LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Debian GNU/Linux 5.0
Reviews Views Date of last review
32 170683 11-16-2010
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
97% of reviewers None indicated 9.1



Description: "The Debian Project is pleased to announce the official release of Debian GNU/Linux version 5.0 (code-named 'Lenny') after 22 months of constant development. Debian GNU/Linux is a free operating system which supports a total of twelve processor architectures and includes the KDE, GNOME, Xfce, and LXDE desktop environments. This release includes numerous updated software packages, such as the K Desktop Environment 3.5.10, an updated version of the GNOME desktop environment 2.22.2, the Xfce 4.4.2 desktop environment, LXDE 0.3.2.1, the GNUstep desktop 7.3, X.Org 7.3, OpenOffice.org 2.4.1, GIMP 2.4.7...."
Keywords: Lenny K_Desktop architectures desktop


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 03-10-2009, 08:27 PM   #1
paperboy
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu D/B with Mint (Gnome)
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy Installation on Acer 9300 Laptop
Cons: None yet



This distro has made me a happy camper! I was having a problem getting a linux distro to even install properly on this laptop. (Could be just my ineptitude :-) )Seemed every distro had some glitch that just made it feel "not complete". Simple things like not shutting down properly, x-server problems, wireless and the list goes on. Even some of the "big" names like Suse and Mandriva wouldn't install. However.... "Lenny" installed without a hitch, detected all my hardware properly, and wireless just worked without any congifuration. All I had to do were a few "tweaks" to get it set up the way I wanted and added a few "non-free" packages to round it off. All in all, I am very pleased with Debian and will continue to use it on my lappy until it won't work any more! Probably will take a very long time though! Kudos to the Debian team. It's done right!
 
Old 03-22-2009, 04:57 AM   #2
addux
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04, Debian Squeeze, Windows 7
Posts: 67

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy Install, Free Software foundation, speed
Cons: still some issues


Another great release, in my opinion, from Debian. Stable, fast, secure as usual. My biggest problem is with the iwl3945 driver and ucode/can't get my wireless card to work (good thing I don't use it). I've been with Debian since Etch was released and don't plan on leaving anytime soon. Free Software foundation has a plethora of apps and alternatives to just about everything.
 
Old 03-26-2009, 09:57 AM   #3
thebusker
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Rock Solid | Huge Community | Trim Install | Ensures You KNOW Linux
Cons: Steeper Learning Curve | Ensures You KNOW Linux


I am knew to Linux after being a 'power-user' in PC for a while. I am not a programmer _yet_ nor am I network or parts guy. I learned Illustrator and Photoshop and loved lurking in the darker corridors of the windows root structure. So that was me and then I decided to try Linux about four days ago.

Distro hopped from Debian/Ubuntu/Fedora/OpenSuSe/gNewSense/Debian. Each had their flavor, their strengths and their weaknesses. I chose Debian because 1) The Community, 2) The Reputation of Strength, 3) The Rigorous Principles of FOSS and 4) I liked it.

I had to hack xorg.conf to see the splash login. I still have to fix my audio and wireless. But I am really learning what Linux is, and by relying on the community for the help - I am learning what FOSS is. Good stuff. Glad I chose Linux. Glad I chose Debian.

I've installed Mint as a Live USB stick, and hi-jacked my wife's Vista box with it. It's fun and I like it too but I haven't needed to learn anything with it. So as far as 'the movement' or any sense of community - were it my only distro there wouldn't be any of it.

So I wholly recommend Debian 5 - Lenny. It has a steeper learning curve than other distro's if your new to Linux, but it pays in dividends with the energy you put into it. Good stuff. Glad I chose Debian. Glad to be here.
 
Old 05-30-2009, 06:03 PM   #4
hasienda
 
Registered: May 2009
Distribution: Debian/GNU Linux
Posts: 36

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: FOSS, social contract, dpkg packet management, focus on security
Cons: steep learning curve, if new to Linux, lacks latest software/kernel


Fresh Debian GNU/Linux installations are easy in these days. I started with Linux back in 1999 and did everything from the command line.

Needed to know more than average to install, even more to configure. But it pays back, when it comes to administration skills, security awareness and more. I never left my first choice - Debian.

My first Debian system is still running: While it resides now in the 2nd case, on 3rd set of hard disks and runs on 4th mainboard it was never re-installed, just upgraded to lenny (5.0). If you'd like to work and meanwhile do a full system upgrade - without rebooting, Debian is for you. I love it (again).
 
Old 06-07-2009, 10:00 AM   #5
Olle Gladso
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Mandriva 2009.1 powerpack
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: The social contract. The FOSS principles. Very few, if any, bugs.
Cons: The autologin bug in Gnome. (Not Debians fault)


I have used Mepis some and Mandriva for several years.
I wanted to used Debian for a long time, mainly because of the social contract, but was never quite able to install it due to my ineptitude. Finally, with 5.0 I hit a home run. I love it and will stick with Debian. Maybe Debian can fix the auto login keyboard bug in Gnome?
 
Old 06-16-2009, 03:58 PM   #6
ferenc
 
Registered: Apr 2001
Distribution: Debian stable
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: stable, easy maintenance
Cons: none


I have over a hundred machines loaded with this OPsys and have never had a problem with them. Most of the machines are used for molecular simulation so I may not be the best source for information on desktop or gaming systems. I my wife and daughter and a lot of my colleagues use it for a standard desktop without any problems however.
 
Old 06-20-2009, 10:07 PM   #7
Absent Minded
 
Registered: Nov 2007
Distribution: Debian testing
Posts: 74

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Great stability and security. Easy to use daily.
Cons: Doesn't include much for GUI config tools.


I have been with Debian since Sarge. I normally went witht he testing string but I have loved Lenny so much that I have kpet it running on my Desktops. As always I only use stable on my server. It does a great job and I never have to do anything to it as it just keeps runing. Instead of upgrades though I always do clean installs.
 
Old 06-23-2009, 08:34 PM   #8
mark_alfred
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu Linux
Posts: 1,033

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons: emelfm didn't make it


Fantastic. After reading the release notes, I had no problems upgrading Etch to Lenny. My only complaint is that emelfm, a favourite file manager of mine, did not make it from Etch to Lenny. Other than that, it's great.
 
Old 06-24-2009, 05:51 PM   #9
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 3,020

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Stability, large repository
Cons: Installation, package management


Two weeks ago I moved to Debian from Fedora, in search of long-term support and fewer cutting-edge (i.e. inadequately-tested) items. I'm still trying to get it to work properly: Debian today is less friendly that Fedora was five years ago.

I kept my existing /home partition, with the result that I couldn't log in. The explanation was that Debian uses 1000 for the first uid, instead of 500. Easy to deal with (if you know what a uid is) once you're told: so why don't the installation instructions mention this? Handing the partitions was less intuitive than with Fedora. There was no custom install, so I ended up with a lot of stuff I didn't want. Package management is confusing and ill-documented: I'm still getting offers of updates for uninstalled items and some things won't uninstall.

Basically I can't see the point of Debian Stable. If you're a hobbyist, you presumably would prefer something more cutting-edge. If you want a SOHO system, you don't want something that needs endless tinkering: get CentOS.
 
Old 08-02-2009, 02:59 AM   #10
EricTRA
 
Registered: May 2009
Distribution: Fedora 20 with Awesome WM
Posts: 6,805

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Stable and secure
Cons:


I've been 'playing' around with various distros but one has been my favourite for almost 5 years now and that's Debian. We have about 15 servers running and only 3 of them are RHEL, the others all Debian 5.

For servers environments Debian is i.m.h.o. the best there is.
 
Old 08-03-2009, 02:23 PM   #11
MBybee
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Distribution: PC-BSD / FreeBSD / Debian / Ubuntu / Win7 / OpenVMS
Posts: 438

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Stable, good security, good package tools
Cons: Not quite as user focused as the Debian Derivatives


I am a big fan of Debian, and have been for many years. It's stable, solid, and reliable. I find the performance tends to be quite acceptable, and the default installation is very trim without a lot of needless software, services, and bloat.

As someone else complained - it's not RedHat. That is very true, it's Debian. Debian goes back nearly to the beginning, and it has stayed true to the fundamental principals. It is a solid, well maintained system.

I have Lenny installed on several systems, among them multiple laptops, servers, and desktops. With the exception of some weirdness with the B43 wireless drivers, everything else has functioned quite well out of the box on Lenny.
 
Old 08-07-2009, 04:33 AM   #12
myunique
 
Registered: Jul 2009
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons:


thanks
 
Old 08-17-2009, 03:01 PM   #13
harrygraham
 
Registered: Apr 2001
Distribution: Ubuntu Gnome
Posts: 153

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: very stable, large repos & variety of architectures
Cons: Too many choices for average user


I used the Debian Sarge for a year or so and always found it a bit on the sluggish side. This was with a Pentium 4 2.0Ghz and 512Mb. Anyways, finally I realized that there might be something wrong hardware-wise with the old beast and relegated it to just running XP. So I went out and snagged a refurbished HP with an Athlon 64-bit processor and put Debian 5 (Lenny) on it, and it is much, MUCH faster - faster than than anything I've owned before. It usually boots in less than 30 seconds, and closes down in 15. As well, I can run Gnome programs alongside KDE programs and it doesn't bog down at all. So I don't know what the guys at Debian did, but the Athlon 64 kernel works great!

I think the big problem with Debian is enabling repositories and then regretting it. I only allow main & contrib and install selected extra programs individually. It gets too complicated when you start enabling so many sources, and it's a bit much to ask that they all work together flawlessly. Guess I'm pretty conservative, and that's probably why I like Debian - a very conservative, yet still exciting OS.
 
Old 08-18-2009, 12:21 AM   #14
lovelyHanibal
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Debian lenny, Knoppix
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: easy to install new stuff, stable, large repo
Cons: usualy fail to auto config X


I always copy X config from knoppix.
 
Old 08-18-2009, 01:15 AM   #15
robertkey
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Distribution: Debian testing amd64
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Huge repositry, all my apps exist in Debian AMD64
Cons: can be difficult to track some version changes in testing, especially booting from usb mem sticks.


I ahve been using Debian AMD64 linux for several years now. Develop sofwtare in java , C++ and everything works well. Large repositry ensures I have everything. Using virtualbox from sun microsystems I can test networking sofware between several computers on a single computer! I use the latest weekly build and is just as stable as 502. Wonderful.
Rob Key
 
Old 09-24-2009, 09:51 AM   #16
svalovic
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: debian lenny, squeeze, Ubuntu Netbook Remix, Puppy
Posts: 32

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: large repo, stable
Cons: none



I run debian lenny on a 6 years old notebook, 10 years old PC and on new Toshiba NB205 netbook (with newer kernel because of ath9k wifi driver on this netbook). Works perfectly.
 
Old 10-07-2009, 01:34 AM   #17
khodeir
 
Registered: Feb 2009
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 243

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: stable,good support
Cons: none


it is perfect as i said, and it works very well on my new hp laptop
i got a very good support here in Debian section , I post my problem and they reply very fast with the soltuin
I am very happy with it
 
Old 10-07-2009, 10:13 PM   #18
in_texas_dallas
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Distribution: Debian Lenny
Posts: 38

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Robust, reliable
Cons:


I started on Ubuntu and really liked Ubuntu. Some things I noticed was that some features were a bit buggy/unreliable. Liking to be able to adjust and tweak things is important to me, so I migrated to Debian once I got somewhat familiar with the bash shell.

My first install of Debian has been positive. In fact, I just got an old computer, P3, and installed Debian on that... Looking forward to getting some remote desktop going on in that box.
 
Old 10-10-2009, 08:43 AM   #19
honeybadger
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Distribution: Slackware (mainly) and then a lot of others...
Posts: 847

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Well this is debian
Cons: wireless ....


Well, it was what is expected out of a debian release - great operating system. The wait was long but then it was worth the wait.
I have debian on a laptop - everything worked fine apart from the wireless card. Well, since the OS told me what drivers I needed it was no paint to download the drivers and get that running too.
 
Old 10-15-2009, 09:54 AM   #20
alleyoopster
 
Registered: Jul 2008
Distribution: Debian testing / unstable
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Huge choice of setup, stable, fast, secure, free in both senses
Cons: A little bit of setting up required


Stable can get a little long in the tooth towards the end of it's cycle and the craving for the latest becomes unbearable for some, but it really does work well, trouble free and solid OS.

I haven't found another distribution that runs as well and requires as little attention as debian stable.

Testing can be a little bit more demanding, but can be a great compromise having a relatively stable system and a rolling release.
 
Old 10-15-2009, 09:03 PM   #21
in_texas_dallas
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Distribution: Debian Lenny
Posts: 38

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to setup; hardware detection mostly effortless; customization options almost unlimited; more reliable/robust than Ubuntu Jaunty
Cons: graphic cards


Hi,

I started on Ubuntu [Jaunty Jackelope]. I really liked Ubuntu, everything was easy peasy from start to finish. I used it for a few months and then migrated to Debian as I needed more options and robustness out of certain features. I feel that because they tailor Ubuntu towards being more new-user friendly that they don't spend quite as much time to make it as stable as Debian. I really appreciate the robustness and stability of Debian.

The only thing that I have had a bad experience with is getting a graphics driver. I did inevitably find out how to do that, but it was an older driver that was in the repository [a repository ... semi-official or unofficial]... I wish they would have the non-free driver maintained more officially [and up to date] for 3d graphics. The "default" drivers that come installed are not even close for 3d... I use my computer for school and some play...

Otherwise, I have had a great experience and in fact put it on another older computer that is becoming a web server soon.
 
Old 11-26-2009, 12:15 PM   #22
Web31337
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Distribution: Gentoo, LFS
Posts: 399

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Fast install,almost all software available in binary packages with initscripts also,easy to manage
Cons: not everything in Lenny is so stable as stated


Debian lenny: it was the first distro i installed. I mean i installed ubuntu and opensuse and some other distros before but they didn't last more than 48 hours. Currently still using lenny.
I really like this distro. It is easy, it is good as a server distro, and it's package manager is good and allows to install software at once.
What i dislike it's a GUI. Versions of some software that are stated as stable don't really are.
For instance, let's take a known bug in xfce 4, which is discussed since 2006. A bug causing memory leak in xfdesktop and it eats about 100-200M ram in 2-5 days. This one was added into Lenny which since that fails to be named "stable". End user doesn't really want it and he doesn't really want to rebuild xfce to install a new one that has this bug fixed or look for some patches himself and play with sources. So... GUI is quite a fail here, but that doesn't apply to CLI software, it's perfect. It may be called stable for real. Yet I didn't notice any bugs on console-side.
What i also really like in this distro: maintainers fix security bugs, there is a security.debian.org repo, having all bugfixes that are about security. It's really good, i think.
I would recommend this for you as a starting distro, if you want to learn linux and use it for desktop work. And as a stable server platform too.
Still, I am not feeling myself here as free as in slackware or gentoo where it feels like I am a master of system.
 
Old 12-01-2009, 08:01 PM   #23
timluo
 
Registered: Nov 2009
Distribution: Debian GNU/Linux
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: origin
Cons: not so idea for a desktop


after went through other distros like RedHat, Slackware, FreeBSD, I stopped to stay to Debian family. for personal desktop, i still use Ubuntu LTS version, but don't like the way it modifies other software. (e.g. the xorg.conf get lost in Ubuntu 9.10).
For any other usage, Debian Lenny is my no.1 choice. It hasn't crashed even one single time. Just love it. If get more time, I'd like to try to customize Debian so that my Debian can also be a fancy desktop (quite a bit lazy for doing that.) Debian forever.
 
Old 12-17-2009, 10:12 AM   #24
srnsk
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: fast, secure, pretty good supporting community
Cons:


secure os that is easy to install on even my old p3 pc and also on my latest laptop. Definitely easier than the installation of sarge (that was the debian that i installed on my p3 machine).
 
Old 01-04-2010, 11:39 PM   #25
nssy
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Distribution: Debian Wheezy
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Greatest stability and security under very heavy load
Cons:


easy to setup as anything; from desktop,to server, etc
 
Old 02-19-2010, 07:48 AM   #26
Laurens73
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Distribution: Debian squeeze (Gnome) on netbooks; Debian Lenny on servers and Debian wheezy (XFCE) on new laptops
Posts: 144

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast, secure, stable, easy configurable, Stable upgrading to next distro level
Cons: No direct support for firmware


Unfortunatly Debian doesn't have full hardware support for the latest hardware, but if a concept is 6 months or older I certainly would recommend intalling it. Especially the speed and stability makes Debian the best choice.
 
Old 04-03-2010, 12:16 PM   #27
ax25nut
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Distribution: Several flavors of Linux, BSD Unix, even DOS & Win-doze
Posts: 56

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy install, pkg management & updates. Runs fast.
Cons: some drivers may not be there out of box..


I first tried debian back in the mid-90's when docs were somewhat spotty, and I was very linux-ignorant, so I used slackware & freebsd until about 2000 or so. I now use Debian 5.04 on my desktop machine, which multi-boots along with two Puppies and DesktopBSD 1.7 using GRUB. While it's not slackware, it DOES install easier via GUI, and adding packages is easier. It just works, and works well. I've used Synaptic to add a number of packages easily, and all seems to work flawlessly without the need to hunt down endless dependencies and re-compile like I did on early linux/unix distros. For a fast, secure desktop machine, this is the way to go, as it has one of the longest histories known in the linux world. For those that want to seriously LEARN Linux, I'd still recommend Slackware first, but Debian is nevertheless a great distro for simplicity, ease of use, speed, and security right out of the box.
 
Old 05-12-2010, 10:30 AM   #28
perezomail
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Distribution: slackware lubuntu + andoid 2.3 phone
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: support for my ip2600 printer
Cons: new programs or those available from getdeb.net unavailable


for xmas last year i got a new to me computer currently running on mepis 8.5 and debian for my privet use i have a netbook currently on lucid or ububuntu 10-4 mepis is for the family use which is kde (im not a fan of) which once was able to print without issue on my canon ip200 so i downloaded and made a cd of debian for my slave drive now if i have to print anything from any computer in the house it is sent to debian for somereason ubuntu mepis and a number of others ive tested do not support this printer without issue the only issue i have with debian is the grub for some reason when i tried three times to install it on my netbook it was asking for a grub rescue so i gave up and 12 distros later i put on my netbook ubuntu which is a little bloted compaired to debian as it stands my favorite distro between the three is debian
 
Old 07-22-2010, 01:22 AM   #29
yotka
 
Registered: Nov 2009
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy instalation on Presario c700. Very stable.
Cons:


I've been using Lenny since its r3. The instalation was fast. Although the wireless card were detected, it used the wrong drivers, but after two steps it was ready.

The external VGA monitor was detected, I just had to use xrandr to set it up.

Unlike Etch, were the instalation was painfull for novices, Lenny with its xorg detected almost everithing.

It works fast with 1GB of RAM.

Strongly recommended for those who want a stabile and fast distro.
 
Old 09-14-2010, 02:24 AM   #30
AwesomeMachine
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Debian jessie/sid; OpenSuSE; Fedora
Posts: 1,591

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Best Software Selection, Industry Standard, Tried and True, Flexibility and Power, Versitle, Best Documentation, Real Linux, Excellent Package Management and Custom Build Tools, Follows FSH II Standard, Many Fast Mirrors, Highly Customizable, Excellent De
Cons: Not Intended for Use On Bleeding Edge Hardware, Difficult for Beginners to Learn, Steep Learning Curve, People Think it's an Offshoot of Ubuntu, Stable Branch is Ancient, Testing Branch is Stable, Unstable Branch is Chaos, Mainly Intended for Developers a


I started on SuSE Linux 7.2. I quickly got frustrated with the lack of actual Linux, and tried Debian Woody, which is no longer supported. I've been using it ever since. Once you learn Debian you can work magic. It's a light system. I've run it on Pentium III 1.0 Ghz with 384 MB SDram. It works great.<br><br>I run it on my lappy. I have a tendency to forget the battles I fought learning some of the more difficult ins and outs. Ubuntu is Debian based. It's better for newbie to begin with that. Debian is an ancient distro from before dinosaurs.<br><br>Only Slackware is older, and it came from a different planet. If you want a cryptic but responsive distro, kind of like race car vs a 4-cyl. auto tranny, get Debian. I'm not an operating system evangelist. <br><br>I love Debian, but I hated it before I loved it. It's a great distro!<br>
 
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration