LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > MEPIS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

SimplyMEPIS 8.0
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 37294 08-19-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 10.0



Description: "MEPIS LLC has released SimplyMEPIS 8.0, the community edition of MEPIS 8.0. SimplyMEPIS 8.0 uses a Debian 'Lenny stable' foundation enhanced with a long-term support kernel, key package upgrades, and the MEPIS Assistant applications to create an up-to-date, ready-to-use desktop computer system. In addition to Linux kernel 2.6.27.18, MEPIS 8.0 includes many desktop applications, for example KDE 3.5.10, OpenOffice.org 3.0, and Firefox 3.0.6. To support US Government deployment of DNSsec and IPv6, MEPIS 8.0 includes BIND 0.9.6 and IPv6 is enabled out of the box. Virtualization is easily supported by downloading KVM 84 and libvirt 0.6.0 from the MEPIS 8.0 package pool."
Keywords: Lenny-Stable MEPIS-Assistant KDE DNSsec IPv6 BIND


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 03-09-2009, 03:31 PM   #1
newbiesforever
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Distro-homeless. Lost.
Posts: 1,886

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: "just works"; runs wireless networks easily, even from liveCD
Cons: none evident



Like MEPIS 7, MEPIS 8 "just works," but there are very few substantial differences that are obvious to a non-expert like me. It seems to be neither a huge improvement nor a huge regression, just a slight enhancement.

Looking through the menu, I find that the programs haven't changed greatly.
-New program called "Jbidwatcher," which apparently monitors online auction bidding. I don't know why they included this, really.
-A couple of new games in the Games/Tactics and Strategy submenu.
-Image viewer called Gwenview, which I haven't seen before.
-If MEPIS 7 didn't have OpenOffice Impress, it does now. It hadn't been in the submenu.
-System-->Settings submenu now has a utility for configuring a Sony Vaio laptop.
-Layout of MEPIS Network Editor has been changed. I find these tabs slightly easier to navigate. Certainly it's at least as easy to set up my wireless network.
 
Old 03-15-2009, 04:46 PM   #2
eselma
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Distribution: Debian Wheezy, SolydK, MX14.2
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Hardware recognition - stable Debian base - Easy of use
Cons: none up to now


Having to mantain 5 or six computers (laptops and desktop) with different hardware can be quite tricky. Most of us know about how well XX distro works in one box, but no in another. Also happens with YY distro, but viceversa. Up to now I could find only one distro working flawlessly on all computers about I care of. Even the tiny Acer One works perfectly with this edition of Simply Mepis that I could try two years before. nVidia, intel or ATI cards are well recognized; different chipsets and AMD-64, AMB-32, Centrino or Atom are happy with this version. So I left Kubuntu when the distro was at beta stage, but has kept rock-solid up today, when the final version is out.

Another good reason is to keep the mature KDE 3.5.10 instead of 4.X. Yes, now there are a community version of Simply Mepis with the newer (and less buggy) KDE 4.2, but I prefer keep with a safe desktop: all these computers are production boxes.

Other than that, Mepis has a set of utilities that does not mask the "real Debian Linux" who is behind.
 
Old 08-19-2009, 09:37 AM   #3
masinick
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Distribution: Debian, sidux, antiX, SimplyMEPIS, Kubuntu, Mandriva, Fedora, Xandros, Arch, and many others
Posts: 560

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, easy to install, great community
Cons: Not your choice if you want cutting edge


IF you want a distribution that can be checked out first from CD (KNOPPIX was perhaps the first distro to popularize this, but MEPIS was the first to create a simple way to install from a Live CD in an easy and reliable way), and you want an easy to install system that can do all of the routine things that a simple desktop system is capable of doing, a system that is clean, well designed, carefully put together, well maintained, with an active, helpful community behind it, then this is one of the best choices, for many, the best, period.

The only complaints I have seen - and they are minor, is that the file system table uses some non standard conventions in the interest of creating a simple approach, and the same is true of the boot loader. Also, in the past, the software tended to lag with updates, especially of things like browsers and Email clients, which frequently change.

Even some of these minor nits are being addressed, however, through the community, which has their own optional package repository to keep frequently changing software updated. Those packages tend to be of high quality, so they are a good way to keep a stable, easy to use system current.

Discussions are already taking place regarding the next release. The MEPIS Lovers Forum is the place to have those discussions, and that forum also is a great asset to the community and to this outstanding distribution.

For those wanting a simple, stable system (which itself gets software from a very stable system - Debian Stable), this is perhaps the best choice you are likely to find, and I give it my top rating.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration