LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Books > Operating Systems > Linux
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
« Previous Product 

LINUX in A Nutshell: A Desktop Quick Reference
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 98999 09-12-2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $24.00 9.0
spacer


Description: Linux in a Nutshell covers the core commands for common Linux distributions. This isn't a scaled-down quick reference of common commands, but a complete reference to all user, programming, administration, and networking commands, with complete lists of options. New material in the third edition includes what's commonly required for customizing the GNOME and KDE desktops and the fvwm2 window manager, thedpkg Debian package manager, an expanded investigation of therpm Red Hat package manager, and many new commands. Contents also include:

LILO and Loadlin (boot) optionsShell syntax and variables for the bash, csh, and tcsh shellsPattern matchingEmacs and vi editing commands

Linux in a Nutshell is a must for any Linux user; it weighs less than a stack of manual pages, but delivers everything needed for common, day-to-day use.
Keywords: Linux
Publisher: O\'Reilly & Associates
ISBN: 0596000251


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 02-12-2004, 10:51 PM   #1
whoa
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: rh, fedora
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $28.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: concise, clear, well indexed
Cons:



8.75 actually. This is a reference book rather than a lengthy discussion on basic topics. Roughly half is comprised of "man page" explanation of linux commands. The second half covers shells, editors and gui interfaces.

This is a great addition to your library, especially if you are new to linux or unix. But if you need a broad discussion on various topics you'd be better off with one of the "bible" style books.
 
Old 03-10-2004, 12:56 PM   #2
Genesee
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 927

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Convenient collection of information in one source; well-structured
Cons: Information available elsewhere for free


a handy collection of commands and options. like all the O'Reilly books, the structure, writing, etc. is excellent.

if a physical desk reference is needed this is great - however, this offers more a listing of available commands than an explanation or rationale for their use or problem-solving.

most (if not all) of the content seems to be available already between man pages, standard documentation, and manuals available at application homepages.
 
Old 03-18-2004, 06:35 PM   #3
rberry88
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Fedora Core 1 & WinXP Pro & Gentoo 1.4 & Arch Linux
Posts: 558

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Covers basic to very advanced command usage, Nothing is Missing
Cons: very advanced commands could use simpler explanations


I bought the book along with the Red Hat Bible shortly after I started in Linux about 8 months ago (8/03). The edition I received is the 4th edition published by oreilly.com. I got it basically for its extensive listing of Linux commands so I could have them sitting on my desk without having to search the web if I got stuck on something. Boy am I glad I made this purchase, after the first two months the binder has a permanent crease in it from the constant use during my early days with Linux.

The book is divided by the following tabs: Linux Commands, Boot Methods, Package Managers, Bash, TCSH and then branches off to explain the different text editors in Linux (vi, emacs etc) and then covers the two major graphical window managers, KDE and Gnome.

The linux commands section(s) are all divided alphabetically which makes it a snap to find what you are looking for with ease. If you really can't find what you need quickly there is also the wonderful index at the back of the book noting page numbers to help you. This is the heart of the book and then you get into the details about booting, package management, text editors and window managers which comes in really handy since each distro takes it upon themselves to use a different default application for these areas and a newbie could get lost very quickly, but not with the trusty Linux In A Nutshell close by.

rberry88
 
Old 08-17-2004, 03:48 PM   #4
XavierP
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Distribution: Lubuntu
Posts: 19,174

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Good list of CLI commands, concentrates more on the CLI than on the GUI
Cons: CLI commands are just a list, many of the more "major" distros try hard to keep you away from the CLI


As described by the title, this is an excellent Desktop Reference. There is a comprehensive list of command line commands, an explanation of vi, CVS, BASH and others. If you are delving in to the CLI and need assistance, you could do much worse than have this book by your side.

Unfortunately, many distros are focussing more on the GUI than on the CLI. A number of them try actively to keep you in the GUI. For this reason I would have to advise against having this as your only reference - it has to be backed up with other books. Although there are sections on Gnome and KDE, these are short and at the back of the book.

It's a shame that this book can't come with a distro specific book - it would fill a large number of holes. Linux, by it's nature, is too big to easily fill one book and so 2 or more books together would really be useful.

As well, without the large "Linux Commands" section, this book would be half the size. I would find it more useful if the commands were grouped somehow - an alphabetical list is only really helpful if you know the command you are looking for.

Don't let that put you off it though. Despite these (small) shortcomings, this tome will provide you with lots of help.
 
Old 07-02-2005, 11:58 PM   #5
TGWDNGHN
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Slackware 10.0
Posts: 94

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Clear, Consise, Very Good Detail. Outline's the most important commands (useful for those who are just "starting out" with a command)
Cons: No Section on X Windows. Weak sections on GNOME, KDE, and fvwm2. However, the book concentrates on the "Core" of Linux, not GUI


This book was worth every penny I had invested.

Much of the bulk of this book is dedicated to a command refference. These resemble the man pages, but outline only the most useful, common, and popular options. Despite what others call "redundency" (in terms that you can find all this and more in the man/info pages), I find this useful because it helps you when you are "new" to a command. For example: When I first used GCC, I was guided by other books and guides; however, there came a point I needed more control- gcc contains THOUSANDS of command line options and I had no idea how to discern useful from the rest. The command-reference quickly outlineded what I needed, and what I needed to know



Other glorious aspects of this book is a very nice and detailed reference to bash, csh/tcsh, vi(m) (That is, basic vi commands AND vim features), emacs, and more


Concerning bash and tcsh, this book outlines the important files, options, builtins, ect.

When it comes to vi and emacs, this book is loaded with key-strokes and commands to use these commands


The beginning of this book even has a brief overview of internet concepts, a "Beginners Guide" and an "Administrator's Guide". What this "guides" do is outline commands, categorized by functionality, that you should more-or-less know to make full use of the system.


Depite a section lacking X, and weak sections of GNOME, KDE, and fvwm2, This book is a GO GO GO


From Newbie to Pro- this is an essential to your Linux Library
 
Old 10-09-2005, 07:40 AM   #6
tp11235
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 105

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $20.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: Concise, well indexed and more comprehensive than I need
Cons: A ring bound version with coffee-proof pages would be an improvement


Excellent desk reference with everything I have needed so far.
It is no substitute for the set-up guides and bibles - but it is an essential companion to them.
 
Old 09-12-2011, 07:47 AM   #7
fatmac
 
Registered: Sep 2011
Distribution: Debian & Debian based distros
Posts: 228

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Concise
Cons: Need to know the basics


You will constantly refer to this book if you buy it.
Definitley value for money.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration