LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Fedora Project
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Fedora 8
Reviews Views Date of last review
23 90280 04-25-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
96% of reviewers None indicated 8.5
booting-screen.png
supersize


Description: Fedora is a Linux-based operating system that showcases the latest in free and open source software. Fedora is always free for anyone to use, modify, and distribute. It is built by people across the globe who work together as a community: the Fedora Project. The Fedora Project is open and anyone is welcome to join.

The Fedora Project is out front for you, leading the advancement of free, open software and content.
Keywords: Fedora Core Redhat Linux


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 12-16-2007, 11:43 AM   #1
the_gripmaster
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: RHEL, CentOS, Ubuntu Server, Ubuntu
Posts: 356

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Clean interface, stable, bundled NTFS support and mounting
Cons: No bundled support for mp3 and some other proprietary media content



I installed the x86_64 (64 bit) version of Fedora 8. So far I have had no issues with the OS itself, apart from some minor problems related only to 64 bit. The default GUI is polished and very pleasant to work with.

What I really liked about Fedora 8 is the bundled support for NTFS partitions. Although Fedora 7 had similar support, it did not add the disk in the /etc/fstab file. But Fedora 8 does!
 
Old 12-17-2007, 04:48 PM   #2
alanof
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros:
Cons:


I'm installing FC8 and i got an issue with my graphic card an old NVidia MX400, looking around found a possible solution, have to work on it for a new and advance distro i would like to see less of this kind of problems.
 
Old 12-19-2007, 04:53 AM   #3
mrechte
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Red Hat standard
Cons: Migration from previous version issues


Major problem is migration from a previous version. This is not well enough tested. Conf files not migrated: this is a serious issue, I would like to see a more clever upgrade mechanism regarding them.

Gnome menus are disorganised: I never know whether I have to look into System or Application menu for configuration issues.

Red Hat supplied Gnome system applications (developed in Python language) are not well polished and probably not following a strict design policy.

Some foundation packages not working (for example kdump).

I would recommend Fedora for semi-professional users (Red Hat EL for professional ones), but not for home entertainment.
 
Old 01-16-2008, 08:14 PM   #4
angryfirelord
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 495

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: very up-to-date, interesting wallpaper, gnome theme, Red Hat
Cons: some things can break due to rapid development


Since Fedora was my very first distro, I've always felt the need to try out every release thereafter. Yum continues to get a speed boost with every release and the fonts, imo, look great with Fedora. Packages in the fedora repository have also grown (7000+).

The fedora team also introduced a new theme for gnome which looks really nice. Being bleeding edge, an occasional package will break something, but that seems to be resolved within the next day. So far, Fedora continues to build upon its releases and continues to amaze me with their progress.
 
Old 02-01-2008, 08:06 PM   #5
beast2k
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Slackware 13
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Theme looks great
Cons: See review


Installing fedora core 8 is the same experience as the first 7 versions of Fedora, nothing new there. The desktop and theme look great, as expected. The apps that are installed are the typical apps that come with gnome or kde there's nothing out of the ordinary here. What's missing is typical, support of Mp3 and other media types. Fedora Core 8 despite it's “cutting edge” way of doing things there is nothing new from version to version. Still I wrestle with dependencys as is typical with most rpm based distros. When I compare Fedora core 8 to distros like ubuntu, mint, PC Linux OS, or Suse it doesn't compare well at all. the fact that Fedora 8 is “cutting edge does nothing for it in fact it just seems to make things more difficult. Bottom line? the Rpm way of doing things seems primitive or just plain old when compared to .deb files and synaptic. Fedora looks great though when talking about the theme but when it comes to system updates, initial set up, and install of apps it just lags way behind the debian based distros. I think it may be time for Fedora to part with Redhat and the Rpm package system and strike out on their own. Fedora is just not worth the hassle anymore when compared to Ubuntu, and if each version is basicly the same as the last what is the point? I gave fedora core 8 a 6, it's better than most but there are many that are better, it's average at best.
 
Old 02-07-2008, 02:33 PM   #6
Hubert the Oboe Nerd
 
Registered: Feb 2008
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Very powerful, stable release
Cons: Lack of official support for many applications


Not bad, but Fedora Core 8 does occasionally run into problems. I'd prefer it over most of the other distros I've tried. No support for media files such as mp3 is more troublesome than most other distros.

I would use it, but it can be a bit of a frustration sometimes. However, the power it provides is quite satisfying.
 
Old 02-07-2008, 08:00 PM   #7
xploit
 
Registered: Feb 2008
Distribution: Fedora 8
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Great hardware support, easy installation, looks amazing, its linux
Cons: some install problems but those are related to my system, RPMs arent fun


The installation took a few tries to get going because it wasnt detecting my drives for some reason, but thats something to do with my controller, it was fixed.

Hardware support is amazing compared to others ive tried. Ubuntu cant compare here, SuSE is great but I couldnt get my graphics card working even after 5 reinstalls and never got my wi-fi card going, much less the sound card. This one had oob support for my sound card, the wifi card was installed flawlessly, and the video card couldnt have been easier.

No problems as of yet, using KDE, not gnome.
 
Old 02-16-2008, 03:28 PM   #8
Stratocastr
 
Registered: Feb 2008
Distribution: FC8
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Its red hat !
Cons: my wifi card was'nt supported out-of-the-box


Im a first time linux user ,
I got so frustrated with Vista , that I just downloaded the first distro that I could find , which in this case was FC8 and BOOM..

IMHO it's done pretty well for a new release..
Im running on a hp pavillion dv6439nr notebook btw..

Even a first time user like me could figure out the basics.
<ok so i have a master's degree in CS , been writing code since I was 14 , but i swear ive NEVER USED LINUX.... twas bout time !!>

The distro came bundled with the absolute essentials , and I really appreciated the auto update facility that brings my distro up to speed periodically..

This , I believe is essential for a newly released (read buggy ) distro..

Clearly , there are bugs yet unfixed , but FC8 did not disappoint me .
I was able to install ( with the help of google and LQ) compiz , which is super cool!!...

So , from the perspective of the user who wants to "learn the ropes" , FC8
is stable enough to work , yet new enough to be relevant..
 
Old 03-17-2008, 02:17 AM   #9
galrub
 
Registered: Sep 2006
Posts: 41

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Red Hat!, stable and nice looking
Cons: changing JDK is a nightmare, Repo url's are not updated un the downloaded ISO


I am a relative noobie to Linux and a Java programmer,
I like the fact the FC8 comes with it's own Eclipse ready to
Rock'n'Roll (or rock and role)... in both Java and C/C++

I'm trying desperately to change the default JDK to Sun dist. and have been unable to do so, A real nightmare, and jboss AS is giving me a hard time with the default package...

also, had to search the web to find working REPO URL to update installed software.

over all I can say that FC8 has surprised me in all aspects, both visual, Samba, Web... Why, even been able to run Tomcat Web Server and deploy a Web Service on it.... how nice, love it!

Give you Fedora people a major thumbs-up!
 
Old 03-22-2008, 05:35 AM   #10
satti
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


i installed fc8 in vmware virtual machine.... when i type gcc in my terminal it says &quot;error trying to execute 'cc1plus' : execvp: no such file or directory....
what is the prob
 
Old 03-27-2008, 07:44 PM   #11
acelere
 
Registered: May 2006
Distribution: Overclkd Fedora 9 + Gnome
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: The looks, stability, all the RPMs available, HUGE user base to help
Cons: does run into dependency problems, version-to-version update sometimes are not adequate


I use fedora since Version 2 and I love it.
It has one of the largest users base, which makes it great for getting help.
MP3 support? do a quick google and you are 2 commands away. No hasle.
I really think the install software utilities could get an improvement though, because sometimes the dependencies get in your way. Also, for source code, it will not do well. Perhaps a little talking with the gentoo guys would benefit a little.

Well, bottom line: it is a GREAT product and almost earns a 10. I have no doubt that in little time it will be excelent! Use it and contribute!
 
Old 03-31-2008, 07:07 AM   #12
alnafeza
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros:
Cons:


THANXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
 
Old 04-01-2008, 12:44 AM   #13
rjnena
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: RehHat EL4 AS, Slackware
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: greate support for hardware, Stable, and Robust System (LINUX)
Cons: i donnt think there is Cons for any Linux Distribution


Great OS
 
Old 04-03-2008, 04:35 AM   #14
tiagoreul
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Distribution: Fedora 8
Posts: 20

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Excellent interface, almost all the hardware works fine (including my wireless card, automatically installed, and my NVIDIA graphics card)
Cons: I can't get the java and flashplayer opensource plugins to work with 64-bit. I'm using the proprietary ones.


Excellent.
The coolest distro I ever tried.
 
Old 04-05-2008, 07:09 AM   #15
j. van helden
 
Registered: Sep 2007
Distribution: Fedora and Ubuntu
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Too many to mention
Cons: Wireless Broadcom 4318 and ndiswrapper very troublesome


I have been using Linux since RedHat 4.0 and after RH 9.0 changed to Fedora and have been using it since. Always made a clean installation as updating Fedora is not advisable. Fedora 8 is as easy to install as one can with for. I don't use the update facility provided by the system but use Kyum instead which is very neat and controllable.
Fedora 8 is a very neat and fast distribution.
 
Old 04-15-2008, 07:59 AM   #16
linuxlover.chaitanya
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Distribution: Cent OS 5/6, Ubuntu Server 10.04
Posts: 4,627

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: RedHat supported
Cons: lacks synaptic support



i guess it is a good os for a first timer.
but i have seen a lot of other linuxes.
ubuntu, mint, zenwalk, damm small linux, red hat, open suse, debian.
and i guess ubuntu and open suse score more marks over others.
red hat is though the most stable os among those.
and this gives fedora some solid base of RH.
but then still fedora should have had better support of synaptic though yum is still there to consolidate this.
as far as looks are concerned ubuntu takes the cake with built in compiz.
but to get the stability of RH ,compromises can be made in some issues.
out and out its a very good os. use it be it your server or a desktop and it wont disappoint you in any way.
 
Old 05-03-2008, 01:10 AM   #17
algogeek
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Distribution: Fedora 9, Ubuntu 8.04, Ubuntu 8.04 Server
Posts: 103

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Good hardware support, audio card recognized
Cons: Some tinkering needed before it can boot smoothly


As someone who had migrated to linux in the past but had been using windows just because of the 'fear' that linux doesn't work well on laptops, fedora 8 seemed to be nearly perfect for me.
I had tried fedora 7 on my laptop in the past and it turned out to be nightmare to install and get running on my system - the installer itself failed to launch without the noacpi option.
But for Fedora 8, things worked right out of the box. The installation was smooth. However, the boot process seemed to be a bumpy ride as my laptop started hanging on trying to boot up fedora as soon as the installation finished.
But that was due to my wireless hardware, and ndiswrapper took care of that. The boots following that were smooth.
There are slight hiccups though. For me, fedora 8 (32 bit on a 64 bit platform) has been behaving a little awkwardly though, even if it seems to be a beautiful distro. Network disconnects cause the system to stall, and my system feezes once in 2-3 days.

Still, fedora 8 has been a rather pleasant experience.
 
Old 05-04-2008, 06:06 PM   #18
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 2,945

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Reliable, large user base to get help from
Cons: Java


I've used Fedora since version 1 and never found a reason to change.

My one gripe has been the difficulty of getting Java, whether the Sun original or Fedora's Iced Tea, to work properly.

Admittedly, I'm generally doing office-type things on an office-type desktop, so I don't have to worry about hardware or multimedia issues. As far as the latter go, however, the answers are out there: you just need to google for them.
 
Old 06-07-2008, 04:59 AM   #19
lost dragon
 
Registered: Jun 2008
Distribution: mandrake 2008.1
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: free, secure, powerful,
Cons: wifi


i have used redhat since 6.0 and it came w/enlightenment *(my favorite wm).

now, many microns later, beaten down by windows, i rose up and re-installed linux w/fed8

back then, my roommate was our i.t. guru and setup a redhat 5.0 firewall, and network.
he was always hacking at it.

helped me a few times, but i grew to use madrake, damnsmall, and many w/managers with ease.

one thing that is constant, even w/fed 8 (and my toshiba laptop) is the network

back then, it worked, and was a hassle, but stable once configured.

now, many microns later, beaten down by un-connectibility, my wifi card is a pita. its the most useful tool a pc can have (being online) and its my Achilles heel.


for dual booting w/Vista, whenever i actually get a eth0 connection w/fed8, it distorts the registry on vista...(BIOS hack??) and vise versa.

when i get vista functional again, it kill the kernel or eth0 for linux, so i cannot even connect w/cat5...

but, all in all, if my wifi were to be resolved, FED8 (or every fed release) would be my only O.S.

i havent played or learned enough w/it yet, but i love the new kde and thats a 1st. i still miss the good ole days of elnightenment (by Carsten "Rasterman" Haitzler), that was my favorite wm of all time, and most fun to configure in the most minimalistic/eyecandy/usefullness to this day...(where is he now).


but, when fed 8 introduced 3d desktop (and it works on my laptop) i was really estatic again.

vista tried, but said my v.card was too weak, yet for 4 months, fed8 was rolling the cube (or 3-5 sided boxes) without hesitation.

http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e1...hot3dbmw3d.png
 
Old 09-10-2008, 01:31 PM   #20
keyloun
 
Registered: Sep 2008
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: It might allow me to evaluate VMWare Server 1.0
Cons: I cannot download Fedora 8


I'm new and not smart enough to figure out how to download Fedora 8, any advice
 
Old 10-29-2008, 01:25 PM   #21
Sargek
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Debian testing
Posts: 416

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy install, updates, administration
Cons: Slow, Pulse Audio


Fedora, any version, is my favorite "easy, just works" distro. VERY polished install, easy package management and updates, and all my hardware works out of the box. The last version I tried used Pulse Audio, which I ended up disabling because frankly I couldn't see the point to it and it didn't work out of the box. Alsa works, period, if it's not broke, don't fix it...IMHO.

Fedora also has some great recovery features, like if you update your kernel and forget to update your Nvidia drivers, it sets xorg.conf back to "nv" so you can log in to GDM. The livna repositories make this feature moot since they update everything at one time, but it still shows the folks at Fedora think about these things.

I would recommend Fedora to anyone, really. I don't like the periodic releases which make you upgrade, but I am used to rolling releases, like in Gentoo so that's just me.

My favorite distro besides my beloved Gentoo.
 
Old 04-06-2009, 09:38 PM   #22
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


how can I download the iso file?
 
Old 04-25-2009, 09:00 AM   #23
doanxuantambk
 
Registered: Apr 2009
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: useradd command is mistake
Cons:


I checked "man useradd" command.it displayed the method to handle "useradd" command.but when i type a command
[root@localhost /]# useradd -c "tam" -d /home/tam tam
bash: useradd: command not found

it give a alert the command not found.
help me please correct this mistake.
thanks..
contact to me :doanxuantambk@gmail.com
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration