LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Fedora Project
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Fedora Core 2
Reviews Views Date of last review
41 123439 06-20-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
95% of reviewers $9.36 8.0



Description: This is the second release of Fedora Core by the Fedora Project/RedHat.
Keywords: fedora core two linux project second release redhat


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 05-21-2004, 08:33 AM   #1
awesomejt
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 1, various others
Posts: 26

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Free. Download options abound. Stable, Latest Kernel (2.6.x), Updated many packages, additional refinements
Cons: Up2date still broken, Missing/outdated packages due to License restrictions/conflicts, minor bugs, lacking plenty of docs for newbies, some config utils need more features



I've been a fan of Fedora Core since version 1. With FC2, stuff just keeps getting better, although there is still plenty of work to be done. If they had a "Heck Yes" option under recommend product, that is what I would have selected. I've have the joy of installing FC2 on three systems since FC2 went gold, and here are my experiences. BTW, the install process was a pure joy. I would say even easier than a normal Windows install.

Well, there are TONS of cool stuff in FC2 like FC1. So, I'll let folks know about that I noticed that was sorta on the negative side. Note, that even though most of this review is about stuff missing, broken, or just out of place -- I mostly LOVED this distribution and version (see rating).

Up2date is still broken -- sorta -- but I don't use up2date anymore since I discovered that yum and apt-get are much better (I prefer apt-get).

I did have problems with an old bug that never got fixed in previous RedHat Linux system -- the 3c59x driver conflict with Kudzu still is there - just disable Kudzu from your run-levels and reboot -- the card works fine after that.

Documentation is sparse at best. I guess folks are still going on the old RedHat 9 docs for now. Your typical man/info pages are there, but you'd expect that much. Just not much in the way of hand-holding docs like RHL series had. They could at least have a "livedocs" type website that is community driven. This is usually not a big deal to the seasoned Linux guru that knows about newsgroups, mailing lists, and forum websites -- but for the newbie, some education is required.

I really like the 2.6.x kernel, I've been waiting since it was released to have it built in to Fedora.

As far as network admin/server admin -- Fedora has all the basic stuff. Although MySQL is still 3.23.x because of license issues. But PostgreSQL 7.4.x is there. There are several packages that are left at an earlier version or removed completely because of licensing issues. In fact, it looks like many of the typical MySQL utils are availabe (unless they are hidden somehow) anymore. Remember Pico? Same license type issue.

As far as security goes, default install is fairly secure. The system-config-security-level lets you easily configure iptables with broad categories: www, mail, ssh, etc. and does allow for extra ports, but that's it. No configuring of limits, where to redirect logs, or other advanced stuff. For the ultra security freak, SELinux is THERE but is it disabled by default because it is sorta a pain to work with. If you know that the heck you are doing, just enable it and have fun. Also, Bind is setup by default in a chroot (jail) environment. You might have to regen your RSA key for rndc if you change your host name. I do like the way they setup loading the IPTABLEs config as if it were a service (technically it is builtin to the kernel) -- when you "stop" iptables, they just load the "let-everything-through" config and when you "start" it, they load the normal config (edited through system-config-security-level script).

Personally, I completely understand and support the CYA policy of Fedora and RedHat about keeping out unfriendly licenses. At least, make it easy for folks to "screw the lic. issues, I want my MP3s". But I'm sure even doing something like that would raise legal problems. However, from a newbie point of view, they won't care WHY stuff was left out or WHY packages are woefully outdated -- they just want it all out of box and to work without extra steps involved. This is especially true for the newly converted Windows users. I'm not sure how we can address the license issue -- provide an extra "bonus" CD? A paid, licensed version of Fedora with properly licensed packages (that will wouldn't work for MySQL)? I'm not sure, but I do know that many users simply don't care WHY they did something if another distribution includes it.

In all, FC2 looks deceptively newbie friendly. But with stuff missing that most folks would assume would be there would make this distribution not the best introduction to Linux (or would it). Lack of browser plugins, no mp3 support out of box, confusing menu items, and lack of newbie friendly docs will not be good show for those trying to migrate away from their Windows systems. Again, just a fact of life at this point.

I think it would do them good to completely ditch up2date. It takes less effort to install, configure, and run apt-get than it does to get up2date working properly. The default update tool should be apt-get or at least yum.

Well, the majority of this review is negative, but I would still give FC2 a 7 to 9 out of 10 (depending on point-of-view):
Newbie rating: 7/10
Server admin: 9/10
General hobbyest: 9/10
Security Freak: 8/10 (SELinux sort hard to work with, disabled by default).
Network/Sys Admin: 8/10
 
Old 05-23-2004, 02:22 PM   #2
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros:
Cons:


Compared to Windows, the O/S installation, hardware detection, and network configuration were very easy to perform. I've been a Windows user since 3.1, and recently converted to Fedora Core 2, and I am really impressed with its ease of use and stylish interface.

Installation couldn't have been any easier: pop in the CD, follow the on-screen prompts, and Linux is installed. My only gripe with installing Linux, is that it required more space than my Windows installation, but then again Linux is more secure and more stable than Windows, so I'm willing to sacrifice HDD space for security and reliability.

Fedora's hardware detection is excellent. I installed it on my old Gateway G6-400, and everything was detected, right down to my USB CD-RW drive. Unlike Windows, I wasn't required to load various disks for hardware drivers as everything is supported with this distribution. My only gripe in terms of hardware compatibility under Linux is that I cannot burn discs using my USB burner. Then again, I am new to Linux and there's probably something out there for me to compile in order to burn to a USB device.

In my opinion, Fedora's interface under GNOME is easier to navigate and more simplified than Windows. My mother is able to get online and do her thing without a problem, under Windows she didn't know where to go and what to do, provided of course that Windows didn't crash. What really impressed me about the interface is how it resembles Windows XP in certain aspects. It brings a touch of style to this beat-up Gateway, without the sluggish performance and security risks of XP.

Now on to what I don't like about Linux:

For the first few days I ran Fedora Core 2, I didn't know to install/compile downloaded programs. After doing some research online, I now have a basic knowledge on how to install applications. WIth Windows, I enjoyed being able to download the executable or compressed file, doing the double-click and everything was installed. But after reflecting on Linux software installation, I now feel that the Linux method of installing applications-download source code and then compile under the root account-prevents other members of this household from downloading and running spyware, trojans and other malicious applications. If they want something installed, they have to ask me as I have the administrator privileges on this box. No one messes with my box!

Another problem I have with Linux is shutting down my system. When I choose the shutdown command from the log off menu, Linux is closed, but the PC simply reboots as opposed to powering off. It's not a huge problem, but it's just an annoyance that I could do without. As of this post, I am still researching how I can fix this situation.

And my final beef with Linux is the load time, from turning the computer on until the login screen loads. Compared to Windows it does run a little slower, but then again my machine is only a PII 400 MHz with 128 MB SDRAM, and I believe this distribution calls for at least 192 MB of RAM in order to use the graphical interface to its fullest.

If anyone were to approach about an alternative O/S to Windows, I would tell them to go online, download and install Fedora Core. Out of the Linux distrubitions I've tested, Fedora is simply the easiest to setup and use. I tried Mandrake for a few hours, but it ran so slowly on my machine that it wasn't worth keeping on my HDD. Althought it did properly shut down my machine, which is a huge plus.
 
Old 06-05-2004, 12:27 PM   #3
tmakobu
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


About the shutdown problem, try typing these commands as root:
#poweroff
#shutdown -h now
#init 0

I prefer init 0, that works all the time

Cheers,
Timothy
 
Old 06-06-2004, 04:05 AM   #4
cprogrck
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 91

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Stable, new kernel, newer drivers
Cons: can't use nvida drivers with default kernel, other minor bugs, easy installation


Everything installs easily. In my experience, my hardware was detected and proper drivers were loaded for it. Although my video card was detected the only driver I can use is the nv driver (the driver does not support 3d acceleration). The official Nvidia drivers (which do) do not work. apparently there is a problem with the way the Fedora core 2's kernel is compiled. However this can be fixed by installing a new Kernel. There are also little bugs that get annoying. up2date crashes a lot, there may be problems installing wine, and some user have problems dual booting it with windows xp.
 
Old 06-06-2004, 09:11 PM   #5
Hell Cheese
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 2
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Slick Installation UI, Easy to use and set up, Fixes what I couldn't with Redhat 9
Cons: Doesn't recognize my video card (ATI Radeon 9600 SE), XMMS licence problems (same with RH9), no auto-install RPM thingy program


The installation UI is top notch. Unlike Slackware (which I installed today to attempt to get my video card working), FC2 has a 1337 installation program, picks up my network easily, and is pretty easy on the eyes.

KDE 3.2.2 is nice (my copy of RH9 wouldn't allow me to update it), and it's always helpful when I need it.

Up2date was a bitch in RH9. It's been fixed in FC2 apparently, and it works pretty well.

XMMS still has the screen telling you that you can't play mp3 files, but that can be resolved through reinstalling.

My major gripe with FC2 is the RPM system. In RH9, I could double click on an RPM, enter my root password, and if I had the dependencies, install it with no problem. While going into bash and installing is not such a problem, I just like it the other way.

Overall, great product.
 
Old 06-09-2004, 12:44 PM   #6
fryak
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy to install and configure, Tons of great open source packages!
Cons: Still difficult to install new software at times


For a fresh installation, FC2 has pretty much everything you'd expect from a modern OS. Including all the most popular applications FC2 has something for everything, including: Gaim (chatting), Gimp (image editing), OpenOffice (Word/excel stuff), Quanta (HTML/Web editing), etc. This installation was smooth and all my hardware drivers were automatically configured correctly.

A couple of packages that weren't up to par are (1) XMMS and a functional (2) web browser.

I was pretty experienced with making XMMS work with Redhat 9, but if you haven't done it before it may be a little bit tricky to actually get XMMS to play MP3s. For this I recommend:
http://fedorafaq.org/

As far as a web browser, the included Mozilla 1.6 and Konquerer just don't cut it so I went to Firefox.

An issue I've had with FC2, has been copying large file from CD-ROMs to the hard drive. This is not a hardware issue, nor is it related to speed at which the discs were written at (my CD-RW only writes at a maximum of 4x). For more detail see my post:
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/showthread.php?s=&threadid=186792

Overall, for a free OS, I couldn't ask for much more from FC2.

System Specs:
2.0 GHz Intel Celeron
Supermicro P4SPE motherboard
ATI Radeon 7500 graphics card
2x 256MB DDR400
1x 120GB HDD
Iomega CD-RW and/or Standard Sony DVD-ROM
Onboard sound
Onboard ethernet
 
Old 06-11-2004, 10:00 PM   #7
kaloyer
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Arch Linux 0.7
Posts: 52

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Free, bluecurve is nice, lots of apps
Cons: No video player(by default), download is almost always a requirement, no mp3


I've used a lot of linux distributions including Slackware, Redhat, SuSE, Ark, Lindows, and Fedora, but Fedora tops the list as most comprehensve with the best base price (NOTHING, WOOHOO). I started out with Redhat about three years ago and was impressed with Bluecurve, it wasn't Windows, but it was clean, effective, and well laid out. I then tried SuSE because of all the wonderful reviews, UGH, it's terrible, it's so cluttered and GASP, I never liked YaST. Everything else had nothing equivalent of Bluecurve, so when I heard about Fedora, I just climbed aboard. I had heard it wasn't meant for the average user, but after Slackware, I was ready for anything. Fedora blew my mind, making it's mark in my mind even greater than in Redhat. I loved it's departure from the KDE and it's focus on it's own brand of Gnome, just like Redhat, and I loved the package manager that was so clean and well laid-out. It was just as beautiful as SuSE but it was as tweakable as Slackware.

But even the best is not perfect, I had to get Xine, because of the copyright issues, as well as the xmms mp3 plugin. But freshrpms.net had most of these in store when I needed them, so it was almost as painless as a commercial distribution(xine took a little coerction. And contrary to the Lindows and Ark style of, "you get what we give you", I was allowed to install things such as the kernel source right from the disk(a real timesaver). Plus Fedora is packed with the latest software with all the variety you could ask for.

If only Fedora had a commercial version with xine and mp3 support built in, but it was fine. Plus, unlike the new SuSE, there was no forty dollar price tag. This distribution made me rethink my opinion that linux was a little bit too stuck on either side of the arena, user friendliness, and customizeability(that's a really long word). Overall, I found it a refreshing retake on a great original, namely linux.
 
Old 06-12-2004, 10:14 PM   #8
cuco76
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Fedora, RHEL 5
Posts: 220

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Latest Gnome and KDE packages, 2.6 kernel, Package Management, Ease of Use, Packed with features, very intuitive.
Cons: Needs more (or actual working) GUI based config programs


FC2 is a spectacular release. I think the project has come around very well. FC2 contains a lot of new stuff and still keeps that Red Hat flavor that people have come to love. I personally only had a few problems but they were not FC related they were more 2.6 Kernel related. All the issues that I experienced are being experienced on all distro's with 2.6 kernel.

With that said I have not had a problem with FC2. There are a lot of nice and smart folks out there who are using it so it is nice to be able to have a plethora of expertise just a web site away, if need be.

I would recommend FC2 to the advanced and to the noobs! Windows watch out! Linux just got easier!

 
Old 06-14-2004, 05:34 AM   #9
SuperCoolAl
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Posts: 89

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast, free, stable
Cons: Default kernel doesn't support nvidia drivers


This product is perfect except for the lack of nvidia driver support at present, but nvidia is working to fix this problem. In fact because this distribution forced me into a kernel compile to get 3d acceleration working i have to thank FC2 for teaching me more about linux. Gnome loads in 2 seconds flat on my new kernel. Clean install worked fine first time dual booting with Windoze XP. Everything was auto-detected, which is what I have come to expect from Red Hat. It also has the slimline look and feel.

This distribution is fast, stable and free as linux should be. It would truly be 10/10 without the nvidia problem. I recommend this to anyone, from n00bs to more experienced users.

NOTE- I only needed discs 1-2 to install default workstation install + qt development packages to make xconfig the kernel.
 
Old 06-16-2004, 01:17 AM   #10
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Ease of setup, solid, great included applications
Cons: No built-in mp3 capability, NVIDIA drivers don't work (I don't care whose fault it is)


Setup utility was a breeze, and the big applications that came with it work great: OpenOffice.org, Evolution, and Mozilla. I love the new GNOME, and the "yum" update software works perfectly. Yum allowed me to go right out and download an mp3 plug-in for XMMS, something that should have been included anyway. The nVidia drivers don't work either, which pisses me off. No Unreal Tournament 2004, until nVidia releases new drivers for Fedora's 4k stack (or whatever). Being a relative newbie, I'm not inclined to recompile my own kernel.
Other than the nVidia crap, Fedora Core 2 works like a charm. I did replace Mozilla with Firefox, but not because of a problem with Mozilla.
 
Old 06-22-2004, 11:44 AM   #11
tmillard
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 74

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: OpenOffice 1.1.1
Cons: No ISA sound card support, lack of documation, lack of linuxconfig (or somthing like it)


I'm a little anoyed that my ISA Creative VIBRAC16 (Plug 'N Pray) sound card does not work.

Also, nether sendmail or postfix is working.
 
Old 06-26-2004, 07:41 AM   #12
koolmansam375
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Slackware 10.1
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros: Good for n00bs. Auto Hardware detect. Free. Only needs a little tweaking
Cons: no option to set KDE as default. Nautilus. GRUB auto loads an older kernel. a bunch of ISOs


I have had a little experience with Linux before, mainly RH9. It didnt really offer me anything that Windoze couldnt offer so I switched back. After a while I decided to give Linux a try again. I waited for FC2 to come out because there was only a week to go.

FC2 needs a lot of ISOs compared to Slackware or some of the other distros. You could probably get away with only cds 1-3 but when I later wanted to install KDE and some other thing because it didnt install them by default (for a workstation) it had me doing musical chairs with the cds!

One thing that really bugs me is that there is no way to set KDE as the default gui instead of GNOME. For all you who like GNOME this may not be a problem but for those who prefer KDE it is. For one in the "Open file..." box there is no way to manually enter a path! You have to click on all of those little icons. Two, GNOME only has 2 backgrounds, the default one and no background. This may seem trivial but some people like their comp to have an eye candy factor.

Another thing is I used up2date (its always worked for me) to update things and among them was the kernel. The default kernel is 2.6.4-1. It updated it to 2.6.6-1 but kept 2.6.4 on the system. GRUB, however, always wants to load up 2.6.4! You have to hit the up arrow and select the 2.6.6 kernel!

Also be aware that as of now there is no official FC2 version of Wine. There is a edited version made to work with FC2 available from fresh RPMs and some other sites. There are also commercial versions such as WineX if you have the $$$.

Another problem Im having is that my soundcard doesnt work. Its probably something with the Linux kernel and not FC2.

Now that Ive got all the bad stuff out of the way I go on with the good stuff.

Its good for n00bs. It doesnt scare you with the Terminal right away. It has many gui tools that can do almost all of the things you can do with the Terminal. You need to use the Terminal if you want to install an RPM youve d/l'd.

Another thing I really like about RH9 and also with FC2 is auto-detect. It detects your hardware during install. No further setup required! (except if you have an nVidia grfx card)

In summary, its a good OS for people who have little or no Linux experience but want to gain the skills needed for Slackware, Gentoo, or LFS. Its developed by the community and the Red Hat staff so its trustworthy. Best of all its FREE unlike SuSE, Mandrake, or Linspire!
 
Old 07-10-2004, 08:55 PM   #13
Flak Pyro
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Fedora Core 5
Posts: 126

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: APt-RPM, Lots of packages, stable, fairly up to date
Cons: Sound card detection, bit of a learning curve for new linux users


This newest release from the Fedora project has its ups and downs, to start with the people at Red Hat have written some handy little GUI utilities for some of the most common admin tasks, this is very handy and accessible for new users. RPM is called evil by some and good by others, well with fedora i don't usually download RPM packages on their own, i use APT-GET which makes installing software a breeze, multimedia is a little weak to start with but by using APT and YUM this can be fixed rather quickly. With a fresh install Fedora lacks Flash, Java, Mp3 and alot of movie file type support, but by setting up apt from fedora.us and using freshrpms as a repositority, you can quickly grab, Xine, MP3 support, and Flash support.


My Biggest problem with this distro was that my sound card would not work, i tried to get it to work for days, but i ended up swapping a more common type of sound card into the box, upon rebooting was greeted with sound when i logged in. Kppp did not work for me at first, i had to edit my resolv.conf and set my DNS info, that wasn't hard to fix. Some people complain about the new version of Gnome, but if you dont like the new way it opens folders this can quickly be fixed in Gconf, either that or just use KDE. I have used Red hat 8, MDK 9.1, 9.2,PC LinuxOS and Vector Linux, and this is the best distro that i have run into thus far, granted i am new user but this is the first distro i have actually gotten real work done on. As for the Hard drive issues, using google you can find out how to pass the kernel your hard drive geometry during install, this prevented FC2 from frying my windows partition.
 
Old 07-22-2004, 02:08 PM   #14
dhalnes
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: It runes more stabel and are more secure than Windows
Cons: Some problems with my GLX ( games like UT 2004 for linux )


I just installed Fedora Core 2 on my system for about two mounts ago and was suprised over the user friendlynes in the install program. It was like installing windows. In fact it was almoust easyer to install the fedora core. And i was suprised that the plug and play utillity worked. It found all my hardware stuff and did not act like the windows plug and pray utility :) wich has devolupt to plug and play over the years ;)

As newbie The Fedora Project gave me a good innpresion whith its user frienlynes. I have some propblem with installing some apz and running games (that should have linux support)

The game problem i have is to run Unreal Turnament 2004. Cant find GLX. I`m running a Nvidia GF 4 TI4200 and i have tried to download a driver for linux and installed it. But still get the same message when i trie to start it.
Maybe someone can help me?
 
Old 08-01-2004, 04:10 PM   #15
Tamsco
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Gentoo (not ricer Gentoo)
Posts: 165

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Nice GUI, easy to use
Cons: modified packages, bad package manager


If you have no desire to really learn linux, no desire to experiment with your computer, then try fedora. It is pretty stable, has a lot of good gui and with a properly setup system, I would feel comfortable giving it to my parents 9all they do is surf the web, check e-mail and use Office).

The 2.6x kernel is much faster is FC2 than it was in FC1.

The annoyance's are in the fact that it is based on RPM so there isn't really a package manager (think add or remove programs) that encompassessoftware compiled from source.

FC modifies packages so if I have issues, the software sites instructions don't always work. In a sense I always have to seek out Fedora specific help files.

Bottom line: It is stable as long as it does what it wants and it gets RPMs specifically designed for it. It hides alot of what is under the hood and I would recommend it only to people who don;'t care how everything works and for newbies who are just trying to get acquantinted with what Linux has to offer. (Though Knoppix might be a better choice for that)
 
Old 08-02-2004, 08:15 AM   #16
gu3st
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy To install, Reconises 99% of hardware at install, Boot loader Sets up easily at Install
Cons: Doesn't respond to some tar and RPM commands, Good for newbie users of linux and Computers



Intro/Dualbooting: Ok First I would like to say I have Windoze and Fedora Linux dual booted so i dont really need Linux for gaming. Well I installed Windoze first then linux and then did a quick search on what to do to get GRUB to load Windoze and in 5-10 minutes I had that working. That I give 4/5 because it would be easier if in the install it made the mod for us.

Hardware Reconition:
This is where Fedora Linux shines, Heck I let my SISTER install it. 1 problem tho, I had to reinstall fedora 3 times after re-doing Windoze because it wouldn't reconise my mouse. Currently its working fine except for like 3 or 4 things not being reconised correctly. DHCP through a network hub which i found a workaround,
It wont reconise my webcam or soundcard but i didn't expect it to.

Thats my review, maybe ill repartition again and try out some more linuxes.
 
Old 08-03-2004, 02:28 AM   #17
cppkid
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 185

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Interactive Interface and perfect developement envoirnment
Cons: Still having problems in mounting NTFS in Read / Write mode and some other features.


Fedora Core 2 is a good product that gives the interactive interface and a perfect envoirnment for the developers.
This product is much more stable then the previous products from the red hat, and provides a simple interface to user for menage the resources.
I think this the product we can say that can make the linux the most favourite desktop operating system, as it is very user friendly.
But still there are some cons. A normal user need attractive and easy interface, rather then writing the command on shell, so it will add a lot of value to this product if it just provide the simple interface to some of its utilities. Like if we want to mount a FLASH DISK or something, there must be a simple tool for a new user too just click the icon and select the device to mount, because normal user like the interface of Microsoft Windows as it gives you all on your desktop click. Also still there is a problem in mounting NTFS in read/write mode.
Second main thing to bring this product to the desktops of the users who are currently sticked to MS windows is that on the X desktop system there may not be technical terms, means that still linux interface communicate with the user in some techincal terms, and MS Windows is famous coz it uses simple and attactive and eassy to understand terms for the normal user. like the name of devices hdb,sda,ttyS0, these names must be eassy to understand for the normal user so when listed at desktop these devices must use convenient names.
The Linux family is already very famous in the developers community but still there is need to make it more popullar for the normal users, and a major factor is also that Linux didn't provide the standerd applications, like to view a text file you have more then 10 software in a standerd installation. so there must be a less and eassy to use softwares when we choose Typical installation.
Even there are many cons but still i strongly recommend the users to use this product, as it is the product of future, so before you are forced to use it, you better adopet it yourself.
 
Old 08-09-2004, 12:32 AM   #18
rm6990
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: SUSE 9.1 Pro and Debian Testing on Server
Posts: 469

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Very Easy to Install, Has a tool for everything I would normally do in Windows, Makes Gnome actually look appealing to the eye (Gnome in SuSE/Mandrake sucks)
Cons: No MP3 support after first install, Not as appealing to the eye as Mandrake, SuSE or Linspire


I think Fedora Core 2 is one of the best distributions I have tried, and it ranks up in the top with Mandrake, SuSE and Linspire for a desktop OS.

One thing that did annoy me was that yum didn't update my OpenOffice to v 1.1.2. (Every new version always seems to have some new feature I like in it so I always keep it up to date). So I used yum to remove OpenOffice and manually installed it by downloading it from the website.

Every single piece of hardware in my PC (except for modem but I have a 3 MB/s connection and couldn't care less) was detected, although it annoys me that my Nvidia card doesn't have support for 3D Accelleration out of the box (although this is not Red Hat's fault so it will not affect my rating at all) I read in an earlier review that someone couldnt get the real Nvidia driver to work. I installed it perfectly fine on my pc. Go to fedorafaq.org, they may have some tips for you.

The applications included with Fedora are just as good as with Mandrake and SuSE. There have only been one or two things I have had to install that I needed, all the other things I have just installed to play around with them.

yum is just as easy and functional as apt. I really like the yum search function. there should be a graphical front-end for this however, and it should be installed by default.

The issue of not having mp3 support out of the box kind of makes me mad, but it is easy to fix,. I read earlier someone said to reinstall. Don't bother, it is easily fixed using yum.

I'd recommend this distro to many people, but not to newbies. Honestly, I think newbies should use Linspire as a stepping stone to switch from Windows to Linux. If you decide to do this, go to tryoutlinux.com, they give you acode for a discount.

Also, anyone with questions about fedora, go to www.fedorafaq.org, it is a very good site, and helped me fix all of my problems.
 
Old 08-09-2004, 07:28 AM   #19
cincindie
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: RH, FC 1-6, F 7-17, Debian, LinuxPPC, Knoppix, Ubuntu, Yellow Dog
Posts: 175

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Great installation UI; better than RH's
Cons: No option to choose packages to upgrade; extra packages to install; have to rebuild kernel for sound support


I have tried all linux distributions from RH6.0 onwards. I must say that the installation user interface in Fedora Core 2 is the easiest of the lot. In one way, upgrading from a previous version of RH is a breeze in that all you have to do is put the appropriate disks in; the installer automatically detects the programs to be upgraded, automatically chooses other programs to satisfy dependency problems, it configues the mouse, keyboard, monitor, video card automatically at the start of the installation process, and except for asking for the next disk, the user does not have to do anything. However, it would have been nice if the user had some input into the programs to be upgraded, and also given the option of choosing any other programs that the user might be interested in.

The only beef I had with FC2 is the lack of detection of the sound card and loss of connectivity through a modem. I was able to solve the sound card detection by rebuilding the kernel, but I still haven't had any luck getting my modem to work (it worked beautifully for the last 5 years with the same settings) - reason for a rating of 9.

For regular updates, I like the idea of up2date switching through the various mirrors instead of going to the redhat site as in the past. Also, I get fewer GPG signature failures with the mirrors as opposed to the redhat site.

Stability-wise, this distribution is as stable as any version of RH I've used. All my applications as well as several commercial products continue to work just fine with this distribution.
 
Old 08-13-2004, 03:08 PM   #20
fedorafreak
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 2
Posts: 64

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: free, includes kde,Gnome,and XFCE4,rpm support, great community,newbie friendly
Cons: it does not install mp3,avi or other media suport


I am greatly impressed with fedora core 2 while it hasent changed much it is still a major improvement over core1

first off it is about 25-30% faster than core 1 due to the new kernel

second it deteced all of my hardware and configiured all but my mouse (Logitech Mx700) but doing that only took me 5 minutes

third it has kde 3.2 wich run circles around gnome if you ask me

kde is freaking beautiful

it never crashes

finally they put xfce on the install horay

NOW FOR THE BAD

Gnome is the default desktop for all users i know this may be easy to change but it got on my nerves

rpms are not asoicated with the install frontend this even baffled me for a wile

And last no mp3 or avi suporrrt installed
 
Old 08-18-2004, 11:34 AM   #21
kesara3k
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Gentoo Linux 2.6.9-r13
Posts: 57

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 5

Pros: More Hardware Support, Graphical Booting system
Cons: Low Speed, Still no MP3 Support, Poor Graphic Card Support


My idea is this a beta version of Red Hat Linux.
They are just experimenting new things on Fedora.
Good for a newbie, not for a professional.
 
Old 08-18-2004, 06:11 PM   #22
ieuuk
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Fedora 10 + Cent OS 5.3
Posts: 65

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Very up to date and cutting edge with the latest sofware packages
Cons: being so up to date makes it a bit unstable


Its a very good distrubution of linux. Its easy to set up and there are gui interfaces for most parts of it. Whatever you cant get to you will probably be able to access in webmin

Another impressive part of the whole fedora core project is the versions that they test and then make core in such a short amount of time.

Overall its a very well loaded version of linux with a package to do everything.
 
Old 09-03-2004, 10:01 PM   #23
sjgold
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Fedora 2
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: easy to install
Cons: sparse documentation set


For now a user has to rely on the RH9 manuals.

Open Office and Mozilla work straight out of the box... which is good, but perhaps I was used to them in win 98, I can't guarantee that a new person would find it that easy.

SUPER DUPER FEATURE .... Print Screen key REALLY WORKS FIRST TIME....

What's missing... a simple add new hardware wizard. Sound and ethernet cards and a HP printer *did* install themelves in the release installation but then you have to do all kinds of geeky things for webcams, scanners and attaching to a windows network.

Also doesn't have a double click install for RPMs.

Contrary to rumour, up2date, the online update process, works without a problem, occasionally it can't find a (usually .edu) reference web site but you just try again later.

What is disheartening is the number of installed progams that don't show up in the GNOME desktop pull down menus. New users aren't mind-readers. Since Linux binaries don't have an .exe suffix how can you tell what you've got working on the system?????

Will somebody PLEASE write a fully functional Norton commander style dual pane file management system forGNOME?????

Also (for those of us who are adults and have no kids in the house) I'd like to see a do you really want to do this gui box to change all file permissions to read write execute for all users (???? / chmod a+w *.* ????) Sorry guys, I have a pc here not a global network.

Still, overall a good review but it will have to go a long way before it becomes a Windows competitor for home

I can expect the response to that will be.... it's not meant to be a Windows competitor... but what else could a specifically home user operating system be?
 
Old 09-06-2004, 01:56 PM   #24
sefzik
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: fc10
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: easy to use for those familiar with redhat
Cons: had to manually fix soundcard/mouse


fc2 looks pretty good - everything works well now that i fixed up soundcard and mouse problems (if you have these, let me know tsefzik@chemistry.ohio-state.edu)

lots of help for these problems available


works well with ibm T41 laptop ... no major problems
 
Old 09-15-2004, 08:50 PM   #25
kierl
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Distribution: Gentoo(2.6.23-r3)
Posts: 181

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy install :: ISOs freely/widely available :: apt-get is available :: supports my SBLive5.1 even giving me surround sound ::
Cons: No Video player included on CD :: Many of the Configurators don't work out-of-the-box :: No out of the box MP3 support :: Standardized install options still suck :: Default themes are worthless :: Doesn't have Mozilla Firefox on the CDs :: apt-get not pre


I got Fedora Core 2 a few months ago and so far it's been a more or less good distro.

My reason for choosing FC2 was simple really. I no longer had direct access to a high-speed internet connection( otherwise I would have installed gentoo) and I liked RedHat(9... 8 sucked and I never used any earlier ver) which has merged with Fedora.

First thing about Fedora that I like is the install. In all it's an ecxellent install program with only a few flaws... most notably that it hasn't been updated since at least RH8... However, anaconda is still the most streamlined and quite simply the best Linux install program I've encountered so far.
My complaints would be the disk partitioning... Disk Druid is pretty pointless. Also the Grub config... It doesn't work so well for a WinXP dual boot if WinXP is on a second HD... In fact you have to rework your grub.conf after the fact to get WinXP to boot.

FC2 also has a not-so-great kernel. First off, it's 2.6 which has issues with disk geometry. but there are pretty easy fixes for that. The most notable problem is that it only has 4k stacks. This is NOT kosher. My NVIDIA driver requires 8k and just about all Windows video and audio codecs require at least 12k. Yeah, I know, what business do I have running windows codecs on Linux. Well, when was the last time you visited any streaming media websites. They ALL use Windows Media or Real Media(most use WM). Quite simply most Linux, Mac, etc... users all require use of Windows codecs at some point. So, I had to grab a new kernel. Due to time and that I simply didn't want to deal with or install all the extra software to recompile my kernel I just downloaded a premade RPM with 16k stacks. Works like a charm. NVIDIA drivers work great as well as the WM Codecs.

Now, as for the configurators... Most of them don't work. Most annoyingly the KMenu Editor. That one i figured out and a tutorial will be made available on my website(kierlsrealm.ionichost.com) very soon. But since it's not there now here it is:
-------------------------------
KMenuEdit saves any changes you make into a file in your home directory "~/.config/menus/applications-kmenuedit.menu" the menu itself is elsewhere, however. In the menus directory is a file "applications.menu" that links to your menu definition. It reads:

<!DOCTYPE Menu PUBLIC "-//freedesktop//DTD Menu 1.0//EN"
"http://www.freedesktop.org/standards/menu-spec/1.0/menu.dtd">

<!-- File created by desktop-file-utils version 0.6 -->
<Menu>
<Name>Applications</Name>
<MergeFile>/etc/xdg/menus/applications.menu</MergeFile>
</Menu>

Add "<MergeFile>applications-kmenuedit.menu</MergeFile>" right after the other <MergeFile> statement and save the file. This will cause all of your changes to become effective.
--------------------------

But the Apache Graphical configurator still doesn't work... Haven't bothered trying to fix that though because I've always just edited httpd.conf directly.
Luckily the Samba one works though, cuz I don't know how to config that one manually.

As a side note: LISA seems to not work so well... I never had any problem getting it to work in RH8/9 Peanut, or Gentoo, but I can't get it to work in FC2... The deamon loads up but when I try to access network shares using Konqueror or the XFCE network browser I get a message saying that LISA isn't running... Check it... sure enough trying to access the network killed LISA...

FC2 still uses up2date. Pointless. Ever since apt-get was made available for RPM based distros I've just used it in RH9 and FC2. It's no Portage but it's better than D/Ling RPMs manually or using up2date. It should really be included in the distro along with synaptic(apt-get GUI)... and maybe they could even make a KPanel applet for it or something... Also, compared to Portage, the package tree is tiny... Half the stuff I want to install is not available through apt-get... However it is still capable of fixing dependency issues for packages it doesn't know... For instance I was having issues getting MPlayer to work, and I just ran apt-get -fix-packages or whatever and it fixed my dependency issues even though MPlayer is NOT in the apt-get RPM repositories.

A list of programs that should REALLY be included on the distro CDs:

Firefox - The best web browser out there
Thuderbird - My favorite Email client.
Apt-get - The best package manager available for FC2
Synaptic - Apt-get GUI.
WINE - Windoze support IS important, no matter how much we wish it wasn't.
Xine - FC2 has NO video player. Xine is the best one I've found.(MPlayer lacks the playlist functionallity Xine has)
MP3 Support - Ogg IS included and is a much better format, but It'd take a lot of time that I don't want to spend to convert my MP3/WMA collection to OGG(I've put approximately 200 CDs on my comp. and the conversion proccess would take something like 2 or 3 days!
Bluefish - Quite frankly Quanta sucks. And as a web developer I need something that's actually worth my time... Bluefish is the only web editing program for Linux that I've found that is really worth anything... Before that I just used KWrite...
A better screen saver package... No offense guys, but most of the screensavers in the xscreensaver package SUCK.

As for hardware support. I'd just recently installed Gentoo and yeah, It found most of my hardware. But getting my SBLive5.1 to work was a pain. And even when I did get it to work, I only got 2 channel sound. FC2 found my card and gave me full surround sound. EXCELLENT! Looks like these guys are still on top of the hardware compatiblity issues.

In all FC2 is good... Quite good... But no Gentoo... even if it DOES have better sound support... I'd have to recommend this one to anyone without broadband... If you do have broadband though, and a powerful enough computer to handle lots of compiling, go with Gentooo it's faster, cleaner, more cusomizable and the Portage package manager is the best one around.
 
Old 09-26-2004, 07:17 PM   #26
Electronkz
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 176

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Stable, Free(both ways), rpm, media checking(before installing)
Cons: Too easy to install, no mp3 support out of the box, Kde & Gnome sharing menu configuration(buggy),


Itīs Linux, :) Fedora is stable, fast, the rpms make installing new programs more easy(i dont always want to compile) and it kind of solve the dependancies problem. I definitively like the media checking before install.
It is very easy for the newbies to install it, althought i would like to see it more flexible(more configuration).
I had a problem with Kde & Gnome sharing their menu configuration(my solution, uninstall gnome and install kde myself).
Also i think that apt-get & Synaptic should be added to the Distribution packages.
There is no mp3 support by default due to licence issues, you can download the mp3 plugin for xmms after, the same goes for mplayer and xine
Please keep in mind that is always easier to make more negative comments and you remember them for more time than the positive ones. :)
In Resume Fedora is a very good Distribution.
 
Old 09-30-2004, 03:15 PM   #27
jekyll
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 5

Pros: Free, better than previous versions
Cons: not stable, still needs work


RedHat has certainly made progress sinve previous versions, but it still needs work.

The installation is better, but hardly seamless. For an installation on one of my laptops, I needed to understand the cryptic errors and use "linux acpi=off" for successful installation. This is far less comprehensive or intuitive than Windows. After stumbling through the installation, you still need to dig around for all of the correct RPMs for apps you need installed and resolve all the version dependencies and compatibility problems between apps. That isn't particularly a Fedora problem, but rather a linux issue.

Yes, up2date is problematic and sometimes dies unexpectedly, but so do many other apps. For a free unsupported product, what can you expect? Security and reliability are big concerns. Product updates come out at least as frequently as Windows updates for all MS products, but for a smaller selection of software.

I wouln't have a problem recommending this to someone who wanted to play around with Linux, or who had a legitimate need to run Linux. Still, it is hardly an enterprise quality product, and it wasn't necessarily designed to be.

In regards to some previous posts:
1) Compiling applications isn't any more secure unless you actually look at the code and understand it. RPMs have made things much easier, but there are still so many dependencies between apps that these don't always work or may not be available for the software versions installed on your computer.
2) Linux is more secure than Windows if you don't give users root access, but they are Admins on the Windows box. If you don't make them Admins on a properly configured windows box, Linux is not more secure.
3) If your bootloader automatically boots a previous kernel, you can fix this by editing a boot file in a text editor. It's not as easy as the GUI in Windows, but it isn't difficult, even for a newbie.

Overall, it is a good product for this market. Development for free OSs such as this is definitely the way to keep the open source community alive.
 
Old 10-01-2004, 06:46 AM   #28
jimmyd636
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: I like the whole system
Cons: Having trouble getting it to dual boot wit xp


Everying seems to be working ok. I like almost everything about the software the price the most (free)

The down side is I am haveing trouble getting it to dual boot with xp

I need some help email me if you have any ideas.

jimmyd636@comcast.net
 
Old 10-06-2004, 01:32 AM   #29
amarillo
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: stability
Cons: problems updating kernel


i dont underestimate suse novell.....but kde looks like windows

mandrake does fairly good with both gnome and kde.......but not to rely on it 100%

fedora had problems updating kernels...............but never got rid of the older kernel.......left it there to reboot from it if you had to.

fedora does better than other distros.......diskdruid beats suse installer and its GUI leaves mandrake behind

overall i am satisfied with this distro.

misconfigured stuff here and there but since when the world is perfect ???
 
Old 10-15-2004, 03:17 PM   #30
nekogami
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 3,maybe others soon
Posts: 26

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $21.99 | Rating: 8

Pros: easy install, laptop fan works, hardware detection good
Cons: firefox wont work for me, wireless is nightmare


I am a total newbie to linux.
I decided to make the jump to linux because network security classes require unix knowledge,linux is close and I need all the advance time to learn it I can get.
Bought a copy of Linux for Dummies-included core 2 on DVD(that's why I put I paid for it).
Slipped it in, overwrote XP-works great,except when I break it by using apt to download stuff newbies should stay away from.
My fan on my laptop actualy works correctly, SuSe ran the fan constantly. My zip drives works, SuSe refused to mount it. I found adding mp3, wma, wmv, quicktime, etc. support quite easy to add.
Agree, apt with synaptic should be included!
Can't get my wireless up an working, seems this is a linux wide hassle, not just Fedora. Firefox will not consistently run, either dies after running fine for a few days or refuses to work right after install.
Up2date is slow, some of the default repositoies do not work-at least for me.

Overall, very happy with it. Would reccomend for someone not afraid to tinker with their OS if they want too.
 
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration