LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Other
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

BLAG 10000
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 14689 07-26-2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
75% of reviewers None indicated 6.7



Description: BLAG 10000 is a FC1 distro that has more than what FC1 has and its on one cd!
Keywords: BLAG Linux Rocks


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 07-30-2004, 03:54 PM   #1
demitri_88
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: BLAG 50000
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: One CD,GNOME and Other Light Desktops,200 more pkgs than FC1
Cons: No KDE



This is the greatest Distro never heard of. BLAG 10000 is based on FC1,and is on one cd. It boasts synaptic and apt,modem support,and the full install is only 1.8 gigs. This distro is packed with 200 more pkgs than FC1,Audacity,mp3 support right out of the box,and servers and other programs which make BLAG the best distro on one cd. The only downside is that it doesn't come with KDE,but you can get it using synaptic(gui apt frontend). Overall this distro is great,stable,and it can run on older boxes(which is a plus). I highly recommend this distro to anyone. Come on,and get access to over 4000 pkgs using synaptic.
 
Old 08-21-2004, 08:48 AM   #2
trufflesdad
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: Debian,Ubuntu,PCLinuxOS
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Blag does all I need
Cons: None


Over the last 12 months I have installed over 30 linux
distros ,some have lasted a few weeks and some a few hours
but Blag is here to stay..I have Blag stable on one box and 2k
on the other..Both distros run 24hour on my ham radio station
and no glitches at all...Also everything works without having to edit any files at all...Very unusual even for the expensive
distros....
I cannot praise this distro highly enough...
 
Old 02-11-2005, 09:50 PM   #3
saxophobe
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: CentOS 5.3
Posts: 131

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 1

Pros: Based on FC1
Cons: CAN'T GET THE BLOODY THING TO INSTALL


I have had it with this distro!!! I have downloaded it several times, burned it to CD using 2 different types of media and CD burning programs, and I still can't get it installed. If you decide not to heed my warnings and give it a try and you get errors on the install, remember that it might not be you or your gear, but might be the lame distro!!!
 
Old 07-26-2006, 09:08 AM   #4
Dreamcast
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 51

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: Fast boot time, Speedy Desktop and applications
Cons: Small user base


BLAG is very fast. Applications launch quickly; the system boots quickly; and applications seem quite responsive.

You can easily use synaptic to add just about any application that you would like. Still, this single-cd distribution features less bloated applications such as AbiWord and GNOME instead of the bloated KDE desktop.

BLAG is committed to software freedom. Thus, this distribution refuses to include any proprietary software. From my experience, this probably explains in part why Blag crashes less frequently than other versions of Linux. Still, you may easily add non-free software if you desire.

Of course, BLAG installs easily in about 15 minutes. Even my wife, who is the most computer illiterate person that I know, managed to independently install Blag during an emergency when I was not available to help her.

BLAG is a derivative of Fedora Core 5. Thus, you may use Fedora repositories to add applications to BLAG. Nevertheless, BLAG is faster and easier to use than Fedora. In addition, it seems to recognize hardware more easily than Fedora.

Despite BLAGS commitment to software freedom, you will still have a solid multimedia experience. BLAG can still handle virtually every file format with the notable expection of microsofts wmv files. Still, if you need to play these file types you can easily download the Codec.

If you like proprietary software and lots of eyecandy, then BLAG is probably not for you. If you preffer the convenience of multi-cd pack distributions because you have a slow dial up connection, then BLAG is not for you. Otherwise, give BLAG a try if you need speed and value software freedom.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration