LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Debian 4.0 r0 (etch)
Reviews Views Date of last review
47 441068 05-28-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
98% of reviewers None indicated 9.4
desktop.png
supersize


Description: Officially released on 8-Apr-2007, Debian 4.0 rev. 0, codename etch, has a laundry list of changes which all add up to a nice solid distribution.

Due to the procedures used in creating a Debian release, some of the more latest versions of some packages aren't available yet. Initially running on the 2.6.18 Linux kernel with Gnome 2.4 on X.Org 7.1 is the default desktop configuration. KDE 3.5.5a, Xfce 4.4 and GNUstep 5.2 are also available through the apt-get packaging system.

Other updates include OpenOffice.org 2.0.4a, GIMP 2.2.13, PostgreSQL 8.1.8, MySQL 5.0.32, GNU Compiler Collection 4.1.1, Apache 2.2.3, Samba 3.0.24, Python 2.4.4 and 2.5, Perl 5.8.8, PHP 4.4.4 and 5.2.0, Asterisk 1.2.13 and more than 18,000 other ready to use software packages.

Also Iceweasel (an unbranded version of Mozilla Firefox 2.0.0.3), Icedove (an unbranded version of Mozilla Thunderbird 1.5) and Iceape (an unbranded version of Mozilla Seamonkey 1.0.8) are available as replacements for the branded versions of the software.

Thanks to Debian News release article where much of this info was copied.
Keywords: Debian Etch 4.0r0


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 02-11-2008, 08:47 AM   #1
evildarknight
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Debian lenny, Jlime,Delilinux
Posts: 57

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: fast very reponsive
Cons: somehow must have pro skill to configure



finally after struggling with different distro i found peace with debian althought i could not install gnome-obex-server. :) guess i'll live without it
on the overall great distro for my p3 800mhz
 
Old 02-26-2008, 03:23 PM   #2
b1f30
 
Registered: Nov 2007
Distribution: Gentoo, Debian, BSD, Slack
Posts: 119

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Rock solid stability, huge list of software, easy to upgrade, tried and true distribution
Cons: None


You'll always see Debian in the top 20 on distrowatch:

http://distrowatch.com/

There's a reason for it. This distro is the workhorse of all the distros. You install it, it works. Period. I've been using Debian for years and I've watched all the 'popular', 'n00b', and fancy GUI distros all fall the wayside while Debian still maintains it's dominance.

Debian's Social Contract:

http://www.debian.org/social_contract

The installer is nothing fancy - ncurses-style, quick, lean, fast. With a reasonably fast Internet connection and the minimal install CD, you can have a fully functioning desktop in about 10 minutes.

The Debian Reference should keep you busy for a few years:

http://www.debian.org/doc/manuals/reference/reference.en.html

The list of ever-expanding software titles:

http://www.debian.org/distrib/packages

Debian support - my favorite being the IRC channel:

http://www.debian.org/support

You won't find a better distro. I've tried them all. Everyone I know has tried them all. We always come back to Debian.

What's Ubuntu based on? Oh yeah - that's right. :-)

Great distro. Always keep a mini-CD handy. You'll need it some day.

EDIT: Blazing fast desktop that installs in about 10 minutes

Code:
$ apt-get install xserver-xorg xorg xdm fluxbox xterm iceweasel icedove pidgin pidgin-encryption vlc
Good luck!
 
Old 03-11-2008, 11:02 AM   #3
conejoroy
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: the real thing =p
Cons:


I'm not an expert or anything close, but I started using Debian back in 2001, a friend of mine installed me this distro and I was amazed. By 2003 I was playing Counter Strike online with Wine flawlessly.

Debian is a very well planned OS, well documented. In Debian you have the power to tweak things an have the opportunity to learn how things really work behing the scenes (or behing the gui =p). I don't know if other distros encourages you to learn whats really important about your OS.. but Debian does. And Debian has lots of technical documents to read from.

Some people say Debian is hard.. the same people that suffers when some piece of hardware doesn't work. Debian teached me that if something doesn't work out of the box... well whats the problem? investigate about it or compile the latest kernel/alsa/whatever by yourself and thats it =p!

Debian is the best distro to do a low level trip to how an operating system really works. And also it'll teach you how and why opensource is so important.

apt-get is brilliant. and Debian has lots of packages to choose from and many repositories (official or not) to choose from either! you wont miss anything important and better yet you will have many options for the same task.

netinst is awesome! recently I've to download a same day netinst version of Lenny to be able to use ethernet on an nvidia laptop (with newer hardware latest versions run better or run at all, common sense) an now I've Compiz Fusion running perfectly.

I really love Debian <3 and you'll love it too =p!
 
Old 04-07-2008, 07:08 PM   #4
thornbush
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Distribution: Debian squeeze/wheezy; LMDE-XFCE
Posts: 35

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: It has the apt-get and the aptitud and I hear that it is very stable
Cons: Some people say that it is difficult in its clean distribution


Dear friends,
I have just ordered the 21 CDs and perhaps will try to install it this week or the next in an AMD K6 II 190 MB 510 MHZ.
See about in:
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?t=24926&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=45&sid=014068438a8e9edac5b196561901308d
Thank you.
 
Old 05-07-2008, 06:37 AM   #5
cbchisanga
 
Registered: May 2006
Distribution: Debian GNU/Linux squeeze
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: excellent even for ltsp, stability, GIS &amp; QGIS software
Cons: non


I love Debian cos it has the software I need and it is entirely free to get and also to get updates
 
Old 05-30-2008, 01:00 PM   #6
QuickSHADOWMAN
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: OpenSuSE 11.1 Beta2
Posts: 32

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: Best O/S around
Cons: Don't know of any


Started running Debian Etch back when Sarge was the new kid on the block. I like the testing versions better, for it keeps me on the cutting edge. But for right now, I am stuck with windoze at the library, till I am able to close on this house, that I put a bid on. Hopefully that will be soon.....real soon. I want to play with Lenny, after I get some broad-band going soon. I miss being in here with the cutting edge.

Debian Rocks!!
 
Old 06-25-2008, 01:24 PM   #7
masinick
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Distribution: Debian, sidux, antiX, SimplyMEPIS, Kubuntu, Mandriva, Fedora, Xandros, Arch, and many others
Posts: 560

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Flexible, Powerful, Reliable, Easy, Great Documentation, ever growing list of packages, support for many architectures, choice of cmpletely stable, useful testing, or cutting edge unstable packaging, your choice
Cons: Installer is at best average, tends to be too &quot;chatty&quot;


Debian is the project with the most Linux packages, the basis for the most derived systems. You can run the stable version, currently named Etch (releases are named after Toy Story characters), or you can sacrifice some stability and get the testing release (perhaps a reasonable compromise) or if you really want the cutting edge you can use the unstable "Sid" rolling version, which always contains the latest software, but package dependency trees are frequently broken. If you know how to add and remove packages, using the Sid version and also include the testing version as backup, you can upgrade with all of the Sid packages, then back off to Testing only for packages that are not working properly with Sid. The options are outstanding.

As far as Etch goes, when it first came out is was acceptably up to date, yet stable. It is best suited for servers, since it tends not to have the latest software, whereas Sid is the very latest and greatest, and Testing contains candidate software to be considered for future stable releases.

I tend to use sidux, a derivative of Debian Sid, because it is like using Debian Sid on steriods. The flaws in Sid packaging are either placed into a Hold packaging state or they are fixed. Feedback is provided back to the Debian packagers, so this is a great symbiotic relationship.

As far as the Debian installer, it is great because it is flexible, but its one weakness is that it asks too many questions and it does not bunch the questions together into groupings. Instead, you may be asked questions at any stage of the installation, so unless you create an automatic installation consisting of all of the responses, you could be stuck in front of a Debian installation for twice as long as with many other distributions. If, however, you want to install on multiple architectures or you just want to put a stable system together, you cannot beat Debian. At best you can match it with a derived distribution.

Debian offers tens of thousands of packages, the latest count is somewhere between 18,000 and 20,000. The exact number seems to change every time I look. If you do not want to go out looking for a binary or source code from some source outside of your distribution, Debian is the clear choice.

The chatty installer and the relative age of the stable release are the only reasons I can think of that someone may want to look elsewhere. If either of those are concerns, look at sidux, which really is nothing more than Debian Sid with a better installation program and a number of excellent management tools. With sidux, you get a cutting edge desktop system that works. If you want a stable server, Debian is definitely the best one. If you want a stable desktop, but you might want something easier than Debian to install, take a look at SimplyMEPIS. The thing is, they are ALL based on Debian software, so they are all excellent. Whatever you choose, serious consider making it either Debian or one of its derivatives. They are the best, and taken together, they dominate reviews and interest on Linux forums everywhere.
 
Old 08-03-2008, 12:03 AM   #8
shivcharan
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Rock solid foundation, Simple and Stable
Cons: Some softwares are outdated.


Very excellent. Some improvement required in area of screen resolution.
 
Old 08-04-2008, 01:17 AM   #9
verndog
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Posts: 107

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast boot up, Simplicity, more than 25 Thousand packages
Cons: Skype video unstable


I used Ubuntu for quite a while and felt I would retry debian again. I had problems with sound using Etch. I don't know what happened back then, but debian now works almost flawless. One exception is Skype video. Or at least using my web cam video.
 
Old 08-16-2008, 03:01 AM   #10
SpaceGoat
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Distribution: Debian, Slackware, Fedora
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, Fast Boot, Awesome Modularity
Cons: spoils me for other OSes


Works fantastic on my ThinkPad which is not the newest or the slickest machine in the world but still, Debian Etch transforms it into a pimped out mod-kit. The tools are incredible. I had issues with wireless and video editing up front (It takes a bit of leg work to get up to speed) after that,... smooth sailing.It is a great system for people who want to take control of their personal computing environment. I like it for the fact that it's not a dumbed down distro. I definitely plan on implementing within my business ventures.
 
Old 08-28-2008, 10:25 AM   #11
checkmate3001
 
Registered: Sep 2007
Distribution: Debian 4.0 (Etch), Debian 5.0 (Lenny), Ubuntu 8.04
Posts: 301

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast (no bloat), reliable, very stable
Cons: stability = semi-slower package release


I went with Debian because of stability and security. I also didn't want a bloated system.

I have previously used SuSe which is incredibly bloated along with Ubuntu (basically a fancy debian with tons of bloat). Both weren't what I was looking for.

I found that debian was well organized - its package manager (apt-get, aptitude, etc.) works well, is easy to configure and is a million times faster than SuSe.

I can be easily configured to install either Gnome (default) or KDE (using install command: 'install tasks=&quot;kde-desktop&quot;') and can be installed with no desktop at all.

My only complaints - and these are just complaints (there may be very good reasons things are this way). Debian seems to alter packages enough to make some of the package documents not entirely accurate. It's hard to explain until you see it for yourself, but it is only a minor complaint. Also sometimes you will find a package you really want - but debian either hasn't updated or included it in the stable branch yet. Often it can be installed from the unstable branch, however.

All in all I give it 9.5 stars so I rounded it to 10. Everything important that I have needed has been available (packages) and it really isn't that big of a deal. I choose to only use stable branch so I can deal with it.
 
Old 09-02-2008, 04:58 PM   #12
frank james
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: debian
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


Can't install wireless, printer installation doesn't work either. If I ever get these twothings going I would recommend debian.
 
Old 09-04-2008, 11:18 AM   #13
zeca_pedra
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Debian Lenny
Posts: 35

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: All that you can imagine
Cons: None for the moment


I've been using Debian since 2003/2004 - until then I experimented several distros with the purpose of learning linux, since I read and ear about it everywhere but without knowing nothing about it!
I tried Corel Linux, Libranet, Mandrake, Red Hat, then Mandriva (didn't like it at all), Fedora (damn the multimedia issues), Ubuntu and a lot of other which didn't last long on my computer (Linux Mint, Zenwalk, Fox Desktop, Slackware...)
To make a long story short, one day I read in some blog that if you want to try linux you should use Debian - since so many distros are debian based (look at Ubuntu, for example) the original has to be good, right?
So, I went for Debian and installed it. The first time I installed through a net install - one CD, ethernet connection and it downloaded and installed all the needed packages.
Then I learned how to make a custom install - installed only the base and then the apps that I wanted.
Since then I have on my computer only what I want and what I need, trying to keep a system clean and FAST.
And believe me, Debian it's fast.
I started from my «old» debian netinst cd (from April 2007), installed base, changed the sources.list, updated all and went for what I wanted and then upgraded to lenny (testing).
You might say that etch is STABLE but lenny isn't less. Debian developers are very careful and packages that go into this marvelous distro are tested intensivily, so I find lenny also very stable - you can find one or two packages that go wrong through an update but debian keeps well and working nicely.
For profissional reasons I keep dual booting with windows xp pro (I have to use it in my work) but at home and for my personal tasks I use debian all the way.
The day I move completely to linux I will be using Debian, that's for sure!
 
Old 10-29-2008, 01:54 PM   #14
Sargek
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Debian testing
Posts: 416

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Easy install, awesome package system, fast
Cons: The &quot;Debian Way&quot;, b0rked Nvidia install


I have had Debian testing installed as a desktop more than a few times. I love the ncurses installer, the ease of updates and the overall speed of the system. What I do not like is the "Debian Way" of doing things. I guess it's just because this "way" has never worked for me, specifically Nvidia drivers, and the techniques of this "way" are unlike anything I have ever seen before in my 10+ years of using Linux. All in all though, it's a great distro though and I could easily recommend it.
 
Old 11-07-2008, 06:52 PM   #15
exceed1
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Distribution: debian,redhat
Posts: 199

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: powerfull, stable, fast, comfortable, excellent package manager
Cons: none in etch, the hardware support was lacking in sarge i though, but not in etch


this distro is at the top #1 of all distros. i didnt use it as a desktop distro when sarge was out, because of the hardware support, but now everything works great.
 
Old 11-18-2008, 06:39 AM   #16
pantonpride
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Distribution: Mandrake 9.2
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Worked quite well out of the box
Cons: Some issues with video playback



I like the way most everything just worked for me. I played with RedHat early on but never could quite get my music to play. I got all excited when I found Mandrake, but my enthusiasm was also very short-lived. Enter Debian. I really like the way it worked on an old dual processor PIII computer I picked up at the Salvation Army for $20. It was an old old leviathan of a computer! I loaded up Debian Etch on it and now I have a viable box that I use to keep myself occupied when the kids are using the main PC in the house. I definitely recommend Debian to everyone!
 
Old 05-28-2009, 09:37 AM   #17
mtlhd
 
Registered: Sep 2007
Distribution: Debian, CentOS, Ubuntu
Posts: 126

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: fast install, recognized all my hardware and I was online after the first boot.
Cons: doesn't always respond to mouse after going into sleep mode


I have used slackware and work and had fedora at home for awhile, then after upgrading to fedora 10 and creating connection problems and taking my apache server down, I went hunting for what everyone called the best server distro on here.

LQ said Debian. LQ is absolutely right. It became my favorite distro after having only used it for 5 minutes.
I even bought my self a debian t-shirt!

Love this distro, wicked fast, easy to use for us newer Linux users, and it is super stable.
I sometimes forget about it because it needs almost no maintenance at all.

THANKS DEBIAN TEAM!
 
Page:  1 · 2 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration