LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > KNOPPIX
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Knoppix STD
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 26977 06-18-2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.4



Description: Knoppix STD adds some additional tools to an already sweet distrobution. some added features (taken from website http://www.knoppix-std.org)

authentication
encryption
forensics
firewall
honeypot
ids
network utilities
password tools
servers
packet sniffers
tcp tools
tunnels
vulnerability assessment
wireless tools
Keywords: Knoppix livecd STD


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 01-17-2005, 08:48 PM   #1
sphynx
 
Registered: Feb 2002
Distribution: Ubuntu / Gentoo / Whatever
Posts: 67

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: So many tools I could stay busy for years
Cons: So many tools, i could stay busy for years



Above the other versions of Knoppix, which is already a really great distro, it adds so many securtity and system admin tools that i don't know what to do with them all.
Seriously, anyone in the system or network administration field should carry THIS cd in their back pocket. Same live CD functionality as knoppix, with a number of tools to help troubleshoot, identify security holes, scan networks, and all the other tools found in the description above. Check the website for a full list of all the tools under each category. I didn't put them in the description because of the number of them. Really it's a great product. I don't know off the top of my head what version of Knoppix it was based off of, but standard window manager was fluxbox, which is really lightweight and slick.
it does however, seem to be geared less toward new users like Knoppix seemed to be, but more for the system/network admin crowd.
 
Old 03-16-2005, 10:52 PM   #2
Gibsonist
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Cygwin,RH 7.2 7.3, SuSe 6.4 8.2 9.1,TinyLinux, Debian Sarge, Knoppix 3.*, Knoppicilin, Knoppix STD
Posts: 191

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: All you need for checking the security and more tools
Cons: ... updates are rather slow


My Knoppix STD CD is one of the CDs i always carry with me when I am of working as it holds all the small and "nasty" tools often needed on networks and file systems to figure out what is going on or what has been going on (I work in Computer Forensics)

The ammount of tools could be called awsome, very nice is the menustructure and Fluxbox in the 0.1b edition.

If people would talk about a "swiss-pocket-knife" for network security/forensics I would say this distro should def be mentioniond.
 
Old 04-08-2005, 01:36 AM   #3
ginetta
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Never failed to recognise hardware to date
Cons: Limitations are CDROM speeds


Everytime I needed a tool that would let me enter hardware or network environments without leaving fingerprints or altering the state of the environment knoppix has pulled through.

Nessus is a great tool that I use often.

Being that so many of my develpments have been web based applications, firing up a laptop with knoppix pretty much is all I need in any situation from a temporary workstation to continue development to a full blown network auditor.

Cluster Knoppix should be checked out too. It has some very clever clustering developments added to it.

 
Old 07-06-2005, 03:45 PM   #4
issinho
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Distribution: Fedora Core 4, Kurumin,BackTrack, Slackware 10.2, IPCop
Posts: 105

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


I have been able to learn so much with this distro of Knoppix. We learned about how networks actually WORK with knoppix STD. It's totally awesome.

Whenever I want to play around in LINUX, I throw Knoppix STD in and have a ball.

I also use HELIX and am learning more and more with that.

 
Old 06-18-2007, 02:24 AM   #5
majin_majik
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros:
Cons:


wow sweet
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration