LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Ubuntu Feisty Fawn 7.04
Reviews Views Date of last review
37 132431 04-16-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
92% of reviewers None indicated 8.3



Description: Ubuntu is a community developed, linux-based operating system that is perfect for laptops, desktops and servers. It contains all the applications you need - a web browser, presentation, document and spreadsheet software, instant messaging and much more.
Keywords: feisty fawn 7.04 ubuntu kubuntu


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 04-15-2007, 11:04 PM   #1
soldierboy101st
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Ease of use, newbie friendly, hardware support, debian-based, excellent community
Cons: Too many extras installed by default



This is another great addition to the "Ubuntu series" (Which releases regular updates every 6 months). This is currently the latest release and although its still a solid performer like previous releases, it's not as solid as Edgy Eft 6.10. Taking cue from its community, the developers saw fit to include, by default, eyecandy such as Beryl.

While Beryl is great, and have had some fun with it myself, I do not believe something like this should be included with a release, rather left as as add-on package which the user could download him or herself.

With that said, everything positive that has been said of previous releases also applies to this release. Some new features include: Restricted driver manager, Keyring manager, and Desktop effects.

Ubuntu should continue its initially stated objectives of releasing a solid, lean, easy-to-use OS. Straying from this will result in usage decline. But, I will say that no other distro comes close to the solid performance that Ubuntu offers. Take what I have said with a grain of salt, this is just one man's review.
 
Old 05-09-2007, 12:30 AM   #2
kevil99
 
Registered: May 2007
Distribution: Sabayon,Ubuntu,PCLinuxOS,Sidux
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to learn,Great extras
Cons: none worth mentioning


Ive been a Windows user since my first build in '99'. A few years back i tried Redhat 9.
It was too big of a change for me so i stayed away from any linux distros. Until recently i had a friend recomend Ubuntu.
I took the time to read and research the product. I was interesting in trying it out. From burning the iso to installing with the Live CD was an incredibly easy task. Once i had the installation i immediatly upgraded from 6.10 to 7.04. The experience was a blast. I really enjoy the option of using something so great for free. I plan to search out and try other distros in the future but im confident i can convert others to make the switch due to the fact its so simple to use.

If your considering converting anyone to try a linux distro point them in this direction. Im sure glad my friend did.
 
Old 05-13-2007, 12:30 PM   #3
kevil99
 
Registered: May 2007
Distribution: Sabayon,Ubuntu,PCLinuxOS,Sidux
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


I need to burn ISOs
Im using Kubuntu 7.04
 
Old 05-16-2007, 09:50 PM   #4
Patrick K
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Distribution: Feisty (Ubuntu Studio)/Edgy
Posts: 69

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: Probably works OK for most users. Restricted driver install is easier.
Cons: The sound system and ide hard disk system are depreciated


I suppose it is OK for most users but hasn't worked out for me. My major problem is the sound system. I record live music (a MAJOR use of the computer for me) and Edgy handled this much better. I first installed regular Feisty but had terrible glitches during playback. I tried a number of things including removing all the Alsa modules and reinstalling them with the latest versions. No luck. Next I installed Ubuntu Studio. it's better but still not as good as Edgy. Playback of other sources seems OK but I haven't tried many.

My other issue is going to a scsi/sata type system for ide hard drives. AFAIK, there is no way to turn on DMA or tune the drives. My IDE drives run quite a bit slower than in Edgy (which may play a part in the glitches I'm getting). Other than that I don't see any difference from Edgy.

Personally, I think Feisty wasn't needed, but Ubuntu has this 6 month release schedule and it was time.

I guess if you don't do even minor recording and have scsi or sata drives it will work. It just hasn't worked out for me. Looks lke I'll be reinstalling Edgy or maybe another distro. And probably stay with it well past its demise (just like I have done with W98). Very disappointing!
 
Old 06-01-2007, 11:10 AM   #5
alpha_lin
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: Suse, Debian, Kubuntu
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: ease of use, easy to install, hardware support
Cons: heavier than dapper and edgy


this is yet another ubuntu which anyone can love to have. It is extremely easy to install and hardware support is excellent. It detects most new hardwares. But it's a bit heavier than its predecessors. Newer version of Firefox and OpenOffice is included.
 
Old 06-06-2007, 06:44 AM   #6
myviolet
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: very easy to use, support most of my hardwares, excellent community, nice interfaces
Cons: update new kernel might cause the problem


i used Redhat 9 and Feroda and this is much better...
it supports all of my ASUS PRO31P laptop, including wireless and sound and video card ...
I like this distro and recommend it to anyone.
thanks Ubuntu team
 
Old 06-11-2007, 04:25 PM   #7
ronepowell
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: Mepis, PcLinuxOS
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: good community, hardware detection
Cons: resolution, wireless issues


I must be the only person that always is stymied by ubuntu. For some reason, getting the correct resolution on both my laptop and my desktop has been far too difficult, as my only choice has been 800x600. Why that would be is a mystery, since a member of its "family" (mepis)never fails to set the correct resolution upon install.
I never have been able to solve that problem easily.
Then there is the wireless connection. Once again, mepis does it automatically, while I am wasting time with ubuntu trying to get that accomplished.
So after all this, is the simple question. Why must a simple thing be so hard??
 
Old 06-12-2007, 04:36 PM   #8
144419855310001
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: ubuntu 7.04
Posts: 219

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Well rounded, easy to use
Cons: a tiny bit buggy in places


After struggling for a long time to get my video card (ati radeon xpress 200M) and wireless card (broadcom bcm43xx) working on Fedora, I installed ubuntu and had them working within a few minutes!

Certainly easier to use, but I have noticed that apps seem to crash a bit more often than on Fedora, where things seemed a little more stable.

A great distro overall
 
Old 06-15-2007, 03:11 AM   #9
thehendo
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: O so easy
Cons: Big


A great place for a new linux player to start.
 
Old 06-17-2007, 04:58 PM   #10
Saltire59
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to install
Cons: Took a while to get proper sound support (codecs, etc)


This is the first Linux installation I have tried and am very impressed.

The range of available software is excellent.
 
Old 06-17-2007, 09:22 PM   #11
dingo71
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: Very easy installation
Cons: Can't get dial-up configured


As a linux newbie trying to break free from Windows, I was recommended Ubuntu by a friend. Initially I installed ver 5.10 (which he gave me) and was very impressed, however I soon found out that it was no longer supported, so decided to try ver 7.04.

The installation was easily the simplest and hassle free I've encountered (much simpler than any Windows install). However when I sat down to configure my dial-up connection, the gloss soon disappeared! The auto-configure button in the GUI network setup has been deleted... "Never fear" I thought, I knew the settings that worked under 5.10 so it must be just as easy in the latest version - wrong!! It would dial out but drop the connection, just as it should have connected. After trawling through numerous forums (It seems I'm not alone with dial-up problems), I tried configuring and connecting using wvdial and pppconfig, but still no joy. Pppconfig almost works, it dials out, connects and disconnects when asked, but try and ping or connect to a website..... "This is not a valid address".... Aaaagh!

I really wanted to love Ubuntu - what is particularly disappointing, is that with 5.10 "it just worked"....with 7.04 "it just won't"!!

So unfortunately I'm not able to try out all the really cool features that everyone else is talking about - I guess I might have cut my Linux teeth on another distro.
 
Old 06-21-2007, 11:35 AM   #12
wanderingmind
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04 LTS
Posts: 76

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast, Easy to use, APT
Cons: Still a good control centre lacking


Just a great distro (I use KDE).

Used Automatix to add non-free bits.
 
Old 06-21-2007, 12:52 PM   #13
jam5173
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Distribution: Fedora 7
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to get up and running.
Cons: None


The Windows 2000 on my son's laptop died. I thought, what the heck and loaded Ubuntu. He's comfortable with OSx. Linux should be easy.

It was. Ubuntu recognized his wireless PCMCIA card and got an internet connection easily. All this without pestering me about Windows problems.

If an 11 year-old can use so can I.
 
Old 06-30-2007, 06:07 AM   #14
salpapa
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Distribution: ubunto
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: easy to switch too
Cons: havent found any yet


i cant say i am an expert on ubunto yet i have only had it a week, i am very impressed that such an operating system and programes are all free, finally realized that Microsoft and other big named IT companies are charging way way too much for what they offer
 
Old 07-04-2007, 11:25 AM   #15
roncasa
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: easy to use
Cons: if problem develops, can be tedious if not reasonably resolved


Ubuntu ver 7.4 installed everything on my Toshiba lap. Seems to run faster than the "other" OS.
 
Old 07-11-2007, 09:05 PM   #16
poji23
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: PCLinuxOS
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: VERY quick bootup, easy to use and configure, lots of guides and forum postings, fonts are great
Cons: Nil



PCLinuxOS 2007 was good, openSuse 10.2 was great, Ubuntu feisty is awesome. Quick boot up, lots of guides and wikis to get you through installing the codecs and the additional fonts, and lots of forums where you can find solutions to almost all of your problems.

Yast and synaptic in openSuse and pclinuxos was a tad slow but on ubuntu it was super fast. Bootup took no longer than 30 seconds. Awesome distro. This is one to install and look for definitely.
 
Old 07-13-2007, 03:56 PM   #17
txhughes
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Distribution: Ubuntu 7.04
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to use, stable, well-supported
Cons: Still need Windows for gaming


Quite simply, I love Ubuntu. I only started using Linux because of final year project requirements at university; by installing Linux at home I didn't need to get up and go to the terminal room on campus! Ubuntu was recommended and so I made the switch from Windows XP - and have never looked back.

Ubuntu was easy to install and operate. Any problems initially encountered because of lack of Linux experience were easily solved from the extensive online and community support. (Strangely, Ubuntu seems to have greater technical support than XP, which I naively expected to be the opposite way round since Ubuntu is free and Windows isn't.) Everything seems to run smoothly and it is a pleasure to use.

I only wish that my XP games were easier to setup so that I could delete XP forever. Those I have managed to get working (Quake 4 and Doom 3) run with far superior graphics than Windows currently manages.

That minor point aside (after all, I switched to Ubuntu for work reasons!), Ubuntu is perfect for a beginner and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to make the jump to Linux.
 
Old 07-15-2007, 10:17 AM   #18
arif_moin
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Distribution: Ubuntu 7
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: VERY noob friendly, very sensible upgrade & install system
Cons: Poor choice of platform for games


At first, considering I was a complete amateur to Linux, seeing the word "DEBIAN" associated w/ Ubuntu kept me away from it.

I went to RHEL, my first Linux port after Windows. It was better, but still had a fair load of issues. The "dependency error" in RHEL & in the RPM packaging system simply got too much for me to put up with.

Whatever hardware & progs installed in RHEL worked fine. But it was a NIGHTMARE upgrading critical libs like glib, etc.

After some study, I found myself attracted to Ubuntu. I downloaded a copy and I never looked back. Hardware & software install was a charm. I could get all my hardware setup using GUI- point & click.

To install NVIDIA GEFORCE 5500 3d card for example, all I needed to do was to go to the restricted file manager and enable it. The install manager took over from there & there! NVIDIA installed! All hardware went off this way. Even external USB devices.

Software upgrades were also a breeze (like enabling DVD support for Totem- the default media player). Seriously, I recommend Ubuntu for first time Windows Refugees. I don't know much about Ubuntu from a experts' POV, but for a noob- it gets the job done.

BTW- the apt-get method for installation is FAR saner than those cursed RPMs...
 
Old 07-18-2007, 08:11 PM   #19
Moshelinux
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Easy to install
Cons: Not so easy to restore from original DVD


I do agree with most of those who like the Ubuntu. However, it comes with too many utility programs. after which it is hard to get fully acquainted with it. It is arduous to know which application or utility is the best one to use.

Unlike others, Ubuntu does not have the provision where user could simply insert the original CD, then have it scan the HD for missing drives, or application which may have been corrupted, or deleted by accident. (At least I could find it easy).

The Webcam software has ways to go until it provides a decent picture. Recording from Microphone?. What recording?. unfortunately I found the feisty 7.04 almost impossible to record from MIc. Even with ALSA.

In general for Linux. KDE & GNOM, each have their strong and weak features. Nonetheless, I think the developers of these two, should get together and merge the best features of their respective s/w and come up with one standard, and save ex-window users the hassle of having to juggle between the two.
Too much of a choice, sometimes in more detrimental then one choice.
 
Old 07-20-2007, 01:56 PM   #20
montylee
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu 7.04, Fedora Core 9
Posts: 168

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: It works perfecly. Software installation is awesome. 3D works out of the box.
Cons: The default CD doesn't include all packages, so if u want to build something from source, u'll be badly stuck.


Check it out at http://funwithlinux.blogspot.com
 
Old 07-21-2007, 10:03 PM   #21
MikRose
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Distribution: Linux Lucid 10.04
Posts: 83

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: Free CD
Cons: Couldn't get my dialup to connect.


I had the same problem as "dingo71". I was using 6.06 LTS and KDE and liked it very much. When I received the 7.04 and installed it, I tried to set up my dial-up as before but the same options weren't listed. When I set up what I could, it dialed out, connected, and then dropped the connection. (External Best Data modem which worked on the Dapper.) Since then I read that it is recommended to update a version at a time, so maybe skipping the 6.10 was a mistake? At any rate, I have Dapper back on and won't make any changes for some time. I was looking forward to Fawn. (dingo71, did you ever resolve your dial-up issue?)
 
Old 07-26-2007, 12:40 AM   #22
mohtasham1983
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: Fedora 3,4- Ubuntu 6.06 to 8.10, Gentoo and Arch
Posts: 408

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: very stable, fast and lovely
Cons: Addictive


I used fedora 3 and 4 and I switched to ubuntu when edgy was released. The difference was a lot. Ubuntu is very stable in comparison with Fedora, although I don't know how newer versions of Fedora are. I tried opensuse also. I used KDE in it. I didn't like Yast software management. It's too slow in comparison with synaptic used in ubuntu. KDE may look better, but I prefer speed and simplicity of gnome.

I have never had any problem with hardware compatibility with any of my linux in different computers. So I can't say anything about hardware compatibility in feisty, since they are all good.

The only negative thing I found about ubuntu, is that it's so addictive that you never want to leave it. If you are addicted to computer, don't recommend ubuntu at all.
 
Old 07-30-2007, 08:25 PM   #23
AeroFX
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Simple, straight forward
Cons: Not sure


http://www.winxperts.net/forums/inde...showtopic=1440

Basically, that is my thoughts on the Operating System on that site. I liked it and i thought it had a lot to offer.
 
Old 07-30-2007, 10:04 PM   #24
angryfirelord
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 498

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Another excellent Ubuntu release
Cons: some growing pains when it first came out


Installed it on the second day and so far, Ubuntu is the only distro that has never given me issues. This version has a feature that will install packages for you when you're trying to play a file format that's not initially supported OOTB. For example, let's say you're trying to play a dvd. A popup will appear, asking you to install the necessary gstreamer plugins. It certainly makes Linux easier for new users.

Networkmanager is also included, which is a lot better than iwconfig essid blah blah blah, especially if you have to roam.

The only issue I had was that it seemed to run a bit slow, but a couple updates later & disabling some services brought me back up to speed.

If you haven't tried Ubuntu yet, I recommend giving it a shot.
 
Old 08-01-2007, 02:03 AM   #25
jrfmason
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Ease of setup
Cons: video problems


I was determined to move from MS and bought Suse9 which worked alright I then bought Suse10 which didn't. I tried Linspire but it only really wanted to work with certain hardware and none of the bits I already had particularly the dial-up bits. I then went to broadband/ADSL with Ubuntu 6.06 and it installed and ran perfectly. Lifted to 6.10, same. then 7.04 and audio and TV/video display problems which I still cant get to work. I now run 6.10 or 7.04 on one machine and 6.1 on two others but I still have to have MS for video and for my PDA. And I cant get MythTV to work reliably on any machine so far, but the thing about Linux is that I am having fun trying. More fun since learning DOS and Basic. I recommend Ubuntu as the best way to start the move from MS.
 
Old 08-01-2007, 07:06 AM   #26
wshawn
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy DVD ripping, and media processing
Cons: Not as stable as Fedora/Centos/RHEL


I run 6 systems, including a Dell 9200 Inspiron. All versions of Fedora and Ubuntu I have installed do so without any issues. The main selling point for Ubuntu is the quick ability to install DVD rippers, and other multimedia codecs / software.

If Fedora ever found a way to do so Ubuntu may very well loose lots of people, but Fedora has no intention on doing so.

Ubuntu sometimes sleeps my drives bringing the system down. BIOS and Power management are turned off. Yet it still happens.

The best summary I can think of at the moment is although I prefer the Red Hat distros they feel alot like running Windows at times, in that they are making decisions for me.

Ubuntu lets me choose for myself, its jsut a bit qwerky.

BTW I have oave 8 operating system families under my belt, and started at DOS 2.0 and I admin both Windows (though I am converting them!) and Linux systems around the globe.


Bottom line: people want to use their computers, not fix them or get them able to be used. Ubuntu is a step in that direction.
 
Old 08-01-2007, 01:34 PM   #27
arijit_2404
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Distribution: Fedora 9
Posts: 85

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Very much user-friendly, 22000+ packages, forum is very helpful
Cons: lots of bugs still open, sometimes breaks like windows


For newbie - yes. A must have! The collection of softwares simply huge! Official forum is the best forum among many online communities.

For enthusiast/adventurous users - Try other distro. Ubuntu doesn't allow much to play with Linux.
 
Old 08-01-2007, 07:33 PM   #28
t2000kw
 
Registered: May 2007
Posts: 55

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Wireless support, good package manager, poor partition manager
Cons: bug prevents some USB scanners from working


I would add ease of installation except I see a common flaw in the installation process: Default install is to wipe the hard drive clean. Some one unfamiliar with partitioning might accidentally wipe out their Windows or OSX OS. This is not unique to Ubuntu but I have only tried a few distros so far. A default installation that would recommend saving your existing "other OS" partition and shrinking it to allow about 20% more room on it than is currently used would be useful to make this less "dangerous" to someone new to this. Or, perhaps a better way of steering a person through manual partitioning, with recommendations, etc., to allow an easier installation for a newbie.

Other than the USB problem, which is slated to be fixed in the next release, I have no real problems with this OS and didn't find the installation all that confusing, but I am familiar with partitioning.

I would like to see QTparted as the partition manager as it "understands" how to resize NTFS partitions. The included Gparted does not. Other than that, Gparted worked well for me. I used a Knoppix disk that has QTparted on it to make room on another drive (it had to shrink a NTFS partition to do so).

Also, I would like to see a faster problem resolution when something like the USB_Suspend bug prevents users from being able to use their scanners and some other USB devices. The developers felt it was not a big enough issue to fix it in a kernel update and told the community that it would have to wait for the next release, even though the bug was known to be a problem when Feisty was released. Other distros worked quicker than this to address the problem.

Even with its shortcomings, I like Ubuntu enough that I'll just dual-boot to XP to use my scanner for now and wait for the next release in October, 2007. I use it for everything else, so it's what some might call an XP replacement.
 
Old 08-03-2007, 01:05 AM   #29
DavidTangye
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu, Xubuntu, PC LinuxOS, Puppy, Knoppix
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Good installation over network.
Cons: Gnome still a bit slow.


I have a 4 yr old Toshiba laptop, and its CD is not reading very well. So I installed Feisty by setting up bootpd on another ubuntu machine (running Edgy), downloaded the Feisty Desktop Edition .iso, unpacked it, set up netboot, and booted it live from the laptop. Then installed via the icon on the desktop. Everything installed well with no problems. Details are documented here - https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation/LocalNet.
 
Old 08-06-2007, 08:12 PM   #30
BoBByCooL
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Ubunty 7.04
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: good hardware support, lots of documentation and resources, great online community, slick install
Cons: not a whole lot to complain about


I've been a Windows user since Win95. I bought a new computer back in April 2007 and decided I would install Ubuntu 64bit to see how it worked. To my surprise it recognized all of my hardware (especially glad it found my ATI X1600 Pro vid card and my AMD 64bit processor). Updating and installing software is a breeze with synaptic. I've been able to find suitable software to replace everything I was using in Windows. Despite using Gnome it runs very well with my 2GB of ram (there was only 1GB when I started and ran well with that too)
 
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration