LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > openSUSE
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

openSUSE openSUSE 11.1
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 48078 03-24-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $60.00 8.8



Description: "The openSUSE project is proud to announce the release of openSUSE 11.1. The openSUSE 11.1 release includes more than 230 new features, improvements to YaST, major updates to GNOME, KDE, OpenOffice.org, and more freedom with a brand new license, Liberation fonts, and openJDK. This is also the first release built entirely in the openSUSE Build Service. Desktop users will find a lot to like in this release. Users can choose from the leading edge of GNOME and KDE development with GNOME 2.24.1 and KDE 4.1.3. We've also included KDE 3.5.10 for users who prefer the classic KDE experience."
Keywords: YaST Gnome KDE OpenOffice


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 12-20-2008, 11:11 PM   #1
petespin27
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Distribution: Opensuse 11
Posts: 140

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Faster than 11 and 10.3, More polished KDE4
Cons: YaST, love it or hate it, radeonhd has no 3D



Machine: Thinkpad z61m with Intel 3945abg wireless, Mobility radeon x1400, IntelHDA sound, SATA drive.

I just installed OpenSuse 11.1, and it doesn't seem a whole lot different from 11.0. I installed from a KDE live CD, and I prefer the installer off of the DVD or the internet install better. There aren't as many options, but to it's credit, the installer off of the liveCD is faster. I then upgraded and installed gnome.

I had been using KDE from the factory repo in OpenSuse 11, so I did not notice any difference. Compared to the stock KDE4.0 in OpenSuse 11, it is much more polished and useable.

YaST takes a bit of getting used to. Everything is a wizard and everything is graphical, which can be nice for those who don't like to muck around with a command line, but it is a pain if you have to hunt around for that one option you need, and the wizards are slow compared to editing a config file. I much prefer the redhat/fedora graphical tools. The software install module is faster than 11.0 and much faster than 10.3.

The whole desktop 'feels' snappier. I am using the default radeonhd, as my graphics chip is a mobility radeon x1400. Unfortunately, 3D is still under development, so no compiz or ppracer unless I install the propietary fglrx driver. It is nice to do an install and have all the hardware work, though and to have suspend and hibernate work as well.
 
Old 12-22-2008, 01:00 PM   #2
bear454
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast, flexible, complete distro.
Cons: Some media formats are still a pain to use.


Blog post: "24 hours with openSUSE 11.1"

http://bear454.blogspot.com/2008/12/...nsuse-111.html
 
Old 01-02-2009, 03:01 PM   #3
mlambrechts
 
Registered: Jun 2008
Distribution: Opensuse
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: fast, complete distro
Cons: embedded media in browsers difficult to use


I'm now using 11.1 for three days, but still not able to hear audio in my favorite browsers. Was no problem in 11.0... little bit pain, but otherwise very smooth distro
 
Old 01-28-2009, 12:30 AM   #4
TheScythe
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: extensible, high degree of usefulness out of the box
Cons: kde4 is not functionally complete, kde35 falling to the wayside


I'm technical, but impatient. As such, I prefer to be able to tinker with my OS, but I get annoyed when basic operations *require* me to tinker in order to make them functional. Hence there are only two distributions that I vacillate between: Ubuntu and OpenSUSE. All other distributions to me are absurdly unusable unless one has lots of free time.

OpenSUSE 11.1 is the best release so far in that they've worked hard to improve the speed and stability of the system despite including lots of cutting-edge versions of the sofware. Almost any useful linux software is available in the massive build service repo pool if it did not come with the DVD. Such software is always guaranteed to be the latest, which can be good or bad as any linux user knows.

I was at first quite dazzled by KDE 4.1, but eventually found it to be too unstable and rather incomplete in terms of functionality. Something as basic as archiving-integration into the file manager doesn't seem to work very well. The constant compiz crashes were also frustrating, once I was able to get compiz to work at all with KDE 4.1.

I tried to use KDE 3.5 instead, but the KDE team is obviously focusing its efforts into 4.1, and 3.5 seems to be getting ignored. I found less and less software in the repos regarding it.

I ended up with the Gnome desktop instead, which I was quite surprised to find beautifully functional in OpenSUSE 11.1.

All of my hardware worked as well; no strange driver problems whatsoever (Mac Pro). The initial installer found everything. The only quirk I noticed was with the new partitioning tool included in this release: there is no way to delete LVM volumes with it...unless I missed something. If you want to wipe out your existing LVM setup, you'll need another distro to do so first!

All in all, however, it's an amazing release considering the scarce resources available to open source efforts such as this. Great work guys!
 
Old 02-01-2009, 04:02 PM   #5
fstreed
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Distribution: SuSE 11.3
Posts: 108

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $60.00 | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast, stable. Comes with a complete and very usable assortment of software.
Cons: A few bugs in KDE 4.1


My machine: ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe MOBO, XP2600 CPU, NVidia GeForce FX5200, 2 Gigs RAM, (2) 80 Gig Maxtor IDE hard drives, Plextor 8x CD burner, LG DVD burner, 17inch LCD monitor, HP 882C Deskjet printer via USB, internet through DSL connection by way of a LINKSYS router. As you can see, none of the hardware is close to current and some of it is getting ancient. This computer has been running for several years now dual booted with SUSE 9.2 and Windows 2000.

I have been using linux of one flavor or another since about SuSE 8.0 or so. I am not a tech type, more your average home user. I have learned quite a bit over the years but am still not comfortable with using a CLI for instance. This review is from that perspective.


SUSE 9.2 has been great, but I decided it was time to upgrade. I boot into Windows 2000 about twice a year, just to check if it is still there.

I ordered the boxed set with the book from Novell, $60 delivered. The first thing I noticed is that the user guides keep shrinking, 9.2 came with two thick volumes, almost a thousand pages altogether. Now that was documentation! SUSE 10.0 came with a single volume of 276 pages. 11.1 came with 246 pages. The basics are still well covered and there are of course the man pages and the support that comes with the boxed set.

The install went fairly smoothly although 11.1 came close to wiping out my 9.2 install and the Windows partition, both of which I wanted to keep. I caught it in time and a few adjustments to the partitioning scheme and I was on my way. I ended up with 11.1 installed in an unused section of hda that once, many years ago, held an install of that M$ abortion known as ME. I split it into a 15 gig / partition and a 30 gig /home partition. I used the same swap partition that I already had set up on hdb for SUSE 9.2. I used Reiser as my file system. The partitioning and formatting were actually a lot easier than it sounds for those new to this, although if you have never done it I would strongly advise spending some time with Google first. I ended up with a triple boot system; openSUSE11.1, SUSE9.2, and WIN2000. The install detected all my hardware, it connected me to the internet for updates, set up my monitor, and loaded drivers. I had to delete the driver it loaded for the printer and use a different one to get it working properly, a simple enough affair using YaST. Sound worked right out of the gate. SUSE detected and set up the floppy and the optical drives. It was a smooth installation with only a few glitches to correct later. I had a working system with internet access in a short period of time. I didn't time the install, but it was fast.

I did quite a bit of fine tuning and tweaking to get things set up the way I wanted after the install. There was a bit of a learning curve with KDE 4.1, not all of it smooth. I tried out some of the fancy new bells and whistles and was impressed until I restarted my system and it hung up and wouldn't start the GUI. Panic! Tried booting from the DVD, same problem, it would get to the point where I tried to log in and then hang up. I finally tried logging in as root and voila, I was back in action. I deleted the offending user account and set up another, the problem was solved. I suspect that my older hardware, my video card in particular, isn't up to some of the new KDE features.

SUSE 11.1 with KDE 4.1 is a much slicker OS than 9.2, my comfortable old standby. It boots up much faster. The start menu is more organized. The folder view feature for displaying desktop icons is also a nice touch, perhaps it doesn't add much increased functionality over the old KDE but it is certainly more elegant with the translucent appearance and general layout. YaST, the SUSE control center, continues to improve, it is now easier than ever for those of us who are command line klutzes to configure our systems. Setting up software repositories, networks, and general system tweaking is now easy enough for the average user to do, providing he is willing to accept that linux is not Windows and takes a very different approach on some things. That brings us back to the command line. It is very possible to set up and use SUSE and never use the command line interface at all, but learning a few of the basics of the CLI opens a world of possibilities. For one thing, if you run into problems and seek help from the geeks on forums such as this it makes it much easier for them to diagnose problems and assist you with fixes.

I am not a "power user", my computer use is fairly mundane. I mostly surf the internet. SUSE 11.1 provides Firefox and Konqueror as web browsers. I downloaded SeaMonkey from a repository and use that for most of my browsing. I have both OpenOffice and AbiWord for word processing. I use K3b for burning CDs and DVDs, I am used to it and it is like an old friend. I use CD Ripper for encoding music to mp3 files. There are several audio players included with SUSE, and more available online. They all need to be configured to work properly and you will need to obtain the proper codecs from a repository. It is not all that hard to do. I use digiKam to download and store photos. SUSE includes tons of software applications for about everything, and more are available with just the click of a mouse. I am not a gamer so the lack of support for the latest games is not a problem for me. Hard core gamers of course are stuck with that other OS from that obscenely rich guy. The rest of us, thankfully, are not under those constraints. We have open source jewels such as openSUSE 11.1 available to us.
 
Old 02-12-2009, 04:24 PM   #6
neonide
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 3
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: everything
Cons: nothing


I've been using linux before a lot of you folks were even granted root access! and I must say, this is the best distro I've ever used. everything is as it should be. linux is finally ready for grandma's pc with the release of opensuse 11.1
 
Old 02-16-2009, 12:18 PM   #7
Jetstar88
 
Registered: Feb 2009
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Stable and intuitive
Cons: Shutdown won't actually turn the computer off


This is my first experience with a Linux distro besides playing around with a friend's Ubuntu-powered laptop. I decided I wanted a little technical challenge so I got hold of an older (cheap) Win-duhs laptop (Compaq Armada E500, 850 mhz, 320 MB RAM, 30 GB HD) and went about finding a Linux distro to load onto it. Both Ubuntu and Linux Mint crashed on install and after a little more research, I decided to try openSUSE 11.1. The computer liked it, so I created a dual-boot, leaving WinXP intact for the time being. The installation and generally getting used to the new OS was surprisingly easy. The main issue I had was getting the wireless card (Linksys w/ACX111 chipset) to work. This little hurdle was overcome with the help of some kind folks over at the openSUSE forums and now everything's running smooth as silk except I still have to manually turn the computer off after going through the shutdown sequence. Not a biggie, but still kind of a pain.
 
Old 02-21-2009, 08:49 AM   #8
Ziloma
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: more stable than the previous releases, more hardware support
Cons: KDE 4.1 unstable


Machine:
Dell Studio
2.4 intel core 2 duo
4gb ram
320gb hddsk
256mb intel graphics card
Opensuse 11.1 32bit
love the whole package.
installation was flawless and simple including the partitioning.
customization was easy(installation of compiz fusion) and was working flawless.
configured my friends nvidia graphics card system the other day, and the 3d was fabulous using compiz.
i was a little bit dissappointed that broadcom drivers are no longer on the DVD media.
otherwise, keep up the good work and God bless
 
Old 03-24-2009, 05:54 PM   #9
CompanionCube
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Lovely graphics, good software, professional feeling
Cons: Awkward installation, mouse issues


Installing on a Mac left me with a crappy mouse. Luckily it just "vanished" after the 2nd reboot, but it certainly impacted my feelings on OpenSuse. The install is also a little picky - in particular the partition manager.
Other than that, OpenSuse looks good, feels professional, and should be taken more seriously. Frankly I prefer it more than Ubuntu.
 
Old 03-24-2009, 10:41 PM   #10
arodlinux
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Distribution: Slackware64 14, openSuse 12.3,
Posts: 70

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy to install and use, good hardware detection
Cons: Slow compare with other x64 distros


I will stick to it, for now. But KDE4 is sluggish.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration