LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Ubuntu 8.10
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 42677 03-24-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
83% of reviewers None indicated 8.3



Description: "The Ubuntu team is pleased to announce Ubuntu 8.10 Desktop and Server, continuing Ubuntu's tradition of integrating the latest and greatest open source technologies into a high-quality, easy-to-use Linux distribution. New Features since Ubuntu 8.04 LTS: GNOME 2.24; X.Org 7.4; Linux kernel 2.6.27; encrypted private directory; guest session; Network Manager 0.7; Samba 3.2; PAM authentication framework; Totem BBC plugin; server virtualization; Ubuntu as a Xen guest; JeOS is now an option in the server installer; notable inclusion in the main repository - Sun's Java OpenJDK 1.6, Apache's Tomcat 6, ClamAV, SpamAssassin; boot degraded RAID setting...."
Keywords: Ubuntu 8.10 easy-to-use Kernel-2.6.27


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 11-24-2008, 02:16 PM   #1
kevinatkins
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu Hoary
Posts: 605

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: Looks pretty; easy install; excellent hardware detection / setup; generally easy to live with
Cons: Far too many bugs, some quite serious; occasional stability issues



I've been using Ubuntu since around the 5.10 release, so quite a long time now. The reason for my loyalty has been ease of use, a comfortable interface, and the general 'tight' focus of the distribution's remit. I have also found that the distribution has tended to improve with each release. That's still the case in general but I'm concerned that the last two releases, one of which was an LTS, appear to have suffered some breakage of certain applications - more in a moment.

Anyway, the good first. I performed an upgrade install on two machines I had and a fresh install on a laptop. In each case, the process went smoothly, and hardware detection is now absolutely first-rate. On the laptop in particular, Ubuntu correctly set up every piece of hardware, including media hotkeys and the built-in broadcom wireless! Everything works exactly as expected, including suspend and hibernation. Impressive stuff.

The desktop looks slick and the Compiz effects are very well-judged - enough to please the eye without being over-the-top. More flashy effects are easily enabled if required.

A sensible collection of default applications is installed, although I prefer Mozilla Thunderbird to Evolution as a mail client, and found that the version of Evolution shipped had an annoying bug which caused the application to crash when switching to calendar view. Talking of bugs, a few more reared their heads in general usage.. Remote Desktop Viewer worked fine for about, ooh, half a day, then for some absurd reason failed, showing just a blank white screen, requiring a restart of the graphics system. I tried deleting all of the hidden configuration files but to no avail. So currently, that application is out-of-action. Gnome's Media Player still seems to be as unstable as ever, with random crashes and hangs when watching video content. There are some nice touches, however, such as automatic installation of codecs where required, and a nifty YouTube plugin, and new for 8.10, a BBC plugin for users in the UK. That said, Ubuntu still doesn't seem to like playing VCD's... Thankfully, there are plenty of other choices available in the repositories...

What irks me most about Ubuntu 8.10 though is one major problem, inherited from 8.04 and still not fixed - browsing of shares on a Windows domain. I absolutely need this functionality, and it was perfect up until 8.04. Now, to connect to a Windows share within a domain, you need to know the name of the share - you can't just browse. I was hoping this would be fixed by now - there are lots of bug reports out there. Secondly, and equally as bad, VPN connections to Microsoft PPTP servers are now broken, too. Whereas before, the neat Network Manager applet connected easily, it fails, and even when I did manage to get it to connect, the routing was all messed up, so I couldn't actually use the connection. I tried using the KDE VPN connection tool, KVPNC. Mercifully, I was then able to establish a working connection; unfortunately, it resolutely failed to disconnect and I had to kill a couple of processes. All of the foregoing is well documented in various bug reports, so I'm not the only one.

Certainly, some of the bugs will afflict other Linux distributions as well as Ubuntu, but that is of little concern to me - it suggests poor quality control. I mean, if software is broken, surely earlier working versions could be substituted.. some of these bugs are almost show-stoppers, they should not be there. And yes, I have been a good netizen and filed bug reports on the beta releases, in the hope that they can be fixed in time for release...

As it stands now, I'm a bit disenchanted with Ubuntu - two consecutive releases have displayed serious breakage in some key areas. Whilst the distribution continues to improve generally, and is probably fine for many people, it seems to be getting a bit rough around the edges. A shame - I hope it improves radically, because to many people, Ubuntu is now synonymous with GNU/Linux in general.
 
Old 01-02-2009, 06:46 AM   #2
john-ellis
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: Windows Vista
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


Ubuntu 8.10 is a really good operating system, everything I need to use either with Hardware or Software it just works - HOWEVER

it does have some problems, Compiz that controls the graphics it causes problems for some software e.g google earth, the other problem I had was PulseAudio it was causing a conflict with the audio playback with Skype.

These problems were fixed, Compiz does not really need to be used its a bit of a gimmic so I turned it off and that stoped the problem with Google Earth and Pulse Audio was the same, I turned it off with the cammand line and Skype works perfectly, it aslo made no difference to my other sounds so problems solved.

I can't say I have any other problems with 8.10, it connects to wireless internet with so much ease, the install was easy as usuall.

The great thing about 8.10 is that VMware works again with no problems for some reason 8.04 stopped support for VMware and I could not install it but it's fixed and support is back for VMware.

Thumbs up for Ubuntu.
 
Old 01-07-2009, 04:32 PM   #3
KeithE
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Mint, Slackware
Posts: 89

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Works perfectly with my Gateway T-6330 laptop
Cons: None so far


One minor glitch: For a day, the Caps-Lock LED was reversed (on when caps-lock was off), but logging out and back in fixed that. Haven't had the problem since that first day I installed Ubuntu.

I haven't seen any reviews on attempts to install Linux on this brand of laptop, but it works perfectly (repartition the drive through Vista, however). Blows Vista away as far as speed and swap-space use (1 GHz in Vista, NONE in Ubuntu - even when using memory-hungry Gnome). Highly recommended.
 
Old 02-01-2009, 03:54 AM   #4
nekhelesh
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: Knoppix, Ubuntu, Fedora Core
Posts: 32

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Hardware Detection, Ease of use and Installing Application is a breeze
Cons: Some Bugs


Ubuntu is an excellent linux OS for linux newbies. The installation is simple, easy and is done is 20 minutes. Once ubuntu is installed, it automatically detects your wireless and you can start using ubuntu immediately as such.

Ubuntu is for the linux newbies who are not familiar with installing software in linux, the file management and are just learning linux. And also ubuntu is upgraded every 6 months and hence you are always using the latest linux kernel, gnome or kde system and up to date software.

However if you are already been using linux for some time and are looking for advanced linux options such as windows sharing, hosting a server I would recommend any other distro.
 
Old 02-06-2009, 06:14 PM   #5
Jeff91
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Distribution: Bodhi and Maemo
Posts: 300

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy Setup, Looks Good, Wide Support for Hardware
Cons:


Excellent distro, installs quickly and painlessly.

~Jeff
 
Old 03-24-2009, 05:51 PM   #6
CompanionCube
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Well developed, good default software, great community
Cons: Average graphics, no real wow factors


Ubuntu is a good OS, and if you ask anyone what Linux distro will be good to start with you'll be told Ubuntu. Sadly there is nothing in Ubuntu 8.10 that makes it stand out exceptionally - its, quite frankly, the same old boring OS it was the last two versions. But if silly little notes like that don't effect you, Ubuntu is a strong well created OS with an amazing community to support it. Even if your not really interested in Ubuntu, you are never a true Linux expert until you've tried it.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration