LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Fedora Project
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Fedora 7
Reviews Views Date of last review
16 104083 04-06-2010
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.1



Description: The latest Fedora release. Fedora 7 has been about improving the manner in which all future Fedora releases will be made. This release marks the merge of Core and Extras.

For the first time, Fedora includes several different spins, which are variations of Fedora built from a specific set of software packages. Each spin has a combination of software to meet the requirements of a specific kind of end user. In addition to a very small boot.iso image for network installation, users have the following spin choices:

* GNOME and KDE desktop environment based bootable Live images that can be installed to a hard disk. These spins are meant for desktop users who prefer a single disk installation and for sharing Fedora with friends, family, and event attendees.

* A regular image for desktops, workstations and server users. This spin provides a good upgrade path and similar environment for users of previous releases of Fedora.
Keywords: Fedora core extras redhat


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 06-15-2007, 01:26 PM   #1
revolink24
 
Registered: Sep 2006
Distribution: PCLinuxOS 2007
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Great Built in Beryl, live CD, KDE version, Fedora Core power.
Cons: My only con is the included software. Firefox, Opera, and Openoffice must be acquired separately.



I downloaded the Fedora 7 KDE live CD, and from the very beginning I was greeted by a useable, attractive, sleek interface. As always, Beryl is smooth and responsive, even on an older PC, and Emerald and Beryl are both easily customizeable, with lots of plugins and emerald themes preinstalled. I now prefer this is my own personal linux distro.


If you were ever before mystified by Fedora, now's the time to try again.


I recommend the KDE live cd version of this. KDE is more feature-filled, and it includes a better array of default applications.
 
Old 06-17-2007, 10:30 AM   #2
revolink24
 
Registered: Sep 2006
Distribution: PCLinuxOS 2007
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


To add to my previous review, if you want a better bunch of included apps, try the DVD version. But if you want to give Fedora a try, Get the LiveCD.
 
Old 06-18-2007, 03:22 AM   #3
maverick08188
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: Sabayon 3.3, FC7, Ubuntu 'Feisty'
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Install, updates, selection of software, ease of use
Cons: Usual hardware config quirks, certain favorite software packages not included due to copyright issues


This distribution of linux is very widely used, and with good reason. The hardware recognition is top notch, aside from the usual quirks with graphics cards, wifi, etc.

-The distro includes the gnome xserver and kde, along with some less commonly used desktop environments.

-The software selection packaged with the dvd version (the install I used) is also top notch, many of the common favorites such as kaffiene, amarok for kde users, and open office is available. On the other hand, you will not find some favorites such as Opera, and mp3 codecs are not included, so you will have to import this yourself.

The additional software database also has other packages not included in the full dvd install, so don't get mad if you don't see beryl anywhere in sight on first boot ;-) This option also works in the same way of Add/Remove software, so ease of install is well.

-The software is also fully customizable in that you can make this a full install with almost everything you could need, to a bare bones minimal install for other people.

-Right from the start, everything worked, and looked sleek.

-Updates are handled through a similar fashion to automatic updates, without the nagging window bouncing across your desktop, and as I might add, with great ease if you have a configured internet connection.

*On the dvd version, as a sidenote, I had a bit of difficulty configuring the graphics card and such, which is to be expected.

--Overall, another top notch distro from the good people making Fedora.
 
Old 07-03-2007, 03:14 PM   #4
ronpolley
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Distribution: CentOS 3.8,Fedora 6
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast,Atractive,Easy Install
Cons: Upgrade from 6 problematic


Try it,you'll like it
Do a clean install only for the fewest problembs,1st Linux to run well on my Soyo Dragon KT880v2,Windows doesent like it either.See's all my hardware on this 12 device board with raid,Wow.And is running terrific.Looks like a match made system now.
 
Old 08-09-2007, 01:45 AM   #5
gabeyg
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Almost everything from design, fastness, simplicity, complexity and so on.
Cons: wireless configuration with DVD install, audio problems


Except cons part where some people find fatal, which is not to me, (since no one having server use wireless.) it was really good distro version that drastically changed from prev. version.
 
Old 08-09-2007, 08:04 AM   #6
Chargh
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Fedora 16
Posts: 251

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Updated Software, Powerful OS, and RPM install
Cons: Needs more software on Install DVD


Red Hat Linux 6 was the first Linux I ever used. Ever since then I have always used Red Hat based Distributions (except for Knoppix). I ran Fedora Core 4 for 19 months (since new years day 2006) and learned the power of RPM and programing with Gambas. So when I upgraded to Fedora 7, I assumed more of the same. For the most part I was right, but there were a few changes. For example it came with less software on the install disk than FC4 did. It also came with this Package Manager of its own, wich is not that great. But both problems fixed by typing 'yum install yumex' into the Root Terminal. I was also impressed when I installed a RPM I downloaded of the internet. In FC4 it would just give me a list of dependencies. On F7 it can search for the Dependices and install them. Was it worth the Upgrade? I do not know yet but I hope it is.
 
Old 08-25-2007, 05:45 PM   #7
kjuergen
 
Registered: May 2007
Distribution: CentOS5, Kubuntu 10.04
Posts: 38

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Stable, very up-to-date, excellent speed in upgrades
Cons: at least for KDE lot's of missing little things......


Switched about a month ago from openSuSE to Fedora 7 (KDE) and installation went without any problems. Hardware detection worked flawless and I'm impressed by the speed even Kernel updates are provided.

Unfortunately a lot of things for KDE (don't like Gnome) are missing. The update notification has to be manually installed, Kyum, much netter then pupit, isn't installed and finding packages isn't as easy as it could be. If you don't know the first characters of the package name it's "look at google)as the search in the description of the packages doesn't go pretty well.

Overall I'd say that that it's a valuable distro and I don't regret that I left SuSE which lost a lot of support but it's not for those who just want to have a working system without having to fiddle around.
 
Old 08-26-2007, 04:46 PM   #8
yoron
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Posts: 120

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: So windoweiezz, it just works :)
Cons: Configuration tools


I find it extremly sleek and nice on my LapTop :)
But i miss the configuration tools i used to have in Slackware. But for a guy who just want it to 'work' i guess this is the best i've seen in a long time. And the support for Xen impresses me ::))
 
Old 08-31-2007, 01:09 PM   #9
Eric952x
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.04 & Linux Mint 9
Posts: 39

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to install and use
Cons: None


I use this OS at home and at work and love the way it works. After installation on my home system everything worked great but on my office system the sound does not work. I tried a couple of times to fix it but have not found a solution yet. I installed Fedora 7 on a duel boot system at work as a test really. I wanted to see if it would work with all the windows systems at work so far there have been no problems. I have used spreadsheets and other office programs and have been able to sent the work to Windows Systems with no problems. The e-mail program works great and I am able to send work related photos to clients and have had no complaints. The printer and scanner also work great however the printer will not print good photos. It is the same with my home system. If I want good quality prints I have to boot Windows to get the quality print I want. My home system is also a duel boot system. I love being able to surf the internet with out worrying about viruses. I know from experience with other operating systems that is not the case! Overall I am happy with this OS.
 
Old 09-25-2007, 07:39 PM   #10
Archoniam
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Posts: 49

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: APT compatibility, sleek looks, easy to install, comes standard with Linux for Dummies book (TOTAL CONVENIENCE), more stuff to do than solving 1 million Rubik's cubes; just total frickin' fun in pro terms.
Cons: Cannot install tarballs out of box, dependency hell, python not found, hard to make look like osX in Gnome, usual dependencies and Livna are not enough; just total crap in con terms.


Hate it and I like it. My DVD did not install tarballs OOB (Out Of Box), but there is enough to keep me busy doing fun little setup chores for my Linux box. I can't find Python, leading to eventual use of other programming languaged...program...thingys. Driven me about crazy. Needs C compiler specifically. Also there are so little amounts of packages I could not find my favorite ones, like LMMS for example.
 
Old 10-09-2007, 04:19 AM   #11
ricardo1831
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


Hello i need to istall a Fedora 7 at my comput 266Mh and 128Mb memo is possible?if its is possible How many space avaliable i need?So your can send me a site wHere i can make a donwload of 7
 
Old 11-04-2007, 08:08 AM   #12
farofa
 
Registered: Nov 2007
Distribution: Debian etch amd64, Fedora 7, Fedora core 5 & 6, FreeBSD 6.2, plan9
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: easy to install and use
Cons: none


A good distribution that I would suggest for someone that wants to start off into linux.
 
Old 01-01-2008, 12:44 PM   #13
fedix
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Distribution: Fedora / CentOS 5 / Ubuntu
Posts: 100

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Nice look and feel, user-friendly but also have enough for the advanced geek
Cons: DVD donwload didn't install; had to follow another route


Liked the choices of apps. Prefer Fedora's KDE; gnome to blunt
 
Old 01-28-2008, 06:44 AM   #14
Alex2008
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


If these comments seem to nitpick or damn with faint praise, they also reflect the growing maturity of major distributions like Fedora. For the most part, Fedora 7 is a polished and stable distribution that almost anyone can use -- but it is by no means a revolutionary departure from earlier releases. The trouble is that, these days, there is simply less to say about most distributions -- and that, in itself, gives the lie to any claims that GNU/Linux is not ready for the desktop.

------------------------------
Covers
 
Old 10-27-2009, 08:32 PM   #15
bendib
 
Registered: Feb 2009
Distribution: Fedora, Debian on ppc, Oblong Linux.
Posts: 171

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Very stable version, beautiful theme, boots relatively quick.
Cons: Very poor, if they claim any wifi support.


Although they were already working on Fedora 10 at the time, I installed Fedora 7 over Ubuntu. I was hooked. I loved it so much, the boot screen, the wallpaper, and it was much more stable than Fedora 6. I left it on my desktop, which uses ethernet, but put fedora 9 on my laptop, fedora 7 had no wifi support for my card. It automatically started to a very reasonable resolution with no fiddling, too, an issue that plauges fedora 9 and now 10, but is fixable with fiddling. Over all, in my opinion, the best fedora ever released. I upgraded to Fedora 10 via clean install when it was released, and even though they are working on... Fedora 12, I once again found an old release I like.
 
Old 04-06-2010, 03:36 AM   #16
Butter and Fly
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:



hehe...................
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration