LinuxQuestions.org
LinuxAnswers - the LQ Linux tutorial section.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Slackware 12.1
Reviews Views Date of last review
30 108948 12-05-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $49.95 9.9
slackpenguinlogo.jpg
supersize


Description: Well folks, it's that time to announce a new stable Slackware release again. So, without further ado, announcing Slackware version 12.1! Since we've moved to supporting the 2.6 kernel series exclusively (and fine-tuned the system to get the most out of it), we feel that Slackware 12.1 has many improvements over our last release (Slackware 12.0) and is a must-have upgrade for any Slackware user.
Keywords: slackware linux easy expert learn friendly newbie best stable performance


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 05-26-2008, 02:23 AM   #1
Linux.tar.gz
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Slackware forever.
Posts: 2,227

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $49.95 | Rating: 10

Pros: 100% pure Linux OS. Stable. Fast. Simple. No blah blah.
Cons: Well... If i'll find one, then i'll tell ya.



Here's a way to have a PC fully powered. Even an old one. No bad surprise. No bullshit. Good reactivity of updates. No 140 cd's set you'll never use. I like the poor graphisms during installation because they introduce no bug. The configuration tools (net, packages...) are quick. On the Slackware site, you have The book, from which you can learn Linux really fast. The packages system is strong. No dependencies headaches. Slack leads you from newbie to expert.
I've learned more slackin' 6 monthes than 10 years of others OS (including other Linuxes). Well, please stop reading and just go for it.
P.S.: Big thanx to Patrick Volkerding and all other people who makes Slackware.
 
Old 06-26-2008, 12:45 PM   #2
BobNutfield
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Distribution: Fedora , Ubuntu, Slackware-Current
Posts: 1,477

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast, stable, configuable, and true to the Linux fundamentals
Cons: No hand holding for the beginner


I first tried Slackware with 10.1 and did not return until this year with 12.1. I am glad I did return as it is better than I remembered. I installed on a Toshiba A210 laptop with a dual boot using grub (dual with another Linux, not Windows.) Slackware is not known to be laptop friendly, but with some help from the forum, I was able to configure virtually ALL of the hardware to work (even one that would NOT work with the original Vista installation.) I am not a Linux expert nor am I in the IT business. Just an everyday desktop user who loves Linux and I was able set everything up quite easily. I use quite a few distros on other laptops and a desktop, and Slack 12.1 is BY FAR the fastest and most stable. I have settled in to using it as my main system and I intend to continue with Slack from here on.
 
Old 06-26-2008, 02:50 PM   #3
mostlyharmless
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Distribution: Slackware 14.1 (multilib) with kernel 3.15.5
Posts: 1,528

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Slackware doing what slackware does
Cons: see above


There's a reason why Slackware has longevity. Don't be put off by the ncurses install and the few manual steps needed to install Slack 12.1. Some things, like partitioning your disk, are probably better done manually anyway. If you have unusual or old hardware, Slackware is probably the easiest distro to customize. The latest version brings the kernel up to 2.6.24.5, adds additional support for LVM, RAID and LUKS and works as solidly as any previous slack. No extras you don't need, fabulous support for anything you do need. No dependency handling means no dependency heck - but it's hard to appreciate until you've tried it and the alternatives.
 
Old 06-26-2008, 03:00 PM   #4
slackass
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Slack64-C ML
Posts: 883

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable - Fast - Never Breakes - No Udate Nanny
Cons: Wont cut my grass


Quite simply put, this system is the best there is after you get past a slight learning curve. Theres no auto-updater popping up from the tool bar saying Do ya feel lucky ?. I can't count the number of times I've had the updater on other OS's hose my system. No more of that stuff for me now. I'll just stick with Slack and don't worry about updater nannies anymore.
 
Old 06-26-2008, 11:54 PM   #5
phantom_cyph
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Distribution: WinXP for designing, Linux for life.
Posts: 2,329

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Its....Slackware. That should say everything.
Cons: I wish it came with Grub instead of Lilo...


I liked that the audio worked right out of the box this time. That was a minor disappointment with 12.0. Definitely a Slacker now, tried BSD and Solaris as well as Debian again, had an empty feeling. :D

Other note...I like that you have time to customize Slackware before another version comes out...*#%ub^un!tu#$^
 
Old 06-27-2008, 01:00 AM   #6
TL_CLD
 
Registered: Sep 2006
Posts: 342

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $49.95 | Rating: 9

Pros: Stable, fast, mature, simple.
Cons: Not THE most newbie-friendly distro.


There's very little, if anything, that Slackware does wrong. It excels in most areas, specifically in regards to stability, simplicity and speed.

There's one thing though I feel would benefit Slackware: A "I'm a complete NEWBIE" install setting. When you select that option during install, Slackware should just install itself using the entire harddrive (with proper warning of course). No manual partitioning, no package selection, no asking anything but the most basic questions. Perhaps even automatically setting up X and boot directly into KDE.

I think a lot of new users could be tempted to try the oldest surviving Linux distro, if they didn't feel they had to overcome all sorts of "impossible" obstacles, just to get it up and running.

Besides that minor thing, Slackware is by far my favorite distro. I use it in my company (currently 8 desktops and 13 servers) and I use it at home. It just works.
 
Old 06-27-2008, 07:26 AM   #7
brianL
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: Slackware & Slackware64 14.1
Posts: 6,963

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing


Contrary to rumour and myth, Slack is a suitable distro for newbies, provided they are willing to engage their brains a little now and then. My first experience with GNU/Linux was installing Slackware 10 in 2005, I was a relative newbie to computers in general then, but I had little difficulty. Since then I've used 11, 12.0, and now 12.1, and each issue has been easier to install and configure. Personally, I just find Slackware a lot more interesting than other distros I've tried. I always do a full install, since I never know what aspect or field of computing I will get interested in next. No hunting through Package Managers for bits and pieces. I would recommend Slackware 12.1 to anyone, whatever their level of experience or needs.
 
Old 06-27-2008, 08:02 AM   #8
apex.predator
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Distribution: Slackware 12.1
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stability, intuitiveness
Cons: may intimidate at first try, seems plain until you gain experience with it


Slackware 12.0 was the first version I ran, and I decided to go with a fresh installation of 12.1. I have been glad. No problems with installation, and I have been happily adding packages in the last few days. Slackware simply runs better than any other Linux I have tried.

Slackware certainly isn't for everyone. I have found, however, a certain amount of DIY to be necessary with every distribution I have used, regardless of how trouble-free and clean they seemed to me initially.

Slackware's DIY is on the front end; once done, it will run trouble free until you remove it. The debian-based and rpm distributions I have used were slick on the front end, but gave problems later.

When it comes to fixing debian-based or rpm-based distributions, I simply don't have the motivation; I do come back to Slackware.

Edit: I had a subscription with v 11.0 and v. 12.0, but downloaded 12.1.
 
Old 06-27-2008, 08:49 AM   #9
Cuetzpallin
 
Registered: Feb 2008
Distribution: Slackware since 3.4 and love it!!!
Posts: 162

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, fast, strong, secure, adaptable, expandable, simple, Unix like, etc, etc, etc....
Cons: Need to read a lot, before be satisfied (just a joke) :P


My first linux distro was slackware 3 or 4 (don't remember) on a magazine in 1997.
After read the magazine and the README on the disk i try to make my first installation of linux, I remember it wasn't easy and it's that I like from this, it was a goal to comply.
After few hours reading and trying and falling, finally I achieved my objective with this distribution, making work my first graphic environment, myself.

I loved since the first moment.

Currently is my desktop environment and I still working with it, upgrading and reinstalling as needed. I recommend it also for newbees. Just take a look.
 
Old 06-27-2008, 11:52 AM   #10
onebuck
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: SlackwareŽ
Posts: 11,143

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: As close to UNIX as you can get! Sorry BSD users. :)
Cons:


Slackware 12.1 is great! The oldest and Stable GNU/Linux. I would recommend that everyone read the provided documentation; Slackware-HOWTO, ANNOUNCE.12_1,RELEASE_NOTES, CHANGES_AND_HINTS.TXT, UPGRADE.TXT to name a few. All the .txt files are on your install cd/dvd. Most people run into 'Gotchas' because they fail to read the documentation to get information that is relative to their needs.

My review would not be objective since I have used Slackware since the early days. We used it in our laboratory for instrumentation pc platforms, it was a lot cheaper than a SYSV license for a pc platform.

I really enjoy the use of Slackware on my bench machines along with my desktop machines.

As for the myth that Slackware installation on a laptop is hard. No way! It will and does install without too much effort on a Laptop. I've got it installed on several Laptops like Gateway Laptops and several IBM ThinkPads that are used as controllers. READING and some research will get you an install of Slackware to just about any machine of choice.
 
Old 06-27-2008, 02:54 PM   #11
adriv
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Distribution: Slackware 14.1
Posts: 659

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: fast, stable and secure
Cons: fast, stable and secure


The pros are the usual suspects (on Slackware), the cons too, in a way. Because a properly set-up Slack box hardly needs any looking after and just runs and runs without any trouble, you could say Slackware is actually quite boring.
Just kidding. ;)
 
Old 06-28-2008, 02:04 AM   #12
fastestOS
 
Registered: Jun 2008
Distribution: Slackware forever
Posts: 29

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: blazing fast, ROCK SOLID, customizable, 100% pure Linux OS, simple, secure
Cons: nothing so far


Even if you're a newbie, I'd suggest you give it a shot. What Slackware actually does is, it will take you to the level you can't imagine you can reach.

Believe it or not, Slackware is my first Linux OS even though I was a complete newbie that time. I have read several articles that says it's hard to install blah blah but that didn't hold me back. Many newbies would probably think it's hard but the truth to the matter is it's not!

I think the main source of their problem is that they didn't read the documentation until they got frustrated.

The RULE is simple: read the doc, follow the instructions, and USE your common sense. :)

ENJOY slackware!
 
Old 06-28-2008, 09:12 PM   #13
manwichmakesameal
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 800

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Simplicity, stability, easy of use
Cons: None


I've been using Slack since 10, and haven't looked back. I've tried other distros, but they just don't have the certain "something". The package management system is soooo easy, yet extremely powerful. No dependency hell. Solid as a rock. Just got a co-worker using Slack as well. Hopefully he'll be writing one of these soon. I think that Slackware is the perfect distro for Linux newcomers because it makes you so how everything actually works under all the point and click fluff. I've learned much more from using Slack than any other distro (except LFS).
 
Old 07-03-2008, 06:15 PM   #14
penfoldTHIS
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Distribution: Slackware 12.1
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: It does what you tell it too. And if you ask it correctly, you never have to ask for it again.
Cons: Doesn't fetch beer?


I believe I started on Slackware 7(2000 or so). It is the perfect distro for learning linux. Once you start using it and learn the advantages of running a system without complication, you never want to leave it. Slackware has been running on my servers constantly since the day I discovered it and wouldn't want it any other way. I have tried and still play with many different distros(Some good, some bad) and I always come back to Slackware. It works, it's solid, and it's Slack!
 
Old 07-03-2008, 06:34 PM   #15
C-Sniper
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 507

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, great community, fast, good learning tool
Cons: Decent learning curve when you first start


I have been using Slackware since 11.0 and i must say that even though the learning curve was a bit steep at first, i learned so much about how my systems works. The online community is great and helpful if you are willing to learn and read the manual a bit. I think though that the main pro of Slackware is the fact that it is as stable as hell. You have to TRY to break it to do so, and most the time it will end up being a UI (user to interface, aka YOU) error that screws it up.

I would not recommend this distro to people who just want an OS, but i would recommend this to anyone who wants to learn about Linux and have a chance to see how everything works together and what a well rounded, stable OS looks like.
 
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration