LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mandriva
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Mandrake 10.0 Community Download
Reviews Views Date of last review
28 91552 01-03-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
89% of reviewers None indicated 7.6



Description: The newest Mandrake Linux release - 10.0 (Community).

Includes Gnome 2.4, KDE 3.2, and Kernel 2.6.3
Keywords: Mandrake 10.0 (Community) Download version


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 05-28-2004, 01:30 AM   #1
digiplaya
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Sabayon 3.3 & Sidux 2007
Posts: 111

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: KDE 3.2, Lots of Pre-Installed Games
Cons: Did not work with my NIC, several USB bugs



Mandrake 10.0 Community is the best distribution that I could find for my personality and what I want to do with Linux. It includes pretty much everything you need for programming/compiling in Linux, so it is excellent for developers and programmers.

However, even the latest version of Mandrake does not seem to be compatible with that many network cards (to my knowledge), such as mine. Neither my Internet or LAN worked in Mandrake. After some research, I finally edited my GRUB boot loader to fix the problem. This was the biggest frustration I had with this product.

The second biggest problem was with my USB Hub. Upon starting installation, the Mandrake Kernel locked up when it detected USB devices. I unplugged the Hub, rebooted, and Mandrake worked fine without it. So this is a fairly major bug of Mandrake.

My sound, though, worked perfectly from the beginning. I used XMMS to play some music and sounds. I was amazed that it worked with my Sound Blaster Live.

I was also impressed that Mandrake came with plenty of pre-installed games that could keep me on my computer for hours. I certainly liked that about it.

All in all, Mandrake 10.0 Community is a good mix between a ease of use platform and a development platform. I believe it is the best distro, for my purposes, anyway.
 
Old 05-29-2004, 10:47 AM   #2
justinian1978
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Various
Posts: 47

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Simple to install, easy to use, fixed the USB issue in 9.2
Cons: Still buggy, get a lot of program crashes, didn't recognize my sound card


I've have tried several distributions and to be honest, I wasn't expecting much out of MDK 10 after my lousy experience with 9.2. 10 fixed the USB module issue so now I can boot up with all my USB devices. The new 2.6 series kernel is nice--very fast and responsive. I can now access and make changes to my NTFS partitions, which is a huge plus. Previous RedHat-ish distros I've tried I've never been able to get that to work. As usual MDK includes the latest and greatest software. I'm especially enjoying Kopete, which I had not heard of until now. My biggest complaints are that MDK did not configure my sound correctly and that a lot of the controls and links have been scattered around. I've been trying to get it fixed on the forum here, but I've stumped most everyone I've talked to about it :) It may not even be related to MDK, might just be a crappy sound card, so I bought a nice brand new Creative SB 128 yesterday! The scattered programs are ok, as it's great for newbies and people who like minimal and frequently-used programs only in their menus, but I like to know where everything's at, so it's been hard to adjust. Another nice improvement over 9.2 is that my programs don't suddenly disappear from the menus anymore, very nice, thanks MDK! I still hate installing RPMs, they never seem to work for me. I'll probably just stick to installing from source for now. MDK 10.0 does seem to crash programs a lot, but at least my OS doesn't go down with it. I'm still a newbie, so I'm still learning my way with Linux right now, it's more of a hobby and toy than a true OS for me, but I'm getting better by the day and hope to dump XPieceofcrap ASAP!
 
Old 06-01-2004, 05:31 AM   #3
davecs
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: PCLinuxOS
Posts: 485

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Everything seems to work
Cons: Too much control taken from user


See my "glowing" report of Mandrake 9.1.

To me, Mandrake peaked with 9.1 and has gone backwards ever since.

In many respects, v10 it looks little different from v9.1, but it seems to take control from me. Little things like the way LILO control has been removed from KDE Control Centre. I know it's in Mandrake Control Centre as well, but it is restrictive in that if you have multiple OSs (not just one Mandrake and Windows) it's not very helpful. I find myself editing lilo.conf and running lilo manually now.

In trying to make Mandrake more n00b-friendly, they have taken much control away from the more knowledgeable user. I thought that 9.1 worked for both newbies and buffs alike, but I find trying to get some things done in 10 is frustrating.

However, I still recommend Mandrake for anyone wanting to try Linux for the first time. And if you are not too bothered about "taking control" then there is little else to criticise it. I could say I found it a little slow, but I am using Gentoo now, so what do you expect?
 
Old 06-02-2004, 10:39 PM   #4
caged
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Mandrake,Slackware
Posts: 165

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Very Easy
Cons: Not so stable


Well...

Mandrake is a pretty nice Operating system i think. Comes with a very complete set of packages, installs the network very easily....

It does have its problems though, it isnt as secure as other distros of linux, programs can crash, it gets annoying. over all id say it would beat the MS operating systems but its not quite as nice for those interested in computers as other distros are.

Very good for people who dont care about computers though. my Girl friend uses it for her art history studies, the web, office apps etc. This computer also finds itself the prefered video machine in the house.

so yeah.... really easy to use. good if a newbie (hate that term) wants to get into linux or for someone who needs to use a computer but doesnt want to pay bulk cash for a bulky MS product without all the preincluded software.

have fun.
Ben.
 
Old 06-19-2004, 10:00 AM   #5
gfrog
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: mandrake 9.1, redhat 9
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: very fast and good looking
Cons: have to be club member to dl cd4


over all very good install, im a linux noob, but have been using mandrake since 9.1, 10 runs extremely well on my machin Specs: Amd xp 1800+, 512 mb pc133, 64mb Nvidia Geforce Mx44o SE, 60 Gig Hardrive.......The install took less than 20 minutes which is nice, i think it too around 17 to be exact...Took me a while to get my nvidia card to work riight as there wasnt many places to find good instructions for an install, but after i got nvidia working correctly i was inpressed with the smoothness of 3d acceleration and the speed of the machine in general, although memory does seem to be a bit hogged lol, the only problem i have run into that is sorta a confidence killer is the fact that the prepackaged xmms player freezes up when you try to run it, i just ponder why this problem wasnt fixed because i have seen all over the web of this being common on 10 lol.....anyway, i am extremely happy with this distrobution and plan on sticking with it...mandrake is really good for noobs and veteran linux users alike :)
 
Old 07-22-2004, 07:08 PM   #6
Ghost_runner
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: openSUSE 10.2/64bit
Posts: 276

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: easy to install, easy to work with, runs fast
Cons: long boot time


Mandrake has great support here, most questions I got quick answers to, or google brought me here, right to the answer/forum i needed.
 
Old 08-07-2004, 10:21 PM   #7
floppywhopper
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Mageia 4.1, SME Server 8
Posts: 627

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros:
Cons:


Yes I'm pleased with Mandrake 10
Its an improvement over 9.2 and 9.1 by far

however there were issues with my soundcard
Soundblaster Audio PCI 128
not working properly ... very frustrating

My video card had a few issues too
Win 98 says it has 8 Mb memory
M 10.0 says it only has 4 Mb
In the end I just let M 10 believe it had 4 Mb
why fight it

Yes there were a few other bugs
If you can down load M flash for free for linux
why not just bundle it in for free
I've given up trying to plugin flash for konqueror

A good distro
followed M since 7.1, 9.0, 9.1, 9.2
10 is OK
Still needs work
I think M is trying too hard to be all things to all people
I would just like a distro to work properly the first time without the niggling little hassles

floppy
 
Old 08-16-2004, 04:38 AM   #8
mr666white
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Gentoo, IPCop
Posts: 54

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros: Fantastic Hardware Support, Easy to install, Works on my laptop (!)
Cons: Difficult to do anything your mother couldn't do


This was my first attempt at using Linux on my main desktop since Suse 6.3. I've got a number of non-gui linux boxes doing 'usefull things'....

Mandrake 10 is devastatingy easy to install. I'll go out on a limb and say easier than any M$ product i've ever used. However tweaking the install was more difficult, options like reiserFS being hidden away. Still nothing difficult.

Customising the package selection was a bit of a pain. Time consuming and uninformative. I'm still convinced SuSe's 'yast' text based installer was far more informative and fater to use. It became very difficult to keep the overall install size down. Not a problem on a big hard drive, but i was trying to squeeze it onto a 20Gb hard drive on my laptop and have it co-exist with windows XP and still have enough space for a few days worth of music.

I wasn't impressed with the implementation of gnome at all. but then I've never been a huge gnome fan. Mandrake have managed to make KDE look really good. Very little tweaking was vequired to make my friends jeealous of the way it looked.

I was totally unimpressed with totem, the catch all xine frontend that Mandrake claim is a replacement for windws media player. Ugly, clunky user interface, and impossibla to tweak to any great extent. But it did play almos all my music straight outta the box.

Hardware support was exceptional. Microsoft Natural USB keyboard - no problem. Packard Bell USB scanner? No problem. Even my Sony Clie SL10 was recognised instantly. There's me happy for a while.

Package management. Gotta say the gui was streets ahead of any other go. But it's still a pain in the ass. Trying to find a specific package and install it was becomeing a joke. Eventually i got apt working which kept me happy for a while, but kept complaining of depandancy issues. I took to the old fashioned way of installing usefull things from source.

Then we look at mandrake on the netwrok: An excelent clinet. But trying to get samba happy was just not happening, well not with the inbuilt samba tools. It even caused problems for me when i did things the old fashiond way.

From this point on it became an irritation. So many things i wanted to tweak became a joke. I could do it on slackware and fedora, but mandrake just didn't want to play ball.

Overall it's not a bad distribution. Ideal for a destop box that's destined to be a glorified typewriter, and maybe browse then net, play a few games. It would be a great distro to sell on preinstalled PCs and a reasonably decent corporate client.

However, for my needs, it just doesn't cut it. Fedora Core 2 and a list of things to 'Yum' (Firefox, Kaffeine...) has replaced it on my laptop. I just need to get my clie working, but that's not really important, i hardly use it.

On the flipside, I'm seriously considering giving my mum mandrake next time she wipes out her XP box. It's Easier to use and just as infuriating.
 
Old 08-20-2004, 03:52 PM   #9
TheLostTirbe69
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Mandrake Linux 10.0
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Feels like Windows
Cons: More support


I am very much a neophyte with regards to linux.

I installed my first try at Linux side by side with my Win XP pro and had to reformat my drive 3 times before getting it to works just fine. First my mouse didn't work and i needed to tweak with the install setting a little bit cause I figured it was my video setting, then it was detecting a different mouse model... so a little more practice and tweak on the install and voila it works.

I notice that most of my hardware were detected. They seem to work and have their indicator lights on but i can't find where I can access them. Like my web cam and external cd-rw. Well maybe i still have not been able to master the innards of linux.

With regards to appz installation, I tried installing some messenger appz like gyach and amsn. amsn installed as advertised but the one for yahoo was like asking for a GTK file or something. Anyway I again tried some other appz to install and I was prompted to pop-in the installer CD's but they kept popping-out... have to figure this one too...

(I've selected mine during install as a workstation and cut back on server.)

I am still trying to learn Linux and I find it A-okay so far.

Without actually having any knowledge of Linux and be able to install and work out some stuff then I suppose I can dump my windows based computer when I really get myself familiarized with Linux. The only reason I am sticking with windows is is ease of use (coz of GUI) and wide support and lots of hardware and software for it. Here in the Philippines where 99% percent of the machines run on windows (most or all schools, private and government institutions, universities and household use windows) you'll see my predicament. But it sure is refreshing to have another OS flatform to work with.

I just wish that Linux was little bit more user friendly than it is now (plus more hardware compatibility)...

Linux, I agree is much stable than windows but the only downside I suppose compared to other OS like windows or OS 10 would be the latters ease of use and wider support...

Yet overall Linux is great and I definitely recommend it to newbies before they get pulled and enticed by the Redmont giant. There are more better OS' other than Windows!!!

Good day and happy computing!
 
Old 08-31-2004, 04:03 AM   #10
Tamsco
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Gentoo (not ricer Gentoo)
Posts: 165

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros:
Cons:


Mandrake hasn't changed much from 9.1 except that they are getting increasingly pushy about joining their club. I say go with Fedora or SUSE
 
Old 09-02-2004, 02:23 AM   #11
sether
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 695

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: one of the best all-around mainstream distros, user-friendly, few, if any, bugs
Cons: need extra drivers floppy to install on old systems, a little bogged down with added stuff


(i'm not gonna go into great detail because the other reviews sum it up just as good.)

i was first introduced to linux via redhat 9. i eventually moved to fedora core 2, and for the first time decided to try a different distro. mandrake was the first one i tried. after using mandrake for just a few days i could already see the advantages: easier install than fedora/redhat, less additional stuff packaged in by mandrake, which translates into less bugs. essentially mandrake, fedora/redhat, suse, and the other all-around mainstream distros are pretty much the same, but if any one has an advantage over the others, it's mandrake.

basically, if you're looking for a good all-around distro, go with mandrake. it's not my personal favorite though, but its probably good for most people.

by the way don't try installing mandrake on older systems. i got a bunch of problems installing it on an old PII laptop. if you've got the additional drivers floppy for mandrake available, then you'll probably be good though.
 
Old 10-04-2004, 03:34 AM   #12
capkanada
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: SuSE 9.1
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: ease of setup, stability, newbie-friendly
Cons: Needs more printer drivers


I am a total Linux newbie. I have had some experience with HP/UX when I had my first internet acct. back in '94 through a shell acct. It has been a bit of a learning experience, but all in all, it went very smoothly. It stays up and running, and now that I've learned the ctrl-alt-backspace tricks and the other combos, any problems with applications misbehaving go by the OS without a hitch. The URPMI stuff and RPM manager is great, and I am somewhat tempted to switch Win|>0w$ off of my big hard drive. It has ran with great stability, and is very user friendly. I've had my eye on Linux for a while, I felt it was time to make a change, and I found the right Distro. Mandrake user for life...that is until they make a real flopper of a release...happens to the best.... :(

Great Distro, would recommend it to anyone starting out.
 
Old 01-03-2005, 04:41 PM   #13
tamoneya
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu 7.10
Posts: 558

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy install. Good GUI
Cons: Could not configure my printer. Dell AIO920


First installation of linux. Was easy for me to get running however i never got my printer work however i my printer is very difficult to install on many distributions.
Good place to start
 
Page:  1 · 2 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration