LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > PCLinuxOS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

PCLinuxOS 2010
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 40831 12-14-2010
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
80% of reviewers None indicated 7.8



Description: "PCLinuxOS 2010 is now available for download. Features: Linux kernel 2.6.32.11-bfs for maximum desktop performance; full KDE 4.4.2 desktop; NVIDIA and ATI driver support; multimedia playback support for many popular formats; wireless support for many network devices; printer support for many local and networked printer devices; addlocale allows you to convert PCLinuxOS into over 60 languages; GetOpenOffice can install OpenOffice.org supporting over 100 languages; MyLiveCD allows you to take a snapshot of your installation and burn it to a live CD/DVD; parental controls to keep your kids away from those naughty web sites. In addition to our regular KDE 4 release we also have other desktops available such as GNOME 2.30.0, LXDE, Xfce and Enlightenment 17."
Keywords: kernel-2.6.32.11-bfs KDE GNOME LXDE Xfce Enlightenment-17 MyLiveCD


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 04-27-2010, 01:46 PM   #1
timetraveler
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 243

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: It looked nice and had a nice control center
Cons: Problems with DPI settings in X made install and logins a thing of chance



Can't recommend at this time. Installed the lxde version and it worked for a little while but then lxdeterminal started to segfault due to some libcairo problem.
 
Old 05-01-2010, 04:41 AM   #2
davecs
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: PCLinuxOS
Posts: 485

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, simple KDE4 implementation, Control Centre
Cons: If really picky, prefer wide taskbar icons, easily changed.


I have had no problems with the main KDE version on two machines of my own, have also installed it on two other people's machines, one who had never used Linux before but whose machine had been overrun by viruses.

It's stable and very fast. I've had no segfault problems, and as for the LXDE version, none have been reported at the forums, so timetraveler was just unlucky I guess.

The KDE4 implementation is simple, which I think is the best starting point. Thanks to the KDE Control Centre, it's easy to customise and add all the tricks/features/effects available. I like the Running Tasks to be displayed with the name alongside, not just the icon, but that is easily changed (http://www.pclinuxos.com/forum/index...c,71784.0.html)

Most hardware just works™, but the PCLOS control centre can sort out the vast majority of problems and/or save settings. Plenty of power in there for a number of administrative tasks.


Boot and shutdown times are vastly improved. Everything is snappy and responsive.

Plenty of help at the forum, too.
 
Old 05-12-2010, 10:39 AM   #3
perezomail
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Distribution: slackware lubuntu + andoid 2.3 phone
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: vary easy to get the applications you want
Cons: the network mannager settup is over simplified


before finaly installing ubuntu on my netbook i was vary pleased with pclinuxos gnome honestly id still have it on my netbook if it wasnt for the network settup namely for smb or windows network it was a little to simplified and hence became a pain in the neck when i tried to reconfigure it to suit my home network one area would be the way i wanted it and the rest stayed the same the default theme is spectacular which it was on all my computers however after battle with the network config area for sometime i opted out if this distro had a network configuration like that of ubuntu and the rest stayed the same ubuntu would be gone like yesterdau on my netbook
 
Old 06-19-2010, 10:04 AM   #4
dalfish
 
Registered: Nov 2009
Distribution: ubuntu PClinuxOS PCBSD
Posts: 19

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Very easy to use. excellent for laptops Support for CDMA USB modems
Cons: i couldnt find one it is wonderful


I was using PCLOS2009 and now installed PCLOS2010 on my laptop. it is just wonderful. The main advantage of using PCLOS. it supports older hardware. i mean My cdma modems work flawlessly. But that does not work in one of the popular linux distro Ubuntu. So i would recommend PCLOS as the no-1 linux distro ahead of ubuntu .Configuration in PCLOS is very easy for a beginner. I sincerely appreciate the efforts of PCLOS team for making such a lovely distro. Wish them all success. So PCLOS is NO1
 
Old 12-14-2010, 04:17 AM   #5
obstinatesod
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: PClinuxOS, Suse 10.0, Mandriva, Alinux,
Posts: 126

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: It just works
Cons: none yet


I have always liked Pclinux, for its ability to recognise my hardware and not have to look around for the every-day software needed; its incorporated in the default selection.

I now have the 2010 version (Gnome)on my Dell desktop and laptop. "It just works" for me and the set-up I have.

My laptop has less than a GB of ram and it runs well on that too. Wireless was straight forward on both desktop and laptop.

For a free product this is amazing; well done the team who put this together.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration