LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > KNOPPIX
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

KNOPPIX 3.8.1
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 57091 04-03-2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.0



Description: In his newest release Knopper managed to make Knoppix even better.
By adding a "transparent" filesystem over the static read-only cd-rom one you can now modify and safe configuration files which in turn can again be stored in the persistent homedir.

Furthermore it is now possible to update the mounted system directly from debian using apt (or kpackages) these "updates and additions" are again suppossedly stored on in the homedir (if it exsists).

I was pleased with the latest releases, but now considering the above mentioned changes plus the drivers for centrinos, makes this a perl of a system.
After several versions of Knoppix, I was pleased how much faster and cleaner this version booted on my laptop. Getting my wireless card configured using ndswrappers was a matter of minutes and adding some packages with kpackages was also quickly done.

Personally I found it a pitty that the K edutainment packages were missing, but this might be that I work in education and many teacher simply enjoy using these tools, knoppix offering a quick way of using them without to install linux. But you can't have it all.

Back to knoppix. This is by far one of the best Knoppix distributions yet.
Keywords: Newest Version with many new "gadgets"


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 04-11-2005, 09:29 PM   #1
Gibsonist
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Cygwin,RH 7.2 7.3, SuSe 6.4 8.2 9.1,TinyLinux, Debian Sarge, Knoppix 3.*, Knoppicilin, Knoppix STD
Posts: 191

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, simple to use and usefull (need I say more)
Cons: (some tools and drivers missing but neglectable)



I believe my product description already voices my possitive attitudes towards this product.

I'm sorry for the strange form my description takes, but it is fairly early here (half two) and I got a bit moxed up.
 
Old 06-01-2005, 12:20 AM   #2
rarsa
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: Puppy Linux/ Mint
Posts: 210

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Complete, usefull, All the pros of the previous versions, very well documented
Cons: Slow when running from CD, need a floppy drive to save settings


This new version has a more polished interface than before.

It recognized my hardware without a glitch.

As far as I'm concerned, it's two main uses are:

- As a rescue disk: Has a lot of utilities for this task
- As a linux demo when evangelizing Linux: You don't require to install anything. It includes the software that a regular user will 90% of the time.

I would not use it to do normal work as a LiveCD as it is quite slow. This is not a light distro. It is a Full distro very well packaged.

This is a must have for anyone using linux. Or anyone willing to explore linux.
 
Old 06-05-2005, 08:16 AM   #3
iZvi
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Slackware-current, kernel 2.6.31
Posts: 284

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy, full-featured, configured and working Debian system
Cons: non-critical instability in some packages, problems with hd-installer


I decided to give Knoppix a try, because it is a live CD, and is widely recommended on the net.

It has good autodetection, and works fast. After the booting and the autodetection finish, it loads the X server and KDE. The videocard is autodetected properly and I have no problems with 2D acceleration. KDE starts about only 1.5 times slower than it would start from HDD. The sound initially doesn't worked, but it was a matter of one modprobe command and I had sound.

After the loading has finished, you have a system ready to meet almost all your needs, you are able to save your settings fo future use, you can read your other linux and windows partitions, and if you want you can install Knoppix to the hard disk and have a full-featured, nice organised debian-based system. So If you want Debian, but it's difficult for you to get it configured and working, that might be your choice.

However the installer isn't still very good, at least it didn't worked right for me. I had to manually add /etc/fstab, to edit some of the startup scripts and to lose some time, which could be saved with some more options in the installer.

The Xserver also has some problems, I had to boot in text mode, otherwise after loading of the X server, the console is no longer readable. However it doesn't have to do much with Knoppix, it's related to the Xfree package.

As last words, it's an excellent live CD, probably the best live-CD distro and it deserves to give it a try and to even install it.
 
Old 06-08-2005, 04:03 PM   #4
rhirwin
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Mepis
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros: Good hardware detection.
Cons: Could not get printer operating properly


My machine is an HP pavilion zv5000, with an Athlon 64 chip, 512mb, 60 gb HDD, wide screen. My printer is an Epson Stylus Photo R200. Knoppix 3.8.1 loads beautifully and detects my hardware without a problem. Setting up the printer is straightforward and the test page prints perfectly, however, when trying to print something else, e.g. a note composed in Open Office, all the printer gets is raw PostScript code. Somehow, the output from OO does not go through the code that will transform the PS code to what is wanted on the paper. Has anyone else had this problem? I am a newbie and don't know much about the guts of Linux to understand what is wrong.
 
Old 07-01-2005, 12:52 PM   #5
Atrocity
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Distribution: FreeBSD, Slackware
Posts: 308

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: Everything is already loaded
Cons: cant dl files


I received a disc of this distro from a freind and I have to say it makes an excelent distro to load up in my vmware when I feel like using it to test my other servers since most tools i need are already on the disc and I dont have to try to configure anything
 
Old 08-14-2005, 06:24 PM   #6
cfamsler
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: super recovery disk
Cons: couldn't get wireless working on laptop


I use Knoppix for several things.
1 - To do partimage backup / restore of my production servers running SuSE sles 9.
2 - Cloning Linux servers.
3 - Network scanning on my Windows laptop - (boot knoppix and run ethereal)
4 - Secure browsing - When I want to hit the internet hard, and not worry about downloading the latest worm / etc. - knoppix is the only way to go.
 
Old 04-03-2006, 01:07 AM   #7
operator10001
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Distribution: debian sarge
Posts: 222

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: auto installs well
Cons: couldn't save to disk or save files to disk


nice flavor
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration