LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Slackware Linux Slackware Linux 12.2
Reviews Views Date of last review
28 140743 03-09-2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $44.30 9.9



Description: "Well folks, it's that time to announce a new stable Slackware release again. Since we've moved to supporting the 2.6 kernel series exclusively (and fine-tuned the system to get the most out of it), we feel that Slackware 12.2 has many improvements over our last release (Slackware 12.1) and is a must-have upgrade for any Slackware user. Among the many program updates and distribution enhancements, you'll find two of the most advanced desktop environments available today: Xfce 4.4.3 and KDE 3.5.10. Slackware 12.2 uses the 2.6.27.7 kernel bringing you advanced performance features such as journaling filesystems, SCSI and ATA RAID volume support, SATA support, Software RAID, LVM (the Logical Volume Manager), and encrypted file systems."
Keywords: Stable Xfce KDE Raid


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 12-16-2008, 10:40 AM   #1
Linux.tar.gz
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Slackware forever.
Posts: 2,223

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $59.95 | Rating: 10

Pros: 100% pure Linux OS. Stable. Fast. Simple. No blah blah.
Cons: Well... If i'll find one, then i'll tell ya.



Here's a way to have a PC fully powered. Even an old one. No bad surprise. No bullshit. Good reactivity of updates. No 140 cd's set you'll never use. I like the poor graphisms during installation because they introduce no bug. The configuration tools (net, packages...) are quick. On the Slackware site, you have The book, from which you can learn Linux really fast. The packages system is strong. No dependencies headaches. Slack leads you from newbie to expert.
I've learned more slackin' 6 monthes than 10 years of others OS (including other Linuxes). Well, please stop reading and just go for it.
P.S.: Big thanx to Patrick Volkerding and all other people who makes Slackware.
 
Old 12-17-2008, 09:26 AM   #2
brianL
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: Slackware & Slackware64 14.1
Posts: 6,686

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Everything
Cons: Not come across any yet


Just as good as any previous Slackware - only the software versions change, the quality stays the same.
 
Old 12-17-2008, 10:28 AM   #3
barn63
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: Slackware 13.1
Posts: 150

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Everything works. You get flexibility, stability, and customizability.
Cons: None. Some users may be required to learn.


Overall the install went flawless. I had a working system up in running in a few hours with dual monitors on an Nvidia card and all the extra software I use installed. Compiled the latest kernel and everything worked great.
 
Old 12-17-2008, 08:07 PM   #4
Franklin
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Distribution: Slackware, WinXP, Windows 7
Posts: 1,253

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $32.99 | Rating: 10

Pros: It's Slackware. 'Nuf said.
Cons: CD's don't morph into sex crazed nymphomaniacs after install.


Slackware has always been good, but there are some great folks contributing these days that have really made a huge difference in what Slack has to offer. Hats off to the folks at Slackbuilds.org - admins and contributors alike - for adding so much to the Slack experience while keeping true to the philosophy and vision.

Well done.
 
Old 12-18-2008, 01:20 AM   #5
Nikosis
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 310

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Clean, Clear, Stable
Cons: N/A


Because It Works
 
Old 12-18-2008, 10:27 AM   #6
Slacker Steve
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Posts: 85

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, Stable, Simple, Doesn't try to emulate Windows, Very Unix-like
Cons: Can't make toast


The best around
 
Old 12-18-2008, 05:36 PM   #7
SqdnGuns
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Distribution: Slackware64 14.0
Posts: 981

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Most stable distro out there, tranparent, customizable to the hilt!
Cons: Nees an UPDATED SlackBook!!


I have used many distros over the years and I always end up with Slackware on my box.

I love the KISS method (Keep It Simple Stupid) that Pat has in place with Slackware. Some would say that this is a negative but those that say that are not willing to put the extra time in to learn the inner workings of their OS of choice and would rather be led like sheep.

Another positive with Slackware is the relatively small team of developers. Again, some would say that this is a negative but having a small team with ONE leader prevents too many fingers in the pie thus creating some broken packages.

If you choose Slackware as your distro of choice, do not forget to go to the Slackware store and purchase a subscription or some of the other Slackware related products.
 
Old 12-18-2008, 07:49 PM   #8
slackass
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Slack64-C ML
Posts: 876

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: The best there iz!!!
Cons: Won't cut my grass.


I've been through all of the distros of the brain dead and none of them can measure up to Slack's dependability.

I like having full control over the installation process.

I like not having an up-date nanny popping up from the toolbar saying do ya feel lucky?

I like having full control over package management. I've had other distros break an installed package while installing something else.

Most of all, I enjoy finally learning linux as I learned almost nothing using the other distros. Slack dose have a learning curve, but learning doesn't hurt.
 
Old 12-21-2008, 01:22 AM   #9
fastestOS
 
Registered: Jun 2008
Distribution: Slackware forever
Posts: 29

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: It works just like the earlier versions!
Cons: I can't break it! :)


Faster performance! (in my box)
Much better hardware support! (you may consider it out-of-the-box OS now) :)
The additional packages are great! (slackpkg, wicd, etc. very useful!)
It didn't break anything that is working :)

whew! a rate of 10 here isn't enough!
 
Old 12-21-2008, 01:31 PM   #10
dunric
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 411

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, stable, simple, well-arranged, power-user friendly
Cons: Some SW missing, some redundant - just my personal preference


It's excellent to find out Slackware developer(s) keep the proven concept for such a long time. It's a great work you can rely on. Very rare in current times.
For my personal needs I have to build my own packages for software missing in stock packages, but it's no hassle - mostly just change of package version in corresponding SlackBuild and rebuild. Very simple according to Slackware's philosophy.
 
Old 12-23-2008, 03:21 PM   #11
HabaneroS
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Everything works, customizable, stable
Cons: Won't feed my cat ( without addtional packages ;) )


The Slackware crew has done a great job again. Everything worked great after the install, including transferring files from my camera. The excellent hardware support in this release is also worth mentioning. Like many others, I keep trying other distributions but keep coming back to Slackware. It's just way too easy to customize!
 
Old 12-25-2008, 09:06 PM   #12
aic_76
 
Registered: Sep 2008
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Simple installation, fast, updated drivers.
Cons: I've yet to find.


This is what I've wanted of an OSS all this while. A working wifi out of the box on my Fujitsu Esprimo U9200. The updated kernel works like a charm on my hardware. Sure, there's a learning curve (albeit one that has become considerably shorter). But if you can't afford that, there are other (well known) alternatives. Cheerios and a big thanks to all the developers involved with the Slackware project.
 
Old 01-17-2009, 04:17 AM   #13
L0N3R
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, fast and user friendly(atleast for the ones who know what they're doing)+has KDE 3.5 instead of 4
Cons: Zer0


Amazing distro as it keeps pulling me back from other ditros as my love for Slackware is eternal L0L! Oh yes I forgot to mention the excellent hardware compatibility in Slackware coz at least all three of my boxes work flawlessly out of the box.Well done Pat and the dev team and keep up the good job :D
 
Old 01-17-2009, 10:02 PM   #14
arniekat
 
Registered: Oct 2008
Distribution: Slackware 13.37, Linux Mint 11
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $39.95 | Rating: 10

Pros: Very Stable, Fast, Customizable, Clean, and Simple
Cons: None I can think of


Every New Slackware release has been better than the previous version. That can't be said for some proprietary OS'es that sell for 3X the money and give you 1/3 the power/stability/customizability. You will learn more from running/configuring Slackware than you would from just running a Linux system that configures itself and hides the process behind a GUI. I started really learning Linux when I went from VectorLinux 5.9 to Slackware 12.1. But I needed to read the manual and create a notebook with notes to reference. If you do want to learn and are willing to read and put it the time, you WILL learn. Being able to customize anything requires knowledge, time, and hard work. But it is worth it.
 
Old 01-22-2009, 03:21 PM   #15
zbreaker
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Distribution: Slack -current, #!, vsido
Posts: 215

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, Solid, A Great Teacher
Cons: Nada


I've used Linux for about 4 years now and have learned more in the few months of Slackware than the previous 3-1/2 years of so called ootb. distros.
 
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 AM.

Main Menu

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration