LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > openSUSE
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Novell openSUSE 10.2
Reviews Views Date of last review
43 96221 10-17-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
95% of reviewers $64.33 8.0



Description: Latest release of Novell's sponsored openSUSE 10.2
Keywords: linux, novell, opensuse, suse


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 01-01-2007, 12:33 PM   #1
jag2000
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04
Posts: 314

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Install went smooth. Nvidia video works great
Cons: little issues with samba and networked pcs



Install went smooth. I followed the directions in LQ for mplayer and it worked like a charm.
 
Old 01-01-2007, 12:34 PM   #2
jag2000
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04
Posts: 314

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


Forgot to leave Specs of my pc

AMD xp3200
MSI K7N2 Delta2-LSR
1 gb ddr ram (Corsair) pc3200
2 80 gb WDD 8mb 7200 rpm
BIOSTAR GeForce 6800XT 512MB

Viewsonic a72f monitor
Dual Boot Suse 10.2 and Windows XP Professional

Linux Registered User #356092
Microsoft Intellimouse optical
Microsoft Natural Keyboard
 
Old 01-02-2007, 03:26 PM   #3
freshmeadow
 
Registered: May 2006
Distribution: OpenSUSE11.1 and Windows XP on desktop, OpenSuse 11.2 on Eee PC
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy installation from DVD. Update from OpenSUSE 10.1 to 10.2 almost perfect.
Cons: The YAST updater is not very intuitive and is quite slow.


I installed OpenSUSE 10.2 from a downloaded DVD as an update to an existing SUSE 10.1 install. All went very smoothly and there was no loss of data in personal files. (I still backed these up to CD beforehand, however, just in case).
The machine is a Dell Pentium 111, 866mhz from the year 2000 with a 20G hard drive and 320MB of ram.
The only glitch I have found is that the shutdown option in the log out screen will turn off all power to the keyboard and Logitech optical mouse but will leave the CPU and monitor still on. However, these are both powered down by actually using the CPU power button. I am sure this glitch will be solved in the SUSE user forum.
 
Old 01-04-2007, 08:58 PM   #4
bottled leaf
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: opensuse 11.3 x64
Posts: 98

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Great hardware support. Everything worked out the box.
Cons: Slow boot, no mp3 playback ability for amarok. but you can fix both cons (see review)


The last time i used Linux was in 9th grade when i actually bought Suse 9.0. Linux was too hard for me at the time and i left it alone. Now im a senior, with much greater computer intelligence and experience. So, I recently received a hp laptop for christmas. hp's XP came blooted with all kinds of software (i was going to nlite xp and install a fresh new copy anyway). But i went on a thinking spree and thought well i should try linux again (since im going into computers in college so it would be good experience). I dled the torrent for the dvd off of opensuse.com. Burned with Nero. Booted into installation. The configuration hasnt really change that much since 9.0. But that isnt a problem because the install is really easy. ANY NOOB CAN DO IT! I reformatted the hard drive and choose what i wanted to be installed via the software menu. Great.
My system updated online (because i was wired at the moment). Rebooted. And my system booted into Linux. Now this is one of the cons...boot time is SLOW. And my computer is by no means slow. AMD Turion 64 X2 1.6ghz, 2GB RAM, 120GB. However there is a thread that can help that http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...d.php?t=483059
All my hardware was installed to my amazement! Previously when i had installed a fresh new XP i had problems getting sound drivers because i needed some kind of windows high definition audio crap...Suse worked out of the box.
Another thing the powermanagement is better in Suse than in XP in that Suse scales down the clock speed to save power and XP just kept it at max. stupid xp
Now wanting to have wireless, I was hoping Yast would take care of it but I have a broadcom chipset which isnt automatically installed because I have an AMD (but if you have centrino you're good to go, at least i think). So I went into Yast installed ndiswrapper using the software management and installed the drivers for my wireless. It was Easy ANY NOOB CAN DO IT (the hardest part is installing ndiswrapper and Yast does it FOR YOU).
I then burned my music from my desktop comp onto a dvd anc copied them to suse. Ran amarok, only to be disappointed by a message that amarok has no mp3 capabilities...great.
Well no fear! Look at this thread for a fix http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...d.php?t=509097
Now that Im done talking (finally lol). I really think Suse is going for a linux that ANY NOOB CAN DO IT. In concluson, there are flaws but definitely fixable. I like Suse and recommend it. Im glad I chose to install Suse! I just hope the next Suse has a 3d desktop!
 
Old 01-06-2007, 05:10 PM   #5
marks187
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy installation / lots of software /not windows!
Cons: None


Just upgraded from 10.1 and everything went real smooth
still had all of my tweaks and stuff.

I love this distro! couldn't ask for anything better!
 
Old 01-07-2007, 05:34 PM   #6
jasondodd
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Distribution: OpenSuse 10.2
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: pci-e support
Cons: none


Used many distros for a few years now, struggled getting my Nvidia pci-e working with anything except os 10.2. Wireless broadcom was also a piece of cake. So far, best distro I've worked with. (past experiences in Ubuntu, Fedora, Mandrake)
 
Old 01-10-2007, 11:22 AM   #7
cubdukat
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 48

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Faster than any version of SuSE I've worked with
Cons: Novell is sleeping with the enemy?


I upgraded to 10.2 from 10.1 Remastered, which made me want to dump SuSE altogether. 10.2 won me back. I've never seen SuSE boot up this fast before. From login to being able to actually use the desktop was less than a minute. Try THAT with XP. The system also feels much less bloated than it did with 10.1; even with the fixes to YAST and the Package Manager, 10.1 still felt bloated compared to 10.0. 10.2 restored that snap that turned me onto Linux in the first place.

My only concern is that I fear that Novell is entering into an unholy alliance with Microsoft. It's no great secret how much of a threat they consider Linux in general to be, and they also know that Novell used to be on their side, and finally, they know that Linux is every bit as powerful, and even more so, than Vista ever could be--without the obscene price tag.

I can just see Microsoft pulling an "SCO" on Novell and trying to take them out, and they may have more success than SCO because they have deeper pockets.

For that reason, I am seriously considering a switch to a different distro--Kubuntu, to wit. I don't want Microsoft anywhere near my Linux.

Other than that, 10.2 is a keeper, and if Novell comes to its senses and tells Microsoft to get-thee-behind them, I'll reconsider.
 
Old 01-13-2007, 02:52 PM   #8
winsnomore
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: #1 PCLinuxOS -- for laughs -> Ubuntu, Suse, Mepis
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: easy to install, has almost everything you need
Cons: updates, hw detection, mp3 support etc.


I have been using it almost a month now.
It's significantly better than anything in between 9.1 and this release.

Install is clean, and though it does detect my hw properly somehow the audio doesn't work .. it has to do with the quirky hw behavior .. so i have to go to yast and disable/enable the audio to make it work .. somehow it doesn't want to remember the settings .. or hw takes a long time to come up .. can't tell .. same machine works fine with windows though.

Also there is no "native" support for mp3 .. you have to go to packman/guru to update the libxine to make it work.

Other than this .. it's pretty good. KDE UI has been changed to reduce the menu's to handful . it's a mixed thing, I like it because it's small .. but miss the plethora of things once can see with other distro's ..

I have played with them all .. and I can safely say that this is the best out there .. you can't go wrong with it.
 
Old 01-16-2007, 02:10 AM   #9
jwsmi
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: whatever I want to try out
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $60.00 | Rating: 7

Pros:
Cons: not recognizing 5 cdroms on 3 computers, only installable on Pentium IV


Have ordered internal SONY CRX320EE cdrom. SUSE 9.0 and 10.0 had no trouble with the 5 cdroms. openSUSE 10.2 only let me install on my Pentium IV computer with existing SONY cdrom and appears to run OK (BUT does not recognize the installed cdroms).
Bought release from Novell for $60 plus $5 shipping.
Find new Firefox browser much slower on my machine than the Konqueror browser ( Zooom modem with dial-up connection ).
 
Old 01-25-2007, 03:22 AM   #10
hygie
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros:
Cons:


Have it installed and got my X-server to work with my 2 dualhead nvidia cards and the 4 monitors.

Only problem is the onboard soundcard snd-ca0106.
This is something I havent got to work till now
 
Old 01-27-2007, 01:21 PM   #11
marlborotwp
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $64.00 | Rating: 5

Pros: lots office software education programs works decent
Cons: dvd issue well lack printer drivers froze at 1st after install



I think Suse 10.2 was better than my Unbuntu 6.0 .
works fine after i found few files were corrupt .
took me some time to figure why it would lock up at times .
after i was about to scrap it found corrupt files fix'd them every thing is easy .was quick install .
i run windows and linux computer because adding non linux software is pain . Has lot good point's Office programs education programs for kid and adults plays music lower than i like but it decent I like to blast my surround 6 . wireless well that was flop stick with hard wire faster and better cat 6 wire .
I'll be upgrade to windows vista i need that for work at home so cannot ditch windows yet .
I'll give Suse 10.2 avg rate easy to install nice look simple to use lot more for money than you would pay for Vista were I'll pay $25 thru agreement with micro soft
I'd still keep Suse Decent OS hands down if i could watch my dvds and my printer would work I'd be diehard Suse Fan Go Colt"s in 07
 
Old 01-27-2007, 03:59 PM   #12
Baldrick65
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Mint 13 Cinnamon
Posts: 653

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Excellent hardware detection, easy to install, updater works!
Cons: No mp3 support "out of the box"


At first I was skeptical ... Was this going to be another 10.1 debacle? The answer was a resounding no. This is where 10.1 should have been.

Installation was a breeze, it detected all my hardware without having to muck around finding additional drivers (except the nVidia card). Adding mp3 and commercial DVD support was easy after adding the Packman and Guru repositories. The updater no longer takes a millennium and finally works like it should have with 10.1.

All up, this is the most polished distro released so far.

Baldrick
 
Old 01-29-2007, 12:06 AM   #13
alpha_lin
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: Suse, Debian, Kubuntu
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: excellent graphics support
Cons: bulky, hangs


3D desktop is wonderful. detects most of the graphics cards.
But sometimes hangs when i shutdown the computer or logout
 
Old 02-04-2007, 04:48 PM   #14
flycast
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Posts: 87

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: Can't login to try it
Cons: 1st boot requires a login, the install does not give the login username/password


I can't tell you if it is good or not. The install is set up so that on first boot you have to give a username and password. The problem is that the install does not provide a username and password to login with. I would change the username and password but I cannot get in. Abandoning SuSE.
 
Old 02-14-2007, 01:07 AM   #15
noasprin
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Distribution: openSuSE 11
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to install and configure
Cons: Update needs work, use external sources!!!


Installed 10.2 beta on external USB drive cuz internal chuncked (with windows install), and it worked great. Had to reinstall 10.2 release on new internal drive, still good and easy to install.
Use packman and guru as additional yast update sources! They have a lot of newer packages than the opensuse repos.
Fast booting (on INTERNAL not USB), cept every now and then get fsck forced saying its been over 49,000 days from last check.. no idea what thats all about, my bios date is ok... bug maybe?
I dont like going straight to X so its set to stop at runlevel 3. Works for me.

Overall, kick ass OS and yes its NOT Microsoft!
 
Old 03-06-2007, 10:22 AM   #16
Mojojo
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: Mint/Debian
Posts: 447

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy Install, Very Stable
Cons: Zen-updater sux



Other than the whole zen installer/updater thing this is a great distro. Spent years with other distro's Debian,Redhat,Mandrake. But Suse wins hands down been using Smart or Yast as a workaround to upgrade and install. Smart is flawless yast a little on the slow side but both work great. Xgl adds extra eyecandy but I use my box most of the time for UT2004, Quake 4 and Doom 3. All run without a hiccup unlike other OS's I have ran in the past.
 
Old 03-15-2007, 09:25 AM   #17
nino_of_qubic
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Distribution: Open Suse
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: very user friendly.
Cons: upgrade was problematic


the upgrade caused major problems, i ended up backing up my data, wiping the system and doing a clean install. but after that the system looks great, and runs very nicely. it even handled my son (10 months) turning off the power without shutting down (multiple times) very well.

overall i love the new look. it seems to run faster than 10.1 did on my machine.
 
Old 03-18-2007, 06:54 AM   #18
vieraci
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: Debian Lenny (testing)
Posts: 45

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Installed...period
Cons: Some very minor bugs ?


I've hated windoze, ever since it's first release, it's been buggy and full of empty promise.

I've been very happy with eComstation (old IBM's OS2) for the past ten years, and have toyed with Linux every year or so to see how it's progressing. It's GUI hasn't matched eComstation, until now. I have to say, openSuse 10.2 is very impressive, and now I'm seriously looking at making the switch. It handles USB devices and multimedia stuff much better than eComstation, it's user interface is very responsive, I love the calendar (yep, simple, but it's neat) and the development environment looks really promising.

Oh...This is the first distro I managed to install other apps onto that worked !!
 
Old 03-28-2007, 01:28 AM   #19
paulpc
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: openSUSE 10.3, 11.0, DSL
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: easy to use, support most hardware, ready-available external packages
Cons: probs with video card in wine, smb,


I've used FC before and I liked the looks of SUSE since 10.0. Kept using it and it's gotten a lot better with every new release. I messed with Mandriva, but SUSE it's a lot better and easier to customize.
If I could only figure out how to get Steam to run in it well (wine doesn't see my video card (radeon9600xt)) I would finally be able to get rid of windarz. I also am annoyed at the reluctance of (now) Adobe to release x86_64 flash players to go with the firefox version YAST installed.
I love the GNOME/KDE interoperability between apps, though at times amarok has troubles finding the taskbar.
All in all it's an awesome day-to-day distro which does most of the what I want it to do.
 
Old 04-07-2007, 09:59 AM   #20
uv256
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Distribution: openSuSE
Posts: 59

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Excellent overall
Cons: Yast is Slow + Zmd takes to much cpu


Highly recommended
 
Old 05-08-2007, 05:37 AM   #21
mista2
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Distribution: SuSe Linux 9.3 pro and SLES9
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy install, full support for hp TC440 tablet hardware
Cons: issues suspending and power management flaky on hp TC4400


Started with Sues 9.2 on an old PC, liked it enough to put 10.0 on my main desktop, upgrade to 10.1 and nearly shelved the lot. Hopeless. 10.2 saved the day. The software update works fine and my desktop install was saved 8)
I liked 10.2 enough to put it on my HP TC4400 tablet.
The install is the normal SUSE -next-next-next with a few options thrown in. Detected all my laptop hardware except for the onboard SD card reader but easy enough to get a driver going on this.
First issue was the support for screen rotation for the tablet. KDE supported screen rotation via a kde desktop applet, but did not map the tablets wacom digitiser correctly, so the direction the pointer moved in relation to the pen was all wrong. Found a site with some scripts to change the coordinate mapping when flipping the screen. Used these OK but could not map them to the "rotation" buttons on the tablet face 8(.
Most of the other function buttons did work OK however, sound mute volume control, and scroll wheel worked OK.
Power management is a little buggy, the KPowerSave applet only shows the state of the battery at boot time, and doesn't warn of critical battery low. Suspend/resume doesnt work well either. Starts to suspend, but hangs before powering down. Wont then resume, and laptop has to be reset.
Otherwise, working well.
 
Old 05-30-2007, 12:57 AM   #22
MGorsky22
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy installation, excellent hardware support, works great
Cons: Poor laptop power management, no ATI drivers, suspend has problems


Installed 10.2 on Dell E1505 laptop w/ 128MB ATI X1400, 1GB RAM, 80GB SATA 7200rpm HD, bluetooth, SD card reader, Intel ProSet 3945 wireless, 10/100 ethernet.

First off, I checked the HCL before beginning the install so I was reasonably assured everything would work. The installation went flawlessly, though it did take a while as I opted to go through all the software to decide what I wanted to install. This was to be a 'desktop' install with no servers.

After the initial install of KDE desktop option completed with reboot, openSUSE 10.2 found my wireless, bluetooth and SD card reader. What a godsend the SD reader is! Instead of having to download photos and video from my digital camera which can take a decent amount of time, I can just pop the SD card in the reader and in 15 seconds have all my pics and video on my drive ready for correction in GIMP. Bluetooth worked without a hitch as did the wireless installation.

I then downloaded and installed the ATI driver for the X1400 from the ATI website. This is a little beyond most casual users. It works perfectly and supports two monitors with the main laptop running in 1680X1050 and the secondary monitor at 1280x1024.

A nifty feature is the xgl config utility that will help you configure the xgl server and get beryl up and going. It worked perfectly too. I was amazed! All the eye candy of beryl worked.

Amarok was easy to configure and use with my extensive mp3 collection. I don't have an ipod so I can't say how well that will interface. DVDs and CDs played flawlessly.

Firefox and Opera both worked with no problems as did OpenOffice 2.0. I downloaded and installed Thunderbird 2.0 and after normal configuration(the same you'd have to do in Windows!) worked perfect.

It's by far the best Linux distro for the Dell E1505 I've tried so far. Unfortunately, I have to dual boot for now as I have one Windows program I can not get to work under Linux. I would say that a preconfigured openSUSE Linux system is no more difficult to use than a preconfigured Windows box and actually offers much more in term of interface, included games, and CD/DVD ripping/burning/playing than Windows.
 
Old 06-01-2007, 08:58 AM   #23
jimux
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: non-techie end-user friendly
Cons: odd weird bugs after installation


I have a 20 year unix background which includes AIX, HP-UX, SCO, and many others. Started Linux with SUSE 9.1 and migrated through versions to 10.2. Great on oddball machines with multiple disks of various sizes, Software RAID0 even links IDE and USB disks.
Upgrade lost group permissions on some directories, but all data still there. Small fault with Konqueror - switches to of-line mode when requested, but not back. Comes back on-line by checking 'use cache whenever possible' in Web Cache Settings.
 
Old 06-15-2007, 06:36 AM   #24
silkmaze
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Suse 11.1
Posts: 39

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to install, keeps all your settings, lots of help available
Cons: A little slow booting up.


I have been using the 10.2 OSS version since last November when my XP system destroyed about 5 years worth of work. I am very happy to have done so.

When an app hangs up on me, I can kill it or the system does it itself. I have access to all my media files and can run them on amarok, kaffeine, xine, kmplayer, mplayer, take your pick.

For those looking for help for every little thing, someone like me, for instance, check out http://forums.suselinuxsupport.de/.

Any request for help is quickly answered since quite a few of the programmers who are involved in the actual coding of OSS are members/mods on that site.

I can run all the programs that I had on XP, at-least the opensource version, oppenoffice, Firefox and Thunderbird being the most important. I have no problems with websites that have flash animation or video sites, apple.com's movie trailer site, or the BBC or CNN videos.

All in all, I am more than very happy with this version. I will NOT be going back to XP or any other Windows version.
 
Old 06-23-2007, 05:14 PM   #25
mdlinuxwolf
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: Mepis and Fedora, also Mandrake and SuSE PC-BSD Mint Solaris 11 express
Posts: 358

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Perfect for Desktops OK on laptops 10.2
Cons: sound and adding sources to yast


I just installed SuSE 10.2 on a Lenovo Laptop 3000 N100. It dual boots with Vista Business.

Hint: You have to resize the Vista partition from within Vista or all hell will break loose. Fortunately enough, I knew this going in.

The Lenovo has 2 gigs of 667 speed DDR2 RAM and an Intel Core Duo running at 1.8 Gigahertz. For Vista, this is adequate. For SuSE 10.2, performance is spectacular. By far the fastest machine I've ever owned. The boot screen scrolls so fast you can't even read it.

There are 2 bugs, however. First, if you try to add a source to YaST, it says that the source isn't a source and refuses to use it. It says that everything is a directory even when the URLs are correct.

Second, the sound doesn't work. On Novell's site under the HCL, there is a green check mark with a note that external speakers are bad. Guess what, so is the headphone jack. No sound NADA, fuggetabutit. You can't successfully switch drivers either. YaST will not allow it.

10.3 will have a better sound driver. I will fix it with an upgrade.

One other note: I've tried Linux in quite a few configurations with different file systems. With the Ext type, I've had quite a few freeze ups and stability issues. It works fine for a few months and then... I always recommend that newbies or anyone else use the ReiserFS configuration. Yes, it is also faster as well. Security is excellent.
 
Old 07-21-2007, 04:00 PM   #26
gargamel
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: Slackware, SLAX, OpenSuSE
Posts: 1,585

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


Very good, the weaknesses of 10.1 and 10.2 are matters of the past, now!

My only problem, and the reason why my main distro is now Slackware Linux, is that I don't see a clear strategy of what Novell wants actually to do with SuSE and their fabulous staff and products. My impression still is that the Novell management doesn't even know what a precious jewel they now own.

But apart from that: openSuSE is really that best SuSE Linux ever!

gargamel
 
Old 08-01-2007, 10:34 AM   #27
jpa42
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: In Suze's world you can at last forget about Microsoft's maddening 'ALT-CTL-DEL' key combination
Cons: Hardly any


Since Suse 10.2 anyone can rely on OS stability. This is a fact, not a meaningless marketing argument. (Cost Sfr. 99.-)

Frankly I wonder why such a large portion of humanity still tortures itself using Very Inferior STAndards.

Now if Nowell gets swallowed by B.G. you better migrate to Ubuntu.

JPA
 
Old 08-04-2007, 05:37 AM   #28
byebyebilliegates
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Distribution: PCLinuxOS2007, openSUSE 10.2, experimenting with other distros
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: Loads of Install options, Most things work
Cons: unexplained crashes, security a bit too high for the average user


I've recently converted from Windows XP after being a user for nearly seven years of MS products. I originally started out w/PCLinuxOS 2007, but I decided to try SUSE 10.2 after seeing that it had options that PCLOS didn't seem to have.

Being that I don't have a DVD player/Burner, I was glad to see that there was an option to download the OS on several CD's. Granted, it was a hefty task, but I'm stubborn enough.

I was thoroughly impressed with the installer options. Although I didn't fully understand everything that I was looking at, I was pleased to see that I could preconfigure the system to my tastes.

Install went well, and an hour later I was at the KDE desktop. Subsequent boots went a little faster, though I have to say that PCLOS has SUSE beat hands down for speed. Still, I'm a patient guy, and I endured.

Most of my hardware worked outta the box. I was daunted by all of these options. And why was my USB stick not mounting? Had to login as root to set up security permissions. I saw this as both a good thing and a bad thing. Good for security, bad for the average home user. I guess it depends on what you want to use it for.

My wireless adapter was recognized, but for some reason, it wasn't getting out. I couldn't connect to the Net, and after playing around with various options for several days, I finally gave up. Too bad; this was a deal breaker for me.

I have mixed feelings about the YAST installer tool. On the one hand, I was glad to see that, unlike other distro's, I could download an app on a seperate computer, and bring it home to SUSE. The difference here was that I could use YAST to actually select a local directory, a function which seems to be missing in other distro's, which require you to go online in order to get an app. However, getting the app to install was another matter entirely. As I said, I'm a Linux noob... :(

By far my biggest complaint, was several unexplained crashes. By themselves, no big deal. I had left the computer idle for extended periods of time, but when I'd come back and try to do something, everything was frozen. I had to forcibly shut my computer down, and this led to data corruption so bad that I had to reinstall the OS several times. I don't know what the cause of the freeze ups were, but I can say that it wasn't due to hardware issues. My HDD is brand new, and I've tried other distro's and not had this problem.

Overall, SUSE shows promise. I realize that it's tailored more towards the high end business user, so I cannot fault the OS's quirks based on that. However, given the problems I've had with it, I cannot recommend this OS to the average user, and certainly not the Linux Newbie.

There is one other thing that troubles me. The fact that Novell has a pact with Microsoft. I've seen the tactics that MS has used over the years, and those tactics are the primary reason that I switched to Linux in the first place. What really makes me nervous, is that Novell may ultimately sell out to MS, and that opens the way to a dark path for the Linux community at large. Call me paranoid, but look at your history books as you begin the name calling.

For now, I'll stick with PCLOS 07. Not because I dislike SUSE, but because I prefer ease of use.
 
Old 08-06-2007, 08:15 PM   #29
BoBByCooL
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Ubunty 7.04
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: easy installation, good documentation,
Cons: yast is slow and sometimes cryptic


I use openSuSE 10.2 as a network file server. I took a Novell course for SLES 10 so I decided to try openSuSE at home because I didn't want to pay for the updates from Novell.

It runs well and is very stable. I've had it running for 2 months now and I've not had any software updates to download (maybe I don't have it properly configured) but none the less it's serving it's purpose.
 
Old 08-07-2007, 09:42 PM   #30
hiker1
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy install, easy to configure
Cons: Creating shortcuts,


As a new user to the Linux family, I have found that the opensuse 10.2 version is very user friendly compared to other distros I have looked at.I had no problems installing and running this version. The only thing I had to do on install was set up the drivers for my printer and scanner hardware, everything else worked.At this point I don't think I will be going back to windows anytime soon. I have to use windows at work and can't wait to get back home to use opensuse. Kudos to the people who write the code, great job.
 
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.

Main Menu

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration