LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mandriva
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Mandrake 9.2 FiveStar
Reviews Views Date of last review
22 116681 06-05-2004
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
86% of reviewers $25.65 7.7



Description: Fifth Anniversary release of Mandrake Linux. Mandrake Linux 9.2 -- based on Linux 2.4.22 and ready for Linux 2.6.0 -- offers the most advanced features currently available, in terms of technology as well as the comprehensive selection of up-to-date software.

In addition to recently introduced technologies such as NTFS partition resizing, ACPI power-management, "Zeroconf" network support and support for many of the latest WiFi devices, Mandrake 9.2 offers numerous improvements such as automatic configuration of more printers, scanners, and multi-function devices than ever before.

The software management utility URPMI/RPMDrake, which was recently acclaimed in a Linux Weekly News study, now offers built-in GPG keys management support. The Mandrake Linux 9.2 upgrade process has also been improved to be more efficient and trouble-free.
Keywords: Mandrake Linux 9.2 FiveStar Powerpack 2.6


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 10-22-2003, 07:15 AM   #1
dukeinlondon
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: kubuntu 8.10
Posts: 593

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $60.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: easy install, nice fonts
Cons: niggling issues here and there.



I was already running mdk 9.1 which thanks to the cntributions of mainly texstar and plf, is a great set-up.

I kept a free partition on my hd, to do a fresh install of the new distro when available.

I got the 3 CDs from the club bittorent download. That was easy and fast for me so
----- Distribuition system : 10/10
My set-up

Athlon XP 1900+
512 MB RAM
Nvidia graphics (not sure which one)
Audigy sound card
Teac CD/RW
DVD reader.
Alcatel speed touch DSL
PSC 2210 printer scanner.

60Gb disk

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
Installation was easy. I got presented with the option of upgrading from a previous version or doing a fresh install . I went for the latter as I always do. In fact, I have 2 partitions: when a new distro comes up, I install it on the unused partition, configure and test it, copy some set-up from the production partition where applicable and when everything is fine, I copy my personal data to the new home directory and declare the previous production partition, the new test area. Promise, when I've finished tweaking 9.2, I'll try an upgrade from the deserted 9.1 set-up.

Until then here is the account so far :

During installation, you get to configure your mouse, language, keyboard layout, mount points, and package selection.

Everything is nice and easy. My package selection was everything desktop related.

You also get to create users and set a root password.

Just before the install finishes, you get a nice screen with a kind of set-up summary. You can check and modify things like sound drivers, screen, printers. I checked the sound drivers to make sure to use the alsa driver for my card (emu10k1) rather than the oss. It was useful to see that my machine had 2 sound cards, since that caused my subsequent sound problems. My PSC2210 appeared to have been configured and since 9.1 had done an amazing job at setting up that all-in-one, I decided to call it a day and boot the new system. I chose to use a floppy to install the boot loader, not to upset my current set-up.

Boot screen looks really nice, and is non-verbose by default. Pressing <esc> shows the background messages. and I was soon faced with the kdm login prompt

----- Install 9/10

I am a KDE user so don't expect any account on the Gnome experience.

The user I had set-up already had a home directory that existed before the installation so I didn't get to see the mandrake first time wizard.

The first things first, I fired the Mdk Control Center. It's hard to tell what's changed. It all looks the same as 9.1. So much for the exitment of novelty. But as long as it works, fine. I went on to configure my internet acces (I am nothing without my drip). I have an evil Alcatel speedtouch and expected the worst.

The network set-up window is still as confusing as ever. I clicked on the wizard button and things got a bit better. The speedtouch was amongst the options, so I clicked it. The system requested one of the CDs to install the necessary packages, and then a good looking dialog box asked me for the account details. I mounted the 9.1 root partition and extracted the information from my /etc/ppp/chap-secrets file. Next it asked the mgmt.o microcode, offering to go and get it from my windows partition or leave it for later.
It never found it. Anyway, I copied it from my previous set-up, and as root went :
/etc/rc.d/init.d/internet start and I was connected !

Thumbs up for that !

Now that I was connected to my lifeline, I started looking at the apps.

But before looking at the apps, I had to try to get the NVidia driver for my card. The nvidia installer, not finding any precompiled kernel module for the mdk kernel attempts to compile one on the fly and surprise : no kernel source is available. It is not on the download CDs either. It is not before I connected to the distro ftp repository that I could install it. Anyway, I've left it for later, since not being a big gamer, I can do without 3D for a while, especially given the X problems I've had with 9.1 and Nvidia drivers.

Now about the applications....
I created a new user with a new home directory to see how it would look.

After login the new user, I got mandrake first time asking me personal details like my club membership and root password, to set-up the club sources. Sounded like a good idea. The dialog box then went blank. Seeing no network or disk activity, I pressed enter and it exited, not doing the promised set-up. Missed opportunity.

First impression : where is everyone ? The kde panel is almost empty, the menu as well and the desktop is boring blue. None of KDE's eye candy is enabled (menu shadow and animation and the like) so that all looks VERY dull. The start menu doesn't show the recent used apps (go to the menu section of the kde panel to enable it)

I noticed that the menus were REALLY slim. I suspected a problem when I noticed that Open office was not in the menu but appeared installed. I started the menu editor and a reload of the system menus immediately fixed the problem. Good luck for any newbie to figure that one out.

Could have been a better start.

Software :

Mozilla is missing ! How can it be ?
Install is simple through the software manager. Mozilla is now installed.


In the MCC, it is disapointing to see that there is no automated way to connect to a main distro and contrib mirror. Loads of apps are already available for 9.2 but, if you don't have a clue, the distro looks a bit thin on the ground package wise.

I configured the compulsory plf repository (How can anyone survive without these guys ?) and the contrib. For plf, I used the easy urpmi web page (google will take you there). For contrib, I did have the address so I used the graphical source configurator. A tip : don't specify the hdlist.cz file relative location : it never found it when I filled that field. However, if you leave it blank, it immediately find it and configures the source. Another hassle that could have been avoided: I tried a good 10 times before trying without the hdlist path......

I installed all my multimedia gear (xmms, xine, kino etc.....)

Next problem was to get the sound working. As said before, there are 2 sound systems on my machine : an onboard sound chip (detected and configured by mdk) and and audigy card with a firewire port (the latter also detected and configured)
The problem was to disable the onboard chip. No way to do that using draksound. The option "disable" is just not there. I tried to modify the /etc/modules.conf file in an attempt to stop the snd-cmi module to load and take the sound slot 0 but the entry got regenerated at the next boot.
Someone on this forum suggested to disable it at bios level. Thanks a lot ! That did the trick. Now sound works

Something else that I had to check was ide configuration. Although the boot message warns that dma is not enabled on my drives, I've found no option to do so in hardrake. Never mind, hdparm is installed, so I enabled dma and all is well. A newbie would be very bewildered by the system almost freezing during heavy disk activity like a sofware install. Not a good point. I understand distros try to be prudent with this set-up but why not enable dma if the system is able to detect that the drive supports it ?

Next step was for me to get the minimal (which happens to be the maximal as well) plugin configuration for mozilla, since my powerpack dvd is at best a couple of weeks away from my mail box.

Most important I find is flash. macromedia site kindly detects my system and I am soon downloading the linux flash player. Install is still as 4 years ago, untar, run the script, that doesn't even detect where mozilla is installed and check that the libflash.so file is in the /usr/lib/mozilla-1.4/plugins directory. Flash didn't work. I found later, running mozilla 1.5 downloaded from the mozilla.org that it was trying to link to a standard c++ library file, not available on the system.
a symbolic link fixes it (instruction on the mandrake forum) but, that's another unintuitive one. And like it or not, an average net user needs flash.

Real player was no problem at all. The most difficult part is to find it on Real's page. Gone are the links to the linux version from the main download page. Talk about supporting open source.....

Installed java and acrobat reader is much the same way. These guys don't even attempt to install their plugins in the right place. more sym links.

Now it all works, just flash is a bit slow.

FONTS : THEY ARE NICE ! out of the box, without any windows fonts, they are really nice.
I still fired the MCC to install my windows fonts. I steered clear from the fully automated button, which froze the MCC is 9.1. Instead I chose to hand pick them from the windows partition that mandrake conviniently mounts by default.
No problem there, fonts installed within seconds and were visibly available immediately afterwards.

Finally, testing printing. No problem. The HP drivers work great and Mandrake makes a great job at configuring that AllInOne device (PSC2210) : Scanning is just a matter of starting Xsane. Scanner is there and ready to scan.

------- Post-install config : 7/10. Way too many things to figure out before the system is usable by someone eager to start with an easy linux distro. For me though it was OK, and I am perticularly grateful for the speedtouch and the printer. Did I mention that X config was fine ?

Conclusion
My main regret is that mandrake has decided to go for a new version. It looks very much like a service release to 9.1 but given how unreliable upgrades have proved to be in the past, I doubt anyone goes will go down that route. So you get all the hassle of a new install, when all you want and wish is updated system utilities and core packages ahead of the next major release. Open Office is RC4, mozilla is 1.4 (not 1.4.1 or 1.5) kde is 3.1.3 (.4 brings good fixes) and given the recent past, there is no point hoping that mandrake will shortly bring updates to these nevertheless crucial components.

So for the moment, I run 9.1 and play with 9.2 from time to time. When I've finished the migration though, I'll try to upgrade 9.1. I will post the report here.

Hope this helps









 
Old 11-18-2003, 03:39 PM   #2
melk600
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Mandriva
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: Latest and greatest software
Cons: Doesn't all work


 
Old 12-02-2003, 12:20 AM   #3
Phlit
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Mandrake 9.2rc2
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: This distro has the widest support for different hardware right from the start
Cons: The apache server and the webmin packages don't work right together,(but I don't think this is something that is that bad.)


This distro is the best for all the windoze refugees out there. After you use this you can not complain about setting anything up. If you do, you are just plain lazy and probably shouldn't be using a computer in the first place. I know I downloaded the ISOs, but I am going to buy the powerpack real soon to support this distro. Think about it, this distro is more productive than all of MS products put together(besides hardcore games), but at a price that is fair and right. (Not to mention the added benifit of security that linux can provide). Think about it then go get this distro!
 
Old 01-03-2004, 05:21 PM   #4
jeffzw
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Posts: 32

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: excellent distro, real competitor to microsoft for desktops &amp; home users
Cons: still some tricky things but out of Mandrake scope (driver installs, etc.)


I was really impressed by Mandrake. I am a linux supporter but mainly for servers. i wasn't convinced linux could compete with Microsoft. But Mandrake did it ! Unfortunately, if you need to add a driver, you go back to the linux old days fighting with config files and shell commands, which will be frustrating for microsoft users, for example ...
 
Old 01-08-2004, 09:31 PM   #5
ryeman
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 118

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy, quick installation
Cons: Install could have included more programs


I have tried quite a few distros and Mandrake seems to have everything I've been looking for... Drivers, ease of setup, works right the first time..! What can I say, I'm speechless!

I installed Mandrake 9.2 on my DELL Latitude 500mhz CSx laptop (as the only OS), and it found all the correct drivers the first time.
 
Old 01-09-2004, 12:35 PM   #6
mike74
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu 5.10
Posts: 39

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: easy to follow step by step installation, immediate recognition of monitor, usb-mouse, LAN connection through router, printer, even ZIP-drive!!!
Cons: What a pain to install plugins (!!!) like Java, Flash, Quicktime, Realplayer etc! would be nice to have all the plugins in rpm-format that recognizes already installed software and puts plugin in the right folder!!! (Mozilla, Konqueror etc)


Installation was almost as easy as installing Win****. Pop in cd#1 and follow instructions.
the setup recognized cd-rom, cd-rw, floppy, usb-mouse printer, zip-drive and all the rest right away, unlike Redhat where zip has to be mounted manually after install.
Installation went smooth, so did the update @ the end.
I found the switch from Win**** to Mandrake easy since the GUI is similar to the MS one.
Configurations are easy to perform and customizing interface and programs is a blast, unlike with Win**** that lets you change very little, but allows you to delete almost the entire OS without even prompting for a password....

All together, very reliable and stable. It takes a couple of weeks to get used to the "different" way of doing things, but definitely a excellent option if you want to break free from MS.
 
Old 01-14-2004, 09:35 AM   #7
sick-o-windoze
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: ubuntu 5.10
Posts: 84

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: easy install, complete desktop solution!
Cons: some growing pains


I've tried other versions of Linux in the past and they have always fallen short on high usage features. Things that take relatively little energy or knowledge on windoze could take hours and hours to figure out.

Great progress has been made on those issues and Mandrake 9.2 is very sophisticated. To keep this simple, here's the executive summary:

Good points:
- Mature installation process
- HardDrake, the hardware finder/configurator really works!
- Full featured desktop and application suite is included
- The Control Panel is actually a step up from windoze as an intuitive interface.
- Lots of free goodies (OpenOffice!) and eye-candy.
- You get bragging rights and license to be a condescending uber-geek ("Can you believe these dorks don't know that you need to do a mkrlm -rfv -sys -q:40 after they do a reqsys -lrv? I mean, hello!")

What you need to know:
1. (general linux concern) Windoze does support more boutique hardware, but if you're even close to mainstream in hardware you'll have no problem. Be smart and check their HCL FIRST and save yourself some aggravation! (google "mandrake hcl"). This is probably one of the best distros in this department. I tried 6 very different desktops and all installed correctly. If you have a laptop, then "google <laptop mode> linux" Chances are someone else out there has already posted any problems. If the distro they had the problem on is like 7.x or less, then there's an excellent chance it's been fixed in a later version.

2. Software update sources is actually great, but you need to learn about it and go to the Penguin Liberation Front and check out how to set it up. It's funky about reading the distro CD's to install more software after the fact.

3. To get a seamless surfing environment together, Mozilla plugins will take some figurin' out (check this board), because there are choices to be made and set up is not intuitive.

Hope this helps you get started. Now I haven't tried it, but downloading Knoppix or MandrakeMove will allow you to trial boot off a CD and that will also tell you about how compatible you're hardware before you decide to reformat the disk.
 
Old 01-27-2004, 02:42 PM   #8
Nukem
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: Slackware: in progress, Mandrake 9.2, Libranet, Vector
Posts: 373

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy to use. Autoconfigure most of the hardware.
Cons: Menu item disappearing bug. Screensavers disappearing bug.


This is what I'm using right now. It's great. Easy to use and autoconfigure most of my hardware. But the major problems that I have is two well known bugs. Which are, menu items disappearing and screensavers disappearing.
Installation was fast and painless.
 
Old 02-02-2004, 05:51 AM   #9
Nic-MDKman
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Mandrake 9.2
Posts: 159

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Drak tools are great! Install is perfect, rpms mdk specific are readily available.
Cons: Have not found any cons


I see a couple users listed cons that are specific to their situation. Phlit said webmin and apache dont work together. There is nothing wrong with apache and webmin (you can look at my MDK 9.2 server if you wish to confirm).

dukeinlondon said mozilla is missing.. if you can install it from the CD then it is not missing, you just didnt select it during the install...

mike74 complained about plugins. The browser that you use is not MDK specific and the issues are not MDK related. If you want RPMs there are plenty, just look at rpmfind.net If you cant find RPMs for an application, that is not an MDK issue... discuss that with the application maker.


Now let's get into the specifics of Mandrake. Mandrake has excellent tools to use for configuration of nearly everything. You can find all of the tools in the exceptional "Configure Your Computer" control center, or you can go into a terminal and type "drak" tab and see a list of the drak tools. You will see everything from configuring boot options, to partitions and more. Mandrakes RPM orientation is much better than distros such as RedHat even though it is a similar platform. With Mandrake, if you need to install something and there is a dependency that is unsatisfied, the system will automatically check the list of RPMs available from the install media, and any other software sources (FTP mirrors etc) for RPMs to satisfy the dependencies. If no RPMs are found to satisfy, then you are informed of which RPM you need, and you can easily go to rpmfind.net and search for the RPM and install it.

Additionally on RPMs, Mandrake is very good at keeping the rpmdb accurate. Installation and removable of RPMs is easy, an clean.

In closing, I first started Mandrake with version 6.2. After the extensive problems I had with RedHat, I was about to give up on linux. I tried Mandrake 6.2 and have been using Mandrake ever since. Mandrake 6.2 was a great distribution and Mandrake has only become better with every subsequent release!
 
Old 02-11-2004, 05:10 PM   #10
mmc
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Mandrake cooker, Fedora Core 3, Linspire, Libranet,Debian, SuSE 9.2, Slack
Posts: 113

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: lots of additional software
Cons: can be unstable


Mandrake is a great distribution.
You can download many software packages and install them by using the rpmdrake interface. This is the easiest interface to use. (I have used SuSE, synaptic) mandrake control center is one of the highlights of the distro. Its interface is clean and can configure your system without even taking you to a command line. I have used SuSE, Fedora, RedHat, debian, lindows, libranet and perfer mandrake.
If you use the cooker sources, they are highly unstable, but give the adventurous a thrill.
 
Old 02-13-2004, 10:23 PM   #11
stonehurstX11
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.04
Posts: 120

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Excellent user interface, lots of useful apps
Cons: Some bugs, not too bad


Mandrake 9.2, to me, is a great system. It comes preloaded with all the applications I would ever need and more, such as the GIMP and OpenOffice. The user interface is nicely designed, and Mdk picked up all of my hardware, which I was very pleased with.

Even though there are the rather annoying bugs, such as the menu and screensaver disappearing bugs, it really isn't a big problem to solve. ;^)

I highly recommend Mandrake to anyone willing to try a new distro, it's also great for people switching from Windoze! =^)
 
Old 02-15-2004, 10:15 PM   #12
tgies
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 1
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 1

Pros: Easy to install, second overall in ease of use (FC1 is easier) when it works
Cons: Kinda finicky and delicate compared to other distros, sometimes it will for unexplained reasons never quite work, free version is not worth the price :)


I reinstalled this dang thing five times in two or three days... icko.

Mandrake 9.1 was OK, I tried this and it turned me away from Mandrake.

The compilers included on the CD are semi-braindead (they often spit out massive executables that are prone to running slowly), icons mysteriously disappear from the KDE Kicker never to return (seems to be somewhat common and largely unexplainable), access to the kernel source requires membership in Mandrake's "club" (money) and thus it's pretty much useless for GeForce users as you can't install the drivers without the kernel source, updating Mandrake system stuff is often pretty harrowing, the RPM system used in Mandrake is not so good, can be slow, one or two of the 3D games have been known to be semi-broken out of the box, numerous bugs can cause finger pain from having to ask on seventeen thousand different forums and IRC channels before an answer is uncovered, not really a gooddistro for the advanced Linux user, or even an advanced computer user who's fairly new to Linux. Generally it just has a very sticky and messy feeling to it, and things are constantly exploding all around you... it's like being hit repeatedly on the face with a playground ball while someone is thowing water balloons full of honey and wood shavings at you and shrieking in your ear and you're trying to escape but you find you can only move in slow motion. Ick ick no. If you really need Mandrake, choose 8.2 or 9.1. Better yet, just go with Fedora Core 1.
 
Old 02-16-2004, 03:46 PM   #13
_RA_
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 1/2
Posts: 59

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros: Fast, Looks Amazing, Easy setup, Easy package wizards
Cons: Xine and XMMS not installed by default along with PPP and KPPP, No APM for notebooks


This is the third distro I have tried my first being Red Hat 8 and second being Mandrake 6.1. I being a modem user went though the hassle of getting the first two disks of Mandrake 9.2 by download and I was very happy with the OS overall. 9.2 has many perks that would help any newbee such as myself get into Linux and thrive. The Package managers and the Mandrake control panel are nice features that will really make working with Linux easy. The only thing I wasnít very happy with is the problems with connecting to my ISP. I installed Mandrake on my notebook knowing the Linuxant drivers would work with my modem, the drivers worked and I could dial out but the connection was closed right after signing on. I wasnít very happy with the lack of APM as I donít want to recompile the kernel nor was there source for it on the 2 CDs I downloaded. Overall Mandrake 9.2 is very nice and works very nicely all I would like is to have APM built in to the kernel and to be able to connect to the Internet so I may get some updates.
 
Old 02-19-2004, 03:27 PM   #14
DougRoyer
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: RedHat/Mandrake
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Availability
Cons: Difficulty updating when used to RedHat


A very good product.
However for those that have used RedHat is can be frustrating to find the packag
e names of missing packages that come installed with RedHat.

The 'urpmi' utilities are great once you understand how to add packages.

As a developer I had to run a large number of urpmi commands to be able to compi
le my application on Mandrake. It would be nice if there were bundles like Perl's
CPAN.
 
Old 03-01-2004, 04:34 AM   #15
aRTee
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Mandrake
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Works very well for me.
Cons: Some small things that could be easier


You can read my full review here:
http://www.mandrake.tips.4.free.fr/review92.html

The good: I can use all my hardware without too much hassle, must actually easier than when I was still using windows -- no drivers cds needed (and not being able to find in my mess) for anything.
The bad: there were still some small things that a newbie might have problems with.
One of the most annoying things was that the kernel sources weren't there; looks like for mdk10 they will include at least the kernel headers (all that is needed to compile drivers to be loaded into the kernel, such as nvidia closed source drivers).

Note: of late I have found out (through cooker and 10 rc1 buglists) that the usb2 speed is a supermount problem, so mounting by hand and unmounting is the way to go. This is only a bad thing in that normally people don't know that they have to do that, and second that they normally don't know how to do that.

All in all a fine distro, that I used to recommend to anyone to try out. But now, with mdk10 coming up, just be patient a bit longer.
 
Old 03-07-2004, 02:05 PM   #16
wslyhbb
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Distribution: Mandriva 2009.0 PowerPack x86_64
Posts: 150

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: easy install, lots of hardware supported, up to date software
Cons: takes a lot of tweaking to get everything right



Works really well and looks really good. Have a few problems with Nvidia driver and sound, but overall easy to work with.
 
Old 03-09-2004, 05:03 PM   #17
stupid_guy
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: mandrake 9.2
Posts: 57

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: very easy to use, to install
Cons: sometimes some software crashes


I burned the CDs, installed them, and I have a full, free, functional, and powerful OS. Mandrake is really friendly and many GUI configurations. I really love it.
Since I use it for everyday use such as learning about linux operating system, shell programming, and music, n web browsing, I found that these features work perfectly.

The most impressive experience on Mandrake is the ability to install and use the OS without any hassles or run into any troubles. It does all the configurations for you and saves u time.

Go Mandrake!
 
Old 03-12-2004, 01:17 PM   #18
deejayqf
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Mandrake 9.2
Posts: 47

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Ease of use for newbie
Cons: Nothing other than Linux being a little tricky at first


I loved it straight away. I upgraded from 9.2 and haven't looked back. Installation was a breeze and all my hardware was detected perfectly.

Customising my rpm sources was easy and in no time I was updating my system with the latest bug fixes and software releases.

My Nvidia drivers were easy to install and the Mandrake Control Centre makes system administration easy.

I recommend this product to any person interested in learning Linux.
 
Old 03-12-2004, 04:44 PM   #19
wslyhbb
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Distribution: Mandriva 2009.0 PowerPack x86_64
Posts: 150

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: Easy install, a lot of programs
Cons: some problems with drivers (nVidia video and AC'97 had to be configured manually and sounds rather crappy with XMMS)


It was easy to install, had some audio problems, and still have not resolved the nVidia driver problem.
 
Old 03-15-2004, 10:13 PM   #20
spoody_goon
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Mandrake, DamnSmallLinux, VectorLinux
Posts: 416

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $6.95 | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to use, Open Office comes standard, Harddrake, menudrake
Cons: No Macromedia


I was using RedHat and it was not the distibution for me. Mandrake installed easy is easy to use and control. Works with windoz partitions just fine. I just can't say enough about how Mandrake helps me us Linux.
 
Old 04-14-2004, 04:36 PM   #21
danny_beta_read
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Slackware 9.1, Slackware 9.0, FreeBSD 4.10-RELEASE, Dragon Lite, Slax
Posts: 70

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: $10.00 | Rating: 1

Pros: Easy Install, Lots of Programs on Disks
Cons: Way to many unnecesarry programs installed, way to hard to upgrade to the new kernels, way to hard to get most programs to compile from source, and having 7 CDs to manage is hard.


Mandrake 9.2 was pretty good when I first started using it, as I had no linux or unix experience, but once I got farther into it, it seemed to get worse and worse. Every package needed at least two other packages, which in tern needed two more packages, which needed two more packages, and it was usually quite hard to find these packages and install them, and I feel if an OS comes with seven disks, it should have just about every single dependency you would ever need.
Also, Mandrake always installed several servers and other unnecesarry programs on my computer, and then I would have to uninstall them and install the packages that I really needed/wanted. And to make things even worse, the program for updating Mandrake never worked for me, and I'm too lazy to even think of downloading every patch, so I had to manually unistall and update tons of programs just to get simple games like freedroids, penguin command, or lincity to work, even though a distro like the Vector Linux live CD can install them without needing any updates or dependencies!
 
Old 06-05-2004, 11:37 AM   #22
OC_eobard
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 10.2, Ubuntu 6.10
Posts: 94

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Ease of install similar (or equal to) Windows
Cons: Requires much tweaking.


I've used Mandrake 9.2 for about 6 months and it's a mixed bag. It's good in that it does a lot of the work to get itself set up for you so if you don't know anything about Linux it's probably the best distro to get started with. The down side is after a while you realize that even if you set up Wine and add a bunch of plugins to your browser like Flash you still don't know your way around a real Linux distro.

Also many of the automated utilities and tools that make setting up the system easy don't work properly. Menudrake comes to mind as the worst. Install one new component and suddenly 90% of the things you previously had disappear from your menu. To somone who's only experience with Linux is having the results spoon-fed, figuring out how to get everything back is a bit daunting.

I think it's a good way to get your foot in the door (possibly even the best way) but that's as far as you'll get. If you want to actually come inside a different distro would help a lot more.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration