LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Slackware Linux 14.1
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 5101 04-21-2014
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 10.0



Description: "After over a year of development (including the beta release and several release candidates to get everything polished up) we're proud to announce the availability of the new stable release. You'll find updates throughout the system, with the latest compilers and development tools, and recent versions of applications, window managers, desktop environments, and utilities. The Linux kernel is updated to version 3.10.17 (part of the 3.10.x kernel series that will be getting long-term support from the kernel developers). The x86_64 edition of Slackware also adds support for installing and booting on systems running UEFI firmware."
Keywords: Kernel-3.10.17 UEFI-firmware


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 02-06-2014, 04:15 AM   #1
gonny95
 
Registered: Feb 2014
Posts: 72

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: The most stable linux!
Cons: Packages



At first I installed Ubuntu

Ubuntu is so buggy with no reasons.

So I decided to install Slackware

My choice was absolutely right yeah!

Unfortunately installing packages in slackware is a little bit hard

There are easy ways to install packages such like slackpkg
,Slackbuild .. not much packages, though.

Any way I like Slackware
 
Old 03-07-2014, 08:06 AM   #2
Drakeo
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Distribution: Slackware, Slacko,
Posts: 2,530

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: well thought out system
Cons: not enough coffe


Slackware does the most to keep things in there place and lets the world orbit around them.
 
Old 03-07-2014, 09:54 AM   #3
Brosch91
 
Registered: Jun 2013
Distribution: Slackware64 14.1
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: stable, and follows the "keep it simple stupid" philosophy quite well
Cons: takes time to learn, but once you understand it, everything makes sense


I used to be an avid Ubuntu user back in the day, but once Ubuntu went to Unity along with the distro starting to get more unstable and buggy over the years, I decided to stop using it. I then started jumping distro to distro, having a hard time finding a distro to call home. I've tried pclinuxos, linux mint, sabayon, gentoo, and more but they just didn't click with me.

Then I tried Slackware, and with the well documented slackdocs and the slackbook, I learned it quickly and really learned to love this distribution of GNU/Linux. It is extremely stable and I really like the LILO boot loader! And the slackbuilds make it easy to install any application you want, as they have many slackbuilds for a big variety of software available.

And the one thing I love Slackware about is they don't try to be what they aren't. One problem with most of the distros out there is they have identity problems. They try being one thing, then another thing. They just can't make up their minds! Not with Slackware, they have kept the same identity since the 90s and have gotten very good at doing what they do by being the same distro in every update. One thing you can count on with Slackware is that it won't try to change identities in the next update. They just keep it simple, updating it but keeping it the same distro we all know and love. I hope Slackware sticks around for the many years to come, because it has my full support!
 
Old 04-21-2014, 07:32 PM   #4
aihaike
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 201

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: original unix file system, very stable, very secure, no superfluous
Cons: maybe not suitable for newbies because of the packing system.


I use Slackware since 12 years now, it's such a great distribution to me.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration