LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Ubuntu Feisty Fawn 7.04
Reviews Views Date of last review
37 131898 04-16-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
92% of reviewers None indicated 8.3



Description: Ubuntu is a community developed, linux-based operating system that is perfect for laptops, desktops and servers. It contains all the applications you need - a web browser, presentation, document and spreadsheet software, instant messaging and much more.
Keywords: feisty fawn 7.04 ubuntu kubuntu


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 04-15-2007, 11:04 PM   #1
soldierboy101st
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Ease of use, newbie friendly, hardware support, debian-based, excellent community
Cons: Too many extras installed by default



This is another great addition to the "Ubuntu series" (Which releases regular updates every 6 months). This is currently the latest release and although its still a solid performer like previous releases, it's not as solid as Edgy Eft 6.10. Taking cue from its community, the developers saw fit to include, by default, eyecandy such as Beryl.

While Beryl is great, and have had some fun with it myself, I do not believe something like this should be included with a release, rather left as as add-on package which the user could download him or herself.

With that said, everything positive that has been said of previous releases also applies to this release. Some new features include: Restricted driver manager, Keyring manager, and Desktop effects.

Ubuntu should continue its initially stated objectives of releasing a solid, lean, easy-to-use OS. Straying from this will result in usage decline. But, I will say that no other distro comes close to the solid performance that Ubuntu offers. Take what I have said with a grain of salt, this is just one man's review.
 
Old 05-09-2007, 12:30 AM   #2
kevil99
 
Registered: May 2007
Distribution: Sabayon,Ubuntu,PCLinuxOS,Sidux
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to learn,Great extras
Cons: none worth mentioning


Ive been a Windows user since my first build in '99'. A few years back i tried Redhat 9.
It was too big of a change for me so i stayed away from any linux distros. Until recently i had a friend recomend Ubuntu.
I took the time to read and research the product. I was interesting in trying it out. From burning the iso to installing with the Live CD was an incredibly easy task. Once i had the installation i immediatly upgraded from 6.10 to 7.04. The experience was a blast. I really enjoy the option of using something so great for free. I plan to search out and try other distros in the future but im confident i can convert others to make the switch due to the fact its so simple to use.

If your considering converting anyone to try a linux distro point them in this direction. Im sure glad my friend did.
 
Old 05-13-2007, 12:30 PM   #3
kevil99
 
Registered: May 2007
Distribution: Sabayon,Ubuntu,PCLinuxOS,Sidux
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


I need to burn ISOs
Im using Kubuntu 7.04
 
Old 05-16-2007, 09:50 PM   #4
Patrick K
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Distribution: Feisty (Ubuntu Studio)/Edgy
Posts: 69

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: Probably works OK for most users. Restricted driver install is easier.
Cons: The sound system and ide hard disk system are depreciated


I suppose it is OK for most users but hasn't worked out for me. My major problem is the sound system. I record live music (a MAJOR use of the computer for me) and Edgy handled this much better. I first installed regular Feisty but had terrible glitches during playback. I tried a number of things including removing all the Alsa modules and reinstalling them with the latest versions. No luck. Next I installed Ubuntu Studio. it's better but still not as good as Edgy. Playback of other sources seems OK but I haven't tried many.

My other issue is going to a scsi/sata type system for ide hard drives. AFAIK, there is no way to turn on DMA or tune the drives. My IDE drives run quite a bit slower than in Edgy (which may play a part in the glitches I'm getting). Other than that I don't see any difference from Edgy.

Personally, I think Feisty wasn't needed, but Ubuntu has this 6 month release schedule and it was time.

I guess if you don't do even minor recording and have scsi or sata drives it will work. It just hasn't worked out for me. Looks lke I'll be reinstalling Edgy or maybe another distro. And probably stay with it well past its demise (just like I have done with W98). Very disappointing!
 
Old 06-01-2007, 11:10 AM   #5
alpha_lin
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: Suse, Debian, Kubuntu
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: ease of use, easy to install, hardware support
Cons: heavier than dapper and edgy


this is yet another ubuntu which anyone can love to have. It is extremely easy to install and hardware support is excellent. It detects most new hardwares. But it's a bit heavier than its predecessors. Newer version of Firefox and OpenOffice is included.
 
Old 06-06-2007, 06:44 AM   #6
myviolet
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: very easy to use, support most of my hardwares, excellent community, nice interfaces
Cons: update new kernel might cause the problem


i used Redhat 9 and Feroda and this is much better...
it supports all of my ASUS PRO31P laptop, including wireless and sound and video card ...
I like this distro and recommend it to anyone.
thanks Ubuntu team
 
Old 06-11-2007, 04:25 PM   #7
ronepowell
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: Mepis, PcLinuxOS
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: good community, hardware detection
Cons: resolution, wireless issues


I must be the only person that always is stymied by ubuntu. For some reason, getting the correct resolution on both my laptop and my desktop has been far too difficult, as my only choice has been 800x600. Why that would be is a mystery, since a member of its "family" (mepis)never fails to set the correct resolution upon install.
I never have been able to solve that problem easily.
Then there is the wireless connection. Once again, mepis does it automatically, while I am wasting time with ubuntu trying to get that accomplished.
So after all this, is the simple question. Why must a simple thing be so hard??
 
Old 06-12-2007, 04:36 PM   #8
144419855310001
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: ubuntu 7.04
Posts: 219

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Well rounded, easy to use
Cons: a tiny bit buggy in places


After struggling for a long time to get my video card (ati radeon xpress 200M) and wireless card (broadcom bcm43xx) working on Fedora, I installed ubuntu and had them working within a few minutes!

Certainly easier to use, but I have noticed that apps seem to crash a bit more often than on Fedora, where things seemed a little more stable.

A great distro overall
 
Old 06-15-2007, 03:11 AM   #9
thehendo
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: O so easy
Cons: Big


A great place for a new linux player to start.
 
Old 06-17-2007, 04:58 PM   #10
Saltire59
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to install
Cons: Took a while to get proper sound support (codecs, etc)


This is the first Linux installation I have tried and am very impressed.

The range of available software is excellent.
 
Old 06-17-2007, 09:22 PM   #11
dingo71
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: Very easy installation
Cons: Can't get dial-up configured


As a linux newbie trying to break free from Windows, I was recommended Ubuntu by a friend. Initially I installed ver 5.10 (which he gave me) and was very impressed, however I soon found out that it was no longer supported, so decided to try ver 7.04.

The installation was easily the simplest and hassle free I've encountered (much simpler than any Windows install). However when I sat down to configure my dial-up connection, the gloss soon disappeared! The auto-configure button in the GUI network setup has been deleted... "Never fear" I thought, I knew the settings that worked under 5.10 so it must be just as easy in the latest version - wrong!! It would dial out but drop the connection, just as it should have connected. After trawling through numerous forums (It seems I'm not alone with dial-up problems), I tried configuring and connecting using wvdial and pppconfig, but still no joy. Pppconfig almost works, it dials out, connects and disconnects when asked, but try and ping or connect to a website..... "This is not a valid address".... Aaaagh!

I really wanted to love Ubuntu - what is particularly disappointing, is that with 5.10 "it just worked"....with 7.04 "it just won't"!!

So unfortunately I'm not able to try out all the really cool features that everyone else is talking about - I guess I might have cut my Linux teeth on another distro.
 
Old 06-21-2007, 11:35 AM   #12
wanderingmind
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04 LTS
Posts: 76

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast, Easy to use, APT
Cons: Still a good control centre lacking


Just a great distro (I use KDE).

Used Automatix to add non-free bits.
 
Old 06-21-2007, 12:52 PM   #13
jam5173
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Distribution: Fedora 7
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to get up and running.
Cons: None


The Windows 2000 on my son's laptop died. I thought, what the heck and loaded Ubuntu. He's comfortable with OSx. Linux should be easy.

It was. Ubuntu recognized his wireless PCMCIA card and got an internet connection easily. All this without pestering me about Windows problems.

If an 11 year-old can use so can I.
 
Old 06-30-2007, 06:07 AM   #14
salpapa
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Distribution: ubunto
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: easy to switch too
Cons: havent found any yet


i cant say i am an expert on ubunto yet i have only had it a week, i am very impressed that such an operating system and programes are all free, finally realized that Microsoft and other big named IT companies are charging way way too much for what they offer
 
Old 07-04-2007, 11:25 AM   #15
roncasa
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: easy to use
Cons: if problem develops, can be tedious if not reasonably resolved


Ubuntu ver 7.4 installed everything on my Toshiba lap. Seems to run faster than the "other" OS.
 
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration