LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Books > Certification
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
« Previous Product  · Next Product »

LPI Linux Certification in a Nutshell
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 85440 07-08-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
80% of reviewers $29.98 7.4
spacer


Description: Companies ranging from IBM to Novell are dramatically expanding Linux training and development. As more corporations adopt Linux as the networking backbone for their IT systems, the demand for certified technicians will become even greater. LPI Linux Certification in a Nutshell prepares system administrators for the basic LPI General Linux 101 exam and the more advanced 102 exam. The book is divided into two parts, one for each of the LPI exams. Each part features a summary of the exam, a Highlighter's Index, labs, suggested exercises, and practice exams to help the you pass the LPI exams with flying colors. For those preparing to take the LPI Linux Certification Exams, this book will prove to be invaluable in its scope and breadth. Linux newbies will also find this book useful for learning more about how to use their Linux system.
Keywords: Jeffrey Dean LPI
Publisher: O'Reilly & Associates
ISBN: 1565927486


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 02-11-2004, 07:21 AM   #1
Crito
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Kubuntu 9.04
Posts: 1,168

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $39.95 | Rating: 10

Pros: Precisely follows test objectives with review exercises and sample tests.
Cons: Strictly for test preparation, not a command reference or newbie guide.



A surprisingly short yet complete study guide for both LPI Level 1 tests. Divided into topics and objectives in the same order questions appear on actual tests. Complete with exercises, practice tests and a unique feature called a highlighter's index, which is essentially the test outline. A full index and glossary are included in the back also. Newbies will need additional books to get started and experienced users will still need a good command reference (or just read the manpages.) This book is for test preparation only and accomplishes that goal extremely well.
 
Old 04-19-2004, 04:13 PM   #2
iainr
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Distribution: Ubuntu 9.04
Posts: 631

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Accurate sample tests
Cons: Subject coverage is good, but not complete.


With a few years Unix experience, I used this book as pretty much my sole revision tool for the LPIC1 exam, and passed!

The sample exams were very good. For each test, I took the sample exam after my revision. In both cases, the mark I got on the sample exam was within a few percent of my score on the real thing.

There were a few areas where the book didn't quite cover the exam contents, but not so much as to be a problem (unless you really need to get 100%).

I found the book clear, well laid out and focused on the exam. The LPIC1 exam was harder than I was expecting; I certainly needed a good revision book to help me pass and this one did the job.
 
Old 06-11-2004, 07:21 PM   #3
Jim Pye
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: openSuSE & Fedora Core
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Right depth of knowledge for the level 1 exams.
Cons: Not up with the current list of LPIC-1 Objectives 06/04


This was the only specific book I could find that addresses the LPI certification program. Here in Australia anyway.

But when comparing it's contents to the current LPI objectives list (available from the www.lpi.org website) there are sections that are out of order with the current level 1 and level 2 objectives. eg. X is covered in Level 1 in the current test, it is covered under level 2 in the book. Also there were a couple of topics missing from the book.

But this book is a very, very good starting point to get an idea of the correct level of knowledge required for the certification test. Especially the practice test questions provided. But as it currently stands it is not a complete reference guide to passing the current test. man pages, tldp, other online resourse etc. and of course playing and experimenting are needed as well.

Well worth the money, but it needs to be revised for the current test objectives.

Now if I could find the Level 2 version :-)

Jim Pye
Master CNE, CNI, Novell CDE, LPIC-1
The Sunshine State, Queensland
Australia
 
Old 09-26-2005, 12:55 PM   #4
wgrace
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Mandrake 9.1
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $20.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Good coverage on objectives, best LPI specific book I know
Cons: Some objectives have changed exams, new exams due in 6 months


In combination with the LPI objectives freely available on their website, and some small amount of material I gathered from other Linux site, I was able to pass both exams, particularly 102 (although I did get a course that was more RHCT oriented).

I took the LPI objective list and wrote down a few lines on each topic, then used that as my study sheet. Almost all the objectives are covered here, including some you might not think about, like the GNU text utilities. Pretty much to the point, not a lot of non-exam material.

The sample exam questions are fairly realistic, but again LPI changed the exam organization after this book was released, so watch for topic shifts. There will be a few suprises on the exam, generally hardware / kernel related.

If you plan to use this book, just plan on taking the exam in 6 months, as the exam format is due to change. Who knows how long it will be for a good book to come out for the new exam.

Good luck!
Bill
SCSA, LPIC-1 certified
 
Old 07-08-2008, 07:07 PM   #5
frankie_DJ
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: slackware 10.1 comfy, Solaris10 learning
Posts: 232

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: The stuff that's in there is fine...
Cons: ...problem is in the stuff that's not in there


OK lets make this clear first: guys who reviewed this book
before me have done so 4 or more years ago. So my review is
covering the 2nd edition of the book. In addition, LPI Exams
have changed at least once since the last reviewer.

Second, I just passed 102 exam which makes me officially LPI
Level 1 certified.

But I passed 102 exam DESPITE of the book. I don't know HOW it happened, but I somehow managed to squeeze thru with 550 points (500 being the 'pass line').


I STRONGLY DISCOURAGE YOU FROM TRUSTING THIS BOOK REGARDING THE TOPICS COVERED IN EXAMS 101 AND 102

This book covers less then 50% of the 102 exam material (and you can easily see this for yourself: http://www.lpi.org/eng/certification/the_lpic_program/lpic_1)

It seemed fine for 101 exam, the book covers about 70% of the material - not terrible. But 101 exam was fairly easy to me. I hardly studied at all and got 680, pretty good score.

So...yeah, it was stupid of me not to compare topics covered in the exam with the topics covered in the book PRIOR TO buying the book...I guess I trusted that the book titled 'LPI Linux Certification in a Nutshell' would prepare me for LPI Certification exam. Wouldn't you?

I went to the examination center after a week of hard all-day studying and felt pretty good about it. Imagine my shock when I saw questions about specific iptables or apachectl options, or /etc/nologin file. None of these are even once mentioned in the book.


Anyways...I am not bitter, I actually feel pretty lucky to
pass. Just wanted to warn people that O'Reilly doesn't always mean excellence.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration