LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > KNOPPIX
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Knoppix 3.3
Reviews Views Date of last review
15 61113 09-23-2004
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.3



Description: Boots GNU/Linux OS from the CD, runs in Ramdisk, available in over 68 distributions/versions! Can be installed to hard drive as Debian. Contains highly condensed file system of up to 2.4GB of data in a typical 700 MB CDrom image.
Updated via APT-GET, dpkg, and/or ALIEN ' rpm' converter.
Keywords: Debian KDE Gnome knoppix gnoppix custom


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 01-07-2004, 11:43 AM   #1
Sage1
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Distribution: Debian & Slack based distros!
Posts: 25

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Runs from CDROM, RAMdisk, offers versatility, choice of GUI, tools!
Cons: NONE



Knoppix V3.3 incorporates all that is the best of the Open Source world, Debian distro, with over 68 versions available:
http://www.knoppix.net/docs/index.php/KnoppixCustomizations

And, my second most favorite (after the first distro - Knoppix), listed there: http://www.ofset.org/freeduc-cd/

and, if you like pocket mini-CDs, try Morphix!

All the help and MAN files are usually included except on many mini-distros of <245MB...

Wal;k into any computer store, show, flea, and test run any x86 ( or MAC! using one of the PPC versions)

 
Old 01-24-2004, 11:49 AM   #2
JockVSJock
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Posts: 602

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Based off of Debian, apt-get package manager, detected most of the hardware, and installs all of the apps you need.
Cons: 2.4 kernel has problems with PCMCIA/IRQ with my Orinoco wireless card, some of the apps installed are unnecessary



Knoppix is a kewl distro to test out Linux, test out hardware or just install.

If your new the the Linux game, try it, you won't be disappointed.

 
Old 02-14-2004, 09:23 PM   #3
masinick
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Distribution: Debian, sidux, antiX, SimplyMEPIS, Kubuntu, Mandriva, Fedora, Xandros, Arch, and many others
Posts: 560

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy installation, nice choice of apps., relatively fast boot
Cons: Could have easier hard disk installer


Knoppix really raises the bar for Live CD implementations. In my opinion, an opinion that seems to be shared by many, Knoppix sets the standard for what a Live CD implementation should look like. It has great hardware detection that rivals the best systems of any type, it offers, right off the CD, a good collection of software, it's easily modified, and it provides the excellent Debian packages.

I've found a few other Live CD implementations that boot a bit faster and run faster software, but each of them also happens to be BASED on Knoppix, so this project has really contributed a LOT to the free software community. The fact that it works so well is also noteworthy.

Mepis, FeatherLinux, damnsmallLinux, and Morphix are a few of the distributions I know of that are based on Knoppix. This latest releast has the latest software, and it works well.
 
Old 03-07-2004, 02:41 PM   #4
apache363
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: OS X; FreeBSD; Debian
Posts: 172

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Auto setup and hardware detection, great apps, stable, Debian-based
Cons: Can be a bit slow because it runs from a CDROM drive


This distro is incredible if you consider what resources it uses. No HD space, just the CDROM drive. It auto-detects all of your hardware and in two minutes after booting you have a slick KDE desktop. Sweet!

Its beautiful beneath the skin, too. Debian-based, it's nice and stable.

KNOPPIX includes great apps, including OpenOffice, games, editors, development tools, and much more.

It can also be used as a graphical installer for Debian using sudo knoppix-installer at the shell prompt. This installs it on your hard drive after a short series of questions.

I would highly recommend Knoppix to anybody, especially those who wish to try out Linux without any commitment or experience.
 
Old 03-10-2004, 01:06 PM   #5
Genesee
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 927

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Powerful, versitile, convenient, open
Cons:


I can't say enough good things about Knoppix. A really amazing project, and highly recommended.
 
Old 03-15-2004, 11:16 PM   #6
czechknight93
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: openSUSE 10.1
Posts: 95

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: No HD required. Destroy the OS, it will be normal on next boot.
Cons: Cannot easily save settings. What's the root password? I can't change the time.


Knoppix is a wonderful distribution of Linux. I recommend this distro. to anyone wanting to demo Linux for the first time and not wanting to actually install Linux on their computer. I do not recommend this distro. to be a permanent fix for using Linux.
 
Old 03-16-2004, 12:49 AM   #7
smith847be
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Debian Sid (Unstable)
Posts: 143

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Auto-detected most of my hardware and booted in < 3 mins, no HD required
Cons: Still uses 2.4 kernel, doesn't support some hardware (e.g. ACX100 wifi)


GREAT backup system! At least for me as a student, I need my computer. This not only lets me boot up to repair problems, but also gives me OpenOffice, a few games, XMMS, etc. In other words, if I, for example, have to get a paper done and the system won't boot normally, then this lets me get it done and THEN worry about fixing the computer. I use Debian Sid, so every once in a while, I'll get a pain-in-the-arse problem and Knoppix is da bomb at getting around it. There are 2 downsides that I can see, though: kernel 2.4 (too old for some of my stuff), and the fact that some hardware still isn't supported. Admittedly, I'm specifically refering to the infamous ACX100 802.11b cards, but internet stuff really should be better supported. After all, I need the internet for LinuxQuestions.org ! :-) . I have to get around that by putting the driver on a floppy and mounting then inserting the module, which is a pain to have do. Anyway, overall rating is extremely good. It's not really for a day-to-day OS (not updated enough), but GREAT for a backup / in event of only having winblows computers around ;-) .
 
Old 03-24-2004, 06:43 AM   #8
Niteskye
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Zenwalk Current & Ubuntu Feisty
Posts: 61

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to setup, and hd-install too
Cons: wouldn't allow write access to hda, can only use one of my CD drives


I found this distro really easy to get the hang of and when I put the CD in my faster CD drive is wasn't much slower than if it was running of the HDD. It saved a config file on my HDD which meant that I didn't need to reconfigure every time I rebooted, nice!
There wasn't any help for doing the HDD install but when someone on here told me to use "knx-hdinstall", because "knoppix-installer" DOESN'T WORK, then it was really easy to setup.
There are a lot of programs that come with Knoppix, including various Window managers for those who, like me, don't like KDE or GNOME.
One of the greatest thing about Knoppix is that it comes with loads of drivers, including one for my Logitec keyboard and my random webcam that I picked up on E-bay (I really didn't expect that!).
I really recommend Knoppix, to run of the CD on any computer and as an easy way to install Debian.
The only -ves are that it wouldn't let me edit files on my hda1 and becuase it's running off I had to decided if I wanted to use my CDRW drive or DVD drive before I turned the computer on.
 
Old 03-29-2004, 12:34 AM   #9
Lleb_KCir
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 1,765

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: supper easy even for an ubb3r newB like my self
Cons: had to burn the ISO 2 times to get it to work.


as i am learning about the *nix world a friend pointed out Knoppix to me as an alternative to jumping straight into Debian or Slackware.

took about 30min to download, and after then first failed burn about 40-60min to make a 2nd burn and try it out.

what a nice feel, look, and ease of use. was also my first time on a KDE GUI as the only *nix i have so far is RH and just the default standard Gnome GUI.

i have started caring the CD around with me so i can use it were ever i go to keep working on my *nix skills so i can learn this OS line as well as i know the M$ line.


[edit to add]

it does not like the ECS MB with USB, nor does it like to run higher then 1024 res with a GFx 5200 256M vid card.

attempted to get it running on my worksation at my school (i own it), but sadly i use a trackball that is USB from Logitec and it does not play well with Linux, let alone Knoppix. so that would be a con, but i think that would just be my hardware more then this great OS/CD
 
Old 03-31-2004, 02:29 PM   #10
Bon Bon
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


Knoppix seems to dislike many Packard Bell computers and their USB keyboards.

Knoppix also hates Packard Bell monitors.

Although, I took the knoppix CD to my school and booted it up there and was amazed with what I saw. Although many may only see the KDE side to Knoppix, the CD is full of features unique to Knoppix as well as being a really fast operating system.

The thought of one day being able to start a computer and do such wonderful things from just one CD is a dream come true.

If I had one word to describe Knoppix, it would be:

'revolutionary'
 
Old 04-17-2004, 09:09 AM   #11
justinian1978
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Various
Posts: 47

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Just pop it in and it runs in less than 3 mins
Cons: None that I could see


I was very skeptical of Knoppix at first, having had many difficulties configuring several RedHat-based distrosto my liking. I found out that Knoppix is Debian-based, so I thought I'd give it a try. I was simply amazed at what I saw. I booted from the CD the first couple of times I used it, and it ran perfectly. All of my hardware was recognized correctly and it was up and running in under 3 minutes. I decided to install it to my HDD and after a 10 second Google search I found the incredibly simple HDD installation procedure and had it fully installed in 10 minutes, far less time than it took for RedHat 9, Mandrake 9.2, or Fedora Core (which took 2 hours, incidentally). I didn't have to play around with settings for hours (or even days) as everything seemed to work perfectly. Even Java and Flash were already working without having to install a bunch of crap. Debian's package installer is a lot simpler and streamlined than RedHat's uber-confusing and rarely-working RPM system. Half the crap I'd download in RPM format was useless and couldn't get it to install in the RedHat distros I tried. As a fairly new user of Linux, Knoppix was a breath of fresh air and really made me happy to be a Linux user. I was using Windows XP for 75% of my computer usage at home, but after I installed Knoppix, I'm only in Windows maybe for an hour or two a week. I can't say enough good things about this distro. Try it out!
 
Old 04-26-2004, 08:07 PM   #12
veritas
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu Server, Slackware, Red Hat 6.1
Posts: 241

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Great hardware protection for the most part, good collection of apps, gives you a good idea of what hardware works with linux, detected everything on laptop
Cons: had lots of trouble configuring a netgear wireless usb adapter for the network


First I downloaded the ISO and burned it to a disk. Popped in the cd into a Dell Inspiron laptop. I liked all of the "cheat codes" you could enter into the boot prompt. I didn't enter any, because I had no special hardware (that it listed).

Next i watch the boot text scroll down the screen in multiple colors. Defiantly looked cool on the laptop monitor (and for some reason thats a plus for me). When it got to the part about DHCP, it said it detected that I used DHCP, it then said it was backgrounding it, but when I get to the GUI and type 'ifconfig', it says my ip is 127.0.01.

So obviously the DHCP didn't hand me an ip correctly. At first I thought it didn't detect my rather odd usb net adapter. But i typed 'lspci' and it was actually listed there. I don't understand how it detected my usb adapter, it detected I used DHCP, but it did not assign me a correct IP.

I say, oh well. I will not take too many points off because its an odd setup. If i was going to actually install linux on the laptop, I would use a distro that would have wireless networking support or would have the sufficient libraries and such so i could compile it into the kernel.

Great probing for monitor resolution and frequencies. Obviously, the only minus is improper network configuration.

Overall score: 9/10
 
Old 05-03-2004, 10:21 PM   #13
aiiiq
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Knoppix
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


i use it as desktop
 
Old 05-12-2004, 11:40 AM   #14
javpra
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: FreeBSD/Gentoo/Debian
Posts: 44

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Risk free install. Complete linux distro on a single CD.
Cons: Slow. Which that some of the other links were in English.


This is a great distro. I cannot believe the amount of software crammed into a single ISO image. Practicaly any of the home use tasks can be done (word processing, internet, music, video) from this single CD. It is great that some one looking to try Linux can do so risk free, charge free and still get a good representation of what Linux is all about. Now if there was only a way to speed up those cdrom's read speeds and port the rest of knoppix.org's site to English.
 
Old 09-23-2004, 08:24 PM   #15
a1ntsk33r3d
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: RHEL3 (WS), Update 3
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: One CD bootable distribution that works on most hardware, chocked full of features
Cons: An overwhelming number of XFree86 features enabled by default; can slow down performance on some systems


I think the best thing about the Knoppix live CDROM is that it provides a no-consequence trial of the Linux operating system for what I'll call "squeamish" users. The setup itself is full of tools, applications, and options that the average user needs; productivity suite, web browsing, email, instant messaging and the like. I think that perhaps the total user experience would be enhanced by prompting the user for the type of load (e.g., full-featured w/ all the KDE bells and whistles, or a more streamlined mode for faster loading [think WindowMaker-style interfaces]). Overall, this is a powerful tool that will always remain in my toolkit. I often use it to repair/hack Windows systems that cannot normally be fixed easily. Knoppix has even found a place in my home as a game-laden foolproof system for the kids to use. Tuxracer and other games that are included work perfectly well!
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration