LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > openSUSE
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

openSUSE 11
Reviews Views Date of last review
16 65326 01-18-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
94% of reviewers None indicated 8.8



Description: openSUSE 11 is the latest release from the community developed distro supported by Novell. It features such updated packages as KDE 3.5.9, KDE 4, GNOME 2.22, OpenOffice.org 2.4.0 and Firefox 3.
Keywords: openSUSE KDE4 Novell SuSE


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 08-07-2008, 02:18 PM   #1
Viper Chief
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Faster YaST, stable 64-bit, choice of KDE 3.5 or KDE 4
Cons: none yet--haven't figured out how to break it yet



SuSE was one of the first distros I ever tried. I bought a boxed version from Best Buy back in 2000. I used it for about 3 or 4 years until the slowness of YaST and the entire system in general turned me away. Well, I'm back.

openSUSE 11 is much faster. Compared to past versions, YaST is extremely fast and I don't even seem to notice the time it takes to load a module in YaST. Package management is quick, as well.

I am running the 64-bit version and am very happy with it. I've tried other 64-bit distros, but this is the best I've personally seen. I downloaded the DVD iso from openSUSE.org. Install was extremely easy. It gives you the choice of installing GNOME, KDE 3.5.9 or KDE 4 as the default. Installing the other two (or a host of other things, for that matter) is easily done during install. I originally selected KDE 4 as my default and installed GNOME as well before hitting the final button to install. Personally, KDE 4 didn't do the job for me. Even after upgrading to 4.1. I reverted back to KDE 3.5.9 and am very happy with it.

Despite using Linux for 10 years, I've been hard-pressed to find a good distro that I liked a lot. SuSE had been my favorite but the speed was an issue for me. Now that that's been taken care of, I don't see myself going anywhere else.

Flash works out of the box and DVD playback and other codecs was a simple process which consisted of just going to one website and doing a "one click install." Easiest installation of codecs I've seen so far.

The devs are doing an outstanding job.

Hardware:

Lenovo Thinkpad T61 (originally pre-loaded with SLED 10).
Intel C2D T9300 2.5GHz
4GB RAM
Intel x3100 GMA 965
Intel 3945ABG wireless
Ricoh 5-in-1 card reader
Intel 82801 HD Audio Controller.

Everything worked out of the box. The only exception is the Ricoh. I don't know if that works. I don't have any cards, but lsmod shows that the drivers are all loaded for it.
 
Old 08-19-2008, 07:20 AM   #2
honeybadger
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Distribution: Slackware (mainly) and then a lot of others...
Posts: 847

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3

Pros: good graphics
Cons: mostly everything else .......


I got a 8MB Suse11 DVD. Have a PC that has a Debian as the mail OS. Tried to intsall it. Everything went fine - only could not boot into Debain again. Tried to play mp3s in amarok - no go. Have to download ???? Why do you give incomplete applications to begin with? That sounds like $MS.
 
Old 08-23-2008, 03:06 PM   #3
Lindy
 
Registered: Nov 2001
Distribution: SUSE 12.1
Posts: 136

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy install, easy package managment
Cons: None as of yet


Most all the problems I've had so far are "wet ware" inconsistencies :). The OS is leading edge without being bleeding edge. Meaning it's alot more stable than the test bed environments like Fedora. Being completely open source means that a lot of multimedia support needs to be added via third party repo's, but YaST makes that a relatively painless process.
 
Old 08-26-2008, 10:05 AM   #4
vwtech
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Distribution: Oracle Linux, Centos, Fedora
Posts: 139

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, Stable & looks great
Cons: Not yet


This is my first SUSE distro. The pass year I've been running Ubuntu and Fedora. So far I like OpenSuse 11 the best. At the moment I'm working to make sure I can do everything I could in Ubuntu or Windows. Only things left are ripping dvds and editing webcam movies before posting them online.

Running it on a Lenovo T60 (came with XP SP2)
-Now running OpenSUSE 11 & Vista Business by dual booting.
-1.5 GB of MB
-Intel CDuo 1.6GHZ
 
Old 09-03-2008, 01:20 AM   #5
hellknight87
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: New look and feel, YaST and solid terminal emulation.
Cons: KDE 4 feels crappy


This is the 4th product of SuSE that i'm using.. personally i liked OpenSUSE 10.3 the best.. KDE 4 sux on OpenSUSE 11. I would not recommend installing KDE 4. Instead GNOME is doing the job fine. Its really addictive.
 
Old 09-05-2008, 02:49 PM   #6
trinnyg
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Distribution: Ubuntu / Xubunto
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy Installation, Intuitive Interface, DVD installation
Cons: Virtualization hard to implement


Installed onto both a Toshiba Qosimo f20 originally installed with Media Centre -
and a home built Athlon 2.4 ghz 1 gig ram, Asus mother board.

In response to no mp3 support in Amarok. No distribution of linux allows MP3 playback due to licensing as official support.

Hypervisor will not load the x-server under xen. everything else works.

No tv tuner support. the tv tuner installed by toshiba is not even supported in Vista.
Ogg support worked well - hard to find external hardware that supports ogg.
 
Old 09-05-2008, 03:40 PM   #7
Brookvaylin
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Distribution: SUSE and Fedora
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easily the most polished desktop. Intuitive.
Cons: Experiencing crashes using browsers after fresh DVD install.


Definitely looks more polished and feels more user friendly than other distros IMHO. The KDE version seems a bit half baked. Frequent lock ups that come and go for no apparent reason. Possibly memory issues. But the Gnome version is top notch. Very clean looking. Unlike KDE which looks more "chunky".

The installer finds a vast variety of hardware with no trouble at all and is quite impressive and easy to use.

Definitely a newbie friendly distro with plenty of power under the hood for the power user.

It gives Ubuntu some serious competition!
 
Old 09-11-2008, 05:09 PM   #8
wanderingmind
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04 LTS
Posts: 76

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, YaST, large user base, good-looking, one-click install, Webpin
Cons: premature KDE4, no DVD play out of the box


IMHO, the best SUSE release ever IF you choose KDE 3.5. The KDE4 version not mature enough.

Notably, the package manager is faster than ever before. If you install it, check out webpin (http://packages.opensuse-community.org/), to find applications that are not in the repositories.

I run openSUSE 11 on my main desktop (64-bit), and am very happy with it.
 
Old 09-12-2008, 12:45 AM   #9
Prehistorik
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable distro with a rich collection of third-party packages
Cons: Again, KDE4 looks extremely raw...


The stability
I've encountered some troubles (e.g. freezing the X server at some point) after installing the release which was out few days before, but these problems were solved with some updates. After that the system works excellent with no accidental lockups.

The usability
KDE4, the default GUI shell, looks beautiful and shiny but is certainly not as usable as KDE3. It's awfully raw despite of being called a release. I may suggest waiting half a year before installing this (IMHO, off course). GNOME is great but not for me who's got used to KDE...

The multimedia
The thing that it does not play MP3s is all about software patents and other evil that humans do :)
But if you add some un-official repo to Yast (I recommend the Packman's one) you may get it all working. First of all some multimedia-related packages (amarok, xine, etc.) have to be replaced with Packman's ones, then you'll have to add mplayer, smplayer, mad, libdvdread, w32codecs, ... - and here it is - the media box with all-round audio and video support, including all those DVDs, WMVs and FLVs :)
 
Old 09-16-2008, 08:09 AM   #10
calculemus
 
Registered: Sep 2006
Distribution: SuSE
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: The polished look, stability, one-click-install, fast YaST
Cons: KDE 4 didn't work for me!


I have been an openSuSE adherent since version 9.1. I agree with the folks who said that this is the best openSuSE up to now. However, if you are running the OS in a bit old computer, you might be better off without KDE 4. It could be just my box but KDE 4 looked kind of clunky. Maybe the new version of KDE needs a little bit more time to mature.

I installed it in my Dell Latitude D600 laptop and I'm enjoying both KDE 3.5 and Gnome. Most important to me was wireless, that worked out of the box for my Intel Pro-Wireless card. In older versions, I had to first install a couple of things from the internet(using my ethernet card) before my wireless card was configured properly. YaST is super-fast compared to older versions of SuSE when 'Loading repositories' would take upto a few minutes (I'm not joking!) when you had quite a lot of repositories.

Thank you all the developers!
 
Old 09-28-2008, 02:40 PM   #11
Unfortunate
 
Registered: Sep 2008
Distribution: openSUSE
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: YaST is fast and easy to use. Clean, simple theme. Uses Gnome!
Cons: Issues with software. Problems with MP3 codecs. Strange problem with OpenOffice.org. Loss of login 'chime' after install.


I am not impressed with this distribution to be honest. It just does not do what I want it to, as shown in the cons. I find it slower than Ubuntu and less simple to use.
 
Old 10-30-2008, 10:58 AM   #12
algerasy
 
Registered: May 2008
Distribution: gonatha/arabian
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


down load lcvcd open suse

b.regards

algerasy
 
Old 11-25-2008, 07:50 PM   #13
you933
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: xfce is fast, good 4 new users
Cons: kde uses much memory


hey, I'v tried 9 linux versions before I try openSUSE11. first time i installed kde. but I found it's heavy to my system.so I installed xfce. now I think it's suitable to my sys. my sys is AMD AthlonXP 1.74 with 32MB vga , 256RAM , 40GB IDE HDD.
 
Old 12-08-2008, 08:33 PM   #14
roshantux
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Distribution: openSUSE 11.0
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: xfce , more softwares available on dvd
Cons: identifies my winmodem, but i cant use dialup with it


this is my first suse distr. & iv tried number of several distros B4 openSUSE11.0 . i found it from a local software vendor who sells pirated DVD s for MS O/S. they sold me dvds of openSUSE 11 & MANDRIVA FREE 2009 for LKR150 for each. but they didnt mentioned mand09 is a 64bit version. i use 32bit pc. so i cudnt use mandriva2009. but with my past xperiences I like openSUSE11 than mepis,ubuntu,redhat9,fedora6,mandriva CS4 n free2006 & knoppix.
 
Old 01-06-2009, 01:12 PM   #15
moonrover
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: SUSE 11.0
Posts: 46

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons:


Having been on SUSE 9.2 for years, I finally decided to upgrade at Christmas. I jumped to 11.0 and did the DVD install. It was better at recognizing my monitor resolution immediately rather than after-the-install on 9.2. But just like version 9.2, it did not configure my network card correctly running thru my Linksys router. I was able to quickly re-configure it manually and get it running, and also get my WiFi card in this Toshiba Satellite working on Linux for the first time. KDE was a good bread-and-butter environment on 9.2, but presented with the opportunity to test-drive Gnome on 11.0, I went for it, and was not disappointed. I am runnning a dual-boot partition with XP and LX co-resident managed by GRUB so I can flip back-and-forth depending on what I am doing. Firefox on LX is soooooo much faster for just doing email than I.E. on XP, let me say. All in all, I'm happy I did the upgrade.
 
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration