The KDE is not quite nice, compared to other distros, but it's okay.
 
Old 04-07-2006, 02:33 AM   #24
wirehead84
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: complex, clean, stable
Cons: KDE could be more colored :)


Hi there!

As this is my first linux distro that I try, as a newbie, it was perfect. Had to configure it as a mail retriever/forwarder, and it was a snap. Took about 45 minutes of googling around, and I had it setup the way I want.
Very many packages included, makes the perfect choice for networking/server use. The KDE is not quite nice, compared to other distros, but it's okay.
 
Old 04-18-2006, 05:39 AM   #25
chandru.in
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Distribution: Kubuntu 7.10
Posts: 165

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, Supports MP3 and DVD playback, Easy to install and less system requirements
Cons: Does not have the latest version of packages


"Simplicity is divine"

Very simple, sleek, good looking and easy to use.

I felt really happy that it supports MP3 playback and DVDs. This one of the very few distros which allows these.

I've tried several other distros and have always been returning to slackware.
 
Old 05-03-2006, 07:43 AM   #26
coolb
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Gentoo 2006.1(2.6.17-gentoo-r7)
Posts: 222

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: The only real non-bloated linux distro, Secure, Stable, Super fast on a 2.4.x kernel
Cons: KDE shouldent be on any of the CD's.. that gose for gnome aswell.


My Slackware runs on:

3.0Ghz Pentium 4(HT)
2x 80Gb 7200 Seagate HDD's
256Mb DDR 400MHz
100Mbps Ethernet
 
Old 05-03-2006, 08:53 PM   #27
lm317t
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Debian Etch, Slackware 10.2, Ubuntu 6.10, OpenWRT
Posts: 66

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Good way to learn about Linux, support supposedly is forever
Cons: Configuration is a pain


The included tools such as the network configuration tool are very helpful. Install is lengthy because each step involves studying the Documentation, and making sure you don't misconfigure something.

This distribution seems to be about one step above Linux from scratch. It is not for beginners unless they want to spend many hours configuring and learning.

If you use this on the Desktop, then you should install Dropline Gnome.

Learning to do anything with this distribution involves looking deeply into the documentation, but you do learn much about how linux works.

I give it a 7 because of how time-consuming and difficult the install is. If you wanna use this to install a lean, slimmed down server install, and/or learn much about Linux, then I give it a 10, if you want it to just f*@#ing work out of the box, then I give it a 4. Nothing gets setup, even bash (no dircolors) needed one of the default dot files I got from an old Mandrake install.
 
Old 05-16-2006, 02:32 PM   #28
meetscott
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 407

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Better than any other Distro and I've tried many.
Cons: None specific to Slackware


Been using Slackware since 1995. Tried to switch to other Distros like Dead Hat, Suse, and a spattering of others. I always come back to Slackware. I just can't stand anything else. I'm glad Patrick Volkerding is still able to help us enjoy using Linux. My sincere thanks to all who contribute to Slackware. It's been good to me.
 
Old 05-16-2006, 06:12 PM   #29
drlasterjr
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


To get the mouse to work you may need to add a new input device section so both input devices work. I have included changes from xorg.conf file as an example.

==========================

Section "InputDevice"

# Identifier and driver

Identifier "Mouse2"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse2"

# Mouse-speed setting for PS/2 mouse.

# Option "Resolution" "256"

# When using XQUEUE, comment out the above two lines, and uncomment
# the following line.

# Option "Protocol" "Xqueue"

# Baudrate and SampleRate are only for some Logitech mice. In
# almost every case these lines should be omitted.

# Option "BaudRate" "9600"
# Option "SampleRate" "150"

# Emulate3Buttons is an option for 2-button Microsoft mice
# Emulate3Timeout is the timeout in milliseconds (default is 50ms)

# Option "Emulate3Buttons"
# Option "Emulate3Timeout" "50"

# ChordMiddle is an option for some 3-button Logitech mice

# Option "ChordMiddle"

EndSection

==============================

# Any number of ServerLayout sections may be present. Each describes
# the way multiple screens are organised. A specific ServerLayout
# section may be specified from the X server command line with the
# "-layout" option. In the absence of this, the first section is used.
# When now ServerLayout section is present, the first Screen section
# is used alone.

Section "ServerLayout"

# The Identifier line must be present
Identifier "Simple Layout"

# Each Screen line specifies a Screen section name, and optionally
# the relative position of other screens. The four names after
# primary screen name are the screens to the top, bottom, left and right
# of the primary screen. In this example, screen 2 is located to the
# right of screen 1.

Screen "Screen 1"

# Each InputDevice line specifies an InputDevice section name and
# optionally some options to specify the way the device is to be
# used. Those options include "CorePointer", "CoreKeyboard" and
# "SendCoreEvents".

InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"

# InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "SendCoreEvents"

InputDevice "Mouse2" "CorePointer"
# InputDevice "Mouse2" "SendCoreEvents"

EndSection

=============================
 
Old 05-29-2006, 01:14 AM   #30
innocent_danger
 
Registered: May 2006
Distribution: redhat
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


i need to know

m i right thinking .......... first we choose which modules we wanna install in our live cd OS and then we install them directly on the cdrom like we do it traditionally on hdd.

then its done and that cd could be used as like hdd.
 
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration