LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Other
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

FreeBSD 6.2
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 25727 10-29-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
75% of reviewers None indicated 7.0



Description: FreeBSD® is an advanced operating system for x86 compatible (including Pentium® and Athlon™), amd64 compatible (including Opteron™, Athlon™64, and EM64T), UltraSPARC®, IA-64, PC-98 and ARM architectures. It is derived from BSD, the version of UNIX® developed at the University of California, Berkeley. It is developed and maintained by a large team of individuals. Additional platforms are in various stages of development.
Keywords: freebsd, free, bsd, unix


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 06-05-2007, 06:08 PM   #1
stevthomsen
 
Registered: May 2007
Distribution: SuSE
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: Single disk, easy choices
Cons: Problems installing x86_64 version



I attempted to install the x86_64 version onto XEON class machine. It will go for a while and then simply freeze up. I was able to install the x86 version, but the video drivers would not allow for X startup.
 
Old 11-04-2007, 08:16 AM   #2
farofa
 
Registered: Nov 2007
Distribution: Debian etch amd64, Fedora 7, Fedora core 5 & 6, FreeBSD 6.2, plan9
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: very secure and easy to install
Cons: port upgrading


This is probably the only distribution that I have very little trouble installing or using. My difficulties with ports upgrade is recent.
It is secure, friendly, easy on resources.
 
Old 08-01-2008, 12:40 AM   #3
frob23
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu, FreeBSD, NetBSD
Posts: 1,449

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to install, upgrade, and patch -- as well as admin.stable
Cons: Currently very out of date.


This is an excellent and very stable release of the 6.x branch of FreeBSD. It's clean and consistent.

Granted, I would NOT recommend using this version at this time. You should go with at least 6.3. Not only would it be hard to find a copy of this release but if you installed it with X11, you would be faced with either upgrading to X.org manually -- I did this and it's not fun -- or doing a clean install of 6.3+ anyway.
 
Old 10-29-2008, 01:50 PM   #4
Sargek
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Debian testing
Posts: 416

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy install, stable, easy to administer
Cons: Doth not a good desktop make


I guess this is not a "version specific" post...FreeBSD is a GREAT server platform and it's easy to get one installed and running in a very short time. Easy install, easy package management and it is very stable.

I wouldn't recommend FBSD as a desktop though, even if people use it as such. I have always had issues with one thing or another while attempting to do this and have found the set up time to be greater than even Gentoo.

I guess I have to state the obvious: this isn't Linux, but some people may not know this...
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 AM.

Main Menu

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration