LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Other
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

sidux 2007.04
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 44915 06-26-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 10.0



Description: sidux is a relatively new distribution, coming into existence as a project team in November 2006. With just a couple of quarterly releases under its belt, sidux is already showing great value and promise. To support this, I now have sidux installed as one of my primary desktop systems. I keep SimplyMEPIS out there as my stable system and sidux out there as my leading edge system.

You would think that sidux, based on Debian Sid, might be unstable. From time to time Debian Sid goes into a funk, getting moody as it migrates from one major subsystem to another. For example, whenever glibc or libc6 changes it causes major adjustments. Same is true when there is a major X.org change.

Where sidux comes into the picture is that they do a great job of smoothing out the bumps as much as possible in the moody Debian Sid repositories, leaving you with a huge collection of VERY current software that is actually usable. Though I have not had many problems with Sid over the years, I have had it take my system right out of commission on one or two occasions. I have NOT had that happen once with sidux.

While no system is perfect, sidux gives you a GREAT blend of the absolute latest software that is actually usable. On top of that, sidux provides some of the best developer and systems administration tools that I have seen in the Debian world since the demise of my once favorite all time distribution, Libranet. If sidux continues on its current path, it could fill the void left when Jon Danzig, founder of Libranet, passed away. While I will ALWAYS have the highest regard and memory of both Jon and Libranet, sidux sure helps me cope with every day Linux desktop use. My new favorite!
Keywords: Debian Sid, fast, bleeding edge


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 03-18-2008, 11:25 AM   #1
masinick
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Distribution: Debian, sidux, antiX, SimplyMEPIS, Kubuntu, Mandriva, Fedora, Xandros, Arch, and many others
Posts: 560

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy installation, great tools
Cons: console update



The sidux distribution is one of the most up to date distributions available, and considering the cutting edge nature of the effort, it is amazing how stable it is. I have never experienced a single issue with it on any of the releases I have used, and I now have sidux installed on three home computer systems: an aging Dell Dimension 4100 desktop, which I actually upgraded from Debian Etch --> Debian Sid --> sidux, a Compaq/HP D530 desktop, and a Dell Latitude D600.

All of the installations were effortless and trouble free. It is trivial to install a wide variety of metapackages to obtain additional drivers for wireless devices that are not included in the base installation. There are metapackages for a wide variety of applications as well, including support for common media applications. You can get the usual Java, Flash player, and additional codecs and fonts to further customize and tailor the system to your specific needs. There are convenient tools provided to make all of these activities very straightforward.

I marked "console update" under the list of "Cons" only because console tools tend to intimidate the complete beginner, but I have to tell you that the sidux console tools are not difficult at all to use. Each utility explains what it intends to do and guides you through each activity and step. The smxi utility is used to upgrade the system in console mode because it protects you from updates to the graphical user interface (GUI) that may result in a malfunction of the interface. Therefore, though I list this as a "Con" this feature actually greatly improves the stability of otherwise potentially volatile updates. I have never had an issue while performing an update, and only recently this very system protected me from some KDE updates from the Debian Sid repositories that the sidux team discovered were defective. The problems were resolved and the sidux tool then allowed the corrected updates to be applied a day later. Excellent coverage!

The sidux forums and the sidux IRC chat have both been useful sources of information and conversations with sidux developers.

As an experienced system user who still appreciates convenience, yet wants a cutting edge system that is usable, stays true to its roots, and has excellent support, I cannot think of a better system to use. Only a timid beginner may be reluctant to use sidux. To that timid beginner, I would simply advise trying out sidux in Live CD form and get comfortable with it for a while before attempting to install it. Do a little research, reading the excellent documentation on the sidux site, access the forums and the chat rooms, back up the stuff you want to keep, then boldly give it a try. Help is always available. Veterans may not need any help at all; it really is convenient and straightforward to install and use.

Give sidux a try. Like me, you will have a smile and give it a big "Thumbs Up"!
 
Old 03-18-2008, 09:06 PM   #2
craigevil
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: Debian Sid
Posts: 4,732

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: 5 Minute install, Excellent Tools
Cons: none it rocks


sidux,, Debian Sid on steroids!!
 
Old 03-18-2008, 09:44 PM   #3
masinick
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Distribution: Debian, sidux, antiX, SimplyMEPIS, Kubuntu, Mandriva, Fedora, Xandros, Arch, and many others
Posts: 560

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Debian Sid on steroids
Cons: none


I like Craigevil's short review, so I will add those amended comments to my previous review comments. Yeah! In this profession, unlike professional sports, steroids is a good thing! sidux definitely rocks, to put it in slang, or to say it straight out, sidux is excellent in every way I can think of!
 
Old 06-05-2008, 03:57 PM   #4
masinick
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Distribution: Debian, sidux, antiX, SimplyMEPIS, Kubuntu, Mandriva, Fedora, Xandros, Arch, and many others
Posts: 560

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: cutting edge, Debian on steroids, works effectively
Cons:


I just downloaded and installed a snapshot of the next release, 2008-02 and it works as well or better than previous releases. I checked out installing to a USB stick and that worked for me, and I also installed to my hard drive on a Lenovo 3000 Y410 laptop, and that worked very well.

I cannot praise this distribution enough. Where else can you get a cutting edge system that works so well?
 
Old 06-05-2008, 09:28 PM   #5
GoinEasy9
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: siduction, Fedora 19, openSUSE Tumbleweed
Posts: 379

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: The most up to date software and kernels, stable Debian Sid
Cons: none


I've been a Linux user as long as I've been a member of LQ. But, that's all I was, a user. After a year with sidux, I now can say that I have an expanded knowledge of the Linux operating system. Not because I was forced to learn, but, because the sidux community taught me. The forums and the IRC channel #sidux on oftc are a great source of information and knowledge, and I consider the community family.
That being said, sidux is fast, the slh kernels rock and the whole distro is hot and spicey. Running a rolling distro means I never have to reinstall again and h2's smxi makes dist-upgrading virtually error free. When out on the road, kelmo's ceni allows my thinkpad to find all available wifi signals, and attach to the network of my choice.
Funny, after they taught me how to use cli, they created enough tools so I don't have to. But, hey, don't take my word for it, download a live cd and try it for yourself, even running from a cdrom this distro rocks.
 
Old 06-25-2008, 05:31 AM   #6
rangalo
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Posts: 189

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, nice community, bleeding edge
Cons: none


Great distro.
 
Old 06-26-2008, 05:32 PM   #7
tillerman
 
Registered: Jun 2008
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast,save,up to date,great support,full debian repos
Cons: sorry ,what?


In my personal world sidux has overtaken LibraNet in many points or is on the same level .Maybe GUI-administration was better there but I don't miss
it ,due to the incredible sidux-scripts .It's far better than any distro I tested in the last month .
I hope the developers shall stay together for a long time and continue their joyspending and teaching work .
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration