LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Other
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
  · Next Product »

sidux 2009-03
Reviews Views Date of last review
2 35818 01-04-2010
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.5



Description: "We have the pleasure to announce the immediate availability of sidux 2009-03 'Momos', shipping with Linux kernel 2.6.31 and KDE 4.3.2. For 'Momos', the development had to take massive upstream changes for SysVInit, insserv, X.Org and device detection into account, but it also concentrated on furthering the KDE 4 integration into sidux and upgrading to Linux kernel 2.6.31. Subsequently, it is the first sidux release to ship without KDE 3 or Qt 3 packages. Linux kernel 2.6.31 doesn't only improve and stabilise hardware support for newer devices, it also provides initial support for USB 3.0 devices and the Sound Blaster X-Fi sound card."
Keywords: kernel-2.6.31 KDE-4.3.2 USB-3.0 X-Fi


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 11-23-2009, 10:57 PM   #1
marblesbot
 
Registered: Nov 2009
Distribution: Arch, FreeBSD, Sidux
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: bleeding edge software, easy to install
Cons: easy to install



Not much of a real review. Been using sidux for a only a few weeks. Don't use sidux forums so I don't know much about the problems written in other reviews. Sidux is all debian so I don't see there actually being a problem with going eslewhere for help.

I am a big fan of the "rolling release" linux. I haven't had any problems with stability yet. So I don't know how well sidux does with their own repos if something in the debian sid repos gets to be unstable.

The installation was so easy and so fast I thought I might have done it wrong. I didn't. Works great right away. Also it is not bloated with unneeded or unknown software installed at the beginning like some other easy to install distros.

Everything from debian sid is there. Plus, being 100% compatible, all the other unoffical repos nobody talks about. So just about every piece of software you could ever want to use in linux is easily installed. I understand the need for a stable operating system, but for a home user I would recommend a rolling release like sidux. There is a lot of work that goes into the debian project and it seems like the sidux team tries to keep the unstable sid branch stable for it's users. Although, I haven't had any real problems with sid in the past. The only thing I see that should be followed is the one rule that the sidux team has made clear is the upgrade process. Follow that and this is one great linux distro.
 
Old 01-04-2010, 10:08 PM   #2
masinick
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Distribution: Debian, sidux, antiX, SimplyMEPIS, Kubuntu, Mandriva, Fedora, Xandros, Arch, and many others
Posts: 560

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: FAST, clean, reliable, especially for something called "unstable"
Cons: Arrogant developers, poor listeners, missing utilities once an integral part of sidux


This is still a great distribution, but I recommend ignoring the developer recommendations, go grab smxi and use it as long as it continues to work. sidux is a very well optimized distribution and the work that the support team does to identify breakages in the Debian Sid packages is rare, and valuable.

The forum and the arrogant attitude of a few prominent individuals there, and the cowering servitude of those who remain make the sidux forum a hostile place for anyone who is opinionated - I exited months ago, but a few months too late and caught a tongue lashing from the developers. I won't be back in the forum, I will heavily criticize the forum, but continue to praise the distribution - but only for those who can use it with skill without the aide of what may once have been a helpful place. If you are independent, use this anyway; just avoid the sidux forum!
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration