LinuxQuestions.org
LinuxAnswers - the LQ Linux tutorial section.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Red Hat
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Red Hat Enterprise 3.0 ES
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 25426 03-20-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
60% of reviewers $253.48 6.2



Description: Red Hat's enterprise-class operating system
Keywords: redhat red hat enterprise


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 03-17-2004, 04:04 PM   #1
mgatny
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Debian, SuSE
Posts: 41

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $481.95 | Rating: 4

Pros: enterprise tech support
Cons: No JFS support, No ReiserFS option in the installer, poor admin tools, adding software post-install from CD-ROMs 2, 3, and 4 does not work!



* No JFS support?! There are some JFS tools lying around if you dig for them, but JFS is broken. I've heard that JFS will be supported in future releases due to the number of complaints from RH customers.

* No ReiserFS support during installation?! I don't want ext3, it's inferior to reiser. And you don't have to agree with that to agree that it should at least be an option.

* You can use an anaconda kickstart floppy during installation. However, you will have to do the partition step manually if you use LVM (This may be true for other partitioning schemes as well, but I can only speak for LVM). Frustrating.

* I complete an installation for 10 machines. Then I realize I forgot to add a few packages. No problem -- I have the install media, so I'll just pop that in and install the extra stuff. Everything is fine until I am prompted to insert CD2, CD3, or CD4: if that happens the installer crashes with no error message. Every time. On all 10 machines. With the same media I used without incident during the install. Wow. This is *enterprise* software?

* 27 students are training on these machines. Several students *per day* ask, "where did my gnome panel go?" and "why are all the icons on my desktop gone?". Yes, gnome, where *did* they go? No idea.

* My recommendation: Get SuSE Enterprise instead.



 
Old 07-07-2004, 11:17 PM   #2
floydj
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $25.00 | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons:


 
Old 10-13-2004, 10:45 AM   #3
vasundhar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Redhat 9,RHEL
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3

Pros: Just Nothing
Cons: Ethernet adapter not detected and no drivers


I installed the product and thought of registering it over my lan so
tried to configure my LAN and detect the driver where for surprise I got an error message saying the device is not present
for my New IBM Thinkpad R51 2888 CA4
I my self tried to install the driver and then I gave my vendor the work of installing a driver for the machine

we all worked day and night in searching drivers for the machine and got nothing but empty hands

even Redhat support is not having any help for us !

may be I should Have gone for fedora which appearently had the drivers and helpful and safe on your pocket tooo
 
Old 01-20-2005, 01:06 PM   #4
dwattel
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Mandrake, SME-server, IPCop, Suse
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: it's for business use perfect
Cons: poor package management


It is the perfect solution for businesses, once configured it workt perfect. It doesn't have the nice things like Midnight Commander.
 
Old 03-20-2005, 06:15 PM   #5
trickykid
 
Registered: Jan 2001
Posts: 24,133

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Support Stable
Cons: Slow Updates Pricey


"* No ReiserFS support during installation?! I don't want ext3, it's inferior to reiser. And you don't have to agree with that to agree that it should at least be an option. "

Actually ReiserFS is supported, it is a boot: command you have to pass during the first initial install, etc.

Redhat is always a reliable source for a reliable operating system. But with recent license and support costs rising, our work is looking into switching to cut costs.

Paying 80k a year for all Redhat licensing and support when we've called 2 times in 2 years for support is not worth it.

Overall the distribution is great, only negative thing I find is they release slow updates, most of the time we're building our own.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration