LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Vector
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Vector 5.8 Standard Gold
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 30233 01-31-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 7.5



Description: I really like this disto because it is very stable, and works out of the box. Java, flash, etc. are installed, configured, and work out of the box. It is light weight, and so it is VERY fast. I looked at some of the reviews online and they had a lot of good things to say about it. And the community is really supportive and patient. Overall, I am very happy for going with Vector Linux and it has become my favorite and recommended choice.
Keywords: Vector Linux small fast reliable


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 04-13-2007, 01:04 PM   #1
evildarknight
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Debian lenny, Jlime,Delilinux
Posts: 57

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: very stable fast desktop
Cons: did not configure X by itslef



comes with a very good package of applications and is stable enough to run on my amd 166 mhz 84 megaram
only xfce is available as desktop thought!!!!
 
Old 05-20-2007, 12:33 AM   #2
Tomcat1965
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Distribution: Mandriva 2008
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: fast stable
Cons: network very unreliable,endless editing of .conf files,dependency hell


A truly awful installer,poor hardware detection,hand editing of .conf files even for dhcp cable connections,and just check out the forums for all the wireless and network grief. Seamonkey internet suite,an ancient Xorg,awful fonts,DVD playback and dependency hell are just a few of the horrors lurking in this Slackware based disaster area.
Fortunately n00bs will never get past the installer,if they did this would have them straight back to Ubuntu,or worse Microsoft. Would have got zero,though one point for decent artwork. Oh and check out 'VASM' their control centre,Mandriva must be rolling on the floor laughing.
 
Old 09-11-2007, 10:18 AM   #3
kazuya1977
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: crunchbang (debian squeeze), ubuntu 11.04, archbang (archlinux), salix 64, chakra, mepis
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: customizability, fast, stable, beautiful, flash, not bloated, codecs all there
Cons: sometimes not as bleeding edge,


makes slackware seem very easy. Not quite as newbie friendly as Linux Mint, but is been one of the 3rd best distros I have had the priviledge of using fulltime. Installer is easy, it configures X in a safe manner, It has good set of packages and is relatively bleeding edge now unlike in the past distributions.
Gslapt is a god-send.

One can easily use this just like the Debian-based distros, but it runs faster. fluxbox on this distro is the prettiest I have seen thus far in all distros. I have kde, gnome, e17, icewm, xfce all working on my install with ease.

Only issue has been with mounting external DVDROM device. Everything else works and mounts great.

I highly recommend this distro.
 
Old 01-31-2008, 03:14 AM   #4
Alex2008
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


Once you have Vector Linux installed, configured, and customized to your needs itís an absolute pleasure to run. Itís fast and sleek and well thought out. Some features, such as those for managing WiFi connections and removable hardware, are absolutely second to none.


------------------------------
Fauna
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration