LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > KNOPPIX
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

KNOPPIX 6.0
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 43947 02-24-2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
67% of reviewers None indicated 4.0



Description: "KNOPPIX 6.0.0 / ADRIANE 1.1. Complete rebuild from scratch, based on Debian 'Lenny' (draft); new boot procedure with highly parallelized hardware detection and configuration; LXDE as default desktop; OpenOffice.org 3.0.1; Firefox / Iceweasel 3.0.5; starts blind-friendly, talking ADRIANE menu by default (use boot option 'knoppix' for directly booting into graphical desktop; very reduced software collection in order to easily fit on CD; NetworkManager (support for Debian interfaces enabled); 'flash-knoppix' - create bootable USB memory stick from CD; began porting Knoppix 5.x boot options and features to the new system (not complete yet)."
Keywords: Debian Lenny LXDE flash-knoppix


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 03-03-2009, 09:39 PM   #1
igimaster
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 27

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: It's knoppix
Cons: short on programs, LXDE desktop, learning curve, mouse will not work



They really have some work to get 6.0 back to the quality of the last release.

The lack of software and hardware support(the reason so many people used it) is sad I was unable to have any mouse function properly on my box.

Here's what gets to me fluxbox and one other (xfce maybe) used to be desktop options if someone can't launch them its because they are not reading the menus on boot. Why turn the whole project around to a lightweight desktop that is not one of the top tier. I have never heard of this desktop before. Why not make it an option under desktop let us learn to like it. At least give us KDE as an option. If we want Gnome we'd use Ubuntu or one of the million others.

I have no problem making a linux distro accessible to the blind, but make that and the old computer options seperate disk like Xubuntu or kubuntu. Maybe Blindix.

lastly the boot prompt you now have 2 seconds to hit esc or you will not be able to enter the "cheat codes". Many of us have to enter resolution to get a proper desktop.

That must be why he chose to do this he is becoming quite blind to what his users use his distro for. I can do web browsing and open office on any live distro. I use knoppix for the compatibility and tools.
 
Old 03-09-2009, 10:54 AM   #2
computerophil
 
Registered: Feb 2009
Distribution: Various: Puppy, Knoppix, Openmamba, Mandriva,......
Posts: 102

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: also in German
Cons:


I tested Version 6.0.1 with the standard LXDE-Desktop.
It is a medium sized distribution that works fine from also LiveCD.
It did everything as I inspected maybe it isn't as spectacular as you expect from the distribution that once started with the hipe of the LiveCDs. It seems that different distributions become always more similar to the others.
 
Old 03-14-2009, 04:48 AM   #3
Steve W
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04, Mint 12 LXDE
Posts: 440

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3

Pros: Fast booting from USB stick, compatible with all my hardware
Cons: Disappointing plummet from heights of 5.1.1 DVD release


Oh dear, dear, dear. And I had such high hopes for this release. You see, Knoppix 5.1.1 live DVD was my very first taste of Linux, back in March 2007. It convinced me, quite quickly, that I wanted to explore Linux further. The main reason why was because of all the (free) software present on the 5.1.1 DVD. And the fact it used by default KDE, which is very similar to Windows (handy when you only know Windows). But really it was the hugh amount of software that come with the distro.

Later on, I tried Ubuntu, which on its own has quite a limited range of software packaged with the distro (obviously you are expected to download what you want/need yourself, which is fine once you know that). I remember thinking 'Well, I'm glad Ubuntu wasn't my first impression of Linux, because I would have thought there's hardly any software to go with it', and gone straight back to Windows. Knoppix's range of included software caught my eye and convinced me to continue exploring Linux. Plus, it included NTFS read-write access (rare for a distro at the time), so I could access all the MP3s etc on my Windows-formatted hard drive.

Unfortunately, with Knoppix 6, I'd have been put right off from the word go. The limited range of software that comes with it, and the non-standard desktop functionality, would have sent me back to Windows.

What is it with distro compilers these days, and their outdated desire to have a distro that fit all on one CD? Most PCs have DVD drives these days, and USB memory sticks are available in capacities that outstrip the 4.7Gb of a DVD. To any distro makers who want to aim at the Linux beginners market (people who would almost certainly be current Windows users and are trying Linux for the first time) - I say to them 'pack that free software in there - show them what Linux can give them and don't hold back!'

If you want to impress and convert a Windows user to come over to Linux, you are going to want to quickly persuade them that this Live DVD they are trying out (once installed) can be a drop-in replacement for their current Windows system. That means it needs a little bit of everything and even a spread of good games. Also, stick the latest Wine on it so they have a chance of running some of their Windows apps on the distro. And, to be quite honest with you (are you listening, Mr Shuttleworth?) you need to have a 'Welcome to Ubuntu (or whatever)' feature that kicks in on first boot-up, explaining the whole concept of Linux, how to get new software installed, and running through the selection of software that's already installed with the distro. SELL the distro to them - and I don't mean for money, I mean give some really persuasive reasons why switching to that distro would be a good idea.

Anyway, rant over. I'll keep a copy of Knoppix 6 on a memory stick as an emergency boot-up live distro. It's compatible with my hardware, and my ethernet card, which Knoppix 5.1.1 isn't (because my PC is relatively new). But I cannot fathom why Klaus did not stick with the winning formula of a kick-ass DVD with tonnes of great stuff on it.

Steve
 
Old 04-27-2009, 05:54 PM   #4
computerophil
 
Registered: Feb 2009
Distribution: Various: Puppy, Knoppix, Openmamba, Mandriva,......
Posts: 102

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


6.1 is DVD again. But it didn't come for normal download up to now just torrents or together with linux-magazines to buy.
(Beside I like the possibility of either a CD or a DVD because mostly the CD is more than enough but for a fix installation a DVD might be better)
 
Old 11-18-2009, 08:02 AM   #5
sirvampiria
 
Registered: Nov 2009
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


excellent thanks so much
 
Old 02-24-2011, 03:35 AM   #6
amcreed
 
Registered: Feb 2011
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: It does not use your HD so your Windows XP is safe from any corruption of files.
Cons: Internet connection problem and mouse does not work.


I have been trying to connect to the net using both Knoppix Version 5.1.1 and Version 6.0 with Adriane V1.cd. Both the versions could not load my net connection. In version 6.0, mouse is not functioning as well.
But I am happy with Knoppix because Ubuntu programs does not load at all in my system.
I am sure i will find a way around to solve my probs with Knoppix.
First impression, IT IS A GREAT PROGRAMME.
I am new to Linux and tired of Freezing Windows etc.So just exploring other ways around to the OS.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration