LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > openSUSE
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Novell openSUSE 10.2
Reviews Views Date of last review
43 101171 10-17-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
95% of reviewers $64.33 8.0



Description: Latest release of Novell's sponsored openSUSE 10.2
Keywords: linux, novell, opensuse, suse


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 01-01-2007, 12:33 PM   #1
jag2000
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04
Posts: 314

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Install went smooth. Nvidia video works great
Cons: little issues with samba and networked pcs



Install went smooth. I followed the directions in LQ for mplayer and it worked like a charm.
 
Old 01-01-2007, 12:34 PM   #2
jag2000
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04
Posts: 314

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


Forgot to leave Specs of my pc

AMD xp3200
MSI K7N2 Delta2-LSR
1 gb ddr ram (Corsair) pc3200
2 80 gb WDD 8mb 7200 rpm
BIOSTAR GeForce 6800XT 512MB

Viewsonic a72f monitor
Dual Boot Suse 10.2 and Windows XP Professional

Linux Registered User #356092
Microsoft Intellimouse optical
Microsoft Natural Keyboard
 
Old 01-02-2007, 03:26 PM   #3
freshmeadow
 
Registered: May 2006
Distribution: OpenSUSE11.1 and Windows XP on desktop, OpenSuse 11.2 on Eee PC
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy installation from DVD. Update from OpenSUSE 10.1 to 10.2 almost perfect.
Cons: The YAST updater is not very intuitive and is quite slow.


I installed OpenSUSE 10.2 from a downloaded DVD as an update to an existing SUSE 10.1 install. All went very smoothly and there was no loss of data in personal files. (I still backed these up to CD beforehand, however, just in case).
The machine is a Dell Pentium 111, 866mhz from the year 2000 with a 20G hard drive and 320MB of ram.
The only glitch I have found is that the shutdown option in the log out screen will turn off all power to the keyboard and Logitech optical mouse but will leave the CPU and monitor still on. However, these are both powered down by actually using the CPU power button. I am sure this glitch will be solved in the SUSE user forum.
 
Old 01-04-2007, 08:58 PM   #4
bottled leaf
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: opensuse 11.3 x64
Posts: 98

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Great hardware support. Everything worked out the box.
Cons: Slow boot, no mp3 playback ability for amarok. but you can fix both cons (see review)


The last time i used Linux was in 9th grade when i actually bought Suse 9.0. Linux was too hard for me at the time and i left it alone. Now im a senior, with much greater computer intelligence and experience. So, I recently received a hp laptop for christmas. hp's XP came blooted with all kinds of software (i was going to nlite xp and install a fresh new copy anyway). But i went on a thinking spree and thought well i should try linux again (since im going into computers in college so it would be good experience). I dled the torrent for the dvd off of opensuse.com. Burned with Nero. Booted into installation. The configuration hasnt really change that much since 9.0. But that isnt a problem because the install is really easy. ANY NOOB CAN DO IT! I reformatted the hard drive and choose what i wanted to be installed via the software menu. Great.
My system updated online (because i was wired at the moment). Rebooted. And my system booted into Linux. Now this is one of the cons...boot time is SLOW. And my computer is by no means slow. AMD Turion 64 X2 1.6ghz, 2GB RAM, 120GB. However there is a thread that can help that http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...d.php?t=483059
All my hardware was installed to my amazement! Previously when i had installed a fresh new XP i had problems getting sound drivers because i needed some kind of windows high definition audio crap...Suse worked out of the box.
Another thing the powermanagement is better in Suse than in XP in that Suse scales down the clock speed to save power and XP just kept it at max. stupid xp
Now wanting to have wireless, I was hoping Yast would take care of it but I have a broadcom chipset which isnt automatically installed because I have an AMD (but if you have centrino you're good to go, at least i think). So I went into Yast installed ndiswrapper using the software management and installed the drivers for my wireless. It was Easy ANY NOOB CAN DO IT (the hardest part is installing ndiswrapper and Yast does it FOR YOU).
I then burned my music from my desktop comp onto a dvd anc copied them to suse. Ran amarok, only to be disappointed by a message that amarok has no mp3 capabilities...great.
Well no fear! Look at this thread for a fix http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...d.php?t=509097
Now that Im done talking (finally lol). I really think Suse is going for a linux that ANY NOOB CAN DO IT. In concluson, there are flaws but definitely fixable. I like Suse and recommend it. Im glad I chose to install Suse! I just hope the next Suse has a 3d desktop!
 
Old 01-06-2007, 05:10 PM   #5
marks187
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy installation / lots of software /not windows!
Cons: None


Just upgraded from 10.1 and everything went real smooth
still had all of my tweaks and stuff.

I love this distro! couldn't ask for anything better!
 
Old 01-07-2007, 05:34 PM   #6
jasondodd
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Distribution: OpenSuse 10.2
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: pci-e support
Cons: none


Used many distros for a few years now, struggled getting my Nvidia pci-e working with anything except os 10.2. Wireless broadcom was also a piece of cake. So far, best distro I've worked with. (past experiences in Ubuntu, Fedora, Mandrake)
 
Old 01-10-2007, 11:22 AM   #7
cubdukat
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 48

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Faster than any version of SuSE I've worked with
Cons: Novell is sleeping with the enemy?


I upgraded to 10.2 from 10.1 Remastered, which made me want to dump SuSE altogether. 10.2 won me back. I've never seen SuSE boot up this fast before. From login to being able to actually use the desktop was less than a minute. Try THAT with XP. The system also feels much less bloated than it did with 10.1; even with the fixes to YAST and the Package Manager, 10.1 still felt bloated compared to 10.0. 10.2 restored that snap that turned me onto Linux in the first place.

My only concern is that I fear that Novell is entering into an unholy alliance with Microsoft. It's no great secret how much of a threat they consider Linux in general to be, and they also know that Novell used to be on their side, and finally, they know that Linux is every bit as powerful, and even more so, than Vista ever could be--without the obscene price tag.

I can just see Microsoft pulling an "SCO" on Novell and trying to take them out, and they may have more success than SCO because they have deeper pockets.

For that reason, I am seriously considering a switch to a different distro--Kubuntu, to wit. I don't want Microsoft anywhere near my Linux.

Other than that, 10.2 is a keeper, and if Novell comes to its senses and tells Microsoft to get-thee-behind them, I'll reconsider.
 
Old 01-13-2007, 02:52 PM   #8
winsnomore
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: #1 PCLinuxOS -- for laughs -> Ubuntu, Suse, Mepis
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: easy to install, has almost everything you need
Cons: updates, hw detection, mp3 support etc.


I have been using it almost a month now.
It's significantly better than anything in between 9.1 and this release.

Install is clean, and though it does detect my hw properly somehow the audio doesn't work .. it has to do with the quirky hw behavior .. so i have to go to yast and disable/enable the audio to make it work .. somehow it doesn't want to remember the settings .. or hw takes a long time to come up .. can't tell .. same machine works fine with windows though.

Also there is no "native" support for mp3 .. you have to go to packman/guru to update the libxine to make it work.

Other than this .. it's pretty good. KDE UI has been changed to reduce the menu's to handful . it's a mixed thing, I like it because it's small .. but miss the plethora of things once can see with other distro's ..

I have played with them all .. and I can safely say that this is the best out there .. you can't go wrong with it.
 
Old 01-16-2007, 02:10 AM   #9
jwsmi
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: whatever I want to try out
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $60.00 | Rating: 7

Pros:
Cons: not recognizing 5 cdroms on 3 computers, only installable on Pentium IV


Have ordered internal SONY CRX320EE cdrom. SUSE 9.0 and 10.0 had no trouble with the 5 cdroms. openSUSE 10.2 only let me install on my Pentium IV computer with existing SONY cdrom and appears to run OK (BUT does not recognize the installed cdroms).
Bought release from Novell for $60 plus $5 shipping.
Find new Firefox browser much slower on my machine than the Konqueror browser ( Zooom modem with dial-up connection ).
 
Old 01-25-2007, 03:22 AM   #10
hygie
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros:
Cons:


Have it installed and got my X-server to work with my 2 dualhead nvidia cards and the 4 monitors.

Only problem is the onboard soundcard snd-ca0106.
This is something I havent got to work till now
 
Old 01-27-2007, 01:21 PM   #11
marlborotwp
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $64.00 | Rating: 5

Pros: lots office software education programs works decent
Cons: dvd issue well lack printer drivers froze at 1st after install



I think Suse 10.2 was better than my Unbuntu 6.0 .
works fine after i found few files were corrupt .
took me some time to figure why it would lock up at times .
after i was about to scrap it found corrupt files fix'd them every thing is easy .was quick install .
i run windows and linux computer because adding non linux software is pain . Has lot good point's Office programs education programs for kid and adults plays music lower than i like but it decent I like to blast my surround 6 . wireless well that was flop stick with hard wire faster and better cat 6 wire .
I'll be upgrade to windows vista i need that for work at home so cannot ditch windows yet .
I'll give Suse 10.2 avg rate easy to install nice look simple to use lot more for money than you would pay for Vista were I'll pay $25 thru agreement with micro soft
I'd still keep Suse Decent OS hands down if i could watch my dvds and my printer would work I'd be diehard Suse Fan Go Colt"s in 07
 
Old 01-27-2007, 03:59 PM   #12
Baldrick65
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Mint 13 Cinnamon
Posts: 653

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Excellent hardware detection, easy to install, updater works!
Cons: No mp3 support "out of the box"


At first I was skeptical ... Was this going to be another 10.1 debacle? The answer was a resounding no. This is where 10.1 should have been.

Installation was a breeze, it detected all my hardware without having to muck around finding additional drivers (except the nVidia card). Adding mp3 and commercial DVD support was easy after adding the Packman and Guru repositories. The updater no longer takes a millennium and finally works like it should have with 10.1.

All up, this is the most polished distro released so far.

Baldrick
 
Old 01-29-2007, 12:06 AM   #13
alpha_lin
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: Suse, Debian, Kubuntu
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: excellent graphics support
Cons: bulky, hangs


3D desktop is wonderful. detects most of the graphics cards.
But sometimes hangs when i shutdown the computer or logout
 
Old 02-04-2007, 04:48 PM   #14
flycast
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Posts: 87

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: Can't login to try it
Cons: 1st boot requires a login, the install does not give the login username/password


I can't tell you if it is good or not. The install is set up so that on first boot you have to give a username and password. The problem is that the install does not provide a username and password to login with. I would change the username and password but I cannot get in. Abandoning SuSE.
 
Old 02-14-2007, 01:07 AM   #15
noasprin
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Distribution: openSuSE 11
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to install and configure
Cons: Update needs work, use external sources!!!


Installed 10.2 beta on external USB drive cuz internal chuncked (with windows install), and it worked great. Had to reinstall 10.2 release on new internal drive, still good and easy to install.
Use packman and guru as additional yast update sources! They have a lot of newer packages than the opensuse repos.
Fast booting (on INTERNAL not USB), cept every now and then get fsck forced saying its been over 49,000 days from last check.. no idea what thats all about, my bios date is ok... bug maybe?
I dont like going straight to X so its set to stop at runlevel 3. Works for me.

Overall, kick ass OS and yes its NOT Microsoft!
 
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration