LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Arch
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Archlinux 0.8 Voodoo
Reviews Views Date of last review
15 52438 04-11-2010
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
93% of reviewers None indicated 8.9



Description: Arch Linux is a general purpose linux distribution that can be molded to do just about anything. It is fast, lightweight, flexible, and most of the parts under the hood are quite simple to understand and tweak, which can make it a good distro to "learn the ropes" on. We do not provide any configuration helper utilities (ie, you won't find linuxconf in here) so you will quickly become very proficient at configuring your system from the shell commandline.
Keywords: arch archlinux voodoo 0.8 pacman fast optimized binary KISS simple


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 04-17-2007, 07:44 AM   #1
danielph
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: Archlinux
Posts: 41

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: Configurable, fast, latest packages, good package management, simple config, optimized x686 or amd64. fast installation
Cons: more manual configuration needed, potential breakages with latest packages, there are easier distro's



This is more of a few comments then a review and what my experiences of Archlinux have been over the last 6 months. The title of 0.8 Voodoo does not mean as much as it could with other Linux distributions as Archlinux works with a rolling release, so it really is just the latest installer. Of course the latest packages are included. I am not a developer just a Linux user with a couple of years experience running various distributions.

Installer
Improvements have been made with the installer over 0.7.2 which you can read about here. The installer is simple and works well and gets your system up and running quickly, but it does not hold your hand. Configuration for most aspects of the system is done by editing text files and you are giving the option of doing so on installing. If you are new to Linux there maybe better systems to wet your feet with, if you want to dive in, then you have to be prepared to do some learning.
Pros: Simple, fast, choice to install as you want
Cons: Time and knowledge needed to setup to individual tastes

Package Management
This is all taken care of with pacman and configured through pacman.conf. You can choose to include current, extra, unstable , community or custom. Also available are packages from ArchLinux User-community Repository (AUR). This gives a huge selection of up to date packages and a simple installation.
Pros: Simple, up to date, effective and huge list of packages
Cons: I have found searches can be slow with pacman

Using the system
I often was frustrated with some "easier" distribution's when they went wrong and there was no GUI to fix it and then having to understand what goes on underneath was a nightmare. The simple structure here makes things a lot easier to work with. Of course with this you need some knowledge, but a lot of systems are over complicated in order to try and make it easier for us. Over the last six months most of the problems I have encountered have been from my own mistakes. A couple have been from bugs that have got through and this is one problem with cutting edge. One was a kernel bug that got through. I don't think this was a common problem, but effected my laptop and I lost use of the CDROM for a week. An update came through and fixed this.
Pros: Cutting edge
Cons: possible sacrifice of stability

Conclusions
I think Archlinux is best if you immerse yourself in it. Keep an eye on updates and bulletins, become part of community, learn how it works. It is a great distribution and to play with and learn about the system. It is certainly one of the "best" I have used for this. After being burned the only question I would have would be stability, but similar things have happened with Ubuntu Edgy and others. I am currently looking to "settle down" with a Linux distribution after numerous affairs. Part of me is going towards the stability of Debian and part of me loves the nature of Archlinux. I have yet to decide, but it is always good to know that Archlinux is an option.
 
Old 05-17-2007, 11:13 AM   #2
nDray
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: KISS, Bleeding Edge, FAST, "User's-choice software", no unwanted crap
Cons: Somewhat unstable... Allways visit website or forums before updating


Simply amazing. Totally agree with danielph, specially about the "Using the System" point.

Undoubtable (does that exist? I'm portuguese) 11 out of 10.
 
Old 12-11-2007, 03:19 AM   #3
shinedownload
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: software,download,shareware
Cons: www.shinedownload.com


wow!great!
 
Old 01-19-2008, 01:00 AM   #4
Gaston
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Clean, quick, up to date
Cons: Not best for those who won't read instructions.


I've been a distro-hopper for a long time, usually retrenching to Slackware. I haven't been looking at the new ones much since I installed Arch. I'm running the 64-bit, and have the 32-bit on another partition since Adobe and Sun-Java aren't up to date on 64-bit yet. Soon, though ... soon.

It's hard to really appreciate it without learning to use ABS (Arch Build System) and the AUR (Arch User Repository), and yaourt which makes package installs and subsequent updates easier. The Wiki is a little eccentric (the section headings are also links to more info) but very good, and the user forums are outstanding. The forums are the most current resource.

The current .ISO as I write this is called Don't Panic. It doesn't really matter, as Arch is a rolling release. Instead of downloading a release and then having the first update replace a big chunk (or most) of it, an Arch download is fairly small and the first update brings in the latest version of files. Doesn't matter if you start with an older boot ISO, you're going to end up with the latest revisions. Arch defaults to compiled packages, but you can also download the source for any or all and compile yourself a la Gentoo.

Fonts have been nicely rendered, they're a little large by default with Gnome. KDE was well done, as was Arch's special KDEmod version. I ended up with wmii-3.6, a tiling manager (new concept for me) and I'm loving it. Play with wmii for a day or two, and you might get a pleasant surprise. It's a somewhat spartan window manager that actually manages your windows, instead of slapping them up for you to manage. It's different, but I'm liking it.

Some tips: (1) Print the Beginners Guide and Install Guide first
(2) When Arch says it created 4 files, you should review them ... do it!
(3) It comes with the elinks text-based browser, use the Wiki if you're stuck and didn't print the guides before starting.

Good luck, and have fun!
 
Old 03-22-2008, 02:30 PM   #5
neothephoenix
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Distribution: Fedora Core 6, Archlinux Duke
Posts: 52

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Crisp, Concise, No-nonsense OS; the right one to rediscover Linux
Cons: Users accustomed to GUI based distros will need more patience to use it


After my FC6 box crashed, I was looking for a new distro to try out. Consulting the LQ reviews, I chose Archlinux. I'm glad I did; it has lived up to its reputation of being a KISS prototype (Keep It Short & Simple).
Excellent product; for newbies and pros alike.
 
Old 08-02-2008, 10:54 PM   #6
shivcharan
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: ?
Cons: Bad installer


I try to install Arch linux, but fail.
 
Old 09-03-2008, 08:53 PM   #7
mathewhadley
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


Arch Linux is an i686-optimized linux distribution that was originally based on ideas from CRUX. Arch is fast, lightweight, flexible and simple. Those aren`t very fancy buzzwords but theyre all true.
-------------
mathew hadley
www.drivenwide.com
 
Old 10-29-2008, 01:00 PM   #8
Sargek
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Debian testing
Posts: 416

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: Fast, easy config, minimalistic
Cons: Updates can break things too easily


I would recommend Arch for expert users only, specifically someone who is interested in a system like Gentoo, but doesn't want to spend the time compiling that Gentoo requires. The installer works well and I liked the fact it is very minimalistic. What soured me was the volatility of the updates: more than once I had issues with updates. A good learning distro and the BSD init system is very easy to work with as well.

If I didn't have to cross my fingers everytime I updated the system, I might switch back.
 
Old 11-03-2008, 07:28 AM   #9
din
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Posts: 53

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Super fast. Best software manager.
Cons: No full DVD installer. Have to download gui from the net.


Arch is one of my favorites distros.
It very fast. Very configurable. When you use arch you feel real power. You decide, what is best for you : gui, software.
I think arch is one of the best linux distros.
 
Old 11-22-2008, 10:03 AM   #10
dhave
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Arch, formerly Gentoo and Slackware
Posts: 438

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Speed; configurability; active, helpful community; large package repository; AUR and ABS systems (read up on them!)
Cons: User has to be willing to tweak things a bit


Two thumbs and two big toes up
 
Old 03-04-2009, 01:19 AM   #11
circa82
 
Registered: Feb 2009
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: lightweight, quick, control, pkgbuild's and abs
Cons: stability can be a problem


I don't know that I could add more to what's already been said. Arch is an excellent distro with an intelligent package management system in pacman and the luxery of abs and pkgbuilds. System config is centralized and easy to sort through; giving the user great control in a short time span.

Stability can be an issue, but the best way to avoid this is by staying involved in the community. The Arch documentation rivals that of Gentoo as being one of the best; great place to look when you need answers.

Most of all, Arch is fun.
 
Old 01-04-2010, 12:22 PM   #12
Mkman
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Speed,Pacman,Lightweight,KISS,AUR,ABS,Community
Cons: Can be a bit unstable if you dont have carefully


Great Gnu/Linux distribuition, fast, simple. But if you dont visit the website, some programs can break. Arch has a amazing wiki, you can find almost everything in there .Pacman is the package manager in Arch, it does a very good job :)
 
Old 01-07-2010, 09:58 PM   #13
chickenlinux
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Distribution: Fedora 12, Arch Linux (updated daily =D)
Posts: 270

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: KISS, Fast, Accepts Tweaking and Modfications, Well Documented, pacman, testing repo, support, better-than-fedora
Cons: Doesn't feed my goldfish, can't rate it an 11.


I've used lots of various Linuxes, and all were awesome, but none offer everything Arch does.

I netinstalled, and it was a tad difficult, but just follow the archlinux.org directions, and everything is aok! One nice thing about Arch is that it comes with nothing configured at all except for the very basics, ie, no X, no printing, no graphics acceleration, no nonessential system services. You just use the instructions and change it as you want to really make it yours. I've now got a system running enlightenment with 3D acceleration, Word Processing, Image and Sound editing, better internet management than networkmanager, and everything is wonderful.

Here's the bottom line:
It runs under 200 MB of RAM, I have graphics acceleration, it does what I need it to, it's customizable, bleeding edge, and has a marvelous rolling release system. Not Fedora "rolling release" (still defined by versions and doesn't update well!)

The documentation is amazing!

At first, I would have given Arch Linux an 8.5 because it didn't support fglrx. That is HUGE for me. Graphics are very important for what I do. Well, I could have made fglrx run and downgraded my X server -- but I chose not to. Why, you ask? Because I used the testing repo and was able to get flawless graphics acceleration using the radeon driver and experimental kernel modesetting!
THIS COULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED CORRECTLY WITHOUT A HECK OF A LOT OF MODIFICATION, PAIN, AND SCREWED UP STUFF ON ANY DISTRO OTHER THAN ARCH. This scored HUGE points for me. I have flawless, WORKING graphics acceleration that doesn't blow up on updates, or give me any crap. To be freed from the clutches of ATi is great! :)

Now, Arch is designed to be a bleeding edge distro. That means beta software and brand new kernels. This works fine for me, no major issues, they're addressed quickly when they crop up. My machine is totally stable on the testing repository!

Arch package management with pacman is flawless. Pacman is sure to give me instructions for when I update or install and suggest things, and it works. It updates perfectly. True rolling release!

This is the most amazing Linux I've ever used. It's the anti-'buntu. Ubuntu doesn't update well, is bloated, ugly, resists my customizations, and just tries to be Windows with Linux, and therefore sucks. Arch updates well, is thin and fast, beautiful, does not resist customizations, and isn't Windows and doesn't try to be.

The only imaginable downsides of Arch are that nobody outside of arch really provides support for it. But, honestly, it's not like they need to or anything. The Arch community is so helpful and knowledgeable that they don't need to. The other downside is that it sometimes has stability issues, however it's bleeding edge, so that's to be expected, and I'm using the testing repository. Minor stability things are really to be expected. I don't mind it at all. It's still the best Linux that I've touched.

I would not recommend this Linux to new users, unless they're willing to learn a LOT. I learned a lot just from the install and configuration. When I went back to my SuSE laptop, I was amazed at how ugly the internal structure of everything was. It wasn't as beautiful as Arch. Arch is really the best any Linux could be, at least for me.
 
Old 04-02-2010, 07:14 PM   #14
mreschke
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Distribution: Arch, Ubuntu, LFS
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Simple code and layout standards, BSD style init, pacman, easy modifiable installer, tons of packages, code perfection
Cons: not for the beginner or average user (but this is actually a pro :)


chickenlinux said it all, perfect code, easily tweaked for your own custom distro and installer, simple init (but slow compared to others like upstart), very stable for its bleeding-edge-ness, best part is it's rolling release (constant updates of newest software, no 'distro upgrade').

Really, all linux distros are incredibly awesome, but if you are a perfectionist, and want to know every single piece of your system, and know that everything is perfectly effecient and perfect... arch is it (though a minimal finely tuned ubuntu is nice too, but overly complex compared to arch).
 
Old 04-11-2010, 06:55 PM   #15
ggarron
 
Registered: Nov 2007
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Simple, Simple, Simple
Cons: May break sometimes


I have written a review some time ago!

Here is the link

http://www.go2linux.org/arch-linux-review

I am now even using it in some of my servers, with no problems.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration