LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mandriva
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Mandrake 10.0 Community Download
Reviews Views Date of last review
28 91375 01-03-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
89% of reviewers None indicated 7.6



Description: The newest Mandrake Linux release - 10.0 (Community).

Includes Gnome 2.4, KDE 3.2, and Kernel 2.6.3
Keywords: Mandrake 10.0 (Community) Download version


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 03-15-2004, 10:50 PM   #1
raalynthslair
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Fedora 7
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Good hardware recognition, and the new kernel upgrade
Cons: Time zone "bug" and the "scattered" control centers.



Overall I find that 10.0 is a nice improvement over 9.2, mainly for the kernel and some of the KDE enhancements. The only real downside for me was that it took longer to upgrade on my much faster desktop PC (P4 2.6Ghz, 1.25GB PC2100 RAM) than it did to cleanly install on my older laptop (900Mhz Duron, 256 MB PC100 RAM).

And the time zone was set to "Chicago" during install, but it had to be manually set once on the desktop b/c it reverted to "New York" (still haven't figured that out), with a little tweaking and a few "time warps" *insert corny dance and song here* I was able to get the time and time zone correct.

The control center, which was nicely set to a single page you could go back and forth to (with settings for different things all centralized) is gone. Instead the configurations are split up in related groups, which is nice, but there is no backpeddling into the previous page/menu/screen. Meaning, if you don't tell KDE (what I used to test 10.0) to keep your root password you need to enter it several times to get several small tasks done. It was, however, oddly more user friendly in many of the areas - allowing me to more easily find just what I was looking for.

Overall, however Mandrake has a good solid release, and I would recommend it to new users and as an upgrade for those wanting the latest KDE, Gnome, or Kernels if you're afraid to do them (or don't know how) alone.

A power user on 9.2 will find little different or worth jumping to for (save for NTFS write ability in the 2.6.3 kernel).

Aside from Mandrake's changes
Gnome 2.4 is a nice upgrade for the casual Gnome user. I am not a full-time Gnome user, so I was able to spot only a few changes - see the Gnome folks for a better review.
KDE 3.2 is sharp, and things are only a little different from 3.1... the only pet peeve I have with it is the immensity with which it uses when it opens the "Home" link on the desktop. It tends to take up nearly 2/3 of my screen (in both 1024/x768 and 1280x1024 resolutions). You can, however, save a smaller sized window as default after the first time - very handy. I found the KDE desktop to have all the features and raw flexibility that made me fall in love with it originally. It responds faster than 3.1 (but some of this could be the kernel which is know to support hyperthreading better and generally perform faster overall), and the theming menus are just as powerful as before. Overall, not a bad upgrade, but not crucial on it's own.

 
Old 03-23-2004, 09:40 AM   #2
Tryxl
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Mandrake
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: easy install of hardware
Cons: Network connections


I have been playing with Linus for 3-4 years, never made a dedicated move because there was always some compelling issue to cause me to stay with Windows, normally hardware issues. With this version of Mandrake, all of my harware works right out of the box. I cant tell you how nice this was.

I am still having some issues with internet sharing on home network, but I am sure it is just some issue I have not yet found the answer to.

I am running the KDE desktop, and think this will probably be THE Linux distro to get me to move from Windows for more than simply plaing with the OS.
 
Old 03-27-2004, 09:14 PM   #3
jawilson
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: I got to reformat my HD...
Cons: none


I installed this to dual boot with WinXP, as I had done with previous versions of mandrake. I had 3 NTFS partitions on the HD, and I used the last one for linux (~45 GB). When I rebooted, nothing appeared; I could not get into Linux or WinXP. So, I tried using the recovery console on the MDK boot disk; it did not work. It turned out that the installer does not configure the partition table correctly, and somehow corrupts the MBR. (I'm not too sure of all of the details...check out the mandrake forums for more detail.) I could not even use my WinXP or Win98 cd to boot and correct the problem. I ended up losing XP and reformating the entire hard drive. I have even heard that this will not solve the problem.
There are some people who say that they have gotten theirs to work, but there are more who have the same problem IF they are trying to dual boot. The Mandrake website does not have any solutions that have worked for me, and I'm pretty peeved that the would release ANY version with such a major and destructive bug.
So, in conclusion, DO NOT INSTALL THIS WITH WINXP. If you hear about someone who got it to work and want to try, that's great, give it a shot. But, at least back up your data first.
 
Old 03-31-2004, 08:10 AM   #4
ctewsley
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Faster on my old Athlon slotA 700 than 9.2
Cons: took a long time to install


Mandrake 10.0 is definately a step up from 9.2 I would have to say that if you want to play with it though do a fresh install, it's just easier that way. All in all its a good piece of work and I can't wait to see the stable release.
 
Old 04-01-2004, 04:57 AM   #5
garbagedisposal
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 3

Pros: Innovative
Cons: Buggy, proprietary


Tries to out do redhat but has been buggy for too many versions...

Mandrake adds it's own proprietary flavour to the already proprietary Redhat.

Getting too far away from Linux for my likes.
 
Old 04-05-2004, 05:44 PM   #6
Braveheart1980
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu 9.10
Posts: 633

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Faster , detect my hardware really nice
Cons: None


Real nice improvement over 9.2 . I would recommend it 2 everyone 4 it's ease of use and fastness
 
Old 04-06-2004, 01:08 PM   #7
Geneius
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Linspire
Posts: 36

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to Integrate With Windows
Cons: None


I'm a Linux Newbie -- In fact this was the first time I've ever installed Linux or partitioned a hard drive. I partitioned windows and left the linux partion unformated. I told mandrake to install in 'the free space' and it installed quickly and easily. I'm pretty happy with Mandrake. I had considered other distro's like Xandros and Lindows but I went with Mandrake because they seemed to offer easy of installation but with out all the confinements of the other too options. I like the boot up menu which allows you to go back and forth between windows and linux. Mandrake may have just made a convert! The KDE desktop is great! If there was some way to run the software I use professionally on Linux (i.e. Adobe and Macromedia) I'd dump Windows in a heart beat!
 
Old 04-06-2004, 05:09 PM   #8
XavierP
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Distribution: Lubuntu
Posts: 19,176

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy, quick install, very new-user-friendly
Cons: Too gui based for the die hard


I have used every version of Mandrake since 7.1 and, by far, this is the best. The install is the familiar, easy, Mandrake install. Once it is installed, you are into the gui and everything is usable.

If I were introducing someone to Linux (probably via a dual boot, rather than a live-cd, btw) this is the distro I would choose. The menus are laid out very well and the whole thing looks great.

I am very impressed with this distro.
 
Old 04-12-2004, 04:11 PM   #9
aRTee
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Mandrake
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Kernel 2.6, KDE 3.2, urpmi
Cons: Not perfect yet, work to do on the tools


Please read my full review of the Community Edition of Mandrake 10.0 here:
http://www.mandrake.tips.4.free.fr/review100.html

There sure are some small things to improve for me, and in general. When I first wrote my review, the annoying things like the first cd not booting on many systems were not known.
It seems that on the whole, Mandrake 10.0CE has proved to be as good or bad as any previous final Mandrake release. Some have gotten a lot out of it (including me), some have not had a great experience.

The only thing not working for me is vga resolution of my webcam - this is a kernel issue, and to me a low priority problem.

Why Mandrake would be proprietary (as claimed above) is beyond me, all their own tools are GPL, and the D/L edition has no proprietary / non-GPL stuff in them.
Actually, of all commercial distributions, none are more (GPL/FLOSS) Free than Mandrake (since SUSE's yast went fully GPL, it may well be as free as Mandrake).


The great thing of Mandrake is urpmi or the gui via mcc -> software management, once urpmi is setup, it's all downhill from there.

Currently, I am running Mandrake 10.0 OE, since I updated all I have just at the moment OE went to the presses.
Nothing is perfect in this world, but as I said when I wrote my initial review of Mandrake 10.0CE, it is the best Mandrake Linux sofar, and actually the best Linux I ever used (note: I have not used FC2 yet, nor the latest SUSE - and I will never use a proprietary Linux). I think this will be doubly so for the Official Edition.

To those who would like to try out Mandrake Linux, take the time to find out how to use it, set up urpmi properly (warning: at this very moment - April 12th 2004 - , many ftp repositories are not working correctly), and give it a go.
Remember, if you get stuck, here and on forums like www.mandrakeusers.org people will gladly help you out.

Enjoy Linux,
aRTee
 
Old 04-20-2004, 06:04 AM   #10
fitzy85
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Posts: 29

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: So easy to install and use!
Cons: lack of centrino pro wlss support


Ok i have never used linux before and downloaded mandrake after seeing in reviews it was easy to install and use. I put the cds in laptop after setting it to boot from cd first..it began to install fine . i had a little hickup because my laptop(acer Aspire 2001) had 4 primary partitions..once i deleted one it organised the partitioning for me!! continued to install..and worked off first boot :). only thing is on laptops u need 2.6.3 for the trackpad to work !
i heavily recommend this to someone that doesnt know very much about linux
 
Old 04-21-2004, 03:40 AM   #11
Vodka
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Mandrake 10 Community Download
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to install and to use
Cons: Slow on older systems


I'm nearly a total newbie with linux. I just tried RedHat then Slackware for a few days a year ago.

Mandrake was easy to install on my Toshiba laptop and is easy to use. For Windows native users, there's no problem in my opinion.

I just had some troubles with the sound at the beginning, now it's ok. The only thing that doesn't work at all is the stand-by/suspend mode, specific to Toshiba I guess.

I'll play with this distro for a few months, but I definitely go back to Slackware when I'm more experienced with Linux.
 
Old 04-23-2004, 12:49 PM   #12
BaKsHi
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Mandrake 10.0 Community
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: 15 minute install, runs smooth, gnome, and the ability to access Windows HD.
Cons: Broadcom wireless card is not compatible with Linux as of now.


I'm a Linux newbie too. I installed Linux Mandrake 10CE right next to Windows XP. Linux is installed on my Samsung 40gig HD and Windows XP on my 80gig. So I gave it enough space to be a normal operating system with ample space :). The install only took 15 minutes, and once installed, I had no serious problems at all. The only problems I've enocuntered is the sound card not working and the wireless drivers not work. The wireless drivers problem I can blame on the manufacturer of my wirless PCI card, "Linksys". The sound problem is Mandrakes fault, and now I have to fix it. All the apps run perfectly well, except maybe Quanta. It had a serious error when I clicked a button. If you want to use Linux and Windows on the same machine. I recommend Mandrake 10. No chance in hell I'm gonna buy Official though, I'm staying with CE until I find good reason.
 
Old 04-25-2004, 05:22 AM   #13
mjjzf
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Slackware 14.1
Posts: 879

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Intuitive tools, urpmi, very easy and fast install, a brilliant migration platform
Cons: Skizophrenic user identity, partition issues


I upgraded - made a clean install, to be exact - from Mandrake 9.1. With 9.1 I had some issues with my NVIDIA board memory sharing with onboard sound/ethernet. This has been fixed in 10.0 CE. For the first time, I did not have to set up the ethernet manually. I had to download a driver for my Brother HL-1430 printer. Brother has prepared these, and the download and install was simple enough.
This is the distro and version that has made me format my WinXP partition and reinstall it for games platform only. So now, I dual-boot for the WinXP games system and the LinMandy work/browsing/mail/mediaplayer system. It works - and it is better for my concentration when the games are not immediately at hand...
The install is really sweet. Fast, simple, straightforward in the way one has come to expect from Mandrake. I have always been very impressed with the DiskDrake tool for the partitioning process - it is extremely user-friendly considering the complexity of the task.
Now as for the schizophrenic feature I mentioned among the cons: One is asked whether one wishes to install programming tools, compilers etc. I am not much of a programmer, so I figure that - if I will ever need some of that, I will dig it up and install it. By not checking these in the installation, I forget the main principle of Linux: You may be Joe User, but you are still the sysadmin on this particular system. And every program you dig up - in this context I recommend sourceforge.net and kde-apps.org - you find as a tar ball, which you have to... recompile. Sorry, no compilers found on your system. Hmmm...
Also, after having used DiskDrake, I have tried to use Partition Magic for resizing the Windows partition - and I am told that the disk has partitions created using another disk geometry - amd that a drive letter can't be established -> *crash*. So I can't resize my Windows partition without erasing everything on it, using diskdrake! That is a bit of an annoyance, bit I guess MS never meant for you to be using other systems...
Mandrake is not a complicated system, unless you want to tweak and twist. It is a little tricky because everything looks easy an ui-ish... so you tend to forget that one does not use Linux without thinking first. Still, if you use it based on the default install, a migrating/experimenting Windows user will have no problems using this. You have to weed out the programs a bit. One only needs so many browsers/IM-clients/e-mail clients. My system works absolutely without problems - Mozilla, Evolution, openOffice.org and Gaim is a package, I wouldn't mind running an office with.
A general Linux observation: If one has grasped the concept of mounting drives - CD drives, Floppy, USBs - the file structure is actually much simpler than Windows. Putting your files in /home/you/ is definately much easier than finding your Windows Docs folder starting from C:\
The urpmi program is a beauty when you try to navigate dependencies. I am rather impressed with this. The possibility of using Wine as a compatibility layer to acces Windows programs and certain games is an attractive feature, even if the Wine setup is one of the least intuitive processes, I have ever tried - and that's a shame, since it might attract a lot of people wanting to give a Linux-based system a shot.
Overall, this is a distribution and version which is part of a wave that proves that Linux is desktop, if not game ready. I expect to dual-boot for some time... but I don't expect to go out and buy Longhorn by that time.
 
Old 05-17-2004, 02:51 AM   #14
lastunicorn
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Mandrake
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy install
Cons: Locks up from time to time


I'm a newbie even though this is the second time I've installed Linux. The first time I installed Linux was last year when I used Slackware and I have to say that installing Mandrake was way easier than that. I have fairly new components on my computer and almost all of them were recognized by Mandrake. The only problem I had was with my soundcard which is integrated into an Intel D865perl motherboard. The driver was on the Intel website and I just had to figure out how to put the kernel source in (answers are all here in the forum so far).

I've been playing with Mandrake for just about a week now and it's been great so far. I'm trying to make it so that I can do in Linux what I do in Windows. (Streaming media in browsers, etc.) This I'm sure is just a matter of finding the right applications.

Bottom line, easy set-up and comes built-in with a bunch of applications that make it instantly useful and entertaining.
 
Old 05-19-2004, 08:42 PM   #15
sausagejohnson
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 9
Posts: 242

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 4

Pros: Graphically nice. Lot's of bells and whistles.
Cons: Extremely bad hardware detection with the Gigabyte 7n400 Pro2 MB


I was very interested with the the nice graphical boot up system and configuration tools. Most users report the community version of 10.0 to be great at hardware detection. But with the Gigabyte 7n400 Pro 2 nForce2 Motherboard it got both the integrated LAN and Firewire IRQ completely wrong. It detected them both at IRQ 16 when the BIOS reports them at 11. All other distributions including Fedore Core 2 Test 2 and RedHat 9 both get it right. Perhaps the Offical Mandrake release has corrected this.
 
Old 05-28-2004, 12:30 AM   #16
digiplaya
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Sabayon 3.3 & Sidux 2007
Posts: 111

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: KDE 3.2, Lots of Pre-Installed Games
Cons: Did not work with my NIC, several USB bugs



Mandrake 10.0 Community is the best distribution that I could find for my personality and what I want to do with Linux. It includes pretty much everything you need for programming/compiling in Linux, so it is excellent for developers and programmers.

However, even the latest version of Mandrake does not seem to be compatible with that many network cards (to my knowledge), such as mine. Neither my Internet or LAN worked in Mandrake. After some research, I finally edited my GRUB boot loader to fix the problem. This was the biggest frustration I had with this product.

The second biggest problem was with my USB Hub. Upon starting installation, the Mandrake Kernel locked up when it detected USB devices. I unplugged the Hub, rebooted, and Mandrake worked fine without it. So this is a fairly major bug of Mandrake.

My sound, though, worked perfectly from the beginning. I used XMMS to play some music and sounds. I was amazed that it worked with my Sound Blaster Live.

I was also impressed that Mandrake came with plenty of pre-installed games that could keep me on my computer for hours. I certainly liked that about it.

All in all, Mandrake 10.0 Community is a good mix between a ease of use platform and a development platform. I believe it is the best distro, for my purposes, anyway.
 
Old 05-29-2004, 09:47 AM   #17
justinian1978
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Various
Posts: 47

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Simple to install, easy to use, fixed the USB issue in 9.2
Cons: Still buggy, get a lot of program crashes, didn't recognize my sound card


I've have tried several distributions and to be honest, I wasn't expecting much out of MDK 10 after my lousy experience with 9.2. 10 fixed the USB module issue so now I can boot up with all my USB devices. The new 2.6 series kernel is nice--very fast and responsive. I can now access and make changes to my NTFS partitions, which is a huge plus. Previous RedHat-ish distros I've tried I've never been able to get that to work. As usual MDK includes the latest and greatest software. I'm especially enjoying Kopete, which I had not heard of until now. My biggest complaints are that MDK did not configure my sound correctly and that a lot of the controls and links have been scattered around. I've been trying to get it fixed on the forum here, but I've stumped most everyone I've talked to about it :) It may not even be related to MDK, might just be a crappy sound card, so I bought a nice brand new Creative SB 128 yesterday! The scattered programs are ok, as it's great for newbies and people who like minimal and frequently-used programs only in their menus, but I like to know where everything's at, so it's been hard to adjust. Another nice improvement over 9.2 is that my programs don't suddenly disappear from the menus anymore, very nice, thanks MDK! I still hate installing RPMs, they never seem to work for me. I'll probably just stick to installing from source for now. MDK 10.0 does seem to crash programs a lot, but at least my OS doesn't go down with it. I'm still a newbie, so I'm still learning my way with Linux right now, it's more of a hobby and toy than a true OS for me, but I'm getting better by the day and hope to dump XPieceofcrap ASAP!
 
Old 06-01-2004, 04:31 AM   #18
davecs
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: PCLinuxOS
Posts: 485

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Everything seems to work
Cons: Too much control taken from user


See my "glowing" report of Mandrake 9.1.

To me, Mandrake peaked with 9.1 and has gone backwards ever since.

In many respects, v10 it looks little different from v9.1, but it seems to take control from me. Little things like the way LILO control has been removed from KDE Control Centre. I know it's in Mandrake Control Centre as well, but it is restrictive in that if you have multiple OSs (not just one Mandrake and Windows) it's not very helpful. I find myself editing lilo.conf and running lilo manually now.

In trying to make Mandrake more n00b-friendly, they have taken much control away from the more knowledgeable user. I thought that 9.1 worked for both newbies and buffs alike, but I find trying to get some things done in 10 is frustrating.

However, I still recommend Mandrake for anyone wanting to try Linux for the first time. And if you are not too bothered about "taking control" then there is little else to criticise it. I could say I found it a little slow, but I am using Gentoo now, so what do you expect?
 
Old 06-02-2004, 09:39 PM   #19
caged
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Mandrake,Slackware
Posts: 165

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Very Easy
Cons: Not so stable


Well...

Mandrake is a pretty nice Operating system i think. Comes with a very complete set of packages, installs the network very easily....

It does have its problems though, it isnt as secure as other distros of linux, programs can crash, it gets annoying. over all id say it would beat the MS operating systems but its not quite as nice for those interested in computers as other distros are.

Very good for people who dont care about computers though. my Girl friend uses it for her art history studies, the web, office apps etc. This computer also finds itself the prefered video machine in the house.

so yeah.... really easy to use. good if a newbie (hate that term) wants to get into linux or for someone who needs to use a computer but doesnt want to pay bulk cash for a bulky MS product without all the preincluded software.

have fun.
Ben.
 
Old 06-19-2004, 09:00 AM   #20
gfrog
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: mandrake 9.1, redhat 9
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: very fast and good looking
Cons: have to be club member to dl cd4


over all very good install, im a linux noob, but have been using mandrake since 9.1, 10 runs extremely well on my machin Specs: Amd xp 1800+, 512 mb pc133, 64mb Nvidia Geforce Mx44o SE, 60 Gig Hardrive.......The install took less than 20 minutes which is nice, i think it too around 17 to be exact...Took me a while to get my nvidia card to work riight as there wasnt many places to find good instructions for an install, but after i got nvidia working correctly i was inpressed with the smoothness of 3d acceleration and the speed of the machine in general, although memory does seem to be a bit hogged lol, the only problem i have run into that is sorta a confidence killer is the fact that the prepackaged xmms player freezes up when you try to run it, i just ponder why this problem wasnt fixed because i have seen all over the web of this being common on 10 lol.....anyway, i am extremely happy with this distrobution and plan on sticking with it...mandrake is really good for noobs and veteran linux users alike :)
 
Old 07-22-2004, 06:08 PM   #21
Ghost_runner
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: openSUSE 10.2/64bit
Posts: 276

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: easy to install, easy to work with, runs fast
Cons: long boot time


Mandrake has great support here, most questions I got quick answers to, or google brought me here, right to the answer/forum i needed.
 
Old 08-07-2004, 09:21 PM   #22
floppywhopper
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Mageia 4.1, SME Server 8
Posts: 627

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros:
Cons:


Yes I'm pleased with Mandrake 10
Its an improvement over 9.2 and 9.1 by far

however there were issues with my soundcard
Soundblaster Audio PCI 128
not working properly ... very frustrating

My video card had a few issues too
Win 98 says it has 8 Mb memory
M 10.0 says it only has 4 Mb
In the end I just let M 10 believe it had 4 Mb
why fight it

Yes there were a few other bugs
If you can down load M flash for free for linux
why not just bundle it in for free
I've given up trying to plugin flash for konqueror

A good distro
followed M since 7.1, 9.0, 9.1, 9.2
10 is OK
Still needs work
I think M is trying too hard to be all things to all people
I would just like a distro to work properly the first time without the niggling little hassles

floppy
 
Old 08-16-2004, 03:38 AM   #23
mr666white
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Gentoo, IPCop
Posts: 54

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros: Fantastic Hardware Support, Easy to install, Works on my laptop (!)
Cons: Difficult to do anything your mother couldn't do


This was my first attempt at using Linux on my main desktop since Suse 6.3. I've got a number of non-gui linux boxes doing 'usefull things'....

Mandrake 10 is devastatingy easy to install. I'll go out on a limb and say easier than any M$ product i've ever used. However tweaking the install was more difficult, options like reiserFS being hidden away. Still nothing difficult.

Customising the package selection was a bit of a pain. Time consuming and uninformative. I'm still convinced SuSe's 'yast' text based installer was far more informative and fater to use. It became very difficult to keep the overall install size down. Not a problem on a big hard drive, but i was trying to squeeze it onto a 20Gb hard drive on my laptop and have it co-exist with windows XP and still have enough space for a few days worth of music.

I wasn't impressed with the implementation of gnome at all. but then I've never been a huge gnome fan. Mandrake have managed to make KDE look really good. Very little tweaking was vequired to make my friends jeealous of the way it looked.

I was totally unimpressed with totem, the catch all xine frontend that Mandrake claim is a replacement for windws media player. Ugly, clunky user interface, and impossibla to tweak to any great extent. But it did play almos all my music straight outta the box.

Hardware support was exceptional. Microsoft Natural USB keyboard - no problem. Packard Bell USB scanner? No problem. Even my Sony Clie SL10 was recognised instantly. There's me happy for a while.

Package management. Gotta say the gui was streets ahead of any other go. But it's still a pain in the ass. Trying to find a specific package and install it was becomeing a joke. Eventually i got apt working which kept me happy for a while, but kept complaining of depandancy issues. I took to the old fashioned way of installing usefull things from source.

Then we look at mandrake on the netwrok: An excelent clinet. But trying to get samba happy was just not happening, well not with the inbuilt samba tools. It even caused problems for me when i did things the old fashiond way.

From this point on it became an irritation. So many things i wanted to tweak became a joke. I could do it on slackware and fedora, but mandrake just didn't want to play ball.

Overall it's not a bad distribution. Ideal for a destop box that's destined to be a glorified typewriter, and maybe browse then net, play a few games. It would be a great distro to sell on preinstalled PCs and a reasonably decent corporate client.

However, for my needs, it just doesn't cut it. Fedora Core 2 and a list of things to 'Yum' (Firefox, Kaffeine...) has replaced it on my laptop. I just need to get my clie working, but that's not really important, i hardly use it.

On the flipside, I'm seriously considering giving my mum mandrake next time she wipes out her XP box. It's Easier to use and just as infuriating.
 
Old 08-20-2004, 02:52 PM   #24
TheLostTirbe69
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Mandrake Linux 10.0
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Feels like Windows
Cons: More support


I am very much a neophyte with regards to linux.

I installed my first try at Linux side by side with my Win XP pro and had to reformat my drive 3 times before getting it to works just fine. First my mouse didn't work and i needed to tweak with the install setting a little bit cause I figured it was my video setting, then it was detecting a different mouse model... so a little more practice and tweak on the install and voila it works.

I notice that most of my hardware were detected. They seem to work and have their indicator lights on but i can't find where I can access them. Like my web cam and external cd-rw. Well maybe i still have not been able to master the innards of linux.

With regards to appz installation, I tried installing some messenger appz like gyach and amsn. amsn installed as advertised but the one for yahoo was like asking for a GTK file or something. Anyway I again tried some other appz to install and I was prompted to pop-in the installer CD's but they kept popping-out... have to figure this one too...

(I've selected mine during install as a workstation and cut back on server.)

I am still trying to learn Linux and I find it A-okay so far.

Without actually having any knowledge of Linux and be able to install and work out some stuff then I suppose I can dump my windows based computer when I really get myself familiarized with Linux. The only reason I am sticking with windows is is ease of use (coz of GUI) and wide support and lots of hardware and software for it. Here in the Philippines where 99% percent of the machines run on windows (most or all schools, private and government institutions, universities and household use windows) you'll see my predicament. But it sure is refreshing to have another OS flatform to work with.

I just wish that Linux was little bit more user friendly than it is now (plus more hardware compatibility)...

Linux, I agree is much stable than windows but the only downside I suppose compared to other OS like windows or OS 10 would be the latters ease of use and wider support...

Yet overall Linux is great and I definitely recommend it to newbies before they get pulled and enticed by the Redmont giant. There are more better OS' other than Windows!!!

Good day and happy computing!
 
Old 08-31-2004, 03:03 AM   #25
Tamsco
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Gentoo (not ricer Gentoo)
Posts: 165

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros:
Cons:


Mandrake hasn't changed much from 9.1 except that they are getting increasingly pushy about joining their club. I say go with Fedora or SUSE
 
Old 09-02-2004, 01:23 AM   #26
sether
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 695

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: one of the best all-around mainstream distros, user-friendly, few, if any, bugs
Cons: need extra drivers floppy to install on old systems, a little bogged down with added stuff


(i'm not gonna go into great detail because the other reviews sum it up just as good.)

i was first introduced to linux via redhat 9. i eventually moved to fedora core 2, and for the first time decided to try a different distro. mandrake was the first one i tried. after using mandrake for just a few days i could already see the advantages: easier install than fedora/redhat, less additional stuff packaged in by mandrake, which translates into less bugs. essentially mandrake, fedora/redhat, suse, and the other all-around mainstream distros are pretty much the same, but if any one has an advantage over the others, it's mandrake.

basically, if you're looking for a good all-around distro, go with mandrake. it's not my personal favorite though, but its probably good for most people.

by the way don't try installing mandrake on older systems. i got a bunch of problems installing it on an old PII laptop. if you've got the additional drivers floppy for mandrake available, then you'll probably be good though.
 
Old 10-04-2004, 02:34 AM   #27
capkanada
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: SuSE 9.1
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: ease of setup, stability, newbie-friendly
Cons: Needs more printer drivers


I am a total Linux newbie. I have had some experience with HP/UX when I had my first internet acct. back in '94 through a shell acct. It has been a bit of a learning experience, but all in all, it went very smoothly. It stays up and running, and now that I've learned the ctrl-alt-backspace tricks and the other combos, any problems with applications misbehaving go by the OS without a hitch. The URPMI stuff and RPM manager is great, and I am somewhat tempted to switch Win|>0w$ off of my big hard drive. It has ran with great stability, and is very user friendly. I've had my eye on Linux for a while, I felt it was time to make a change, and I found the right Distro. Mandrake user for life...that is until they make a real flopper of a release...happens to the best.... :(

Great Distro, would recommend it to anyone starting out.
 
Old 01-03-2005, 03:41 PM   #28
tamoneya
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu 7.10
Posts: 558

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy install. Good GUI
Cons: Could not configure my printer. Dell AIO920


First installation of linux. Was easy for me to get running however i never got my printer work however i my printer is very difficult to install on many distributions.
Good place to start
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration