LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Books > Operating Systems > Linux
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Red Hat Linux 9 Bible
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 35057 03-28-2004
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $45.00 9.5
spacer


Description: If Red Hat Linux 9 can do it, you can do it too...
Activate the power of Red Hat Linux 9, the most popular distribution of this practical, economical operating system, with the in-depth information in this comprehensive reference manual. If you're exploring Linux for the first time, the hands-on instructions for installing, configuring, and customizing the system will get you going with confidence. If you're a Red Hat veteran, Linux expert Christopher Negus gives you everything you need to administer the latest desktop, server, and networking enhancements, plus much more.
Keywords: Linux Red Hat
Publisher: John Wiley & Sons
ISBN: 0764539388


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 02-15-2004, 04:34 PM   #1
Keith Harcourt
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Redhat 8
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: A very easy to follow, practical book for newbies like me. You don't have to be a techie to use it.
Cons: None so far.



I have had Redhat 8 for about 8 months and I like it a lot though as I bought my distro through CheepLinux and didn't bother to print out the manuals, it has been a bit of a journey for a newbie. Hence when I saw this book I was delighted. Everything I needed to know, presented with a 3 disk distro, in a format I could understand. You really don't have to be a techie to install Linux using this book.

All the examples are practical things that you need to do and the language is just right for me.

 
Old 02-20-2004, 11:33 PM   #2
RHLinuxGUY
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu 7.04
Posts: 889

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $35.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: Ease of installation with very detailed help, variety of software descriptions, pretty strait forward.
Cons: I still can't compile a new kernel with the book, though its the best tutorial i had seen so far.


Its great, I bought red hat before, but it was at Staples in a box. I got mad cause I had no idea what the hell to do. So I took it back, god p***ed at windows again and went searching for something else again. Saw the book, read the first few pages, and I was hooked! First distro i've tried and will stick with!
 
Old 03-09-2004, 07:12 PM   #3
Likosin
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 119

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $49.99 | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to understand, works great as a reference
Cons: Sometimes may not go into a lot of depth.


I needed Linux. I was sick of Windows, so I checked my local Borders store. This books includes the full Red Hat Linux 9 Operating System, not the Publishers Edition some books touted, which I liked.

The book starts out explaining the basics and history of Unix, Linux (such as the kernel, X, file system structure, etc), and some info about Red Hat Linux. It then goes into installation, explaining not only the process, but the principle. It explains partitioning, bootloaders, etc. It then goes into topics such as Multimedia, Gaming, Internet, Administartion, and so on.

Throughout the book are scattered sidebars on features, such as the difference between FAT/NTFS and EXT2/3 filesystems, a clear anology explaining Desktop Enviroments, Window Managers, and X Windows. The chapters are clearly organized, easy to read an understand, and most importantly, chock full of content.

The book is useful to Aunt Tillie, a power user, a system admin, and users migrating from Windows or other distributions. This book in not reccomended for complete beginners, it does not explain icons, mice, computers, etc.

The book also has an excellent index; anything you wish to find can be found quickly 95% of the time. The only minor problem I had was that the book did not go into detail in some topics, such as explaining options in certain config files. I still give it a 10.


----Important----
DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK!
Red Hat 9 is obselete, and has been replaced by the Fedora Project (http://fedora.redhat.com/). It is an excellent book, but outdated. Only buy it if you have a copy of RH pre-installed, and don't wish to upgrade to the free Fedora Project.
----Important----
 
Old 03-28-2004, 11:28 PM   #4
IBall
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu, Debian, Various using VMWare
Posts: 2,088

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 9

Pros: Covereage of everything that you can do on RH9
Cons: GUI - centric (Not as much command line as there could be)


This book is quite detailed on just about everything that can be done with RedHat 9. My only gripe is that it tends to skim over the command line and focusses on GUI tools.

I learnt many new things by reading through it, and it makes a much clearer alternative to wading through the man pages.

Overall it is an excellent book, that I would recommend to anyone using RH9.

It also include RH9 as the cover CDs
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration