LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mandriva
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Mandrake 10.0 Official Download
Reviews Views Date of last review
28 86160 10-03-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
93% of reviewers $8.00 8.4



Description: The Mandrake 10.0 "Official Download" version available as of May 25, 2004 from Mandrakelinux.com
Keywords: MDK 10


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 09-08-2004, 04:55 PM   #1
ilyanep
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Debian Sarge
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to Setup, Intuitive Control Center, Nice Interface
Cons: Freezes up on Logout, Doesn't support older Wireless cards



To install Mandrake took me about 30 minutes, and I was up and running within an hour.

The control center let me set practically every minute detail that I wanted. The OS comes with a lot of packages, so I didn't have to download anything.

The Interface is nice, providing many systems like Gnome, KDE, and some others.

My main problems with Mandrake (somewhat minute though) are that it freezes up when I go to the menu and then click 'Logout/Restart' and that it doesn't recognize my D-Link DWL-520 (but I find that to be a problem with all versions of Linux).

In the end, Would I reccomend this to a newbie or even an intermediate user? Uh-huh! But if you want to use it as a server or be a Super-133t h4x0r, then you might want to consider another distro such as Debian.
 
Old 09-11-2004, 10:11 AM   #2
qwerty12
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Great and easy to use
Cons: The hardware detecting program needs some work.It successfully detected my hardware but if I had my office jet v45 on and I let it detect my USB devices it would say it found a office jet v45 connected but could not detect the actual printer connected to


It is a great product and apps generally install easily.It was my first time using linux and I found it easy to configure to your needs.
 
Old 09-12-2004, 01:11 PM   #3
webchem
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: MDK 10.0
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy install, easy to use
Cons: Problems on dual boot system (easily fixable), lack of Firefox


As a newcomer to Linux (although I have tried Live CD's), I wanted to install an easy to use, easy to install distro. SuSE was recommended to me, but when I hit go to install it refused to mount any of my disk partitions.

MDK just smoothly installed - brilliant. BUT (and this is a big BUT), the bootloader installed itself and when I re-booted up it came, I selected Windows, and all I got was a flashing cursor - big PANIC time.

However, MDK 10.0 is splendid, I was able to rescue all my data and burn to CD (great). The whole system is easy to use, and although only Konquerer is installed as standard, Firefox etc are just a download away. The installation is different, and I don't think Firefox installed properly.

So I set about trying to solve my Windows XP boot problem, and after some very deep delving on various forums (including this one), in which I encountered all sorts of very complex fixing including using such commands as fdisk /mbr (or whatever they are) which are very scary, re-formatting hard-drives etc to mention but a few. I then came across a very simple fix, which looked right because it was simple.

All I had to do was enter my bios settings and change my Primary Boot from 'AUTO' to 'LBH'. Bingo boot issue solved! Hurray!

I am actually quite cross with MDK, as this should be an issue that they should warn about. Looking at various Linux forums it is not an uncommon problem and people are going to all sorts of extreme measures to fix it, and the solution is very quick and easy!

So to MDK itself, it looks good, its quick and seems to be stable. It somes with everything you need to use for whatever setup you require.

The only thing I haven't yet managed to do is set up a simple network with a Belkin ADSL modem/switch/wireless that enables the other computers in the house to share printers and use the desktop as a fileserver. This was very simple in XP.

I would just like to see Mozilla installed as default, and the boot issue resolved - or potential users warned about the problem. Konqueror is great, but there are some sites (notably gmail) that don't work with it.

Looking forward to many happy hours using MDK.



I then set about
 
Old 09-13-2004, 12:06 AM   #4
Bluenoser
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu 8.04 LTS
Posts: 138

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: User friendly, smooth install, tons of software to choose from
Cons: Minor bugs, slightly unstable, Premium services very costly


My first linux distro was Mandrake 8.1, which I bought retail, mostly because I had dialup then and had no other way to obtain a copy. Finally I got highspeed and I have since tried RedHat 9 which I did not care for at all, and went back to Mandrake. Then tried Suse 9 Pro for a bit, then Mandrake 10, then Suse 9 Personal and have just gone back to Mandrake 10 simply because it just feels right to me. I still want to try Debian and Slackware to compare, but I know I'll just end up back with Mandrake.

Anyways the only hardware that does not work is my printer, and it doesn't work with any other linux, so we can't fault Mandrake for that LOL but once installed, and setup with nvidia drivers, flash and some minor tweaking, it's very comparable to XP, but with less crashes. I think XMMS and Mozilla should be included in a default install but these can be added very easily. I still have to boot into XP for some things though, so it is not a total replacement for me yet
 
Old 09-18-2004, 11:06 PM   #5
wirawan0
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Mandrake 9.1, SuSE 9.2, Ubuntu 7.04-10.04, Sabayon 5, Debian 6
Posts: 62

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Ease of install, ease of use, bunches of nice software (esp. multimedia)
Cons: Free distro is trimmed down (3 instead of 4 CDs), missing devel libraries, too much unwanted automations


I have been using Mandrake Linux since version 9.1 was out in 2003(?). I installed it on my Sony VAIO AMD-AthlonXP-based laptop (precisely: PCG-FXA53). The main reason, at that time, was that I was so desperate to get a distro with working ACPI support. (I had used Red Hat 7.3--which was a fine distro--on that laptop for a while, which had no ACPI support. That caused my laptop to run *red hot*.)

In general this distribution is easy to install and handle. Not too much low-level messing up is required to have it running on my laptop. The original kernel 2.6.3 works fine for me (except that I had to disable APIC and local APIC, since they historically caused the laptop to lockup at the end of the shutdown process [this was with Mdk 9.1 with kernel 2.4.21, not yet tested with 10.0]). The GNOME desktop is nice. Mandrake configuration tool (drakconf) is easy to use, without requiring us to deal with details such as iptable's firewall rules, and so on. For the most part, it is really a great experience to use Mandrake!

Mandrake is a Red Hat-based distro, so my previous experience with Red Hat helps a lot when dealing with this distro. Everything is really similar to Red Hat. For example, the `/sbin/service' service starter/stopper is there; and /etc/sysconfig/* stuff are almost identical to Red Hat.

Compared to Red Hat line, one of the excellence of Mandrake is that it has a lot more of multimedia support. It plays .MP3 and even .WMA files! (The .wma files are playable via mplayer. This software, BTW, also plays some .WMV--although not without problem.) It can play DivX files (xine handles this; I think mplayer may also do--but I'm not 100% sure). Mandrake also natively supports read-only access to NTFS partitions, which is also disabled on Red Hat/Fedora distros. Certainly if you are a casual user who demands multimedia experience under Linux, this is a nice choice for you!

All those brilliant things being said, I have to mention a few quirks that I observed during the use of this distribution.

First of all, since Mandrakesoft tried hard to gear the distribution toward non-traditional Linux users, many automations and nifty features can sometimes be a nuisance. For example, /etc/fstab and /mnt contents can change dynamically when I insert a memory card reader. While this is good, I'm not used to this. The `supermount' meta-filesystem that comes with the automounter is also not that good. It caused extremely slow file transfer. I had to work it around by disabling the supermount options, and setting up traditional Linux mountpoints in /etc/fstab (remember to remove the `kudzu' keyword from the mount option or else your entry will be deleted mysteriously one time or the other.

The permissions of certain system files are automatically enforced using `msec' facility of Mandrake. If you use a non-traditional file locations, you may be surprised, since file permissions may change "without reason". But you can work around this by configuring msec in Mandrake configuration tool.

Mandrake is quite daring to put new software on a public distribution. It was even bolder than Red Hat (when it was still Red Hat Linux). Now, I think, it's comparable to Fedora Core in terms of the use of novelties. The versions of the compilers, libraries, etc, are generally very close, or identical to the "most up to date" versions you can find out there. This may be good if you're adventurous, or demanding the new features. But it can sometimes bite you for its undiscovered bugs.

I have some complaints against the hardware (notably USB-related things) that sometimes locks up. (I wasn't sure what happened there.) This rarely happens, however, and I wasn't interested in finding out exactly what happened. But when this happened, the program that access that hardware could be locked out and there was no way to kill it except by restarting the computer. :-( Other problem is that sometimes Mozilla (version 1.6) can lock up. Not quite sure what causes this either.

Last, Mandrakes only gives 3 out of the 4 CDs in the free distribution. I don't know why they do this. The files in this CD do not seem to be the commercial/proprietary nature either (i.e., they are also open source stuff, like those in CDs 1-3). Are they following some distro builders' habit by NOT giving the complete buildable system? Not a good move, IMO. The 4th CD contains (mostly) "-devel" and legacy libraries needed for building programs. So, if you are developing stuff like me, you may end up having some trouble finding the libraries. You may be able to get the missing stuff from the source RPMS, or even the original source code (.tar.gz or .tar.bz2), but again it's just a lot of hassle. You can search for the 4th CD on the web. Some people are kind enough to put them out on the web, although I'm not sure what Mandrake's position about that. :-)

In summary, both newbie and veterans should find this distro quite agreeable and enjoyable. Lots of improvement are due, though.

Wirawan
 
Old 09-24-2004, 04:54 PM   #6
h4x0r
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Mandrake / FreeBSD
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: urpmi is awsome, excellent hardware compatibility, easy to use, stable even on old equipment, works great with NTFS, easy to remove software you install, quick response times on vulnerabilities
Cons: AMD64 products are lacking (or maybe just expensive, I haven't purchased ANY linux software)


I run Mandrake 10 official on my workstation at work, on my email/web/FTP/Samba/MySQL and they both run great. Rebooted the the server 3 times in 3 months, and it is running a 450MHz Celeron w/ 192MB RAM and two 8.4GB hard drives. Default installs for most things work seemlessly straight off urpmi. I set up a cron job with a script I made from urpmi called webupdate which is

/usr/sbin/urpmi.update --wget -a
/usr/sbin/urpmi --wget --auto --auto-select

and it updates the server every night and emails me the output. Never a problem. I've tried Fedora Core 2, and it looks pretty, but it doesn't even see NTFS partitions, didn't work with my RAID controller, and ran slow. I started to install Gentoo, but I didn't want to wait 1 1/2 for it to finish compiling from source. I've tried slackware 10, and really they just seem to make it harder to use and update. FreeBSD and its ports just seem like too much work for the same result, a stable system. Only mandrake worked fast and well right out of the box. Production quality server running with 50 active user in about 5 hours! (and I'm not THAT great with *nix)
I've been a fan of Mandrake since 8, and they surprise me every release. I dual-boot my workstation with XP just incase I ever need windows XP, but I honestly have never booted it since the install. I can't wait till the 10.0 Official AMD64 is available for FREE.

Pros:
* urpmi is awsome (especially urpme)
* excellent hardware compatibility
* easy to install and use
* stable, even on old equipment
* works great with reading off NTFS partitions by default
* huge amount of RPMs, especially with plf and contrib sources
* easily installs, even without windows manager
* Quick response time for updates
* You can fix the bootloader from the installation CD

Cons:
* A bit behind in AMD64 support
* default GUI is KDE, which is a bit bloaded
 
Old 10-11-2004, 10:36 AM   #7
pbibb1657
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Mandrake 10.0 official
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Installation was a breeze,KDE Is great
Cons: none that i can see,but Im a newb


Well
Heres my story :I have been a windows user since 1990 and my computer skills are at best low level newbie. I own a sony pcg-k13 and the hard drive died for some reason unknown to me.(Im still wondering what those very complicated blue error screens)After considering my options and how utterly unhappy I was with how windows xp handled the main task I had bought this computer for n(recording live music) and the amount of money I was spending on software to combat viruses and a multitude of other bad things that can happen to a windows machine. I decided to give LInux a try.
I bought a replacemnet hd and installed a copy of Mandrake 10.0 offical that I downloaded via a bit torrent,I cant really say to much about the intallation it took about 20 minutes and went perfectly when I was done I had a computer that worked as it should( Im not sure if Ive ever had a computer that worked as it should).
So with all this being said I would recomend Mandrake.
Now I begin the journey of leaarning as much as possible to make this machine even better. Im a happy guy with every thing Ive seen or learned about Linux.
Soon I will get windows off my desk top and I plan to make the trip to Redmond and throw all my windows related discs,floppies and books over the gate as I now believe that these things are not worth the space they would take up in a landfill.


Phillip
 
Old 10-17-2004, 02:54 AM   #8
60s TV Batman
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04
Posts: 60

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: Worked out of the box (except for Internet)
Cons: Speedtouch USB + Mandrake = no Internet


I'd read that Linux installers like to munch Windows partitions, so I used Partition Expert (under Win XP) to partition my hard disk first. It created a Linux partition, preserved all my Windows data, and Mandrake then picked up and used the partition.

I'm running an Athlon 2800XP with 1GB RAM, 120 GB parallel ATA drive, Radeon 9200SE, Pioneer DVR-108 (dual DVD writer), and a 19" ADI P150. All these things worked on install.

Mandrake also picked up my Windows partitian, and I am able to copy files across from that to Mandrake (useful given problem below).

I've noticed no speed difference between Windows and Linux. The boot-up time is acceptable, especially after I disabled my on-board ethernet (which is unused).

Unfortunately, my Internet access is via a Speedtouch USB 330 ADSL modem (silver). If you have one of these and you're new to Linux, forget Mandrake 10.0 official. It will never work for you.

Yes, there are plenty of places to get support out there. And loads of "helpful" instructions on getting this modem up and running.

No, none of that support was any use at all. I've downloaded firmware, drivers, scripts, and instructions. I've implemented them on clean installs. I've wasted a lot of time.

The famed Linux support is no use to you in this patricular situation, because the required steps to get the modem up and running (assuming it's even possible) are too technical for someone new to the operating system.

What is needed, and what I can't find, is for some charitable soul to take on the project, explain each step in detail (including the Linux concepts such an expert takes for granted), and to diagnose any problems along the way.

It has to be this way, because the various downloads required to get all the software you need, mean you'll be switching back and forth between Windows and Linux. And its not going to work first time around. You'll be checking log files and .conf files, and whizzing around your system wondering why the heck you left Windows in the first place.

What you'll need is a Guru on call, and this level of commitment isn't forthcoming. I'm not attempting to criticize the Linux community here. I'm not surprized, because it's a big ask for some poor person to provide this level of support to a stranger.

If you need Internet access, and you have this modem, forget Mandrake.
 
Old 12-06-2004, 05:04 AM   #9
webgovernor
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu 8.04 LTS, Gentoo (various)
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: outta-box hardware support, user-friendly, stable.
Cons: doesn't allow login as root.


I love this distro, although I am a newb, and I've only tried,
RH9, Linspire4, SuSE 8.2...

Its the best version I've used so far, I was most impressed with the hard-ware support...

I wish firefox was in the install, and I'd like to login with root once in awhile (instead of su root kwrite ./)...

I'm still looking to try Mandrake 10.1 and FC3, but without the nvidia with FC3, i'd be lost!

Mandrake 10 kicks ass!
 
Old 12-21-2004, 02:56 PM   #10
yellowjelly
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros: Great desktop
Cons: Hardware compatability


The install was intuitive and very easy.

I could not get 3 network cards working though witht the official downloaded distribution.

When it did work, I had no complaints.
 
Old 01-06-2005, 09:52 AM   #11
EdR
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: RHEL AS3, AS4 / Vector
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Safe for newbies,easy to install and configure
Cons: features that make it safe for newbies also make it hassle for experienced users


Good distro for beginners. 10.0 Official installed very clean. Nice red screen when you log in as root. In graphical mode it warns you that you can do bad things in graphical mode. In Failsafe, the screen is still red but I guess they figure no one would do a rm -rf * from a command line. (No, I did not do this:) ) The features that make it safe for newbies are more of a hassle for me. In the secure mode as a user I couldn't ls the directories without switching to root or changing my user group access. I have only had it installed for a day but If I was a newbie to *nix I would feel very comfortable with this distro.
 
Old 04-05-2005, 03:22 AM   #12
manhinli
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Distribution: What's the point of this? I keep on trying new distros...
Posts: 80

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Great installation, installation supports NTFS, great user interface.
Cons: Sometimes unstable, buggy.


This distro is one of the most user-friendly i've tried.

Although it's very easy, it is sometimes unstable. That's the only offset i've found.
 
Old 10-03-2005, 12:25 AM   #13
Trio3b
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: MDV 2008.1, PCLinuxOS,
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $10.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Installation, good package selection, good support, great hdwr detection
Cons: mediocre documentation, , Kfind, GUI network squirrelly


New to linux from years of Windows. Briefly setup FC2, but did not feel right. Slack feels very good but that will have to wait. Have not used earlier MDK versions.
Therefore, my experience with MDK 10 is relative to these products.

First the pro's

Installation was way easier than I expected and most of it is automated. User is asked very simple questions, which is good in a new situation. For new users, be aware that most distibutions do NOT load ALL of the software that they are packaged with.
For the new user, too many choices is not good. MDK loads a good selection of software and all the necessary service modules you might need.

OpenOffice
Web Browser and related web Services
Games
Networking services
CUPS and USB modules and services
KDE, Gnome, and other desktops ( too many in my opinion)
PDF readers
zip and unzip utilities
Multimedia software
Development packages

For me personally, I would load Koffice, K3B, and Mozilla, which is what I did AFTER the default installation.

Once loaded, most configuration can be done via GUI, and because Mandrake is a mainstream distibution, support is readily available either thru Mandrivaclub payed membership or free on many help forums such as LQ.

The menu layout is fairly recognizeable to anyone who is computer literate.

I loaded MDK 10.0 onto 5 different PC's all with differing hdwr, and MDK 10.0 located, and had drivers FOR EVERYTHING except for a Canon C555 multifunction printer and the PCI winmodem on one machine, but I knew this going in, having checked the HCL. The following is a list of varied hdwr that this distro supported right 'out of the box'.
Cmedia onboard (ob) sound
Intel (ob) video
SiS 325 (ob) video
Matrox G400 (ob) video
Samsung 2151 laser printer
Epson C82, CS 640, 880, printers
Microtek USB scanner
Jetway and Lexar USB pendrives
Canon C3000 multipass printer


Wxp, W2000, and Wme DID NOT have the drivers for HALF of this stuff


con's

Documentation has always been weak in the computer industry and Mandriva doesn't do much to change that problem. I found some of the Khelp documents not installed or missing completely even tho I checked the 'install docs' checkbox during install.


Networking thru the GUI seems squirrely and this is confirmed by other users' posts in help forums. Several of the networking utilities in the Mandrake Control Center seem to be laid out in such a way as to be either redundant or conflicting. For new users they are certainly not intuitive. I did have some problems with networking in that configuring things in the GUI sometimes would not accomplish a task, so you would have to intervene thru the command line. This can really screw up the network configuration and would be difficult for a newbie to figure out.

One other pet peeve of mine is the Kfind feature. There are myriad ways to find files and docs thru the CL, but I am more of a GUI person. I have never been able to get Kfind to work properly.

There are a few glitches here and there, but overall this is the perfect distro to be like a 'life-bouy' to keep you safe in a GUI environment while you check out configurability in the CL.

Kudos
 
Page:  1 · 2 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration