LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Debian 4.0 r0 (etch)
Reviews Views Date of last review
47 440824 05-28-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
98% of reviewers None indicated 9.4
desktop.png
supersize


Description: Officially released on 8-Apr-2007, Debian 4.0 rev. 0, codename etch, has a laundry list of changes which all add up to a nice solid distribution.

Due to the procedures used in creating a Debian release, some of the more latest versions of some packages aren't available yet. Initially running on the 2.6.18 Linux kernel with Gnome 2.4 on X.Org 7.1 is the default desktop configuration. KDE 3.5.5a, Xfce 4.4 and GNUstep 5.2 are also available through the apt-get packaging system.

Other updates include OpenOffice.org 2.0.4a, GIMP 2.2.13, PostgreSQL 8.1.8, MySQL 5.0.32, GNU Compiler Collection 4.1.1, Apache 2.2.3, Samba 3.0.24, Python 2.4.4 and 2.5, Perl 5.8.8, PHP 4.4.4 and 5.2.0, Asterisk 1.2.13 and more than 18,000 other ready to use software packages.

Also Iceweasel (an unbranded version of Mozilla Firefox 2.0.0.3), Icedove (an unbranded version of Mozilla Thunderbird 1.5) and Iceape (an unbranded version of Mozilla Seamonkey 1.0.8) are available as replacements for the branded versions of the software.

Thanks to Debian News release article where much of this info was copied.
Keywords: Debian Etch 4.0r0


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 05-08-2007, 10:19 AM   #1
angryfirelord
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 500

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Solid Debian reliability
Cons: none



Faster than Sarge, but with newer packages. It's very responsive and, well, you just have to try it!

The netinst worked liked a dream and doing some m-a & apt-getting, I had a fully running system with the full versions of gnome & KDE.
 
Old 05-17-2007, 05:57 PM   #2
jimmy512
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 183

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Solid, Reliable, Can build a system from the ground up, lots of packages, easy installation with apt-get, lots of technical support readily avaliable.
Cons: Packages may become outdated on the stable version after a while.


Debian is very quick and does what you tell it to. There are many packages and options avaliable to customize the system around your needs. apt-get is an extremely useful and powerful tool, which makes installing, searching for and removing packages really easy.

My only gripe with this wonderful operating system is that after time, packages can become outdated, and this causes dependency problems.

Overall, a superb operating system which is slick and fast.
 
Old 05-23-2007, 12:33 PM   #3
svalovic
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: debian lenny, squeeze, Ubuntu Netbook Remix, Puppy
Posts: 32

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: stability, huge number of packages, synaptic for beginners, netinstall
Cons: ?


Debian stable branch is reliable for server usage, but I run it also on my desktop at home. I recommend it to all users.
 
Old 06-14-2007, 06:34 AM   #4
stevanovich
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: pretty much everything
Cons: Cons -> unknown word in debian dictionary :)


Don't know what's all the fuss about Debian install-I came from Ubuntu and installing debian was different a bit (more steps), but nothing special really. Even manually partitioned my disk with separate /home, /, /swap.
Boot could be a bit faster, but since I turn off my computer every 5 days, boot speed means nothing to me.
Hardware support was great, still I had to offcourse add NVidia drivers and WiFi(via ndiswrapper). Now everything works like a charm.
I've put Fluxbox on it, instead of Gnome, and you can imagine the speed on a dual core amd 1,6GHz with 2GB RAM and 256MB Geforce GO 7600. I had Ubuntu before (also with Fluxbox) and I must say it was slower than Etch (didn't measure the time, but Etch felt quite faster).
I don't think I have to say anything about stability and package management.
I have a very barebone install, with only a few apps (since I use this system only @ home (mail, internet, mp3s, movies). But I believe that if you need any package (no mather how obscure it is) I'm quite sure you'll find it in .deb
 
Old 06-15-2007, 07:56 AM   #5
cbchisanga
 
Registered: May 2006
Distribution: Debian GNU/Linux squeeze
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: debian etch is more stable and has newer packages
Cons:


debian etch is more stable and has newer packages and since I had waited for it for a long time, I have it now. I will be using it on the database server.
 
Old 07-01-2007, 05:39 AM   #6
NoobieDoobieDo
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Debian 4.0
Posts: 65

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Fast, clean .. it's Debian !
Cons: I had some issues...


I installed this on two machines and on both machines the install produced 1 or more `critial` errors and the installtion had to be restarted.

On this machine upon trying to shutdown from my first session X froze as soon as I hit the `shutdown` button. I had to kill it from the terminal.

The Gimp crashed the first time I tried to load it and then the second time it loaded two instances but the second instance took about 5 minutes to spawn. At first I thought the splash screen was stuck because the outline of it was still there. I was nearly done using the gimp and out of no where that `frozen splash screen` becomes an active instance of the gimp.

A few other aplications have `crashed` on the first few times of me running them, including at least one critial feature.

I've used many distributions and I think Debian (although I like it the most) has given me the most immediate post installation failures.
 
Old 07-02-2007, 10:47 AM   #7
ragpicker
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Distribution: Debian, WinXP
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Freedom to run whatever I feel like without going for any pirated software
Cons: None


I am a Debian fan and would allways remain so. First reason is I use an old computer (Pentium IV)and it is easy to install and I get any software I need. Second reason is it is very stable. And there are lot of help files so that I don't have to look else where for help. I had been waiting for a long time for release of etch and I have got it now. Long Live Debian Community.
ragpicker14@gmail.com
 
Old 07-24-2007, 04:39 AM   #8
masikin
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: fast and reliable
Cons: -


running on P3-755; 128mb memory; vga 8mb sis
 
Old 08-01-2007, 02:26 PM   #9
arijit_2404
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Distribution: Fedora 9
Posts: 85

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Debian stabilty, huge collection packages, very good community support through forums and mailing lists.
Cons: not compatible with ubuntu packages, long release cycle, some packages are older.


Etch is the latest stable branch of Debian. But some enthusiast users can also go for 'lenny' aka 'testing' branch of Debian, because it's now getting popular among desktop users.
Lots of packages to choose from, variety of choices in packages for a particular task.
I like the Debian distribution for rock solid performance.
:)
 
Old 08-09-2007, 05:30 PM   #10
slackass
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Slack64-C ML
Posts: 888

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Everything!
Cons: won't cut my grass... :-)


"Like A Rock" (r)
This disro is SOLID!! Seems to be never ending reliability. I've been useing this distro for about 3 months without so much as a flutter.
 
Old 08-16-2007, 01:43 PM   #11
txHarleyMan
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Distribution: Debian Testing/Sid
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Reliability, Stability and Security
Cons: None yet


I tried 10 or so other distributions before I found Debian. What I want is Security, Stability and Reliability in an OS. Etch has it all. Some folks won't run /pure/ Debian because there are no other branches. Thats fine with me. All I will use is STABLE. And Stable it most definitly is!
I used to read that Debian is for the /super geeks/. Too hard and on and on. So, I was up for the challenge. Installation was flawless. At the boot prompt, I typed "installgui" and away we went. No problems. All you have to know is how to read.

I have been in I.T. for 26 years as a developer and I /HIGHLY/ recommend Debian for those folks that want a very stable and reliable OS.

Mike
 
Old 08-26-2007, 06:10 AM   #12
cbchisanga
 
Registered: May 2006
Distribution: Debian GNU/Linux squeeze
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: Reliability, stability, versatile, faster, secure (more packages geared for security enhancement), has GIS package called Grass63, Mapserver, MySQL, PostGIS, PostgreSQL
Cons: Not yet


I am happy using Debian because it has the packages I need for the setting up of GIS, MySQL, PostGIS, MapServer, and PosgrSQL databases
 
Old 09-07-2007, 03:04 AM   #13
saintkay
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Distribution: debian 4.0
Posts: 27

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons:


well, i finally found a linux disto that could completely cut me off windows. With improvements in hardware support, plenty of packages, and full support for multimedia, debian 4.0 is stunning. A distro with great support for my old celeron box- this is incredible. I can finally kiss dual booting goodbye.

give it a try
 
Old 09-12-2007, 09:08 PM   #14
ElvisImprsntr
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Posts: 33

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to install, reliable, auto updates
Cons: Support for A/V codecs, but that may be a legal thing. Why is WLAN such a pain with Linux?


I installed etch when first released on an older P4 system. I am not proud to say I have completely exorcised Bill Gates from my homeI installed etch when first released on a P4 system with no real issues. I am not proud to say I have completely exorcised Bill Gates from my home (Except for a Windows appliance I RDesktop into when I do my taxes once a year).
 
Old 09-19-2007, 01:34 PM   #15
anant.vyas
 
Registered: Sep 2007
Distribution: Debian Etch
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Reliable,Fast,Secured,Bunch of Packages.
Cons:


Running it on my PIV-256MB RAM and have found really nice.I recommend it to everyone who needs a reliable and secured.
 
Old 10-18-2007, 03:13 PM   #16
Tomermory
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: Debian Etch,
Posts: 181

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Speed, stability, apt-get is wonderful
Cons: Packages can be a bit dated; initial configuration a bit long



I love it, I adore it! I would recommend Debian to anyone who has already had a bit of experience with a more newbie-friendly system. Debian simply rocks! It's amazingly fast, it doesn't do anything unpredictable, and apt-get simply wipes the floor off the other software management tools I've used. Ubuntu is very good, but it's a watered-down version of Debian and doesn't compare to the real thing. I can't imagine installing anything else.
 
Old 10-20-2007, 06:07 AM   #17
Frank Soranno
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 230

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable
Cons: None


One of the best!
 
Old 10-22-2007, 04:59 PM   #18
amd-64-bit
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: simply the best
Cons:


i have test a lot of distro but debian is my best!!!!!
 
Old 11-04-2007, 09:05 AM   #19
farofa
 
Registered: Nov 2007
Distribution: Debian etch amd64, Fedora 7, Fedora core 5 & 6, FreeBSD 6.2, plan9
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Was able to easily install 64bit version on my computer, platform is the best for testing other distros in a virtual machine
Cons: None


I first installed the 32bit version and had a few problems with sound.
The 64bit version was cleaner and a faster install. Sound and graphics work great. I can run qemu + kqemu and keep 32bit processes separate from my host system if I want. Documentation is thorough and the community is very helpful.
 
Old 12-07-2007, 06:28 PM   #20
addux
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04, Debian Squeeze, Windows 7
Posts: 67

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Works, fast, lots of packages
Cons: only the ones related to almost every linux distro


A year later and I still love this OS. I've used this distro for over a year now and have come to appreciate it greatly and learned a lot about linux and especially about debian. I prefer this over ubuntu, actually I am using lenny right now, since it is very stable and a little more bleeding edge.
Cons: As I already stated most of the cons associated with debian are across the board with linux distros. I have had continued trouble with my wireless card in debian, despite it working flawlessly in ubuntu and other distros. There have been a few hiccups here and there, some websites don't function properly and continuously crash firefox(its been a while since this has happened). I have had a couple of kernel panics associated with compiz/nvidia/beryl. Community support is basically limited to me mooching off the guys using ubuntu. There might be some other minor issues that I can't think of right now. can't configure built-in webcam.
Pros: Fast, as far as I am concerned it is fast. I'm a novice and I know other distros are faster but generally I think they take a bit more knowledge than I have to tweak them where you need it. 'installgui' is a very nice upgrade from the old school text install. Install was a breeze and took all of 30 minutes to get a base desktop/laptop setup. Lenny is a good alternative to etch and vice versa. Seemingly endless amount of tools/apps to chose from. Despite the few hiccups I mentioned I will still say it is very stable. I can run compiz, azureus compile programs, use vmware, brwose the web, manage finances literally for weeks without a reboot, system lockup or any noticeable degradation in performance(all aforementioned issues seemed to have been fixed one way or another). System updates are controllable and easy. APT-GET!! And of course all the unmentioned positives that come with any linux distro.

Highly recommended if you have confidence with you linux knowledge.
 
Old 12-16-2007, 06:03 PM   #21
Kahil
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, quick and many packages
Cons:


I love Debian. It's one of the best linux distro's and very fast and stable ! What do you want more?
 
Old 12-18-2007, 02:39 PM   #22
AwesomeMachine
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Debian jessie/sid; OpenSuSE; Fedora
Posts: 1,593

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Lean, Mean, Flexible, Powerful, Reliable, Easy, Great Documentation, 17,000 + Packages, Easy Install, Modern System, The Best Tools
Cons: Learning curve, Wireless config not automatic, Usually requires customization for full benefit


The past five years I've been trying different Linux distros, including SuSE 9.1 9.2, 9.3, 10.0, 10.1, 10.2; Fedora Core 5 and 6 (RedHat test branch); Centos (RedHat); Debian Testing across three releases, Debian stable across three releases, Slackware, and Mandriva.<br><br>As my skill with Linux progressed, I found the window dressing to be an impediment; And I wanted a lean, fast system; With good tools, easy package management, a modern system, and everything that just worked.   This is Debian<br><br>I was tired of screwy file tree usage, that didn't install programs in the user's path (SuSE), hardware hogs (Fedora), small selection of packages (Mandriva), and systems that didn't easily allow installation from sources.  Most people don't realize Debian comes with the rpm program, and rpm packages can be installed in Debian, with great success.<br><br>The Intel C++ compiler, which is also a C compiler and linker, seems to work well with Debian Etch.  The gnu compilers are great for features, but not for code optimization.  The Intel compiler builds a much faster kernel, but is finicky on what distros it can be used with.<br><br>I finally adopted Debian Etch as my production distro, for doing work, and for server apps, time keeping with microsecond precision, and even put it on my laptop.  Debian is not a newb distro, but it's a breath of fresh air after a year or so with a newb distro.  <br><br>The Debian Linux Project requires voluntary bug reports.  Newbs cannot file a proper bug report.  Bug reporting is one of the critical tasks of Linux users.  The developers cannot have every hardware configuration on hand to test with.  That's kind of how a desktop user pays for Debian.  I think I've spent a total of 10 hours on bug reports in my life, which is well worth it for what everyone gets in return.<br><br>In the end, I want users to consider Debian as an option for people with some Linux experience, and if you're a newb, keep it in the back of your mind as a goal.  I use VMWare Workstation to test distros, and work with them in a virtual machine.  One could also use qemu.<br><br>Practically anything will install perfectly in Etch.  I've installed programs that wouldn't install on any other distro, in Debian Etch.  There is even a program called alien that converts other package formats to the Debian package format.<br><br>If one wants to do software development, Debian has tools that would blow away anything else in its path, and libraries that come standard, found as part of no other distro.  The development community primarily uses Debian Linux.<br><br>Etch is about as stable as it gets.  Even if I rest my elbow on the ESC key, hit F9 with my nose, and spaz  on the remainder of the keyboard, I still can't get it to lock up.  Unless I use stupid dd tricks to write zeroes to the system memory device file, it won't lock up. <br>
 
Old 12-29-2007, 03:35 PM   #23
vaalu
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Posts: 54

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: stability,packages,its a real eye candy
Cons: i found nothing


i have used red hat enterprise linux 5, open suse free bsd and solaris and finally i reached debian etch..and i just loved this..this is wat i had been waiting for..i totally wipped of windows from my pc..i have pIV processorand i gb ram and 120 gb hard disc and debian is the os made for it....hail debian
 
Old 12-31-2007, 10:33 AM   #24
jtravnick
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Distribution: FC6 F7 F8
Posts: 94

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2

Pros:
Cons: looks outdated messy boot screen


So far am very unimpressed with what I have seen. The package installer can be confusing when looking for basic programs. When it boots up the screen looks like garbage. I installed what was supposed to be an instant messenger for yahoo and the controls looked like they where straight out of the 80s reminded me of redhat6. User support for this seams minimal and hard to find. As for the installer I havnt seen anything like that since I think windows3.1 come on even windows98 had a better looking installer having to hit tab to move around in an installer is just a joke make the hole thing look more like a toy than a real operating system

At this time I am looking to try different distros other than Fedora8 just to see whats out there but if this is what im going to be seeing will stick with Fedora
 
Old 01-05-2008, 07:17 AM   #25
sonichedgehog
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Distribution: Fedora Core 17
Posts: 296

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Complete replacement for Windows & more besides
Cons: None if you do a little reading first!


Installation: don't expect "desktop candy" until you're up & running. That isn't an issue for most users. Important: this is the only distro that's worked for me on all my computers, older BIOS's can be fussy. I suggest that the small kernel used for installation is the reason for both the versatility and the spartan appearance at this stage. Don't give up on Linux unless you've tried Debian. If there are problems you may have bits of an older system on your HD, erase it first.

In use: Wonderful. Completely stable, fast. If you like desktop candy go for KDE, very pretty. There is a replacement for every windows package as far as I know. Only issue there is that eg some ipods are designed to work only with windows but Linux people are working on it. Overall, handles devices well, eg phones, scanners, printers, mostly without the driver cd's.

Configuration: Synaptic from the desktop, put something in search eg Ericsson, scanner, bluetooth, ocr, & you're away. The apt commands (or synaptic from the desktop, much better if you're not sure what you want) outdo the clumsy installation procedures for other distros- altho if you need something that's not in Debian's list you can install it in the same way as Slackware. Once you've used apt, you'll stop using windows (where you get stuck between expensive or free but dubious software).

Great for a new Linux user, but this is NOT windows- you don't just feed the computer a pile of CD's & hope for the best. Read up first, every issue can & will be overcome within Linux, you don't need to be a geek but but you must be prepared to learn.

For intermediate user? Good distro to work from while you're learning, you can develop your system and your knowledge and fall back on the friendly desktop environment when you need to.
 
Old 01-10-2008, 10:43 PM   #26
er0c13
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, secure, AWESOME
Cons: wont do laundry or cook me dinner, although in some time it may


I started really using linux a month or so ago. I tried debian in the past and failed horribly at it when trying to do anything. I had no idea what root was, what a terminal was etc. I put my gut to the grindstone, formatted my drive and installed debian (a friend recommended me to debian as the best distro). It was a piece of cake to install, the only problems I had was getting my wireless card to work with WPA-TKIP. These forums helped me get through the process and I finally got it working. I highly recommend this OS to anyone who has half or no brain at all. Now I'm learning more about computers than I thought possible. This OS is amazingly simple, and the display looks awesome. Live on debian forever
 
Old 01-18-2008, 08:21 PM   #27
zrdc28
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Distribution: Slackware current
Posts: 254

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Works well on an outdated computer
Cons: None so far


I installed etch on a AMD 400 mhz with 192k memory machine to use for surfing the internet. It is primarily used to lookup info for my other machines. I have found it to be very stable and simple to use, especially to install. I actually plan to put it on a much better machine now that I have found my way around in it. My opinion is that it is far superior to xubuntu for low end machines.
 
Old 01-28-2008, 08:04 AM   #28
Alex2008
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


Debian is a free operating system (OS) for your computer. An operating system is the set of basic programs and utilities that make your computer run. Debian uses the Linux kernel (the core of an operating system), but most of the basic OS tools come from the GNU project; hence the name GNU/Linux.
Debian GNU/Linux provides more than a pure OS: it comes with more than 18733 packages, precompiled software bundled up in a nice format for easy installation on your machine.
Although direct http/ftp links have been listed below, please consider using an alternate method to download the images. These alternate methods help ease the strain on the Debian servers and are more resilient if download errors occur.

------------------------------
Family Relationships
 
Old 01-31-2008, 07:08 PM   #29
honeybadger
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Distribution: Slackware (mainly) and then a lot of others...
Posts: 853

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: speed, power, simplicity - you name it
Cons:


Its a great product - Personally I call it "King of Operating Systems"
 
Old 02-02-2008, 05:59 AM   #30
Liakat
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros:
Cons:


excellent!
 
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration