LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > openSUSE
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Novell OpenSUSE 10.3
Reviews Views Date of last review
25 91128 05-11-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
88% of reviewers $69.00 7.9



Description: The openSUSE project is a community program sponsored by Novell.
Keywords: Novell SUSE OpenSUSE YaST zypper KDE GNOME distribution 10.3


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 10-06-2007, 02:38 PM   #1
wanderingmind
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04 LTS
Posts: 76

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Faster than before. Great config Tools. Stellar for any use:Desktop/Laptop/Server.
Cons: Less enthusistic community, compared to Ubuntu for example



OK, this is after 2 days of use. I hope I don't regret what I say ;-)

For me, SUSE has previously been a great distro with a few drawbacks:
1) slower package management (compared to apt-get in Debian-based distros)
2) more tricky to set up non-free & multimedia items (compared to Automatix for Ubuntu, for example)
3) somehow "heavy" feel - unexplainable

In this newest release, 10.3, these issues have been addressed in a visible way. The package management is a LOT faster, and using zypper from the command line is pretty close to apt-get experience now.

Getting non-free items has become very easy - YaST now has a module "community repositories", where you can simply tick boxes to include repos like Packman, VideoLan, NVIDIA & ATI. Flash and Java are installed _by default_.

Traditional strengths of SUSE are still present - Very good laptop support, for example easier to set up WPA connections than in Ubuntu. Excellent configuration tools in YaST. Great attention to detail, and especially well thought out KDE desktop (I don't use GNOME).

It would be 10, but I drop it to 9, because my installation had a few quirks. They may not affect many people, but I'll list them:

1) One still can't install Crossover office without manually changing ulimit in /etc/sysconfig/ulimit
2) A software kill switch I use for my Laptop didn't compile in 10.3, even if it did in 10.1. But solution hack was found. This may not be SUSE's fault though.

But these are minor things. I have to say that so far this looks like a pretty good release. Definitely the best choice for my laptop.

OpenSUSE is raising it's game. 9/10
 
Old 10-15-2007, 11:35 AM   #2
winsnomore
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: #1 PCLinuxOS -- for laughs -> Ubuntu, Suse, Mepis
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Better than before ..
Cons: Boot, Startup, Packages, Hardware Detection etc. etc. etc.


I have Suse installed now for about a week.

I tried it under Qemu emulator- it failed to install.
I installed it on AMD/ATI hardware successfully.
Install : Takes ~1 hour from the CD, much worse than expected.
Really bad - 10.3 doesn't install other distros on your machine in the grub properly - you have to hand edit menu.lst and fix the entries, which are made all the more confusing as Suse has changed the drive names and assignments.

During install, it asks you if you want to update to the latest packages(select no!)- even then it takes a while to compile a list of packages to install. Install is annoyingly long, may be live CD will ease the pain a bit.

All disks are now called /dev/sdxxxx.
I have 2 SATA drives and though SUSE was installed on a PATA drive, it reversed the order of SATA drives for no reason.

On formatted partitions it puts REALLY_LONG_VOLUME_NAMES_THAT_I_DONT_LIKE .. this might be a nice feature for a server farm, but for a single machine it's horrible.

Package Selection: defaults are poor, had to hand select almost everything.

Package Management: is quiet messed up-if you install a package say X(1.34.2) that needs Y(1.11.2), and you have Y 1.11.1, it will complain. But this situation is made worse by the Suse development repos being included in the update path that causes 99.99999999999999% of these issues.
Tread very carefully .. or may be I should say .. ignore the damn cries of incompatibility.

Package source selection now includes necessary 3rd party sites like Packman.

Java(RE) & JDK are ancient 1.4.2 (current version is 1.6) and one has to hand install this too from Sun.
Flash - same story, basically everything you need, needs a hand job.

Performance: Boot is slow, Yast2 is a bit better than before, overall it's average.

Virtualization: Xen was taken out a while ago I think, it's not in the standard configuration, wish they had kept it as a viable boot option.

Hardware Detection/Handling:
Display:
Xorg Vhsync/Hsync parameter Didn't work On my standard ATI/Sony monitor setup for 1280x1024 resolution. Had to hand edit the config and just delete all the crappy calculations done by someone that still end up totally wrong.

Even then the Screen Resolution/Positioning software is broken .. like in 10.1/10.2 .. IT DOESN'T WORK PROPERLY.

Other:
- Didn't detect wireless mouse - and X won't start
- Did handle my D-Link bluetooth dongle.


Had to hand edit the xorg.conf for multiple problems to get it to start X.

Updates:
I think it's one of the annoying things about all distro's, the update doesn't seem to work properly. I tried update and it hosed the distro, I tried repair and that was worst. I finally did a complete reinstall !!

Visual: Fonts are VERY NICE -- it's pretty overall and gives a very pleasant visual experience but the lack of attention to the detail is hurting.

As you can see my comments are mostly on installation, because almost everything else is pretty much distro independent !

Overall:
I believe you will have some issues with this distro .. if you are uncomfortable having to edit to make it work, try something else.
 
Old 10-18-2007, 01:59 PM   #3
jst4fun
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Faster Boot Up, One Click Install, Faster Package Manager
Cons: No Live CD


Opensuse 10.3 is one of the best release ever. Other than a DVD, for the first time opensuse is available in one CD, but it is an install CD and not a Live one. Future version of opensuse might carry a live CD, but not in this release.
Highlights in this release are:
1) Faster Boot up: as said in the opensuse site the system would be up within 15 to 20 sec which is 2 times faster than opensuse 10.2.
2) MP3 Support: Now opensuse supports mp3 out of the box in DVD installation. For other codecs, opensuse would ask the user if they want to download and install the codecs while trying to play a multimedia file with unsupported codec. It is now too easy to get complete multimedia support in opensuse.
3) One Click Install: It is one of the most interesting feature in this release. Users can go to software.opensuse.org/search and then search for a software.If found, on clicking 1 click install will download a ymp file and would open yast and starts installing the file (along with its dependency resolved). A highly appreciable and useful feature.
4) Faster package manager. There is now an option to add additional repositories by selecting it from a module in yast.

On installing the previous opensuse 10.2 on my Athlon X2 system with nvidia based motherboard had following problems:
1) I had to install opensuse 10.2 with noapic option
2) Audio not detected by yast
3) Onboard nvidia lan had a problem of its configuration getting incremented on every booting.

This release fixed most of the problem except the sound card. Even though my sound card was detected by YAST there was no sound. To fix this I had to compile and install ALSA from the source which fixed the issue. Other than this problem everything else worked fine and much faster. I would definitely recommend this distro.
 
Old 10-26-2007, 11:22 AM   #4
dave67
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: nice interface, good looking GUI, nice program selection
Cons: device detection


I like what I seen from the screenshots than I installed it on a old dell with low memory.


I was shocked that it did not detect my wirer Nic card realtek chipset. I had to configure it manually. some of the problems were due to the memory 256MB (rambus) ouch this memory is not cheap. long story short I like the GUI and the programs but suse could learn from other distributions
 
Old 10-28-2007, 01:07 AM   #5
Katzsper
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: don't know
Cons: finding out


Oh boy! Wish I had been reading these posts before. Downloaded the 10.3 DVD image but as it turned out, it is not possible to burn it on a single layer setup. The image is 4.1 GB and my system cannot process more than 4.0 GB. The disks are labeled 4.7 GB but that's the way it works out. Guess it has to do with your software and DVD/ CD drive. Says somewhere you should have a DVD drive 2002 or later. My system is possibly more than 5 years old but I refuse to give it up. At least not now. I have everything from MS -DOS 6 to Win 2003 Server, Free BSD plus my OpenSuSe 10.2. As I write, (from my work laptop), the CD installation, which in effect turned out to be a network install, is in progress and I am praying to the Gods it does not mess anything up.. Finishing basic configuration now. Pray for me. OK.

rootnoverify (hda3,5)
chainloader (hda2,0) +1

Guess I am in some mess.
 
Old 10-30-2007, 07:04 PM   #6
redbook
 
Registered: May 2007
Posts: 44

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Very easy installation
Cons: none so far


I love the KDE gui easy access to repositories excellent wifi support (OK I used ndiswrapper for bcm43xx on laptop and rt61 on desktop but I'm lazy). VLC easy load from repository. All in all a very satisfying experience.
 
Old 11-04-2007, 09:13 AM   #7
farofa
 
Registered: Nov 2007
Distribution: Debian etch amd64, Fedora 7, Fedora core 5 & 6, FreeBSD 6.2, plan9
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: easy to install in 32bit
Cons: 64bit gives no output


I tried this first in the 32bit version and found it to be okay. It's a bit more resource hungry than other distros I have used.

The 64bit version installed at first. After the first boot, nothing appeared and there was no response.
 
Old 11-13-2007, 08:54 AM   #8
angryfirelord
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 500

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: excellent control center (YaST), very polished
Cons: YaST is still a little slow


My first introduction with suse was 10.1 and while I liked it, there were still some major bugs to be worked out. 10.2 was better, but it was still about as fast as Windows Vista. 10.3 was released & I figured I should try it again....

The YaST installer is very polished and easy to use. Using the KDE CD, I'd say the entire install process took no more than 20 minutes on my machine, which is quite amazing. There are two little gotchas to watch out for:

-suse will check the repos by default. If you don't want it downloading packages, uncheck the box!
-the boot loader wants to go on /boot. Most people want it on the MBR, so watch for that as well.

Booting into suse was also relatively fast, less than one minute from boot to KDE desktop (previous versions took about 2 minutes). Here, you can explore some new KDE4 games that suse threw in to replace the default KDE 3.5 ones. All I can say is that KDE4 is going to be great! (at this point in time) But that's another story....

After you've explored and played with your desktop, you probably want to update your system. Previous versions of SuSE required one to manually hunt and add repos by hand. 10.3 has a nice module in YaST that allows you to simply click and apply. That sped things up a bit. Updating the system was relatively fast since suse uses delta rpms instead of downloading the whole package. While YaST still took a little time to load, it's much snappier than previous versions. I know I keep pointing out YaST's speed, but I personally though the suse guys would never get it right....

Oh wait, I forgot hardware detection! openSuSE pretty much configured everything except for my atheros wifi card and 3d on nvidia, both of which aren't suse's fault. Fortuantely, both are a sinple as adding a repo, downloading the package, and configuring it through YaST. The nvidia one was tricky because I had to go into init 3 and execute this:

sax2 -r -m 0=nvidia

Afterwards, 3D was fine. Hmm, maybe I should get some cube action going.

Regardless, if you haven't used 10.3 it's definitely worth a shot.
 
Old 12-03-2007, 02:23 PM   #9
random-tux
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: At least, it loads considerably faster than previous (10.2). No aspiration to discover other "pros" having those "cons"
Cons: having weird "cons" with grapics modules and sound


It loads considerably faster (with my Acer laptop) than the previous 10.2. But. There are some important misconfigurations or bugs,
that it fails with the graphic card/ monitor - somehow X dies in several minutes of active use and you just start a new session. More of that, approximately as fast the sound disappears (while "no complains" in the system -just mute); restarting sound system and reloading sound modules does not cure that - reboot is the only "help". During the installation YaST does not check graphic card selection - as the result I just got a black screen with no choice to see something on the console too. It refuses to initiate "dual head" mode for graphics - if in 10.2 it was just impossible to select some different resolution for another monitor, here it seams to be impossible to use it (two monitors at once) at all. As somebody reminded already, there is an annoyance with "sda" - instead of "hda". That makes a user puzzled, including an assignment of root partition for another OS in the GRUB's menu.list. And it would be good to read somewhere some explanations from the authors of such changes in more or less organized "place" (I believe deeply that they have some quite good intentions doing this - just curious - what for;-).
All that, of course, are not so many problems for the beginning, but some of them are quite severe and appear to be "reliable against solutions" - looks like I am not about to find those solutions for the case with my laptop and just will not use this distro. Anyway, 10.2 was nice to use - thanks to Novell for that.
 
Old 12-04-2007, 05:44 AM   #10
maxsap
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: faster,easier(oneclickinstall),goodlaptopsupport
Cons: long install,not preconfigured wifi drivers


My brother gave me the cd so I gave it a try on my laptop, first impresion was the new cursor (didn't like)and the fell of speed(compare to 10.2)after then there was the long install but the easy for non experts partitioning
well I can say all went fine and as usual I begun to explore 10.3 there is
no wifi drivers but no problem because there are the community repositories
which contain all you need for graphic cards (both ati and nvidia)something very useful for those who strangled to have proper drivers and also has madwifi repo and all the repositories you need.10.3 also have very good hardware support (my camera played at last!!!!!!!)but not the best(tried with an ati card and wasn't recognized properly one click install is really useful and unties your hands for some thinks but there aren't many programs at the collection which is given by suse.I would recomand 10.3 as there is better by 10.2 and by other distributions so give them a try yourself this is the only way to know if it suits your prospectives
 
Old 12-10-2007, 11:45 AM   #11
aRTee
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Mandrake
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: Good looks, lots of software, large community
Cons: Took a big effort to get to function well


Upon boot my graphics were not working well, the system locks up (due to the kernel libata driver combined with my drive, Ubuntu also has this problem), there are video playback problems and whatnot.

Lots of things to fix, work around, and sort out.

Some problems were due to my hardware for sure; but it's relatively standard hardware at that.

You can read my full review here:
www.mandrake.tips.4.free.fr/opensuse10.3.review.html

Enjoy Linux,
aRTee
 
Old 12-20-2007, 05:38 PM   #12
Lola Kews
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 431

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Awesome operating system
Cons: Version/date problem, see main text.


First off I am new to Linux and learning but I thought people might like a New persons view point.

Cons: When it first came out (like the second day) I immediately downloaded and installed it. Right from the first I had one problem after another that was slowly getting resolved from help on this web site. Then I just became sick of the problems and downloaded it again right from Novell.
I partitioned the drive completely through a new install completely erasing the old setup ( maybe 2 or 3 weeks old).

Right from the start everything was working correctly to the point it was a real joy to have. Adding software was easy, a few small problems were easily resolved. I have no idea what they did but I sincerely believe something was wrong with the program in the first few days of it's availability.
Then the New Ubuntu came out and I downloaded and installed it on another drive. It was OK but a LOT slower than SUSE 10.3 and just didn't seem as well rounded as SUSE!
I don't even use Ubuntu now so I'll be deleting it, I know a lot of people sing it's praises but If they think it's great, then they better do a clean install of SUSE for a real SHOCK!
I should also say that these two Linux programs are my first Linux experience, but regardless of what I've said about either one, if you still run MS Windows you're nuts!!!

For some reason (this message) when I tried using quote marks it showed up in Edit as trash, I don't know whether this will carry over to the final print or not.
 
Old 01-13-2008, 02:54 PM   #13
ronlau9
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Distribution: Mandriva 2009 X86_64 suse 11.3 X86_64 Centos X86_64 Debian X86_64 Linux MInt 86_64 OS X
Posts: 2,369

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros:
Cons:


The first Linux distro I use I buy it .The title was Learning linux in 24 hours it just started now.A handbook come with it.
I use suse linux quit a long time now First The second was slackware linux
After that I use suse 7.3 suse 8.3 suse 9.3 and now suse 10.3 on the same machine . Suse has it benefits but also some thinks that I am not so happy about. The good thing is to install or uninstall package with Yast is quit easy.You can let Yast watch the package dependency So you,re system is
always stable .But if you try to install a not rpm program it some times
quit a challenge to put the program in run dialog.
Last week I had to change my old crt monitor with brand new Lcd monitor
all I have to do probe the new monitor because there was message on the screen input not supported and after that every think was oke again.
I have to change my printer with a new one.This was also a easy task.
I down load a few live distro but I can not leave suse yet.
Maybe because I am familiar to it
 
Old 01-20-2008, 12:53 PM   #14
ctsiow
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Distribution: Ubuntu 8.10 server - Ubuntu 10.10 Aspire netbook
Posts: 29

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy straight-forward install
Cons: yast package management slow with the more repos you set up


A nice system running on both my laptop and on a file server I run. I had no problems getting the wireless on my laptop, a AMilo pro, to work and the initial install and updates went very well. I would recommend openSUSE as a good OS but perhaps not to a newbie.
 
Old 01-21-2008, 04:33 PM   #15
dccombs
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Distribution: Mandriva 2009.1/PCLOS LXDE
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Runs great on slower laptop!
Cons: None so far


I installed openSuSE 10.3 on my IBM T21 laptop (P3 750, 256RAM) about a month ago, and am very happy with it.

The only problem I had was getting my Linksys WPC54G (Broadcom) pcmcia card working. After a few hours of trial and error, I managed to get it working using bcm43xx-fwcutter. Now it works better than it ever did in Windows.

openSuSE is not as Linuxnewbie friendly as Mandriva, which I run on my desktop, but with some time and effort,this newbie was able to get my laptop up and running very well. Seems to run faster than XP.So far, it also seems completely stable, just like XP.

I love that it comes complete with CD burning software and a complete office suite. I had to add Flash player to be able to watch youtube vids etc, but it was no big deal. I also added Opera 9.25, I like Opera, it's a fast little browser.
 
Old 01-30-2008, 12:48 AM   #16
oobist
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Overall very good hardware recognition
Cons: Sound interface recognition is still significantly flaky



I tried to install version 10.3 onto a Presario laptop F500 (NZ label) but would not install. Installed v10.2 and then upgrade to v10.3, it worked. I suspect the problems lies in the Presario having 2 major components still 32-bit architecture, because when I installed v10.3 onto Dell 1420 (with only 1 32-bit major component) v10.3 installed right away, sans sound, which is a major problem for me. I have tried several options, including installing new version of ALSA (v.10.15) over the bundled v10.14, still would not work. V10.15 would not even load: lsmod | grep snd shows nothing. 8 out 10 still is not bad, and still will recommend OpenSuse 10.3.
 
Old 02-07-2008, 09:31 AM   #17
Molten
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons:


The openSUSE 10.3 KDE 4.0.1 LiveCD is awesome!
 
Old 02-12-2008, 01:23 AM   #18
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: You can install Oracle so easy
Cons: No Webmin anymore


Easy and powerfull
 
Old 03-22-2008, 04:40 PM   #19
sriram_16a
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: SuSE,Slackware,Knoppix
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3

Pros: Faster bootup, faster package management
Cons: highly unstable for daily use


Yes of course, better than windows xp, but i have used this distro since version 10.0 with all updates and by far, this is the worst and most unstable version they've released so far! Sane is not there in their default dvd, MySQL doesn't initialize and startup first database properly, Graphics card support is poor, HP all-in-one device doesn't work as non-root user... packages are svn and release candidates... The worst version far ever! I had to downgrade several packages to the version in my opensuse 10.2 for usability!
 
Old 03-22-2008, 04:43 PM   #20
sriram_16a
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: SuSE,Slackware,Knoppix
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


who managed to install oracle 10g in opensuse and got the web tool working???
 
Old 03-27-2008, 10:39 PM   #21
Doctorzongo
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Distribution: Fedora 11
Posts: 72

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Nice Desktop, Easy Install, Nice Support
Cons: Slow Package Management Utility, Non-User Friendly Package Manager, Install Quirk (listed below)


Well, over all this is a great OS -- one of my favorite ones.

The install process was, over all, easy. The Desktop is very nice. You can find a lot of online documentation for it as well.

However, I've had trouble with the Package Manager. Maybe I'm just missing it, or there's a bug, but there is only a search function. While search functions are great, I also would like to just browse the collection. The Package manager is also not very user-friendly, as far as I'm concerned. During Install I did have one quirk, though: my internet connection was not working. It worked fine on another computer -- but not on the one OpenSUSE was installing on. Once the install process was completed, though, and the desktop loaded, it worked fine.

Over all, this is a very nice distribution.
 
Old 04-02-2008, 04:30 PM   #22
ianio
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Distribution: opensuse 11.1
Posts: 32

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: stable, loads of support, 1click install, meadia support on install
Cons: install is not a live CD experience


I have bounced from almost every version of Suse since 9.1. I find it very reliable and loads of help is always available.

The KDE desktop on 10.3 is great. especially with compiz (3d) which is reasonably easy to get going.

It seems the repair function of the 10.3 version is some what dodgy and i havent seen a move to fix this yet.

Also i ended up ditching 64bit in favour of 32bit for the reliability of graphics drivers but this is not limited to suse as ubuntu played the same game.

Overall,
most hardware is well supported
the install is painless (if lacking a live CD)
the software choice and rpm install options are endless
1 click install is the best around
updates are regular and mainly reliable

its simple and powerful and can be made to look absolutely stunning.
 
Old 04-08-2008, 08:39 PM   #23
brianlevyesq
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Stable, mature feeling and easy to work with
Cons: Installer notices and request less than intuitive


I've been playing with Linux since the early days on and off having grown up with Xenix and UNIX. It has been interesting to see how nicely different distros with each generation has come along and provided more value and easier installs and functions with each generation. I've been enjoying Ubunto on my desktop until the HD got trashed and had to be replaced. I decided to burn the OpenSuse DVD and load it. Install was quick and easier than even Ubunto. Both had the same issue with the wireless card. Out of the box, some of the entertainment modules that Ubunto did not support and install were available in 10.3. Came down to seeing which I liked better, Gnome or KDE between the distros. Updating to KDE 4.0.2 was about as simple as it gets on 10.3. Everday desktop apps are about the same, though I prefer Evolution to kContacts and kMail, seems more like my Windows app, !ntellect. I can easily live with either desktop. I found KDE a little easier to configure.

10.3 seemed more of a complete fuller system. Yes, subjective. For a desktop OS either is a winner for home use but 10.3 gets closer to the complete out the box solution for Joe Average looking for an alternative to Windows but is both as easy to install and complete as an OS.
 
Old 04-16-2008, 05:57 AM   #24
hans51
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Distribution: suse
Posts: 36

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $69.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: all works out of box
Cons: none


10 yrs of SuSE Linux in full time professional web publishing work - the 10.3 is used on a

Acer Aspire 4315

the original DVD install worked perfect out of the box without problems. all needed features worked instantly,

openSuSE Linux is getting better and better each time and thus I truly can recommend this fine dist to others for any professional work.
 
Old 05-11-2008, 10:43 PM   #25
jessica_lilly
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Posts: 133

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: great hardware support, good irc, good wiki, loads of packages, fast, powerful, stable, sercure, fast boot, very customizable, loads of tools, much more...
Cons: non as yet


have not been running this system long but its the best distro so far. i have tryed ubuntu, debian, gentoo, arch, mint, dreamlinux, mandriva (mandrake), slackware, puppy, fedora, and much more.

I have found openSuSE to be brilliant for all user's i have read many reviews on lots of operating systems and seen people say brilliant for new users and experienced but when got on them its got a strong feeling its been built for ether new users or experianced but openSuSE really is diffrant its got it all its not a system you have to work at once past all the culture shocks of a new system there is no working to get it the system for you its just how it is, you don't need it to grow on you after a few days when you have settled in its nice and you have got use to the menu (kde users) After i installed it i felt the system had been built for me very little to do, install a webcam driver, wireless driver and get a few scripts i wish to use to be encoporated in the boot and its off working brilliantly

There are so many packages for openSuSE and very easy to get them ether using your GUI (yast) or command line YaST or zypper in (package) its so easy that dose not mean experianced users will find it a boarding lengthy process as most easy tasks are to the more able. The package manager quickly download's the package and implements it in to your system ready for use.

The system is very fast and supports a lot, its exteemly powerful and can really show you who is in control so many systems control your hardware for you with little input from you but suse puts you in the driving seet if you want something to happen you can genreally do it. SuSE dosnt default to letting it take over but the for new user you can let it do much of it in the GUI with the ever so powerful YaST which in suse is ground 0 its the place that will take control of your system but with your control. You will soon feel and be in control of your system with suse controlling everything you wish.

People ask me why i use linux on my system for a desktop and not just keep it to servers running linux and windows on the desktop, instead of giving them a answer to that i burn off a copy of suse 10.3 live and give them it after about half a hour there asking them selves why are they paying for windows when suse makes linux so much better. i am not putting ubuntu down but when i used that a lot and i gave people ubuntu disks they called it a bloated version of feel power not real power and even though it will be more sercure than there windows they see no real reason to move, now i start giving out suse live cd's about half the people move over to suse only or duel boot ware as with ubuntu it was more like 1 in 10 people.

Suse is good on the family computer as well as for your personal or business use, i highly recommend it.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration