LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Debian 4.0 r0 (etch)
Reviews Views Date of last review
47 441220 05-28-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
98% of reviewers None indicated 9.4
desktop.png
supersize


Description: Officially released on 8-Apr-2007, Debian 4.0 rev. 0, codename etch, has a laundry list of changes which all add up to a nice solid distribution.

Due to the procedures used in creating a Debian release, some of the more latest versions of some packages aren't available yet. Initially running on the 2.6.18 Linux kernel with Gnome 2.4 on X.Org 7.1 is the default desktop configuration. KDE 3.5.5a, Xfce 4.4 and GNUstep 5.2 are also available through the apt-get packaging system.

Other updates include OpenOffice.org 2.0.4a, GIMP 2.2.13, PostgreSQL 8.1.8, MySQL 5.0.32, GNU Compiler Collection 4.1.1, Apache 2.2.3, Samba 3.0.24, Python 2.4.4 and 2.5, Perl 5.8.8, PHP 4.4.4 and 5.2.0, Asterisk 1.2.13 and more than 18,000 other ready to use software packages.

Also Iceweasel (an unbranded version of Mozilla Firefox 2.0.0.3), Icedove (an unbranded version of Mozilla Thunderbird 1.5) and Iceape (an unbranded version of Mozilla Seamonkey 1.0.8) are available as replacements for the branded versions of the software.

Thanks to Debian News release article where much of this info was copied.
Keywords: Debian Etch 4.0r0


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 05-08-2007, 10:19 AM   #1
angryfirelord
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 503

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Solid Debian reliability
Cons: none



Faster than Sarge, but with newer packages. It's very responsive and, well, you just have to try it!

The netinst worked liked a dream and doing some m-a & apt-getting, I had a fully running system with the full versions of gnome & KDE.
 
Old 05-17-2007, 05:57 PM   #2
jimmy512
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 183

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Solid, Reliable, Can build a system from the ground up, lots of packages, easy installation with apt-get, lots of technical support readily avaliable.
Cons: Packages may become outdated on the stable version after a while.


Debian is very quick and does what you tell it to. There are many packages and options avaliable to customize the system around your needs. apt-get is an extremely useful and powerful tool, which makes installing, searching for and removing packages really easy.

My only gripe with this wonderful operating system is that after time, packages can become outdated, and this causes dependency problems.

Overall, a superb operating system which is slick and fast.
 
Old 05-23-2007, 12:33 PM   #3
svalovic
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: debian lenny, squeeze, Ubuntu Netbook Remix, Puppy
Posts: 32

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: stability, huge number of packages, synaptic for beginners, netinstall
Cons: ?


Debian stable branch is reliable for server usage, but I run it also on my desktop at home. I recommend it to all users.
 
Old 06-14-2007, 06:34 AM   #4
stevanovich
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: pretty much everything
Cons: Cons -> unknown word in debian dictionary :)


Don't know what's all the fuss about Debian install-I came from Ubuntu and installing debian was different a bit (more steps), but nothing special really. Even manually partitioned my disk with separate /home, /, /swap.
Boot could be a bit faster, but since I turn off my computer every 5 days, boot speed means nothing to me.
Hardware support was great, still I had to offcourse add NVidia drivers and WiFi(via ndiswrapper). Now everything works like a charm.
I've put Fluxbox on it, instead of Gnome, and you can imagine the speed on a dual core amd 1,6GHz with 2GB RAM and 256MB Geforce GO 7600. I had Ubuntu before (also with Fluxbox) and I must say it was slower than Etch (didn't measure the time, but Etch felt quite faster).
I don't think I have to say anything about stability and package management.
I have a very barebone install, with only a few apps (since I use this system only @ home (mail, internet, mp3s, movies). But I believe that if you need any package (no mather how obscure it is) I'm quite sure you'll find it in .deb
 
Old 06-15-2007, 07:56 AM   #5
cbchisanga
 
Registered: May 2006
Distribution: Debian GNU/Linux squeeze
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: debian etch is more stable and has newer packages
Cons:


debian etch is more stable and has newer packages and since I had waited for it for a long time, I have it now. I will be using it on the database server.
 
Old 07-01-2007, 05:39 AM   #6
NoobieDoobieDo
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Debian 4.0
Posts: 65

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Fast, clean .. it's Debian !
Cons: I had some issues...


I installed this on two machines and on both machines the install produced 1 or more `critial` errors and the installtion had to be restarted.

On this machine upon trying to shutdown from my first session X froze as soon as I hit the `shutdown` button. I had to kill it from the terminal.

The Gimp crashed the first time I tried to load it and then the second time it loaded two instances but the second instance took about 5 minutes to spawn. At first I thought the splash screen was stuck because the outline of it was still there. I was nearly done using the gimp and out of no where that `frozen splash screen` becomes an active instance of the gimp.

A few other aplications have `crashed` on the first few times of me running them, including at least one critial feature.

I've used many distributions and I think Debian (although I like it the most) has given me the most immediate post installation failures.
 
Old 07-02-2007, 10:47 AM   #7
ragpicker
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Distribution: Debian, WinXP
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Freedom to run whatever I feel like without going for any pirated software
Cons: None


I am a Debian fan and would allways remain so. First reason is I use an old computer (Pentium IV)and it is easy to install and I get any software I need. Second reason is it is very stable. And there are lot of help files so that I don't have to look else where for help. I had been waiting for a long time for release of etch and I have got it now. Long Live Debian Community.
ragpicker14@gmail.com
 
Old 07-24-2007, 04:39 AM   #8
masikin
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: fast and reliable
Cons: -


running on P3-755; 128mb memory; vga 8mb sis
 
Old 08-01-2007, 02:26 PM   #9
arijit_2404
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Distribution: Fedora 9
Posts: 85

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Debian stabilty, huge collection packages, very good community support through forums and mailing lists.
Cons: not compatible with ubuntu packages, long release cycle, some packages are older.


Etch is the latest stable branch of Debian. But some enthusiast users can also go for 'lenny' aka 'testing' branch of Debian, because it's now getting popular among desktop users.
Lots of packages to choose from, variety of choices in packages for a particular task.
I like the Debian distribution for rock solid performance.
:)
 
Old 08-09-2007, 05:30 PM   #10
slackass
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Slack64-C ML
Posts: 890

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Everything!
Cons: won't cut my grass... :-)


"Like A Rock" (r)
This disro is SOLID!! Seems to be never ending reliability. I've been useing this distro for about 3 months without so much as a flutter.
 
Old 08-16-2007, 01:43 PM   #11
txHarleyMan
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Distribution: Debian Testing/Sid
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Reliability, Stability and Security
Cons: None yet


I tried 10 or so other distributions before I found Debian. What I want is Security, Stability and Reliability in an OS. Etch has it all. Some folks won't run /pure/ Debian because there are no other branches. Thats fine with me. All I will use is STABLE. And Stable it most definitly is!
I used to read that Debian is for the /super geeks/. Too hard and on and on. So, I was up for the challenge. Installation was flawless. At the boot prompt, I typed "installgui" and away we went. No problems. All you have to know is how to read.

I have been in I.T. for 26 years as a developer and I /HIGHLY/ recommend Debian for those folks that want a very stable and reliable OS.

Mike
 
Old 08-26-2007, 06:10 AM   #12
cbchisanga
 
Registered: May 2006
Distribution: Debian GNU/Linux squeeze
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: Reliability, stability, versatile, faster, secure (more packages geared for security enhancement), has GIS package called Grass63, Mapserver, MySQL, PostGIS, PostgreSQL
Cons: Not yet


I am happy using Debian because it has the packages I need for the setting up of GIS, MySQL, PostGIS, MapServer, and PosgrSQL databases
 
Old 09-07-2007, 03:04 AM   #13
saintkay
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Distribution: debian 4.0
Posts: 27

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons:


well, i finally found a linux disto that could completely cut me off windows. With improvements in hardware support, plenty of packages, and full support for multimedia, debian 4.0 is stunning. A distro with great support for my old celeron box- this is incredible. I can finally kiss dual booting goodbye.

give it a try
 
Old 09-12-2007, 09:08 PM   #14
ElvisImprsntr
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Posts: 33

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to install, reliable, auto updates
Cons: Support for A/V codecs, but that may be a legal thing. Why is WLAN such a pain with Linux?


I installed etch when first released on an older P4 system. I am not proud to say I have completely exorcised Bill Gates from my homeI installed etch when first released on a P4 system with no real issues. I am not proud to say I have completely exorcised Bill Gates from my home (Except for a Windows appliance I RDesktop into when I do my taxes once a year).
 
Old 09-19-2007, 01:34 PM   #15
anant.vyas
 
Registered: Sep 2007
Distribution: Debian Etch
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Reliable,Fast,Secured,Bunch of Packages.
Cons:


Running it on my PIV-256MB RAM and have found really nice.I recommend it to everyone who needs a reliable and secured.
 
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration