LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Fedora Project
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Fedora 9 (Sulphur)
Reviews Views Date of last review
19 89390 11-04-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
58% of reviewers None indicated 6.1
f9launch.png
supersize


Description: I didn't try the full installation of this distro as I realized that it would not run well on my configuration right after I tried booting from the live CD.
Fedora 8 was a pleasant surprise since it booted on my laptop without any tinkering. On the other hand, I was able to boot Fedora 9 only after putting acpi=off as my boot parameter. This was disappointing.
As for the rest, I didn't install it on my machine since I'm presently more than happy with my Fedora 8 installation.
My hardware specs are:
AMD 2.2Ghz Turion 64, 1.5 GB RAM, 120 GB SATA HDD, Nvidia GeForce Go 6150. If you have the same/similar specs, chances are that Fedora 9 will give you more pain than pleasure. Fedora 9, for me, has not been a pleasant experience, and I'm very surprised to see how incompatible it is with my hardware.
Keywords: fedora redhat sulphur


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 05-25-2008, 09:53 PM   #1
masinick
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Distribution: Debian, sidux, antiX, SimplyMEPIS, Kubuntu, Mandriva, Fedora, Xandros, Arch, and many others
Posts: 560

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Very easy installation, great security, excellent wireless detection
Cons: slow updates with little feedback on what is happening



Every release Fedora comes out with raises the bar on features. It is important to understand that when a Fedora release first comes out, it may not always be completely fleshed out on all hardware, though it gets better and better as time goes by. Fedora is, however, very good at fixing defects. For those experiencing problems, usually within a short time there are respins of each Fedora release that fix issues and provide a "latest snapshot ISO image" that contains the latest of what a particular release has to offer.

I'd have to say that by this time Fedora 7 ought to be a pretty solid framework for a Red Hat release. As far as Fedora 9 goes, huge progress in device support. Fedora has caught up, as far as I can tell, with the Ubuntu community in the area of wireless support. Three years ago most distros could perhaps provide device detection for wireless devices but did little to configure them. Now most of them can not only configure them, Fedora 9 simplifies that to the point where all you have to do is select which wireless access point you want to connect to, provide a password if you use an encrypted form, such as SPA-PSK, and you are in.

Fedora 9 has further improvements to the Security Enhanced Linux (SELinux) included in the product. I would say that Fedora is the number one champion of this technology in the Linux community, so if that is important to you, Fedora (or the Red Hat Enterprise Linux [RHEL] commercial equivalent) is definitely worth a look.

Fedora has also been strong in virtualization technologies and that continues to be the case. If you are interested in Xen related features, this is a release to look at.

As far as every day desktop use, Fedora again has made some real strides. Two or three releases ago Fedora was mainly a project for developers wanting to get their features into a commercial Red Hat release. While that is still true today, Fedora certainly steps into the top ten distribution list as an every day desktop system. The one thing that keeps it from being at the top of that list is the same thing that also keeps it from the top of a casual user's system list.

The fact that Fedora is still the experimental platform for what later becomes a commercial product makes this software somewhat less stable than best in class, and also could use improvements in software that is counter intuitive to the complete newbie - though this is probably the number one area of tremendous improvement. This could yet be turned into a consumer based system with just a bit more attention to the little details. Of course, then it would sacrifice some of the stuff that it does so well. Therefore, I think we have to consider the audience for which this is made, and conclude that it meets or exceeds the audience for which it was made.
 
Old 06-18-2008, 02:27 PM   #2
alroger
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 33

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3

Pros: Visual only
Cons: Bad drivers, wireless, video, suspend (specially notebooks). Hard to find and install proprietary codecs and apps. No XEN Host (Dom-0)


I have never had so many problems with Fedora on my Desktop or Notebook. I went back to Fedora 8 imediatly.
As soon as it came out I could not use my ATI because the proprietary driver would no compile (always an issue with Fedoras, because of the bleeding edge Kernels), and the Livna Repositories did not have any packages for Fedora9 yet.

As far as Desktop / Notebook users Fedora is very unfriendly. You need to have lots of time and expertise in order to get it working as you want. We basically depend on the Livna Repository, and without them I wouldn't be able to listen to MP3 files, nor watch most of the common movie formats around. Also needed for ATI and nVidia graphics card users, since the proprietary downloads don't work on Fedora, they need patches and repackaging wich is done by the Livna guys. Still all this is very undocumented and unfriendly.

As far as server, I don't see why use Fedora9 as one, since it doesn't work as a XEN Host (Dom-0). So the best one so far is Fedora 8 for servers.
 
Old 06-20-2008, 02:09 PM   #3
arunvk
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Distribution: Fedora 11
Posts: 194

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Excellent Hardware detection
Cons: Inconsistent Behavior


I used Fedora 7 before installing fedora 9. so i can only compare Fedora 9 with respect to Fedora 7.

I installed fedora 9 last week. whenever i install a new linux distribution, iam always apprehensive because i have never installed a distribution that ran without problems. i usually spend the next week trying to fix the problems.

however the installation of fedora 9 was a surprise. it detected all my hardware. i use a toshiba satellite m200 laptop. my wifi card and card reader was configured and ready to use in the first run itself. in fedora 7 i was never able to configure my wifi card so i always had to use windows. my video card was also configured correctly. for the first time i saw 3d desktop on my system. :-).

the installation was easy but i felt the fedora team could have worked on the installation GUI. the GUI looked like a rough finish. The labels did not fit the button sizes. anyway who cares it did what it had to do so no complains here.

the system boots faster. i use gnome and the gnome thats bundled is almost the same except for a few enhancements like an improved gdm login screen. package kit is very useful for maintaining your applications.

thats the bright side of it. now the dark side. hibernate option does not work reliably. once the system comes back from hibernation, it cannot go back into hibernation. an error message is shown.

launching firefox sometimes freezes the system . this is wierd because the first launch of firefox is ok but subsequent launches freezes the system. it may be because of the add ons i installed but i dont think so.

some features like auto login have been removed or i could not find it. i wonder why. this is such a useful feature. the system update does not show details on what is being downloaded/updated. also package kit needs an internet connection. so even to view the installed software, one needs to connect to the internet. i found this very annoying and absurd.

i noticed that pressing ctr+alt+f1, suspends the X window applications. lets say iam hearing music using amarok, ctrl+alt+f1 stops the music and then when i go back to the GUI the music resumes.

after a few days of usage and a complete system update, gdm would not start. it used to initialize and restart immediately so i was not able to login using gdm or kdm.

the only reason i will stick to Fedora 9 is because of the hardware detection. i can use all my hardware devices without booting into windows :-D....
 
Old 07-01-2008, 08:21 PM   #4
FLLinux
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Fedora 9, LFS 6.3, Unbuntu 8.04, Slax 6.0.7
Posts: 145

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: New KDE, CD isoes available
Cons: X server is broken for older hardware


This seemed to be another good distro from Fedora, but then i ran into a wall. I have a computer that is about 7 years old now and yes the hardware is a little old but has been working great for what i need but with Fedora 9 it would not work. I could not get the Nvidia drivers to run correctly no matter how many different fixes i tried. I found that there is a fix for the current Nvidia hardware and drivers but not for the legacy stuff. This quickly turned me away from Fedora 9, but lucky Fedora 8 is not that old.

I have installed 8 and have had no problems getting the Nvidia legacy drivers to work.
 
Old 07-04-2008, 03:01 PM   #5
linbux
 
Registered: Jun 2008
Distribution: opensuse,fedora,mandriva
Posts: 34

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: stable, fast, visual, complete pack
Cons: multimedia playing, auto update, packagekit


if you forget to install some package from distro dvd, game is over!
you should start a hard path to create a repositoy and ... uuuf!
 
Old 08-19-2008, 08:25 AM   #6
honeybadger
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Distribution: Slackware (mainly) and then a lot of others...
Posts: 853

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3

Pros: good graphics
Cons: too stupid


Hi,

I got this fc 9 dvd. I would rather install ubuntu cd honestly. Does not play mp3. Worse, for some reason takes a real time to install. I think I have noticed tht with all the distros with rpm formats. Stay away from this if u can.
 
Old 08-21-2008, 10:34 AM   #7
ace3316
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: stable, good visuals, good hardware detection
Cons: problems with auto update, multimedia playing, package kit


Uhg, to think I paid $6 for the x86_64 DVD because I didn't want to wait to download the iso for a CD or DVD. The distro was easy to load and install, but I have been having difficulties adjusting some of the packages for multimedia. I have been careful to make sure I download the packages for 64 bit and adjust accordingly. Automatic updates are recognized, but there is normally a problem or failure to connect with the Fedora project or server to download the updates.

- AMD 64, 2 gig of Ram, 160 Gig HDD, Biostar K8NHAG motherboard
 
Old 08-26-2008, 02:24 PM   #8
Brookvaylin
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Distribution: SUSE and Fedora
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Solid. At least on a laptop...
Cons: Choked on system updates and needed to be reinstalled.


Fedora seems to be much more solid now than previous releases where I often felt like I was clicking in the mine field waiting for something to go wrong. Which it inevitably did. Though in their defense, a fewother distros were like that too :)


It did error upon system updates on a desktop which absolutely killed the entire installed OS. I still have to try it on that desktop to see if I can pin pint the problem. But on a laptop it installed an updated like a champ! Lean, mean and running solid. I like it very much and will keep it on a laptop and reserve OpenSuse for my desktop.


If fedora wants to up the ante in the distro wars, they should take notes from Suse!
 
Old 09-02-2008, 08:50 PM   #9
HaroldN
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Distribution: Scientific Linux with mods x86_64
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: ease of installation, hardware recognition easy updates
Cons: missing some 386 libraries


I replaced Scientific Linux 5.1 x86_64 with fc9 x86_64 on a 2.2 ghz dual core 64 bit Opteron with 320GB HD and 2GB registered dram on a Tyan server motherboard.

the Scientifc Linux crashed numerous times and I lost everything. Easy download (on my wife's laptop) and easy installation. So far this one is running smoothly and fast. I use it primarily for software developing. Just fine for my use.
 
Old 09-03-2008, 12:09 AM   #10
maxreason
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Distribution: 64-bit ubuntu 12.04 LTS
Posts: 205

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: good set of desktop packages available
Cons: update doesn't work properly, so can't fix or sync anything


I was happy with fedora8x32 and fedora8x64. They took me a while to figure out how to get everything working, but was good thereafter.

I downloaded and installed fedora9x32 and fedora9x64 several times, trying to get everything working. No luck. While I was able to get the system nominally working, the update system invariably got screwed up, and therefore I was never able to update the system again, because it always found inconsistencies that it could not resolve - and therefore refused to install ANYTHING (because it did not identify the packages to remove to eliminate the problem). Sad, but no go. Finally gave up, switched to ubuntu 8.04.1 and had much better results.
 
Old 09-04-2008, 02:10 AM   #11
lashturner
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Distribution: fedora9, ubuntu, gos.
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: loaded most drivers
Cons: totem player doesn't work. audio doesn't work *


Everything loaded ok including drivers and resolution which was a suprise, but video on internet didn't work until I learned way to install plugin but audio stil doesn't work and dvd doesn't work with totem player. What good is it if it doesn't work?
The office does work well and works with windows office programs saved on jump drive.
but I am going to try a few other distributions and decide if one is for me. I am a newby amd I think that I should be the test person to see if someone who nows nothing about linux can use it then anyone can use linux.
 
Old 09-04-2008, 09:24 PM   #12
Lsatenstein
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Distribution: Fedora Core 6 XEN
Posts: 199

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: With my dual core (circa 2006) system, flawless installation
Cons: Initial release could be buggy. Wait a week before doing a download and install


I am writing from the Fedora 9 implementation. There are no errors during the boot process, and no errors since my installation, one week after the initial dvd's were made available.

One advantage I have is that my mother board is from Intel, which has linux support for it's device drivers. Therefore, all my devices worked immediately after installation.

I did proceed to livna to get the other non-opensource but free drivers.

Fedora 9 is fast in execution, and I noted that my system ran cooler, due to the new kernel scheduler software. A great distro.

PS. I also found favour with UBUNTU and PCLINUXOS which I also boot on alternate days. Both are great desktop systems, but Fedora is a fantastic all -around system for desktop and server.
 
Old 09-07-2008, 04:25 PM   #13
JeanBrownHarrel
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu Linux 12.04 [64-bit version] THE BEST!!!
Posts: 50

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: New kernel and software
Cons: Everything...extremely poor quality operating system!!!


Extremely poor quality operating system!!!

Fedora Core has gone down hill since Fedora Core 2. Starting with that trash Fedora Core 3, Fedora Core has been worthless and useless.

I tried Fedora Core 9 but no damn good. Had to install Ubuntu 8.04 [32-bit version] on my laptop as FC9 would barely run and slower than Windoze which is slower than molasses. Now that is bad!!! Worse than Windoze!!! The only good thing about FC9 is that you don't have to worry about viruses and that is the ONLY good thing about it.

Fedora Core is basically useless and worthless since FC2. Fedora Core 2, the 32-bit version, is the only stable and worthwhile version of Fedora Core that is worth a damn. Anything else since then is nothing but pure trash. I have tried all of them except FC7...all no good and worthless. Windoze Vista and XP gives me fewer problems and I purely HATE Windoze.

FC2 [32-bit version] is the best Fedora Core release and the only one that works without problems...however it is old, though, but it will work without problems and will install when all other versions since FC3 won't even work right or install right on an old laptop or even on my new laptop.

The only Linux distribution worth a damn is Ubuntu and Debian Linux. Fedora Core has completely gone to the dogs.

Don't waste your time or talents or money!!!

Go to Ubuntu 8.0.4...Ubuntu 8.10 is even more fantastic. It actually detected my RealTek 8187b Wireless LAN card with no problems and this is a major miracle as FC10, the new test version, could not even do anything with it or about it and could not even connect to the internet with it but Ubuntu 8.10, about the last test version of Ubuntu before the official Ubuntu 8.10 release on October 30 or 31 could detect my wireless card and even set it up automatically and I could connect to the internet with no problem automatically.

Ubuntu is the best, in my opinion.
 
Old 09-08-2008, 10:56 AM   #14
d.code
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: some good packages
Cons: too many bugs...


To start with I am a FEDORA Fan but i must admit,this one is
no where near my expectation.
Installation contrary to what many people say is almost flawless.
I have installed it 2-3 times. My config is 512 ram and intel core duo 1.7GHz. The real mess starts after you install, touchpad on my laptop dint work, software repository shows some problem etc.
Well hope fedora people will come out with a good one next time.
 
Old 09-11-2008, 01:44 AM   #15
rohanak
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Posts: 38

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Easy installation, Faster and easier system update using YUM
Cons: Webcam fails to work, some problems with sound (needs a workaround)


I am a FEDORA fan and have been using it since FC4. It has been improving with every release. Updating the system is very easy using YUM, clean graphics and easy installation. Detected my wireless network cleanly. Acer crystal eye webcam fails to work out of the box and also afer installing the uvcvideo driver. Hopefully this will be fixed in the next version. Touchpad did not work initially (needed a fix)
Also only the buggy KDE 4 has been included and not the stable KDE 3.5
Gives more control to the user.
But personally, Fedora 8 was better than F9.
Hopefully F10 will be excellent.
 
Old 09-15-2008, 10:45 AM   #16
wraithe
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Distribution: Linux... :-)
Posts: 216

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Ease of use, lots of addons that work, Clean layout of desktop.
Cons: Some chipsets have problems, dropped a lot of older support.



Installed this a month or so ago, tried the live discs first and was pleasently surprised, it is a bit of an improvement upon F8..
Everything worked from the start, but when i started adding applications, ie skype, i had to find a workaround for the audio, easily fixed mind you...
Came across Easylife and tried that, worked good...
Then I installed from the F9 dvd just to try another avenue before using on another pc...
Thats when I got a hiccup, dont know why but after running easylife from scratch, the desktop has some strange behaviour, like icons moving or menus moving, when I reboot or boot first thing, you just dont know where they will be...Its become a bit of a game, but I cant workout why its doing that...(this is an easylife problem, not F9)

Have installed f9 on another pc, using the live disc..This time no issues...

Seems that they dropped some support but thats ok, its more for the newer hardware, so to loose some support for older systems is expected...

Good distro, Redhat have me back...
 
Old 10-12-2008, 05:35 PM   #17
robertdaleweir
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Precursor to a Commercial Grade OS
Cons: Not for the feint of heart!


I have been using Fedora for some years as my main OS. All was well until 2.6.26 kernel update and I have had intermittent and deadly freezes ever since. I downloaded FC10 Beta and it is, at least so far, not freezing up on me.
I like the idea that this OS is feeding a full fledged OS at some point.
I have used Red Hat over the years and they are the only company that has not flip flopped on their support of Open Source.
I will try very hard to stay with Fedora as long as these conditions remain in effect!
 
Old 10-12-2008, 06:38 PM   #18
angryfirelord
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 500

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: up-to-date packages, easy to install, backed by Red Hat
Cons: not for the impatient :-)


First, to the bad reviews above: This is not a help desk. This is a review section. If you're having a problem, try to get it resolved in the forums first before you decide to judge it negatively.

Anyway, I grabbed a Gnome LiveCD, booted it, and was loaded to a beautiful Gnome desktop in no time. Installation was quick and easy, in fact, it was as simple as Ubuntu's ubiquity installer. After a reboot, I had a fresh copy of Fedora 9 installed. I did my usual yum update, which took some time to pull a lot of updates, but they installed without flaw. I enabled the livna repo and installed my nvidia drivers with ease. Unfortunately, Fedora included the pre-release of Xorg 1.5, which isn't supported by fglrx (since ATI is so slow). Fortunately, there's a sticky on the fedoraforums about getting the fglrx driver to work.

Overall, Fedora has shown that it continues to live up to its reputation. It's a solid distribution and distro-hoppers should not pass it by.
 
Old 11-04-2008, 01:08 AM   #19
scmbg
 
Registered: Oct 2008
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 65

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: stable, updated, small and consistent kernel-modules.
Cons: little hard for beginners


A good choice to do a big jump in the linux world, easy to use, and let you dial with others [big] aspects.

With a good customize i run Fedora 9 with:

- Pentium 4 @ 1.5Ghz
- 128Mb RAM [RIMM] @ 800Mhz
- nVidia Riva TNT2 16Mb.

Fedora is the best distribution. Maybe you need some extra steps after install to have a ad-hoc system, but this make that you learn about something of the linux system.

Maybe is a little complicated for begginers user, but this force them to learn ;)

Have a little troubles in specific fields, this is because the nature of "total open source" that endorse the Fedora distribution, so you don't find mp3 or wma codecs [have patent], or the nVidia's drivers [parts aren't open source].

If you are a Window's like user, "install and i don't care the rest or the resources", goo to Ubuntu XD.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration