LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Xandros
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Xandros 3.0.1 OCE
Reviews Views Date of last review
14 50592 01-03-2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
86% of reviewers $14.65 6.9



Description: From the site:
Xandros Desktop OS is an intuitive graphical environment that works right out of the box and offers unrivaled compatibility with Microsoft Windows.

The new Xandros Business Desktop OS adds enterprise-class Active Directory and PDC authentication to the peer-to-peer Windows networking found in the consumer editions.
Keywords: intuitive graphical compatibility windows debian


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 03-24-2005, 01:39 PM   #1
jollyjoice
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Gentoo 64
Posts: 383

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 1

Pros: Nice graphics
Cons: doesn't work



Ok, it started bad with a 1day 9hr Torrent d/l, the tracker was down almost all the time. Its a ziped ISO, WHY??? Ok, 100mb less download but then it took 30mins to unpack it!
7 attempts at a custom install failed nicely, I eventually gave up and did a default install, gr8 it failed to notice my gentoo install and insisted I have windows - the boot loader GFX are nice though. This is why I never allow installers to touch my grub, I recovered it ok with the fedora cd but still I shouldn't have to.
Now we get to the actuall distro, boot was fast (amd64 3000+ it should be) so I login, KDE Plastik, very imaginative. So I have a poke around, Its detected my fat and NTFS partitions (from when I had wondows on the drive) but did it list all my linux partitions, nope. Did it play MP3s? Nope. Did it crash (!) trying to play a DVD? Yup. Did Kopete allow me to login to MSN? Nope. Did Crossover run trillian? Nope. Did crossover let me CLOSE trillian? Nope. Did I get very annoyed when I found Gentoo in the boot options, set it as default then reboot to find Xandros STILL default and no sign of gentoo? Yup. Did crossover even WORK the next day? Nope. Was the whole thing a badly put together, unimaginative attempt to make Linux look, and act like windows? Yup, but they got the behaviour pretty close, a pain in the bum and as unpredictable as a bunch of 0s and 1s can get.
Hardware detection? Whats that? It did well and I was impressed when it found and loaded my nvidia card and driver, but it failed to find my wireless card, had to think about my ethernet and I can't remember hearing any sound... It worked yes, but I'll be frank, window$ did a better job.
If this is the best linux can offer for people wanting to convert then they will be at home with the stability but in awe to the utter array of useless software, uselss to me anyway seen as I couldn't even install Gaim and have no need for the full set of KDE games but no compiler, cd burner (yes i know its part of the filemanager but arson or K3b work at more than 2x). This really is best avoided, quite possibly the worst experience I have ever had with Linux.
 
Old 03-31-2005, 01:55 PM   #2
pmwalter
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: SUSE 9.1
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $6.00 | Rating: 6

Pros: Easy Interface, File Manager, Hardware Detection
Cons: Hard to configure, little options.


I was fairly impressed with Xandros 3. The file manager is very intuitive and easy to work with. In fact it acts a lot like Windows file manager. It detected my hardware without any problems, however I am unable to get my Conexant HSFi winmodem to work with it no matter what I try. This modem works great with other Distros. This mess with Conexant is really messing up the switch for new linux users. It is to difficult to install and then pay $15 for a key code.
I have a very limited understanding of Linux and the command line, however Xandros took most of hte guesswork out of it for users like myself. Xandros networks is a lot like Lindows download portal. There are free and non-free software that is optimized for Xandros.
All in all I am impressed with Xandros and would like to try it out some more.
 
Old 05-15-2005, 02:19 PM   #3
rkallio
 
Registered: May 2005
Distribution: Xandros OC, Lycoris LX
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to use
Cons: BuildXconf


Download was easy, burning the iso to cd was easy. Install on a Dell Latitude notebook was easy. Install detected Windows, I even partitioned the hard drive without a problem. Xandros detected everything but the network card and the Alps touchpad. The pad works but I am unable to turn off tap-to-click. I downloaded the driver but am unable to configure it because of BuildXconf. Apparently it detects all hardware at each startup and I cannot make changes in conf work.
Additional software is easily installed through Xandros network, you download and it is installed for you, without all that tar, make, install stuff.
I also installed Xandros on my Gateway desktop, it is now a triple boot with Windows XP. desktop LX, and Xandros.
I am new to Linux and this distro is a very easy transition from Windows, I have used every Windows version since 3.1.
I recommend Xandros for anyone wanting to switch from Windows to linux.
 
Old 05-15-2005, 04:10 PM   #4
aryehb
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Distribution: Xandros
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Installed perfectly, easy maintenance, window co-op
Cons: none that I found


I just wanted a linux box to develop web pages using PHP and MySQL. After running the Xandros install and installing XAMPP, every ran without any problems. Recognized my Windows network and printers immediately. I am a linux newbie and after close-but-no-cigar installs of Fedora, Mepis, Beatrix, and PCLinuxOS, Xandros did it all.
 
Old 05-19-2005, 04:54 AM   #5
manhinli
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Distribution: What's the point of this? I keep on trying new distros...
Posts: 80

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Very easy to install, very user-friendly, based on Debian, stable
Cons: Not as flexible


I downloaded Xandros 3.01 O.C.E because i found out it automatically detects and installs drivers for my 536ep modem.

It worked just fine. It also came with quite a lot of stuff... Firefox, OpenOffice...

The only thing is Xandros's own apt-get tool (Xandros Networks) is not as flexible and strong as apt-get itself. Sometimes it even crashes Xandros Networks.
 
Old 06-12-2005, 06:55 PM   #6
colinstu
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 113

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $2.95 | Rating: 10

Pros: Looks kinda like windows, xandros networks, good apps
Cons: can't find a way to change the Splash Screen, otherwis none


Very good. I don't love the Xandros Splash Screen, but it is okay.
 
Old 06-23-2005, 07:43 PM   #7
winsnomore
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: #1 PCLinuxOS -- for laughs -> Ubuntu, Suse, Mepis
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 1

Pros: Not much
Cons: Very bad choice of startup, dangerous setup etc. etc.


I downloaded the torrent and tried the install .. the install is quiet obvious, but it's really poorly done.

1. Doesn't give you option of preserving data in a common partition you might want to share across other installs.
- wipes out all partitions clean before it really has a reason to use them !!! So it soured me right of the bat .. things really went downhill from there on.

2. Forces Lilo on you .. and on MBR!!! this is archaic and dumb .. means if you have other distro and things are working fine with grub and you try to install you get nothing but grief .. wasted 3 hours and finally gave up .. but not before booting with floppy ..

3. The screens are clean, application choices are sucky .. the network setup is something of a steal of micro soft "network connections" dialog .. that one is useless and Xandros is more so. needless to say it didn't somehow "enable" either of my ethernet ports and I had to do it by hand .. not a big deal .. but for a consumer (non-techie) geard distro .. this should be unacceptable.


4. The user interace seems to uncluttered but in that you notice that by default it doesn't install many pacakges.

In general .. if you are using Lilo .. may be you can boot this distro with others .. if you are using grub stay away from it .. IT WONT WORK .. it's a shame that these guys took such a narrow view of their product and are missing 4/5th of the people who could have tried it ..

 
Old 07-10-2005, 12:54 PM   #8
ctkroeker
 
Registered: May 2005
Posts: 1,565

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Easy interface and install. Good file management and ovreall ease of use.
Cons: Only 2x-4x CD burning. Not very "Do it yourself" sort of distro.


A really easy to use distro for a n00b, easier than XP I think. It has a good interface and good file management, but lacks decent CD burning and a lot of other aps that should be in a distro, of course you can install them yourself. The install is a breaze and so is setting up the network and other things. Recognized all my hardware too.
But after a while I got sort of bored, as it does not really leave much for you to tweak.
Overall a good distro or a n00b, but will make an advanced linux guru complain and whine.
 
Old 07-29-2005, 09:05 PM   #9
Cinematography
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu 9.04
Posts: 355

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: It's insanely easy to setup and use, and looks amazing!
Cons: It doesn't like some programs and file manager burner has a 2x limit.


Xandros is the best looking and most organized Linux distro I've tried yet.

The installer on this bad boy was amazing! You could actually browse your partitions through it. And as it installs, it gives you a tour of its features. Hardware and OS (operating system) detection went perfectly and easier than it has ever gone for me on other distros. KDE has been given a much needed polish; it's not big and clunky with giant buttons as it is by default. Drive names and error message are friendly and aren't in code talk. You can right click .deb AND .rpm files to install them. And it comes with nvidia drivers, java, and flash.

My only complaint is that it doesn't seem to like Gnome and KDE very much. They won't install. You may have to pay for the OS to get support for these programs. Other than that, Xandros is excellent. I rank it second only behind Mepis.
 
Old 10-13-2005, 10:10 AM   #10
samuelmp
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: mepis 3-4-3 [join us]
Posts: 154

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: ACE software installer XN
Cons: the retail boxes do cost a bit


Xandros is the easiest distro I have ever tried. I just love the Xandros networks package installer I installed many packages in no time on a broadband connection {512} itís a GUI application so no dumb terminals. Xandros has modded KDE to look like it's own it does not try to look like XP or Mac or gnome it does look like kde but it has changed it around a bit which I absolutely love, how many distros have you tried that always look similar?. Installation was a breeze and installed along XP fine. I have tried many distros, I use to be a Suse user and have used suse 7.3 and 9.1, Xandros has changed me and that is pretty hard to beat hardly any one has a bad thing to say about suse, now I have gone for good and am never coming back. I have used mandriva 2005 LE, kubuntu [64-bit], ubuntu, fedora core 2, berry linux, dam small Linux and knoppix and have installed knoppix on to hard drive none of these compare to Xandros and believe me I have used those distros and configured them I still love Xandros!. it's the easiest fastest distro I have used. If you want and easy distro that just works them Xandros is your man.
 
Old 10-16-2005, 02:31 AM   #11
daacosta
 
Registered: Jun 2002
Distribution: Fedora Core 4
Posts: 45

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $35.00 | Rating: 5

Pros: Easy to install and use
Cons: Xandros Networks


Actually what was worth $35.00 was the book "Linux made easy" by Rickford Grant and not the distro that came with the book. This is a very windowish distro that has most of the things that you will need as a regular Joe user. In general their people are very helpfull and friendly (I got help whenever I asked for it at their website forums) and they know what their product is about. Nonetheless, their Xandros Networks for updating and installing software is a total piece of crap... What I was surprised with was that I was able to do apt-get much more easily than using that utility and also, after installing synaptic I was pretty much able to get a decent frontend to update my OS...

In any case, Xandros was so easy to handle and to learn that eventually I decided to get a truly free OS [ I don't understand their 'deluxe' edition and in a sense I felt as if I was getting a 'demo' OS or a beta version of another of their products for which I would have to pay... ] In my uninformed opinion, Xandros is trying a little too hard to make Linux look like Windows...

It is a good place to start learning Linux but not something that I want to use on a daily basis... I am hooked on Fedora and ready to tackle Debian whenerver I buy my new box...
 
Old 10-18-2005, 04:29 PM   #12
brashley46
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Distribution: Xubuntu 13.10 on the desktop, Android 4.3 on the tablet, Android 4.1.2 on the phone
Posts: 55

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Easy install on a blank harddrive
Cons: Xandros Networks really doesn't like installing other people's software


I'm not having any problems with this one so far. I'm using this box to surf, and to control the old WinXP box I run my webserver on (plus a few other Windows apps. such as the Qtopia desktop for my Zaurus.)

The installer software included in the Xandros Networks aplication can be used on its own; but it is not very informative when it fails to install a package ... e.g:
it converts kshowmail-3.1.0-2.RH9.i386.rpm to a deb package, but then it won't run it because it can't find hotwayd. Hmmmm.

Edit ... That was a n00b mistake, trying to install something that just wasn't there and hung up the XN interface for apt-get. I finally had to do a reinstall, but then it's just fine ... more stable than the other distros I've tried.
 
Old 01-18-2006, 02:29 PM   #13
Thulemanden
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: PC-BSD, PCLOS, MeeGo, Win 7
Posts: 189

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast install, stable, Xandros Networks, CD burning
Cons: Can't think of any


Install besides other OS easily. 15 min install. Small premium support member ship adds well organized anti-virus and application update agent like in Microsoft OS. Close to Microsoft XP.
 
Old 01-03-2007, 07:14 PM   #14
ceannbuck
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: easy to install,firefoxand thunderbird rmail good
Cons: a good beginners distro,Does all thats necessary


The first of the Xandros disto`s which tempted me
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.

Main Menu

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration