LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Fedora Project
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Fedora 12
Reviews Views Date of last review
20 90728 03-30-2012
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
85% of reviewers None indicated 6.6



Description: "The Fedora Project, a Red Hat, Inc. sponsored and community-supported open source collaboration, today announced the availability of Fedora 12, the latest version of its free, open-source operating system distribution. Fedora 12 includes a robust feature set for desktop users, administrators, developers and open source enthusiasts alike. New enhancements available in Fedora 12 include next-generation Ogg Theora video, virtualization improvements and advancements to NetworkManager, among numerous others."
Keywords: Red-Hat Ogg-Theora virtualization NetworkManager


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 12-19-2009, 02:52 PM   #1
extracool
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:



thnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnx a lot
 
Old 12-23-2009, 07:08 AM   #2
Amilcore
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Distribution: Fedora, Gentoo, Debian
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Much projects this distro, very fast, easy config normal uses or profiles users
Cons: Not long life for programs stable status.


Good Distro in General.
Problems with performes in the HW moderns.
 
Old 12-27-2009, 12:58 PM   #3
yalniz_efe
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


thank youuuu
 
Old 01-22-2010, 11:47 PM   #4
dfowensby
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Oz Unity Diamond IIB [x64 xfce]
Posts: 194

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: good security, bleeding edge, tight code
Cons: hard to use files, severe low quality 3rd party support


i really detest using debian/ubuntu, but until this distro wakes up, it's the better choice.
 
Old 02-14-2010, 02:12 PM   #5
chickenlinux
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Distribution: Fedora 12, Arch Linux (updated daily =D)
Posts: 270

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Newer software, rolling release, easy setup, yum
Cons: Some major persistant bugs


I've used fedora in the past, but didn't like it because I couldn't accelerate my graphics hardware. I read that they now have experimental support for 3-d on my radeon chipset with KMS, which is great for me, as I hate fglrx.

I was using Fedora for a while, the Xfce is nice, but it wasn't long until the kernel crashed on me :( It proceeded to do so at least 14 times that day. 14 times. Not even UBUNTU is that bad! To alleviate your problems with Fedora 12:
1. rebuild libdrm and mesa from git, along w/ radeon driver.
2. USE A VANILLA KERNEL
3. Rebuild Firefox from source. Fedoraproject.org says that only their firefox will work, but they are wrong.

All my problems are now alleviated, but it took forever. Furthermore, I had 14 kernel crashes in one day (pathetic!) and 12 other crashes that were just graphics crashes. They are all gone now.

Unless you want some headaches that must be fixed because all you will take is Fedora, or you're required to have version 12, just skip this release entirely. Trust me, you're not missing out on anything.
 
Old 03-07-2010, 08:03 AM   #6
dsmyth
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Distribution: Fedora 12
Posts: 26

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: plenty of software available on the repo
Cons: difficult to upgrade.


I've been using this distro for about 3 months and haven't had any problems with it. All the software I want and need can be found (yum, rpm, or compiled from source) runs fast runs secure, has all the manuals, all the tools, I'm happy and I like it. To me it's a good distribution.

But wait... the laptop it runs on is pretty crap. Doesn't have kick ass 3D graphics, doesn't have a sound card to make your ears bleed, and I do everything from the terminal so no heavy graphic applications are used.

It is also a very difficult distribution to upgrade, sudo yum upgrade is basically a suicide command.

Regardless of that; it's the one I use.
 
Old 03-28-2010, 07:45 AM   #7
12qoo34
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


it is so good and thanks for your share.
 
Old 03-29-2010, 05:00 AM   #8
microsoft900
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


thanks a lotttttt
 
Old 04-01-2010, 12:09 AM   #9
discoverthis
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Distribution: Fedora, Red Hat Enterprise
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: available software
Cons: issues with network controller and crash notifications


I selected the distro based on a book i picked up to teach myself linux.
 
Old 04-01-2010, 08:30 AM   #10
min123456789
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


thanks
 
Old 04-06-2010, 04:03 AM   #11
niket_joshi2006
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: dsd
Cons: fsfs


sdfsfsfsfsdfsfsdfsdfsdf
 
Old 04-18-2010, 05:40 AM   #12
barf14
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Best Linux Distro Ever
Cons: Some java stuff doesn't work


As usual no licenced stuff included but that is easily fixed by adding rpmfusion to the repositories and you can get flash from Adobe.
It looks great and works perfectly. I've got it installed on 3 boxes: 2 PCs and one laptop.
The PCs are dual core intel with ATI graphics and 64 bit quad core AMD with Nvidia graphics. The Laptop is an old 64 bit Turion with ATI graphics and broadcom wireless. Performance is excellent esp., boot speed. Network Manager is a dream now (I used to disable this because it was pain in the A) for the first time ever I can turn on/off the wireless with a click of the mouse and using my mobile as a modem was so simple, took about 3 mins to set up. Great work guys.
 
Old 04-19-2010, 04:30 AM   #13
marifaydin
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


teşekkürle adamım eline sağlık :)
 
Old 04-23-2010, 08:52 AM   #14
diecui1202
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


dfdsfasdf
 
Old 04-25-2010, 10:19 AM   #15
legendking
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


tsk ederim
 
Old 04-27-2010, 06:52 AM   #16
Atwin
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: FreeBSD 8.0 & Fedora 12
Posts: 50

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Streamlined, Simple, Fast, Classy, UPdating packages is a Breeze. It just works
Cons: Still looking for one after 5 months of using it. Maybe support for some ATI cards.



It is an excellent Operating System which just works out of the box with no or minimal configuration. Unlike Ubuntu 9.10, it did not overheat my Core 2 Duo Server and crash it. It even works like a charm on my 4-year-old Centrino Duo Laptop - with the 3D effects and everything (ATI Mobility X1600).

Currently using the x86_64 version on my homeserver for web, dns, NFS, Samba, CUPS and Media Sharing services. And my laptop has the x86 version. They both work so well. Hats off to the Fedora team for bringing yet another robustly pleasant beast.
 
Old 06-01-2010, 11:10 PM   #17
get2gether
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: just updated with 533 updates to install, "Yum" handled it all smoothly
Cons: short "end of life" period


Ok, i have only recently installed Fedora 12.1 (Omega boxer). Never used a red-hat distro before, other OS on the box is Ubuntu 10.4, both are gnome desktop, both are extremely close for performance and boot times, though with some major differences under the hood. Out of the box media support comes with Fedora 12.1 Omega (remix). As stated above, after installation their were 533 updates needed as the last update included with the ISO was November 09, so after some hesitation and thought (after all, for another 150MB's i could have downloaded Fedora 13, but decided this would be an excellent test for the installer's (yum) capability! Yes, from the Gui there were issue's initially that prevented further upgrade, so from command line sudo yum upgrade and away she went, flames and black smoke pouring out the back of the machine, you could here her reaching close to the speed of light, for hours she pushed on and on until all had downloaded and installed. Next came the moment of truth, a reboot (Only one!) and up came my desktop login and graphical environment! Just beautiful, amazing, to think i had doubted her, i slowly shrank away.
One of the most import key areas today, is the ability of the package manager and the man behind it. I say a fantastic job well done! I will certainly be sticking with Fedora 12.1 Omega until it's end of life.
 
Old 09-10-2010, 02:29 PM   #18
oldgot
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Posts: 27

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros:
Cons: Does not specified the hardware


I would not recommend it.
 
Old 09-10-2010, 11:49 PM   #19
SA_Ron
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Multiple. Depends on my mood.
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: Easy wireless configuration
Cons: serious hard drive issues with SATA and PATA drives


This is for the KDE version.

I booted up the liveCD. When it came up, I was happy about how easy it was to get my wireless card up and running. It was one click, then my WPA password and bang, my network was up.

Went downhill from there. I have a master drive which has my main distro (PCLinuxOS) and one or two other distros. My slave drive has my data (pics, sounds, docs, etc).
I had issues with CentOS 5.5 spitting out I/O errors on the slave drive, so just for fun I mounted that drive while I was in the LiveCD just to check.

Wow! Good thing I checked. The LiveCD saw my master drive as the slave and the slave as the master. (It thought sda was sdb and sdb was sda) If I hadn't checked first, I could have easily lost all my data.

Needless to say, I got rid of this distro real quick.

Why it did this, I don't know. I may research it later just for fun, but I'm certainly not going to try installing it.

I will try Fedora 13 just for fun and see if it has the same problem with my drive. Just to be clear, CentOS had a problem with this drive and now Fedora 12 does too. However, I have used multiple other distros that never gave me these problems. In other words, it ain't the disk.

UPDATE:
After some research I have found that the problem ain't the disk. My master drive is SATA and my slave is PATA. Seems that Fedora insists that the PATA drive has to be seen first. First distro I've come across where this is the case. The solutions involve editing the /etc/fstab (not relevant because I haven't even installed it) or going into the BIOS and changing a setting for the drive (this is beyond ridiculous).

I've downgraded my rating from a "2" to a "1".
 
Old 03-30-2012, 04:54 PM   #20
vspirandeli
 
Registered: Mar 2012
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


thanks
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration