LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Books > Operating Systems > Linux
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Linux Complete
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 26536 01-05-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.0
spacer


Description: A how-to/reference book covering a variety of topics in linux, including: installation, learning the basics, basic system administration, network services, security, samba, apache, and sendmail. Also contains an appendix on recompiling the kernel.
Keywords: everything linux basics
Publisher: Sybex
ISBN: 0-7821-4036-X


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 04-25-2004, 04:35 AM   #1
|2ainman
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Slackware current, DSL 0.9.2
Posts: 133

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to read, Quick referencing, powerful tool
Cons: Based mainly on RedHat



Whenever I find myself forgetting something basic that I need to do, I take this book off my shelf and flip through it to quickly get what I need. At $20.00, its the best deal i've ever gotten on a computer book. When I was first starting out, I used the book to learn new things that I had known how to replicate, but didnt understand. The book provides background on what you're actually doing, rather than just telling you what to do. I left linux alone for a period of time, and when i came back, I felt rusty, but this book helped me out. The book was written in 2002 (2nd Edition) so the content is fairly relevant, although at times it feels like its not current enough. Other times though, It just enforces the fact that linux is strong enough to change very rapidly, and still be a model of its old self.
2nd Edition is about 900+ pages including appendix
 
Old 07-17-2004, 03:10 PM   #2
penguin4
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: mdklinux8.1
Posts: 1,209

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: got it
Cons: dated print 2002


very usefull, on basics be lost without it. user friendly covers all user levels. has howto,s and reference. covers: installation, learning the basics,
basic system administration and network address services,securitysamba and apache. mostly redhat
based but adequate even for advanced users. recommend it to new users of linux. thats me too.

comment; have contacted sybex if new edtion is
available and when.
 
Old 01-05-2005, 02:27 AM   #3
Iron_Roses
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Libranet 2.8.1 and Mandrake 10.1, both with kernel 2.6.10
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: evan though half the book is on netwroking, the other is about everyday commads in depth but still readabl;e to the avg noob
Cons: sufferers of headahce will want to burn this books, the orange cover is bright.


I bought this when i was first starting to use linux, before then I'd had read the red hat 9 "learn red hat 9 in 24 hours". This 1000 page sod of a book was far the better, unlike those handbooks, usally SAMS learn in 24 hours, this one went in to depth, but still spoke like you were a compleate noob. I learnt tons out of this book.

I seriously suggest anyone thinking about downloading linux to read this, it is though, based on red hat 7.5.

but all linux distro's use the same commands(within reasons)

half the book was on networking, but the first half explained in great detail how to installred hat 7.5, thwn the best part how to recompile kernels, how to untar and com pile tarballs, how to check if youv'e broken your rpm maneger. I seriously would not be where I am now if I had'nt picked this book out the libary.

The cons:

well, like I said half the book is on apache modules anfd networking and sharing with samba.
quarter is of red hat 7.5 installation


pro, over 400 pages are devoted to recompiling kernel, untarring, compiling and shows you everyday commands, oh and shows you how to configure the x server.


your average "SAMS, teach your self" book is jusyt the tip of the ice berg, and only tells ytou what it thinks you need to know, I feel like they're rushed, but with this book, well, see for yourself.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration